Any action in combat that may not directly result in damage but some other form of debilitation or advantage that allies can capitalize on.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

10
votes
1answer
742 views

Does a Critical Hit when tripping also double the Superiority die?

During our game, the fighter PC rolled a critical hit. After he made the critical hit, he wanted to use a superiority die to trip the enemy. Based on the below rules, is the superiority die also ...
10
votes
5answers
3k views

Can I “shove” with a reach weapon?

I'm trying to determine how the shove Attack action and Reach weapons interact. In particular, can you use shove on a creature 10' away? The shove description says: Using the Attack action, you ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Is this how to overrun?

Below is a summary of the combat maneuver overrun. After checking that for accuracy, I have a few questions. Overrun A creature can attempt an overrun combat maneuver under the following conditions: ...
7
votes
2answers
3k views

Is an Unarmed Strike considered a Weapon attack?

For the purposes of the fighter Battle Master archetype, whenever a maneuver calls for a "weapon attack" does that include an unarmed strike?
15
votes
4answers
8k views

Does D&D 5e lack a general disarm rule?

I get from the PHB that there is no general rule for disarming an opponent but only a specific rule for Battle Master fighters. Can we assume that other classes (even other fighters subclasses) lack ...
22
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a Shield be Disarmed?

The Player's Handbook describes the shield as being wielded in one hand. However, the Armor category that displays the times to put on armor lists the shield is something that you don, and it takes ...
12
votes
2answers
884 views

Why does 'Disarm' seem so trivial?

I was reading a closed question that proposed different rulings on Disarm, and it lead me to ask a proper question about the Disarm abilities in 5th Edition. The Battle Master maneuver Disarming ...
9
votes
3answers
189 views

Can I Trip or Disarm with the extra attack provided by the Snap Kick feat?

Snap Kick1 gives you an extra attack when performing an attack action. Improved Trip2 and Improved Disarm3 require an attack4, 5 to begin their special attack option. Does the extra attack from Snap ...
5
votes
1answer
365 views

How does a Battle Master's Parry work with multiple damage types?

Suppose an attack does 5 piercing and 5 poison damage (or 5 slashing and 5 fire, etc.) and the player parries the attack, and rolls to reduce 6 points of damage. Which type of damage is reduced first?...
4
votes
1answer
3k views

What's my initiator level for maneuvers from Martial Study?

I'm building a Warblade/Master of Nine using the rules in Tome of Battle: Book of Nine Swords. To qualify for MoN, I'm using the Martial Study feat to take maneuvers from disciplines that a Warblade ...
4
votes
2answers
820 views

Critical combat maneuver?

When you attempt to perform a combat maneuver, make an attack roll and add your CMB in place of your normal attack bonus. Combat maneuvers are apparently attacks, and rolls made to attempt a combat ...