0
votes
2answers
70 views

Can one attack for damage after having grappled an opponent?

The grappling rules sure are... light. Supposing one has an Extra Attack: Assuming one has successfully grappled an opponent with one's first attack, can one then perform a normal attack action with ...
0
votes
1answer
88 views

Is additional damage from a spell counted as part of the same attack?

For specifics let's look at Witch Bolt (page 289 PHB), there may be others but I am far too lazy to look through each and every one for other examples. Witch Bolt Make a ranged spell attack ...
11
votes
5answers
1k views

What is a slam attack?

Any number of monsters in D&D 5e (and previous editions, but 5e is my concern) have attacks labeled Slam. What, descriptively, does an attack of this kind entail? For example, doppelgangers have ...
7
votes
1answer
180 views

Do you know the value of an attack or damage roll on you before the hit is resolved?

In D+D 5e, there are many effects that enable AC, attack rolls, or damage rolls to be modified after being rolled but before the hit is resolves. Examples are the Shield spell and the "Parry" Battle ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

DnD Next (Final Playtest) Finesse + Ability Modifier Damage

The the How to play document says Weapon Attacks. If you’re attacking with a melee weapon, apply your Strength modifier to the damage, and if you’re attacking with a ranged weapon, apply ...