Questions about interpreting what a feat does or understanding specific feats, which are abilities of a character that provide small bonuses in specific circumstances in Dungeons and Dragons 3rd edition and higher, as well as Pathfinder.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

3
votes
1answer
51 views

Are an Isitoq's Daze & Tears of Anguish the same thing?

The Isitoq, the wonderful Undead Eye available as an Improved Familiar1. It has two abilities that appear to be... the same: Daze (Ex): An isitoq's nerves form grotesque wings. Any creature struck ...
6
votes
2answers
586 views

Do I need +6 Bab to take pummeling style?

The prerequisites of pummeling style read as follows. Prerequisite(s): Improved Unarmed Strike; base attack bonus +6, brawler's flurry class feature, or flurry of blows class feature Can a ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Is it possible to get Battle Cleric's Lore through Divine Healer multiclass?

Due to a recent dragon magazine, the Cleric/Templar has a semi-questionable issue. In Dragon Magazine 400, there is an article for Battle Cleric's (Those with DDI can check here: Battle Cleric ...
4
votes
3answers
289 views

What does “strike” mean in Robilar's Gambit?

Robilar's Gambit includes the following phrase: ... exposed defenses as they reach in to attack you. Anyone who strikes at you ... What does strike mean and what would count as an attack? Would ...
4
votes
2answers
307 views

Can becoming a familiar make an improved familiar stupider?

The feat Improved Familiar (DMG 200) says that Improved familiars otherwise use the rules on page 52 of the Player’s Handbook, with two exceptions: If the creature’s type is something other than ...
5
votes
2answers
153 views

White Lotus Master Riposte and AOE at wills

The feat White Lotus Master Riposte reads: Prerequisites: 11th level, any arcane class, White Lotus Riposte feat Benefit: When an enemy you hit with an arcane at-will attack power attacks you ...
3
votes
1answer
135 views

Can a feat “interupt” another feat?

Can a feat stop another feat, while said first feat is in effect? For example: Would a character with the feat Deflect Attack (homebrew feat) be able to use the feat Evasive Reflexes When an ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

How does Elemental Adept change the damage dice?

The Elemental Adept feat says that I can treat any 1 on the damage dice as a 2. Does that meant that, if I've chosen fire, when casting the Fire Bolt cantrip I can roll 2d20 instead of 1d10?
16
votes
2answers
1k views

Do any feats carry over when in Wild Shape?

I'm wondering if any feats might carry over when a druid assumes a Wild Shape. I'm specifically looking at the Alert and Lucky Feats. PHB p.67 stipulates: Your game statistics are replaced by the ...
4
votes
1answer
386 views

Can I use a Large light weapon to get Power Attack damage?

I'm a fighter who's found a really good dagger I want to use. Sadly, it's a light weapon and Power Attack has this unfortunate clause: You can’t add the bonus from Power Attack to the damage dealt ...
2
votes
2answers
218 views

How does the warcaster feat interact with arcane spells, and Eldritch Knight's use of war magic?

I know war caster negates the need of a free hand for somatic components, but it's not negating the need of an extra limb for manipulating materials! (I know you can use the same hand for both ...
4
votes
3answers
256 views

How does the feat Ranged Pin work?

The feat Ranged Pin has as its benefit the following: You can perform a ranged grapple attempt against an opponent by pinning a bit of its clothing to a nearby surface. The target must be within 5 ...
6
votes
2answers
123 views

Can you take more than one 5-foot-step using Combat reflexes, Evasive Reflexes and Robilar's Gambit together, or Shifting Defence by itself?

Can you using these three feats, take more then one five foot step per round? From Robilar's Gambit: In return, they provoke attacks of opportunity from you each time they swing From Evasive ...
7
votes
3answers
8k views

Does Monkey Grip allow wielding 2 handed weapons in 1 hand?

As typical in D&D a friend and I are having a debate, this time about whether or not Monkey Grip (3.5 complete warrior feat) allows a medium creature to wield a 2-handed medium weapon with one ...
3
votes
1answer
44 views

Can a creature benefit twice from an alignment-specific soulmeld?

If a creature takes the feat Shape Soulmeld (Magic of Incarnum 40) so it can shape a soulmeld that expects to be shaped by a creature possessing a lone alignment component, does the creature gain both ...
5
votes
1answer
84 views

How do a gremlin's unluck aura and Perfect Strike interact?

The benefit of the feat Perfect Strike says You can roll your attack roll twice and take the higher result. If one of these rolls is a critical threat, the other roll is used as your confirmation ...
7
votes
2answers
749 views

Which feat to pick at 4th level to maximize damage for a sword-and-board duelist Vengeance paladin?

I'm going to be hitting level 4 soon on my Tiefling Oath of Vengeance Paladin with Soldier background. His stats currently are: STR: 15 / DEX: 13/ CON: 13 / INT: 10 / WIS: 10 / CHA: 15 (we did the ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you retrain the Magic Initiate spell?

This question got me thinking about the mechanics of the Magic Initiate feat when you have class levels in the class into which you were inducted. Among the classes you can pick with this feat are ...
12
votes
2answers
839 views

Can a Fighter without feats overcome level-appropriate foes as competently as a Fighter with feats?

I know that feats are only an optional rule, and the game should be balanced around not having them (at least that is what I would expect it to be) But still I get the impression that those feats are ...
0
votes
1answer
78 views

Can a metamagic cost reduction be applied to Heighten Spell?

Since Heighten Spell actually increases the level of the spell, can it's metamagic level adjustment be reduced by traits like Magical Lineage or feats like Spell Perfection?
6
votes
3answers
318 views

Does Keen Mind feat allows a Wizard to have prepared all his spells?

The question is different from this one. Disclaimer: I want to clarify something. My question is not meant to find a way of breaking the class or whatnot. My question is because I am curious of if it ...
6
votes
6answers
3k views

Can a Monk use/trigger Defensive Duelist while wielding a monk weapon (or unarmed)?

Defensive Duelist requires wielding a finesse weapon, yet one of Monks' abilities is to treat Monk weapons (including staves and unarmed strikes) as "having finesse" (in all but name: it allows monks ...
9
votes
1answer
654 views

What feats should I take with my Constructor Psion?

I've been playing a Metacreativity (Constructor) Psion for a few months, and I'm worried that my feat selection is not very good. I've been told by multiple sources that some of the feats that I've ...
1
vote
1answer
72 views

Why does master craftsman allow skills like profession?

Why does the feat master craftsman allow skills other than craft (bows, weapons, armor)? Even if it was for the wondrous item aspect, it still does not make sense to me. Specifically to state that it ...
5
votes
1answer
92 views

How many times would you need to take master craftsman for both weapons and armor?

I have been looking into making magical items with a non-magical character. Naturally this brings up the feat master craftsman. I get the part about the ranks count as your caster level for creating ...
3
votes
2answers
354 views

Do Alertness and Dark Blue Rhomboïd stack?

Let's assume someone gets the Alertness feat and a Dark Blue Rhomboïd Ioun Stone turning upon his head. Do the bonuses from both stack, to make +4 (+8 if 10 ranks) to Perception/Sense Motive checks or ...
16
votes
2answers
989 views

Must both creatures have the feat Darkstalker for a beholder to be flanked?

A beholder has the extraordinary ability all-around vision, which says, in part, that "they can’t be flanked" (Monster Manual 25). The benefit of the feat Darkstalker says, in part, that "you can ...
6
votes
1answer
109 views

Does a Qinggon monk fulfill the requirements to take craft magical arms and armor feat?

My group has just reached level 6 and we still do not have magic weapons, largely because we are well under WBL and considerable spending on side resources such as rations. I have been researching ...
2
votes
2answers
96 views

Monk flurry and deadly aim, class bab or flurry bab?

So last night it occurred to me that I might have been using deadly aim incorrectly for the last 2 levels. I just became a 6th level monk (zen archer) and as their bab is a 3/4 progression I just got ...
0
votes
1answer
211 views

D&D 5e Feats - Blade Mastery [closed]

Hello. last week,(week of june 12 2016) the Feat - Blade Mastery was removed from the wikia section on feats. but a week before that it was there. my question is, is it removed? and cant be used in an ...
6
votes
2answers
171 views

Where are the one-handed grappling rules?

The feat Grabbing Style says it's possible to grapple with one hand (at −4 without the feat). The feat Grabbing Master says it's possible to grapple two different foes (and maybe more if the grappler ...
3
votes
1answer
92 views

How do Multiple Multi-Class Feats work?

I am wondering if I took 2 multiclassing feats, could they a) effect a class ability given by a class other then the one the feat is made for (Having wildshape ability but getting it from Ranger ...
5
votes
1answer
116 views

Shiba Bushi and Void Point modifiers

Shiba Bushi's rank 1 technique is written as: The Way of the Phoenix: When spending a Void Point to gain +1k1 on a roll, you may choose to spend 2 Void Points (to gain +2k2) on the roll instead. ...
2
votes
1answer
127 views

Are there rules for custom feats/abilities?

The rules explicitly acknowledge the possibility of spellcasters producing entirely new spells, for example, Independent Research A wizard also can research a spell independently, duplicating ...
3
votes
1answer
74 views

Is it Possible to Sneak Attack while being grappled with Gang Up feat?

So my group ran into an interesting situation last week where the Rogue with the Gang Up feat became grappled by the monster. The monster in question was also being attacked by the Cleric and the ...
1
vote
2answers
98 views

Are attacks of opportunity standard attacks for the purpose of feats like Vital Strike?

When making an attack of opportunity, does it count as a standard attack and thus benefits from feats such as Vital Strike?
4
votes
2answers
155 views

How are bonus feats affected by reincarnate?

A reincarnated creature recalls the majority of its former life and form. It retains any class abilities, feats, or skill ranks it formerly possessed. The reincarnated creature gains all ...
3
votes
1answer
134 views

Increasing threatened area with ranged weapons

In our Pathfinder campaign, my character is a Musket Master Gunslinger. I've been training towards [Improved] Snap Shot and wanted to know how to increase my ranged threatened area further. I know ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can player characters pick monster feats?

Some of my player characters have a race from a template but without monster hit dice (like half-orc) and others have a race from a template with monster hit dice (like ogre). Now in the back of ...
10
votes
6answers
10k views

Does the Eldritch Knight need the Warcaster feat to cast spells when using 2h or sword/shield?

Many of the spells that an Eldritch Knight can cast have a somatic component. If I am playing as an Eldritch Knight with a two-handed sword or weapon/shield combo, would I require the Warcaster feat? ...
2
votes
1answer
74 views

Do the bonuses of Alchemist bomb and Focused Shot count as from the same source?

One of my players is playing an alchemist and he plans on combining the alchemist's Int damage bonus for bombs with focused shot. Both add your Int mod to damage, so does that count as the same source?...
9
votes
2answers
331 views

Do you have to know the target spell to use Spiritual Counter?

My DM is saying the cleric needs to know the spell in question to counter it, but the wording of the power does not imply that. I checked the errata for the book (Complete Champion) and the feat was ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

Is there a way for an oracle to gain or take a revelation from a mystery not his own?

At least two oracle mysteries contain revelations letting an oracle use his Charisma modifier instead of his Dexterity modifier to compute his AC (the mystery lore has the revelation sidestep secret ...
0
votes
1answer
87 views

Can you repeatedly use Fortune Hex twice a day if you have the Accursed Hex feat?

Can you repeatedly target yourself or a party member twice a day with the Fortune Hex if you take Accursed Hex as a feat? Fortune (Su): The witch can grant a creature within 30 feet a bit of good ...
3
votes
2answers
124 views

Is there a limit to the types of thrown improvised weapons usable without penalty with Throw Anything?

So, my character has Throw Anything by default from her class and can throw improvised weapons without penalty. According to the rules, the damage and size category of an improvised weapon is ...
3
votes
2answers
77 views

Is there a way to grant allies the benefit of teamwork feats without having that feat?

So a friend of mine can take a few teamwork feats that would really help him in combat like Enfilading Fire or Coordinated Shot but because of the prerequisites that would serve no purpose for melee ...
2
votes
1answer
64 views

Does Spring Attack work with the Skirmisher ability?

The Scout archetype for the Rogue grants the skirmisher ability at 8th level: At 8th level, whenever a scout moves more than 10 feet in a round and makes an attack action, the attack deals sneak ...
1
vote
1answer
57 views

Does the prerequisites to Multiattack require three different natural attacks, or just three attacks?

For example, say that a monster has a Bite attack, and two Claw attacks... A relatively common situation. Would it qualify for Multiattack? It has three attacks (1 bite + 2 claws), after all. But do ...
7
votes
1answer
86 views

Does a Warder with Defensive Focus and Combat Reflexes use Int or Dex?

In Pathfinder, if a class grants an altered version of a feat that I already have, which takes priority? Specifically, I am wondering about the first paragraph of the Warder class feature Defensive ...
3
votes
3answers
154 views

How to make Remote Bombs work?

This is a question about the Remote Bomb feat available to Alchemists and any other class that can use their Bombs. It basically allows to set explosive traps and would see great use for a saboteur ...