8
votes
1answer
152 views

Critical Strikes and auto-confirmation

Afternoon everyone. I have a query about a fighter build I am working on. So at lvl 20 a fighter gains the class ability Weapon Mastery that makes all critical threat automatically confirmed with one ...
6
votes
2answers
473 views

Can I select the same feat twice for Critical Mastery?

The Core Rulebook provides the following benefit for Critical Mastery: Benefit: When you score a critical hit, you can apply the effects of two critical feats in addition to the damage dealt. ...
26
votes
9answers
2k views

What effect would removing the confirmation roll have on the game?

I've been doing a bit of theorycrafting about 3.5 and pathfinder lately, and a thought struck me about critical hits that got me thinking more about their use in play. Critical hits are clearly a ...
15
votes
3answers
2k views

On a critical hit, does one double negative modifiers?

Let's say a character with an 8 STR confirms a critical hit with a short sword. A normal hit for them would deal 1d6-1 damage. Does the critical deal 2d6-2?
2
votes
1answer
126 views

Pathfinder, Savage Display

I have a question regarding critical hits and the feat Savage Display. If I score a critical hit, do I roll 1d6 for both regular hit damage and the "critical damage"? - so if I get a confirmation its ...
2
votes
2answers
788 views

For the bleeding critical feat, what stacks exactly?

The Pathfinder Bleeding Critical feat has the following benefit: "Whenever you score a critical hit with a slashing or piercing weapon, your opponent takes 2d6 points of bleed damage (see Conditions) ...
14
votes
1answer
966 views

What if a critical “hit” misses?

A natural 20 is automatically a hit, and threatens to be a critical, then you re-roll for confirming the critical (for which it has to be higher than the enemies AC to a maximum of 20). Now if ...