Combat refers to the systems used in roleplaying games to resolve conflict through violent means, often to the death of one or more characters. Combat often involves several subsystems that determine whether harm is inflicted (to-hit) and the extent of that harm (damage).

learn more… | top users | synonyms

14
votes
3answers
569 views

How are “non-damage” attack rolls determined?

In 5e, I have not found a system that works with "non-damage" attacks. Eg, throwing sand in someone's face, to temporarily blind them. Because this is not an attack that involves their AC, does it go ...
4
votes
1answer
48 views

How does flight work in 13th age?

I have been looking through the rules and online for what flight does when used in combat, and can't seem the find the answer. I'm getting the impression that it is more meant to be descriptive than ...
5
votes
5answers
464 views

How to create battles in a war [on hold]

I've been creating my own campaign loosely basses on the Eberron campaign setting (as in very loosely, I've only been using the names of countries & cities to create my own map). I was planning ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Does a Monk need to see an incoming attack to use the deflect missile ability?

I play in a 5e game, and a monk was getting shot in the back of the head. One of the monk's abilities is Deflect Missiles: "Starting at 3rd level you can use your reaction to deflect or catch the ...
9
votes
0answers
65 views

How does a Chivalry & Sorcery battle actually get resolved?

Years ago I purchased the Chivalry & Sorcery Sourcebook for its Battle System, but there's one basic thing I've never been able to figure out. On p 65 of the book, it has the procedure for dealing ...
5
votes
2answers
277 views

Can my Warcaster Cleric use a mace to deliver Inflict Wounds?

My Cleric has the Warcaster feat, a mace in his right hand, and a shield in his left. He casts inflict wounds, which requires a touch attack to be executed against an opposing enemy, a goblin for ...
13
votes
3answers
5k views

What is a “Melee Spell Attack” and how does it differ from a regular spell?

In 5e a lot of the spells in both the Monster Manual and PHB talk about a spell being a "melee spell attack". Is this simply to do with the range of the spell or are there additional rules to rolling? ...
17
votes
3answers
1k views

Can Cutting Words cancel a critical hit?

If a creature hits with a natural 20, can a Lore bard use his Cutting Words ability to substract an inspiration die from the result, thus preventing a critical hit? Cutting Words: When a creature ...
5
votes
3answers
348 views

When do you receive a bonus action and reaction?

When you start combat, after determining surprise and establishing positions; you roll for initiative. At this point, do all combatants have a reaction or bonus action even if they are not first? For ...
17
votes
3answers
2k views

How do you handle Reach in Dungeon World?

How does reach actually work? If I am wielding a long spear against a goblin with a dagger ("Staying far out of its reach, I make quick thrusts at the goblin's head!"), do I roll Hack and Slash? Do ...
4
votes
3answers
520 views

Explosive and Incendiary ammunition on vampires

In the game we are playing right now, a character was a sniper who tried to kill a criminal, but failed because the criminal was actually a vampire. Now, the sniper is a vampire too, and he's ...
5
votes
3answers
174 views

How does using Speed Factor initiative affect the speed of play?

My players tend to carefully plan their actions in combat, leaning heavily on their knowledge of the combat rules. They take into consideration who will act when, and which enemies still have ...
5
votes
1answer
655 views

Does each “strike” of a multiattack require a new attack roll?

This is in regards to creatures that have the multiattack ability and PCs, like monks, who have flurry of blows and multiple strikes per attack. Each time the creature attempts to make a new strike in ...
8
votes
2answers
249 views

How can I GM for more tactically-minded players?

I've been GMing a Dungeon World campaign for about a year now, and consider myself an intermediate at understanding the system. My group has recently told me that they miss D&D's tactical combat. ...
0
votes
0answers
32 views

Switching between sword and shield and crossbow [duplicate]

Can a character all in one turn make his or her full movement, and switch from sword and shield to light crossbow, and load it and fire, and/or vice versa?
21
votes
2answers
3k views

Must I use all available damage, if I want to leave my target alive?

If I roll a successful attack roll, then a damage roll that is greater than the remaining HP of a monster, do I have to apply all of it or can I leave him at 1 or even 0 HP? It doesn't Instant Kill ...
4
votes
3answers
176 views

With Extra Attack, can you bite twice in Wild Shape?

Dire Wolf for example only has Bite listed as Actions, not Attacks. If it is not a general attack, but a special type of Action, it can only be used on the Wolf's turn. So it can not make an ...
2
votes
2answers
180 views

Can any attack action trigger Flurry of Blows?

Reading over the Monk I saw that for Martial Arts: When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike or a monk weapon on your turn, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action. This ...
4
votes
3answers
300 views

Can you Multiattack twice with the Extra Attack Feature?

Assume the character build Any Monk 5/Moon Druid 2, wildshaped into a Brown Bear: On their turn, can they use their attack action twice to multiattack?
11
votes
4answers
6k views

What does “+6 to hit, Hit: 13 (2d8 + 4)” mean in a creature's stat block?

My friends and I are very new to D&D, played like 3 times. In a monster's stats next to weapon damage it says stuff like "+11 to hit" and "Hit: 5 (1d8+1)". For the premade characters it just says ...
11
votes
1answer
3k views

Does one have to confirm a critical hit?

In D&D 3.5, one scored a critical threat, and then had to confirm the crit by hitting the monster's armor class again. In D&D 5th edition, it does not explicitly state that crits have to be ...
10
votes
3answers
1k views

Can someone immediately pick up their weapon after being Disarmed?

So disarm can make someone drop a weapon at their feet. Only advantage is if others want to dash away or you need to remove a reaction parry from the opponent before they get their own turn. When the ...
3
votes
3answers
205 views

How do I calculate a suitable combat encounter under 5e based on the CR values in the Monster Manual?

In my 3rd ed book, there is a table of CR against the number of monsters a party can fight based on their level. In 5e I cannot find this table. There is some mention of encounters being based on the ...
10
votes
1answer
118 views

Can “Phantasmal Force” be used as a flanking buddy?

If someone casts "Phantasmal Force" (2nd level illusion) on a foe, in a campaign that uses the optional flanking rules, and it renders to the foe as another attacking creature from a flanking ...
3
votes
2answers
205 views

Some combat questions about the rod of ropes

Is making a ranged attack with a rod of ropes a move action, an attack, or a standard action? The description of the second function of the rod of ropes (Complete Scoundrel 116) (4,000 gp; 4 lbs.) ...
3
votes
5answers
607 views

Fighting against a Spirit - Only 1 Mage

I'm pretty new to P&P of any kind. Next round we will fight against a Spirit. We have 1 Mage, Rigger, Hacker, and me the Melee fighter (not Adept). We know there is an "Air Spirit" in the next ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

If I am using 2 weapons, can I trip with one and attack the tripped target in the same round?

I'm playing a dual wield fighter and I was wondering is it possible to, when using a full round action to attack and you have more then one strike, can you trip with your first hit and then proceed to ...
9
votes
1answer
195 views

What happens when your “Statement of Intent” becomes invalid in BRP?

In D&D and similar games, the "Statement of Intent" step of combat occurs on each player's turn when their actions are announced and is resolved immediately. BRP has everyone performing this step ...
9
votes
5answers
6k views

How does shield bashing work?

I've looked in the DMG and the PHB, but have only found ancillary uses of the shield. The Shield Master feat (PHB, p.170) gives you neat perks, but doesn't act as a weapon (beyond the bonus shove ...
6
votes
1answer
334 views

What ways exist to consistently and reliably grant my allies advantage on the attack roll? [closed]

I'm looking for ways to build and/or play a proper Tank/supporter, with the focus of my support lying on helping my friends getting advantage, for example by: Creatively using Feats or core ...
13
votes
4answers
2k views

Is combat supposed to be this quick?

This question is a follow-up to the comments in this answer What ways exist to consistently and reliably grant my allies advantage on the attack roll? I was confused about timing terms and effects ...
18
votes
1answer
2k views

Does a gargantuan creature still die if only the feet are ever attacked?

A group of PCs without ranged weapons is facing a gargantuan creature (e.g. Tolkien's Oliphaunts). Obviously, if they don't climb the creature, they can only hit a small and non-lethal part of it ...
11
votes
3answers
673 views

How to force enemies to attack the tank?

I am having a group, in which I play as a Crusader. I specialised to be a support tank - I can shrug off respectable amounts of damage all the while improving the rest of the group's fighting ...
7
votes
3answers
436 views

How can I damage or break a foe's weapon?

Can someone provide a step-by-step walkthrough of how to make an attack against a foe's weapon? I wasn't able to find the specifics maneuvers and descriptions on official L5R 4E material (only some ...
3
votes
2answers
124 views

How does the “Directed Bull Rush” from Shock Trooper work?

The feat Shock Trooper allows an "Directed Bull Rush" to push the opponent to the left or right. CW p.112: To use this maneuver you must make a successful bull rush attempt as part of a charge. ...
29
votes
1answer
14k views

How does Stealth work with Sneak Attack?

So, in Pathfinder, it seems that being able to use stealth in order to gain sneak attacks only works in the surprise round, with the rules as written. So, imagine a scenario where we have a sniper ...
13
votes
3answers
581 views

Does an Evocation shield have a reactive utility to it?

Say that Player X is 2nd in the initiative. 1st is the Black Court vampire that is in a rage and taking a swing at Player X. Player X gets a built in defense [Athletics/Fists + 4dF] but can Player X ...
1
vote
2answers
109 views

Does an NPC provoke an AOO when he attacks one of two adjacent PCs?

I've read the table which lists the various actions that do and do not provoke an AOO and know that an attack doesnt. But I'm unsure of what happens in the following situation. If two PCs are ...
6
votes
2answers
579 views

How does two-weapon fighting work?

I'm quite confused about attacking with two weapons in both hands and wondering what is required to be able to do to (in Pathfinder). 1. Base Attack Bonus Looking at the base attack bonus tables for ...
7
votes
1answer
148 views

What order are individual attacks taken in during a full attack action, and does it differ between editions?

What rules apply to the order in which individual attacks are taken during a full attack action in D&D 3.0, 3.5, and Pathfinder? I am specifically interested in RAW requirements on the order in ...
28
votes
8answers
34k views

Does Warlock combat just equal Eldritch Blast spam?

Been looking over the warlock because I thought it would be cool to make a spellcaster that can also mix it up in melee combat. After all how awesome isn't it to conjure up a magical weapon and start ...
3
votes
5answers
1k views

Sniping: How Does It Work?

The Player's Handbook says the following about sniping: Sniping: If you’ve already successfully hidden at least 10 feet from your target, you can make one ranged attack, then immediately hide ...
9
votes
1answer
644 views

NPCs detecting (greater) invisible PC after he attacks their ally

Is there a ruling in any of the Pathfinder books (either RAW or RAI, excl 3rd party material) that would allow an NPC to target the square of an invisible foe after seeing his fellow NPC receiving ...
8
votes
1answer
386 views

Does a Magic Staff count as a magic weapon?

Many creatures have resistance to weapons that aren't "magic weapons". A Magic Staff can be used as a quarterstaff, but (usually) doesn't have a bonus to hit (a "plus"). Is it considered a Magic ...
19
votes
1answer
962 views

Do opportunity attacks end the target's movement?

Reading over chapter 9 (Combat) of the PHB, I stumbled across the following text, under the Opportunity attacks entry : The attack interrupts the provoking creature's movement, occuring right ...
2
votes
1answer
125 views

Would multiple actions really completely unbalance Pathfinder?

Time and again I have read about houserules that grant multiple actions via feats or special circumstances and then people saying that it would completely and utterly destroy pathfinders combat rules. ...
24
votes
2answers
3k views

Game Over in RPGs?

Me and my friends are novices in TRPG. Recently, we've played Anima Prime. The game's quite simple so we could play it right away with short prep. But one thing came in my friend's mind. What happened ...
4
votes
1answer
258 views

Dual Wielding With an Instrument?

I am playing a bard in 5e and would like to know if it's possible to use an instrument to cast spells while holding a weapon in each hand. (if I am correct that you need the instrument to cast bardic ...
5
votes
3answers
6k views

Does Monkey Grip allow wielding 2 handed weapons in 1 hand?

As typical in D&D a friend and I are having a debate, this time about whether or not Monkey Grip (3.5 complete warrior feat) allows a medium creature to wield a 2-handed medium weapon with one ...
7
votes
1answer
335 views

Can I cast a spell and attack in the same turn?

Specifically I am asking as a level 1 Half-elf Bard. As far as I know he doesn't have any dual wielding capabilities yet, or anything that states he has a bonus action to attack. So I'm wondering if ...