Questions about interpreting what a feat does or understanding specific feats, which are abilities of a character that provide small bonuses in specific circumstances in Dungeons and Dragons 3rd edition and higher, as well as Pathfinder.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

2
votes
2answers
168 views

Do the Pathfinder magic item creation rules allow for feats to be added to items?

I have a player (yeah, that guy) who would like to craft an item that allows Weapon Focus (several actually) to an item they would like to craft. Having read the Paizo website several times, I still ...
5
votes
2answers
174 views

Does Skill Focus advance automatically?

The feat Skill Focus (PCR 134) says, You get a +3 bonus on all checks involving the chosen skill. If you have 10 or more ranks in that skill, this bonus increases to +6. My question is, if I ...
5
votes
2answers
142 views

How do I get my animal companion more feats?

I have been trying to make a tripping wolf companion work for a while and have been stymied by the lack of Combat Expertise. I recently stumbled upon Dirty Fighting, which bypasses that requirement. ...
10
votes
3answers
389 views

Can a character power attack before making an attack of opportunity?

In a recent game, a scenario arose where a character lost initiative but subsequently was granted an attack of opportunity (had Combat Reflexes) by an enemy. There was a follow up discussion about ...
5
votes
2answers
219 views

Is my feat chain for TWF Slayer Tank optimized?

I am about to bring a Shield and Sword Slayer to a PFS game. Assume I can use anything on PFSRD since if I need the book, I will just buy it. I am starting form level 1 with 150g, as is PFS standard. ...
6
votes
1answer
68 views

Dilettante replaced by Encounter-atk replacing feat?

I'm trying to create a Blackguard multiclass-vampire. One of the multiclass-vampire feats called "Thirst for Blood" allows you to "Choose one of your encounter attack powers that has a level. You lose ...
6
votes
1answer
71 views

In Pathfinder, does the free Trip from Hammer to the Ground also provoke?

Normally, when using Bull Rush you provoke an attack of opportunity from your target. Hammer to the Ground lets you make a Trip combat manuver after a successful Bull Rush. Will that trip also ...
5
votes
1answer
87 views

How do expertise feats work with double weapons with different groups?

I'm making a character that is wielding a Kusari-gama, which is a double weapon that is a flail on one end and a light blade on the other end. My question is for expertise feats like Flail Expertise ...
8
votes
3answers
226 views

Does Psionic Meditation allow a psion to psionically focus his psicrystal as a move action?

The feat Psicrystal Affinity grants the psion a psicrystal. The feat Psicrystal Containment allows the psion to take a full-round action to make a Concentration skill check (DC 20) to have the ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

May I describe my character's Mobile feat as parkour or freerunning?

Let's say in 5th ed D&D I take the Mobile feat, then use the Dash and Cunning Action. My PC's base speed is now +10, and I ignore difficult terrain, moving twice my new and improved base speed. ...
4
votes
2answers
181 views

How do Two-Weapon feats apply to ranged weapons?

I was looking over the weapons lists and found the Hand Crossbow among the options. Thinking of the possibilities, I looked over the Two-Weapon fighting feats and a number of them sounded like they ...
3
votes
3answers
223 views

Does skulker remove the attack penalty for targeting creatures in low-light? Also, does that stack with Darkvision?

I'm developing an NPC whose area of expertise is night assault. Variant Human Rogue (Assassin) with Goggles of Night and the Skulker feat. My reasoning is thus: Goggles of Night: Total darkness = ...
4
votes
3answers
232 views

Can you “Step Up” 15 feet if you have Jaunt Boots?

The Step Up feat says: Benefit: Whenever an adjacent foe attempts to take a 5-foot step away from you, you may also make a 5-foot step as an immediate action so long as you end up adjacent to ...
5
votes
1answer
168 views

What is the source of the “Versatile Channeler” feat?

I'm building my first pathfinder game and am a Cleric under a neutral diety. I was looking at feats and found the "Versatile Channeller" feat but I can't find it anywhere in the player's guide. Is it ...
4
votes
1answer
72 views

Does a nezumi inkyo gain the feat Void Use?

The Rokugan campaign setting for Dungeons and Dragons, Third Edition says that "[n]on-humans and characters not native to Rokugan may not select the" feat Void Use (55), yet the inkyo (41-5) gains at ...
5
votes
2answers
504 views

Can my Warcaster Cleric use a mace to deliver Inflict Wounds?

My Cleric has the Warcaster feat, a mace in his right hand, and a shield in his left. He casts inflict wounds, which requires a touch attack to be executed against an opposing enemy, a goblin for ...
7
votes
1answer
168 views

Which spells trigger the second benefit of Shield Master?

The Shield Master feat includes the following benefit: lf you aren't incapacitated, you can add your shield's AC bonus to any Dexterity saving throw you make against a spell or other harmful ...
4
votes
3answers
613 views

Could you combine the effects of Shield Master (feat) and Protection (Fighting Style)?

Could you combine these and forego your own possibility of hiding behind your shield for an AoE and instead shield a companion within 5ft? This would be the relevant part of Shield Master If you ...
2
votes
1answer
60 views

Feat Interaction: Does the Magic in the Blood apply to Highborn Drow?

Magic in the Blood1 turns your racial spell-like abilities from 1/day to 3/day. Highborn Drow2 gives you additional spell-like abilities. Would those spell-like abilities count as racial spell-like ...
5
votes
1answer
317 views

Do mindless creatures get feats?

Do creatures that have no Intelligence Score ("Int —" in the stat block) gain Feats? I'm creating some monsters but I failed to find the answer for this question.
0
votes
0answers
60 views

What constitutes an “attack” with regards to the Sentinel feat? [duplicate]

The Sentinel feat is defined as "...When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an "attack" against a target other than you... you can use your reaction to make a melee attack against the attacking ...
2
votes
2answers
315 views

Can a character take both the great weapon fighter and frenzy bonus actions on the same turn?

If my character goes into a frenzy rage and as a bonus action I make an attack that reduces a creature to 0 HP, does the great weapon fighter feat activate allowing for a additional attack? Just ...
7
votes
1answer
194 views

Is the 'Tough' feat's additional health still added when Wild Shaped/Shapeshifted?

Following on from this question: Do any feats carry over when in Wild Shape? It seems all feats carry over to your new form if your new form is capable of using them (so Mounted Combatant and ...
3
votes
1answer
226 views

Can you get three attacks on a single creature just from its movement

If a character has Tunnel Fighting and Polearm mastery, could a character get up to 3 opportunity attacks, on a single creature, in the same turn, just from that creatures movement? Once for entering ...
0
votes
1answer
119 views

Do Bloody Assault and Bleeding Attack stack?

I was wondering if Bloody Assault and Bleeding Attack stack with each other. They both say that they don't stack with themselves but neither specifies whether it stacks with other bleeding effects.
6
votes
1answer
228 views

Can I use Relentless Endurance after failing the Relentless Rage Constitution saving throw?

Can I make the saving throw from Relentless Rage (PHB p.49, Barbarian) and use my Relentless Endurance (PHB p.41, Half-Orc) if I fail it? Is there anything that would suggest this is not possible?
10
votes
4answers
1k views

Healing options for non magic users

Three members of our party want to leave but one of them is a cleric who is our healer. Since we are levelling up to level 4 we could take on feats and there is the feat of Healer or of Magic ...
2
votes
1answer
458 views

Where is the table for determining how many feats a character has based on level in the Pathfinder Core Rulebook?

I've paged through my entire book, looked in the index, checked the sections on feats and ability scores, and I've not been able to find the table that breaks down when you get ability score increases,...
2
votes
2answers
216 views

How do Sanctuary and Sentinel Interact?

Sanctuary (PHB p 272) is described as: You ward a creature within range against attack. Until the spell ends, any creature who targets the warded creature with an attack or harmful spell must ...
2
votes
1answer
120 views

Can you take a Squire at 3rd level?

According to the prerequisites of the Squire Feat you can take the feat at level 3, but you cannot have a squire more than 3 levels lower than you. The Leadership Feat does not provide rules for ...
4
votes
4answers
397 views

What Feat or Item do I remember that allows making basic melee attacks at range?

I stayed up way too late last night reworking a character. Today I find myself going over some of the things I read. I just remembered a feat (or something) that gives your melee attacks some range, ...
4
votes
1answer
573 views

Does Natural Spell grant you the ability to talk while Wildshaped?

Natural Spell grants druids the ability to cast while wildshaped. Normally, druids cannot cast in animal form because they are unable to fulfill the spell's requirements for somatic and verbal ...
9
votes
1answer
188 views

How can you tell a 3 E feat is still valid for 3.5?

In What ways exist for a creature using the XPH to get psionic attack and defense modes?, the asker speculates that one way might be a feat not updated in 3.5. That led me to the question: How can I ...
1
vote
1answer
88 views

Do characters lose feats if they lose the pre-reqs

Specifically the feat Versatile Channeller Versatile Channeler Prerequisites: Channel energy class feature, necromancer or neutrally aligned cleric (see below)... .... [editted ...
5
votes
1answer
131 views

Enlarge Spell with Critical. Which dice do I count?

The Enlarge Spell feat allows you to increase your at-will/encounter burst and blast attacks by 1 if you take a -2 damage penalty per die. Enlarge Spell Before using a wizard at-will or ...
18
votes
1answer
363 views

Can a warforged make the choice to be sexually abstinent?

A player is considering the feat Vow of Chastity for his warforged. Should his magical robot be allowed to take the feat? The exalted feat Vow of Chastity in its special entry says To fulfill ...
7
votes
2answers
149 views

What happens when a creature loses its next move action?

The feat Undermountain Tactics allows the use of the tactical maneuver stair king, which says To use this maneuver, you must gain the high ground bonus on your attacks against an opponent. If you ...
4
votes
2answers
209 views

Ways to improve a Warlock's counterspelling capabilities

How do I make counterspelling more efficient for a 3.5 Warlock? I've looked over a few caster builds for counterspelling; however not much seems useful/useable for a Warlock. We are jumping into ...
3
votes
1answer
114 views

Threatend fields for a large person with a long spear

Situation: A human character with a long spear who uses the feat "Lunge" becomes enlarged (as per spell). Question: Which fields does he threaten? Are these the squares in 15', 20' and 25' distance?...
7
votes
2answers
222 views

sentinel vs burrowing and large creatures

Would a PC with the Sentinel feat have an opportunity attack against a Bulette which is trying to burrow? If so, would it able to burrow with 0 movement speed (In place in the same square)? Does size ...
1
vote
0answers
57 views

What happens when you swap out a required feature to get into a PrC? [duplicate]

Say a Human Warlock-6/Mindbender-1 was to gain another level in Warlock and decided to swap out his Charm invocation (required for Mindbender entry) for the Flee the Scene invocation. Is this a legal ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

Tunnel Fighter & Polearm Master : Indefinite Attacks of Opportunity?

Here's the scenario: The character in question has both the Tunnel Fighter fighting style from Unearthed Arcana: Light, Dark, Underdark!: Tunnel Fighter You excel at defending narrow passages, ...
5
votes
1answer
478 views

Do you multiply the bonus damage from taking a -5 on attacks using the Sharpshooter feat?

Inspired by Can you crit with the minus 5 from sharpshooter?. It was asked if you could still crit with Sharpshooter's -5 to hit / +10 to damage option active, but that got me wondering -- do you ...
6
votes
2answers
682 views

Do you still need a free hand to reload if you take crossbow expert?

The crossbow expert feat states that you ignore the loading feature of crossbows, but does that mean you still need a free hand in order to reload it?
11
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you crit with the minus 5 from sharpshooter?

I'm pretty new to the game and can't find this question answered anywhere. I'm looking at the feat sharpshooter and I saw that you can take a -5 to the attack roll for a +10 damage. I'm curious if you ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

How many attacks does a character with “Extra Attack” and the “Polearm Master” get at level 5?

I've got a PC who has the Extra Attack class feature, and he has polearm master. He is under the impression that every turn, he gets 4 attacks. Two regular attacks and two attacks with the "butt" of ...
4
votes
2answers
224 views

How does the feat Ranged Pin work?

The feat Ranged Pin has as its benefit the following: You can perform a ranged grapple attempt against an opponent by pinning a bit of its clothing to a nearby surface. The target must be within 5 ...
18
votes
3answers
1k views

Does the Heavy Armor Master feat reduce damage twice against a mixed damage attack?

Displacer Beasts have a Tentacle attack that does 7 (1d6 + 4) bludgeoning damage plus 3 (1d6) piercing damage. Does the bludgeoning and piercing damage reduction granted by Heavy Armor Master reduce ...
3
votes
1answer
311 views

What are Acceptable Small Mounts?

In my current Pathfinder campaign, I have been playing as a Gnome Cavalier that has earned enough experience to level up for the first time AND has successfully reared a wild Vulture. One of the feats ...
5
votes
2answers
579 views

Does a Polearm Master at reach count as adjacent for Sneak Attack?

The 5E rules allow the rogue to get his sneak attack when there's any ally adjacent (within 5') to the target enemy. Question about letter and intent of the RAW. If the party has a fighter with the ...