The mechanics for receiving and inflicting harm or injury.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

22
votes
2answers
2k views

Weapon attacks compared with damaging cantrips?

Cantrips scale automatically with character level. Weapon attacks only scale with ability score and any extra attack features you might get. How could the damage of weapon attacks keep up?
7
votes
3answers
261 views

Can I use Force Push or similar force powers without killing the opponent?

I have a Jedi character in a Star Wars Saga edition game, who does not want to kill without good reason. If he uses a force power like Force Push, it causes a set amount of damage which usually kills ...
2
votes
0answers
33 views

Can All-Out Attack be used with Combination Blow?

They both cause the character to lose their Defense for the turn. Can they be used together though?
5
votes
1answer
75 views

Do Bane bonuses from multiple sources stack?

I am playing an Inquisitor who has the "bane ability" in which I can change my bane type that I apply each round I so choose for a certain number of rounds per day. My sword already has (evil ...
5
votes
1answer
320 views

How do Bane bonuses from multiple sources stack?

If I have a +1 dragons-bane Body Wrap of Mighty Strikes and a +1 dragons-bane Amulet of Mighty Fists, what happens? Do my unarmed strikes have an enhancement bonus vs dragons of +4 or +6 (or something ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

What damage does a Halfling's Staff Sling deal?

I'm about to play a Halfling in my 1st Pathfinder game and I'm a bit confused about the Halflings Staff Sling. Relevant information Under "Standard Racial Traits" for halflings it states: Size: ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Are there no bonuses to two-handed weapons' damage?

Back in 3e, there was a "one and a half" strength bonus to damage when wielding 2-handed weapons. I thought that made sense back then, but I see no such thing in D&D 5th edition. I understand this ...
5
votes
2answers
329 views

What does the enhancement bonus of Blue Ice stack with?

Frostburn lists Blue Ice as an Exotic material (p. 80). It weighs half as much as iron and can be forged, shaped and utilized as if it were iron. (Very useful to keep your beer cold!) When forged ...
7
votes
2answers
300 views

Can you wait to add optional damage dice (such as Divine Smite) until after seeing if the roll is a critical?

Certain damage kickers are put into effect at the attacker's option after it is determined that an attack is a hit. Examples include: The Divine Smite of paladins and of several cleric domains The ...
1
vote
0answers
150 views

What is the highest damage potential (multi-class) for a 5th level character? [closed]

I'm wondering for my next session what the highest damage potential is for a multi-class character. Criteria: 5e PHB material only level 5 single-target damage only consistent DPR (damage per ...
2
votes
1answer
112 views

Would flying a grappled character hard into the ground deal them extra falling damage?

Trying to figure out the mechanics of a certain situation. PC grapples enemy and uses a move that doubles movement speed. Following that, a stacked move allows the PC to carry grappled enemy 60 ft ...
13
votes
4answers
707 views

What does “… when it enters the spell’s area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there” mean

From When do you roll the damage for Cloud of Daggers?, it was suggested that some comments be made into a Q&A. So: From the Cloud of Daggers spell (others have similar wording) You fill the ...
1
vote
1answer
68 views

Lightning Lure / Falling Damage Question [duplicate]

So I'm playing a Variant Tiefling from the SCAG, and I took the Winged trait. I also took the Lightning Lure cantrip, so that I could combine LL's 1d8 lightning damage with the 1d6 bludgeoning damage ...
1
vote
0answers
51 views

Is Superiority Dice Damage Doubled Due To Assassinate? [duplicate]

Critical hits double all the dice rolls. Since Superiority Dice are dice rolls too, do they get doubled on a crit? That is, if a Fighter attacks, rolls a 20, and decides to use a combat maneuver, do ...
4
votes
1answer
621 views

Can an Acrobatics skill check reduce falling damage?

In older versions of D&D, there were rules for reducing falling damage by making a Tumble/Acrobatics skill check. Does this type of rule exist in D&D 5e? If not, is there a common accepted ...
5
votes
2answers
213 views

What magic weapon makes damage rolls of 1, 2 or 3 count as 4?

I know I have seen in one of the 4e books, a magic weapon with a property that if you make a damage roll of 1, 2 or 3, those rolls become a 4. I cannot remember what book I had seen it in or what it ...
14
votes
3answers
27k views

Pathfinder Damage Dice Steps

I am building a Human Gunslinger character who uses the Racial Heritage feat to get access to the Goblin Gunslinger feat so he can use a large double hack-but without penalty. Problem is, the the ...
7
votes
2answers
432 views

Can magical spells damage objects?

Can magical spells actually damage objects? So something standalone, e.g. the pile of wood over there in the corner of the room? And on a character, e.g. the quarterstaff in a character hand? [I ...
9
votes
3answers
13k views

Isn't wielding inappropriately large weapons pretty powerful?

Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can't make optimum use of a weapon that isn't properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference ...
2
votes
2answers
166 views

What is the Expected Damage Gain from this Part of my Homebrewed Gunslinger Feat?

Preamble: One of the players in a campaign I will be DM’ing for will be playing a fighter archetype called the Gunslinger (made by Matthew Mercer for the RPG show Critical Role). Since the player ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

Does taking more damage than you have HP remaining result in a death saving throw failure?

Here are the rules for damage taken while at 0 HP (Player’s Basic Rules Version 0.3, Page 76): Damage at 0 Hit Points. If you take any damage while you have 0 hit points, you suffer a death saving ...
7
votes
1answer
117 views

Ammunition fired from a projectile weapon - does it keep the enchantment the bow has?

This rule comes from 3.5 i think. Is there a rule that states the same for Pathfinder? Ammunition fired from a projectile weapon with an enhancement bonus of +1 or higher is treated as a magic ...
12
votes
2answers
584 views

What part of the damage is halved/doubled for Damage Resistance/Vulnerability?

If a creature has "damage resistance" to non-magical weapons how does the final damage number break down? Is the weapon damage halved only? Is the total damage (weapon, STR/DEX dmg. bonus) halved? ...
7
votes
2answers
599 views

Is my Half Orc Barbarian invulnerable to death by falling?

Forgive me if I've botched any math, but here's the situation I've found myself in (assuming 4th level): Falling damage caps out at 20d6 at terminal velocity. Kronan the Barbarian has 55 Max HP ...
5
votes
1answer
203 views

Can you knock out Animated Armor and/or Zombies?

When making a melee attack against a creature that reduces it to 0 HP the attacker can declare the attack incapacitating rather than lethal: "the attacker can make this choice the instant the damage ...
14
votes
4answers
2k views

Can massive damage knock out rather than causing instant death?

Suppose, as happened last night, a character intends to subdue rather than kill an opponent. She made a melee attack, hit, declared her intent to knock out. The damage roll was enough to reduce the ...
9
votes
2answers
733 views

What is the guidance for setting the damage done by unusual difficult/dangerous terrain?

With difficult terrain in 5e, how do you calculate the damage or special modifiers for terrain? I have found some related information, such as Pushing enemies into/over difficult terrain or cliffs in ...
4
votes
1answer
142 views

Is a Ioun Stone safe from Area of Effect damages when in a creature's pocket?

Say the party is able to attack a group of three creatures by surprise. The wizard decides to cast a fireball, which should kill a couple of the creatures outright. One of those creatures has an Ioun ...
1
vote
1answer
132 views

How do I read this damage notation? [duplicate]

In Dungeons and Dragons if a monster attacks and hits what happens with this damage: 4(1d4+2)? Do you add inside the parenthesis then multiply by 4?
4
votes
3answers
677 views

Explosive and Incendiary ammunition on vampires

In the game we are playing right now, a character was a sniper who tried to kill a criminal, but failed because the criminal was actually a vampire. Now, the sniper is a vampire too, and he's ...
5
votes
2answers
184 views

Is damage from multiple damage types cumulative for death and massive damage?

Scenario 1: A grimlock hits Alice with a Spiked Bone Club, dealing 5 bludgeoning damage, plus 2 piercing damage. Alice's HP was 12. Using the optional Massive Damage rules on page 273 of the DMG, ...
21
votes
2answers
3k views

Must I use all available damage, if I want to leave my target alive?

If I roll a successful attack roll, then a damage roll that is greater than the remaining HP of a monster, do I have to apply all of it or can I leave him at 1 or even 0 HP? It doesn't Instant Kill ...
7
votes
1answer
176 views

Can a Spectral Weapon take damage?

During a session, we ran across a scenario whereby one of the player's weapons (a Javelin) would do a sort of lightning strike through several squares - including the one my spectral weapon (from the ...
17
votes
2answers
6k views

What types of damage are affected by the lance special rule?

When using a lance while charging on a mount, the rules say that it deals double damage. My question is, what all damage is doubled? From what I can find, the die roll and strength bonus are doubled, ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

Is there a minimum damage rule?

In D&D3e, if you successfully hit a target you always did at least 1 point of damage (before applying Damage Resistance), even if you had a Strength penalty. I can't find any mention of that rule ...
11
votes
4answers
3k views

Does Great Weapon Fighting apply to Superiority Die rolls?

Great Weapon Fighting states: When you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an attack you make with a melee weapon that you are wielding with two hands, you can reroll the die and must use the new ...
7
votes
8answers
2k views

Does movement speed add damage or attack power to weapons?

I have a character who has managed to get herself a movement speed of 100'. She is a centaur, and as such specializes in lance based combat and charges. Now in the real world a lance moving faster ...
2
votes
2answers
158 views

How do I calculate weapon damage as I level up?

I updated my weapons' damage rolls with the help of a friend when I reached level 13, but now I'm level 16, and I don't know how to do it myself. My weapons are a huge size Chakram (ranged), a Web ...
15
votes
4answers
2k views

Can an attacker tell they're dealing non-lethal damage?

While reviewing regeneration I was reminded that "damage dealt to the creature is treated as nonlethal damage". This made me wonder if the attacker can tell (before regeneration happens) that the ...
5
votes
2answers
281 views

Astral Combat, Damage, and You

So, an unfortunate event occured in our game recently. A mage with a whole 1 in both Logic and Intuition approuched a dual nature being. She was close enough, was materialized, and called the being ...
6
votes
2answers
223 views

Do damaging magic Effects deal automatic or rolled damage?

Both Vampire and Mage mention the usage of damage dice pools which are calculated based on the attack's successes and are afterwards rolled vs. Diff. 6 in order to determine actual caused damage. ...
5
votes
3answers
296 views

Damage for chained cannonballs

For the next session we roll, my players will be faced with pirates. My question is how would you determine what kind of damage chained cannonballs inflict? (By chained cannonballs I mean two ...
5
votes
1answer
750 views

Can you reroll both dice or only one when Great Weapon Fighting with a Greatsword?

GWF let's you reroll the die if it's a 1 and 2, so in the instance of a Greatsword do you reroll only one of those die if both land on a 1 or a 2, or both? I imagine if you could reroll both it would ...
12
votes
1answer
293 views

What happens if my character jumps down?

Disclaimer: I only own the books in my native language, so my wording might be a bit off when mentioning exact skill names. It should still be clear what I'm asking. Just recently, my character was ...
1
vote
2answers
612 views

5e Shapeshifting Druid rules [closed]

I'm a bit confused with some of the rules stated in the Player's Handbook about Wild Shape. Specifically, my question is about taking damage while in animal form: if my health drops to one HP, I ...
5
votes
1answer
918 views

Does Hex stack with (each) Scorching Ray?

If I use Hex (PHB p251) on a target and then hit it with all three rays making up Scorching Ray (PHB p273), do I add the extra 1d6 necrotic damage to EACH ray that hits, or do I only add a single 1d6 ...
5
votes
1answer
622 views

How much fire damage would contact with/submergence in lava/magma/molten metal do?

If a character has Resist 35 fire, and was standing on the rocky shore of a river of lava, exactly how far into the process of wading/swimming across would he get before he starts taking damage? I ...
3
votes
1answer
606 views

How do I calculate DPR for spellcasters?

The title says it all: it's fairly simple to get a melee/ranged attacker's DPR with the formula but what about Spellcasters? I'm trying to gauge an NPC antagonist spellcaster's Offensive Challenge ...
3
votes
1answer
182 views

Does an incorporeal creature take half ability damage from corporeal sources?

The rules for incorporeal creatures states that "Even when hit by spells or magic weapons, [an incorporeal creature] takes only half damage from a corporeal source (except for channel energy)." If, as ...
5
votes
1answer
228 views

Do bonuses to damage rolls apply to each attack in a round?

In D&D 4e, if you don't move, you can attack twice per turn. My question is pretty simple: if I attack twice, do I add my bonus twice (which seems logical, since it's two separate attacks), or ...