A condition suffered by a creature, typically negative and as a result of an enemy's actions during combat.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

16
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens when making a dying, surgeless character use her second wind?

Last session happened that our Barbarian fell unconscious, with 0 healing surges, and before she could spend her second wind. The Avenger then made a Heal check to force her spending her second wind. ...
15
votes
2answers
668 views

After removing Dazed can a creature use its other actions?

A character starts its turn Dazed [ddi] The creature uses its one action to grant myself a save using a power that requires a minor action. The creature makes the Save and is no longer Dazed. Is ...
12
votes
1answer
601 views

Is there advantage on a non-adjacent attack against an unconscious creature?

The unconscious condition states the following two effects (PHB292) The creature drops whatever it's holding and falls prone. Attack rolls against the creature have advantage By prone it is ...
8
votes
4answers
1k views

Are there serious drawbacks in being Deafened?

"Oh! Yes... you are also deaf until you save". "What?" . "You are deaf until you save!" "What?" Giggles. In 4th edition the deafened condition is not really a tough one: a penalty to Perception ...
8
votes
2answers
187 views

In the area of effect of Sleet Storm, do creatures gain the Blinded condition?

If a creature is inside a Sleet Storm spell, does it gain the Blinded condition? For example, does it take the -2 penalty to Armor Class from Blinded? The relevant text of Sleet Storm: Driving ...
7
votes
6answers
1k views

What are the effects of drunkenness on a humanoid in D&D 4e?

I'm creating a monster NPC in D&D 4e that's supposed to be falling-down drunk, which should have pretty large effects on his skills, but I can't find the appropriate penalties or bonuses to apply. ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

Question on Stacked conditions

According to Pathfinder rules on conditions: "If more than one condition affects a character, apply them all. If effects can't combine, apply the most severe effect." Using this, is it safe to ...
5
votes
2answers
239 views

Alternative for 4e saves

So, recently I began playing 4e again and was discussing with a friend about how 'odd' the save mechanic for ongoing damage /lingering conditions appears to us. Right now it works like this: ...
5
votes
2answers
275 views

How does Dominated work? Can it really make me attack allies or walk off a cliff?

In one of the games I was in a creature was able to Dominate my friend and he was getting angry that the DM forced his character to attack a NPC character that was nocked prone that we where trying to ...
5
votes
2answers
243 views

Is it necessary to maintain Line of Effect for the Dominated condition?

The dominatedDDI condition states that the controller can chose one action for the dominated creature to take each turn. Is there anything that can prevent that control from taking place other than ...
5
votes
1answer
212 views

Do attack powers that have an effect of marking a target use the class's defender mark or some other version of a mark?

Do attack powers that have an effect of marking a target use the class's defender mark (e.g. Aegis of Assault) or some other version of a mark? Powers like Swordmage: Dual Lightning Strike, lvl 3 ...
4
votes
3answers
264 views

Creature death and save conditions

When a creature dies, does it continue to suffer from conditions? The reason I ask is because of the Item Daily Power on the Orb of Fickle Fate: A target within 10 squares of you takes a -2 ...
3
votes
2answers
132 views

Can the Family Subdomain temporarily bring someone back to life?

Binding Ties (Su): As a standard action, you can touch an ally and remove one condition affecting the ally by transferring it to yourself. This transfer lasts a number of rounds equal to your ...
3
votes
2answers
155 views

Removing Conditions without resolution

So, I am rereading the God Machine Rules Update. An issue I saw the last time I played with it was that there doesn't seem to be a mechanic for removing conditions without resolving them. Lets say a ...
1
vote
1answer
103 views

Certain Justice and Superior Will

What happens if you have Superior Will and succeed on a Saving Throw (in the start of your turn) against the Dazed condition from Certain Justice (the 11th power from the Champion of Order paragon ...