Any action in combat that may not directly result in damage but some other form of debilitation or advantage that allies can capitalize on.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

21
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a Shield be Disarmed?

The Player's Handbook describes the shield as being wielded in one hand. However, the Armor category that displays the times to put on armor lists the shield is something that you don, and it takes ...
15
votes
4answers
6k views

Does D&D 5e lack a general disarm rule?

I get from the PHB that there is no general rule for disarming an opponent but only a specific rule for Battle Master fighters. Can we assume that other classes (even other fighters subclasses) lack ...
10
votes
5answers
3k views

Can I “shove” with a reach weapon?

I'm trying to determine how the shove Attack action and Reach weapons interact. In particular, can you use shove on a creature 10' away? The shove description says: Using the Attack action, you ...
10
votes
3answers
881 views

Adjucating picking up an item in your opponent's square

I had my player ask for an interesting action in last night's session and I had trouble adjucating it on the fly: He wanted to attempt a Disarm on the Big Bad and, if successful, try to get the ...
10
votes
2answers
208 views

Can a Precision Attack be added to an attack roll after an enemy uses Shield as a reaction to that attack roll?

Can The battle master maneuver Precision Attack be used after his enemy casts the shield spell as a reaction to the battle master's initial die roll? This happened during a game. It didn't occur to me ...
9
votes
3answers
146 views

What are the parameters for counting as a solid object or not?

Dungeoncrasher Alternative Class Feature states: If you force an opponent to move into a wall or other solid object, he stops as normal. A wall is a no-brainer. Solid object, however, is a ...
9
votes
1answer
600 views

Does a Critical Hit when tripping also double the Superiority die?

During our game, the fighter PC rolled a critical hit. After he made the critical hit, he wanted to use a superiority die to trip the enemy. Based on the below rules, is the superiority die also ...
9
votes
3answers
172 views

Can I Trip or Disarm with the extra attack provided by the Snap Kick feat?

Snap Kick1 gives you an extra attack when performing an attack action. Improved Trip2 and Improved Disarm3 require an attack4, 5 to begin their special attack option. Does the extra attack from Snap ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Is this how to overrun?

Below is a summary of the combat maneuver overrun. After checking that for accuracy, I have a few questions. Overrun A creature can attempt an overrun combat maneuver under the following conditions: ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Is an Unarmed Strike considered a Weapon attack?

For the purposes of the fighter Battle Master archetype, whenever a maneuver calls for a "weapon attack" does that include an unarmed strike?
7
votes
2answers
19k views

Martial maneuvers in an organised, easy to read form?

So, the question came up during the making of a swordsage, and the need to check if the maneuvers chosen can actually be acquired due to prerequisites. Is there anything, in pdf or online form, that ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

Can you deliver a Magus' spellstrike through a combat maneuver?

If you take a look at the PRD it states this about sunder, disarm, and trip maneuvers: You can attempt [this maneuver] ... as part of an attack action in place of a melee attack. Source Now, the ...
7
votes
3answers
4k views

Does the character or the mount need Improved Overrun for AoO-less Trample Attempts?

In Pathfinder an Overrun attempt normally draws an attack of opportunity. A character can take Improved Overrun to negate this and get a bonus, but does it apply for a character making an Overrun ...
7
votes
1answer
3k views

Battle Oracle advice

We are wrapping up our campaign and the GM is going to run another game, which has us all talking about what our new characters will be. After both my character and his cohort took single level dips ...
6
votes
2answers
640 views

Can I Sunder Worn Armor in Pathfinder?

In D&D 3.5, Sunder checks explicitly could not be made against armor worn by an opponent. However, I cannot seem to discern if this rule is still part of Pathfinder, so my question is a simple ...
6
votes
3answers
119 views

Is it possible to maneuver using a spell, and if yes, does the character take mental stress/risk failing casting the spell for the maneuver?

First time GMing the Dresden RPG with a table of four first-time Fate players. We've played three games so far (plus one session for character creation) but are all still struggling with fate points, ...
6
votes
1answer
69 views

In Pathfinder, does the free Trip from Hammer to the Ground also provoke?

Normally, when using Bull Rush you provoke an attack of opportunity from your target. Hammer to the Ground lets you make a Trip combat manuver after a successful Bull Rush. Will that trip also ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Tome of Battle maneuvers clarification?

There are many maneuvers that state that you use a skill check with your opponent's Armor Class as the check's DC, and then you proceed to attack with an empowered attack. Does this mean that you ...
5
votes
2answers
325 views

Can you voluntarily stop at step 3 of Grappling?

Considering a lvl 1 monk with improved grapple, can he perform a Grapple only until the step 3? For example, a small size creature against a medium size human with improved grapple, the monk would ...
5
votes
5answers
694 views

Does the spell Dimensional Anchor stop Shadow Jaunt?

Does the spell Dimensional Anchor stop the ability Shadow Jaunt from the Tome of Battle?
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Can more than one Battle Master maneuver be used in the same attack?

Some of the battle master maneuvers can be used whenever you make a weapon attack. My question is, could I use multiple superiority dice and do multiple maneuvers with a single strike?
5
votes
1answer
188 views

Can different school's Stances and Maneuvers be mixed in a single round?

I'm trying to find out exactly how Stances and Maneuvers work, since I plan on going as a Swordsage specializing in Diamond Mind and Desert Wind schools for their maneuvers. Is it possible to use ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Epic Maneuvers?

So, the Book of Nine Swords gives us the opportunity to become the %race% of steel and pure awesomeness, it gives us maneuvers that make the character into one-man-army and stuff, and that's really ...
5
votes
1answer
316 views

Can Battle Master's maneuvering attack choose to move the Battle Master (self) who is using the maneuver?

Taken from the Player's Handbook (p. 74) Maneuvering Attack. When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can expend one superiority die to maneuver one of your comrades into a more ...
5
votes
2answers
224 views

Throwing upwards

Some Setting Sun maneuvers are concentrated on throwing your target - Devastating Throw, Comet Throw etc, and some of them get even more throwing range than 10 ft. AND add some decent damage to that. ...
5
votes
1answer
262 views

How does a Battle Master's Parry work with multiple damage types?

Suppose an attack does 5 piercing and 5 poison damage (or 5 slashing and 5 fire, etc.) and the player parries the attack, and rolls to reduce 6 points of damage. Which type of damage is reduced ...
4
votes
4answers
1k views

Can armour be disarmed?

Related to Can a shield be disarmed. Can a piece of armour be disarmed? For example, can an attacker knock their foe's helm off? Remove their gauntlets? Disarm them of a cloak? Why would an ...
4
votes
3answers
7k views

Use of combat maneuvers

I'm somewhat new to the world of tabletop RPGs and I've recently joined a Pathfinder group. I'm playing a barbarian (no archetype, just a straight up barb that fills the role of sponge tank and damage ...
4
votes
2answers
731 views

Critical combat maneuver?

When you attempt to perform a combat maneuver, make an attack roll and add your CMB in place of your normal attack bonus. Combat maneuvers are apparently attacks, and rolls made to attempt a ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

What's my initiator level for maneuvers from Martial Study?

I'm building a Warblade/Master of Nine using the rules in Tome of Battle: Book of Nine Swords. To qualify for MoN, I'm using the Martial Study feat to take maneuvers from disciplines that a Warblade ...
3
votes
1answer
432 views

Using a weapon to execute a combat maneuver

My character is a Marksman Finesse Style, and has the ability to use her ranged weapon to execute a combat maneuver. Once a Marksman has reached 2nd level, she may expend her psionic focus while ...
3
votes
1answer
176 views

Is a Trip still considered successful even if the target is already prone?

I already know that using trip as an AoO against a foe while they're trying to stand up doesn't cancel their standing-up action, they still make it to their feet. However, Greater Trip permits an AoO ...
3
votes
2answers
94 views

Can you benefit from Punishing Stance with a melee touch attack?

All maneuvers in Tome of Battle have a clearly defined paragraph of flavor text, clearly marked in italics, and a rules text right below it. I understand the first part of this rules text to be some ...
3
votes
1answer
288 views

Does a Rust Monster's Rust (Su) apply to other kinds of touch attacks it makes?

I have a rust monster with the Greater Trip and Fury's Fall feats and the ability to cast a handful of spells, which opens up some situations I've not seen before. If I make a trip attempt with a ...
2
votes
2answers
89 views

Are combat maneuvers allowed with unarmed strike?

Can a character without natural attacks or improved unarmed strike use their unarmed strike to make a combat maneuver?
2
votes
2answers
256 views

Pinning a Shield with a Shield?

Question(s) Would shield bashing, or using the shield as a weapon, meet the requirements of the Pin Shield feat? Also, would Agile Shield Fighter have any effect? For instance, would that allow to ...
2
votes
2answers
773 views

Consequences of a Tumble and Overrun

Page 272 of the DMG states: Overrun When a creature tries to move through a hostile creature's space, the mover can try to force its way through by overrunning the hostile creature ...
2
votes
1answer
433 views

Can a creature with reach using Sunder be targeted by an AoO if it isn't within range of the defender?

Let's assume that the large creature with reach weapon (reach 20') does not have a feat to not provoke AoO. And a medium humanoid with a longsword (reach 5') is standing out of his own reach but in ...
2
votes
2answers
246 views

Would a torch be considered a weapon when using a light shield and the Weapon and Torch feat?

According to the Weapon and Torch feat (Dungeonscape, p. 47) I can: Attack once with your melee weapon. If the attack hits, you also sweep your torch across your foe's eyes, dealing ld6 points of ...
2
votes
1answer
99 views

Can I attack the target of my Overrun?

Simply put: Can I attack the same creature I choose to use the Overrun combat maneuver on? The entry for the Overrun maneuver states it can be done as part of a charge, does that mean I can attack ...
1
vote
2answers
107 views

Does Sundering require a hit in Force & Destiny?

I've been reading the active item qualities, and most of them say "If you hit you may spend so and so adv to do something." Sunder however just says "spend 1 adv to sunder". My friends say you need ...
1
vote
1answer
70 views

How does Sunder work with Magic Weapons?

Looking at the rules of Sunder, it states that the weapon's damage is reduced by the item's hardness before being applied to the item, and Greater Sunder states that any excess damage is inflicted on ...
1
vote
3answers
126 views

How Does Takedown Work?

From the Rogue Trader rulebook, page 107, for the Talent Takedown: If he hits and would have done at least 1 point of Damage, then ignore the Damage and the opponent must make a Toughness Test ...
1
vote
0answers
493 views

Using skills in place of attacking - how can I contribute? [closed]

I'm trying to play a Rogue who doesn't fight directly, but I still want to help out in combat. I've asked my GM if he's ok with me attempting more creative or unusual actions, and he's said yes. (Side ...
0
votes
1answer
119 views

Expanding Jade phoenix mage's maneuvers?

I was reading the tome of battle and found this in jade phoenix mage Maneuvers: At each odd-numbered level, you gain a new maneuver known from the Desert Wind or Devoted Spirit disciplines. You ...