Questions about interpreting what a feat does or understanding specific feats, which are abilities of a character that provide small bonuses in specific circumstances in Dungeons and Dragons 3rd edition and higher, as well as Pathfinder.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

1
vote
1answer
66 views

Why does master craftsman allow skills like profession?

Why does the feat master craftsman allow skills other than craft (bows, weapons, armor)? Even if it was for the wondrous item aspect, it still does not make sense to me. Specifically to state that it ...
5
votes
1answer
81 views

How many times would you need to take master craftsman for both weapons and armor?

I have been looking into making magical items with a non-magical character. Naturally this brings up the feat master craftsman. I get the part about the ranks count as your caster level for creating ...
3
votes
2answers
342 views

Do Alertness and Dark Blue Rhomboïd stack?

Let's assume someone gets the Alertness feat and a Dark Blue Rhomboïd Ioun Stone turning upon his head. Do the bonuses from both stack, to make +4 (+8 if 10 ranks) to Perception/Sense Motive checks or ...
15
votes
2answers
975 views

Must both creatures have the feat Darkstalker for a beholder to be flanked?

A beholder has the extraordinary ability all-around vision, which says, in part, that "they can’t be flanked" (Monster Manual 25). The benefit of the feat Darkstalker says, in part, that "you can ...
6
votes
1answer
82 views

Does a Qinggon monk fulfill the requirements to take craft magical arms and armor feat?

My group has just reached level 6 and we still do not have magic weapons, largely because we are well under WBL and considerable spending on side resources such as rations. I have been researching ...
2
votes
2answers
81 views

Monk flurry and deadly aim, class bab or flurry bab?

So last night it occurred to me that I might have been using deadly aim incorrectly for the last 2 levels. I just became a 6th level monk (zen archer) and as their bab is a 3/4 progression I just got ...
0
votes
1answer
159 views

D&D 5e Feats - Blade Mastery [closed]

Hello. last week,(week of june 12 2016) the Feat - Blade Mastery was removed from the wikia section on feats. but a week before that it was there. my question is, is it removed? and cant be used in an ...
5
votes
2answers
138 views

Where are the one-handed grappling rules?

The feat Grabbing Style says it's possible to grapple with one hand (at −4 without the feat). The feat Grabbing Master says it's possible to grapple two different foes (and maybe more if the grappler ...
3
votes
1answer
85 views

How do Multiple Multi-Class Feats work?

I am wondering if I took 2 multiclassing feats, could they a) effect a class ability given by a class other then the one the feat is made for (Having wildshape ability but getting it from Ranger ...
5
votes
1answer
106 views

Shiba Bushi and Void Point modifiers

Shiba Bushi's rank 1 technique is written as: The Way of the Phoenix: When spending a Void Point to gain +1k1 on a roll, you may choose to spend 2 Void Points (to gain +2k2) on the roll instead. ...
2
votes
1answer
120 views

Are there rules for custom feats/abilities?

The rules explicitly acknowledge the possibility of spellcasters producing entirely new spells, for example, Independent Research A wizard also can research a spell independently, duplicating ...
7
votes
1answer
680 views

Which feat to pick at 4th level to maximize damage for a sword-and-board duelist Vengeance paladin?

I'm going to be hitting level 4 soon on my Tiefling Oath of Vengeance Paladin with Soldier background. His stats currently are: STR: 15 / DEX: 13/ CON: 13 / INT: 10 / WIS: 10 / CHA: 15 (we did the ...
3
votes
1answer
71 views

Is it Possible to Sneak Attack while being grappled with Gang Up feat?

So my group ran into an interesting situation last week where the Rogue with the Gang Up feat became grappled by the monster. The monster in question was also being attacked by the Cleric and the ...
1
vote
2answers
86 views

Are attacks of opportunity standard attacks for the purpose of feats like Vital Strike?

When making an attack of opportunity, does it count as a standard attack and thus benefits from feats such as Vital Strike?
4
votes
2answers
152 views

How are bonus feats affected by reincarnate?

A reincarnated creature recalls the majority of its former life and form. It retains any class abilities, feats, or skill ranks it formerly possessed. The reincarnated creature gains all ...
3
votes
1answer
128 views

Increasing threatened area with ranged weapons

In our Pathfinder campaign, my character is a Musket Master Gunslinger. I've been training towards [Improved] Snap Shot and wanted to know how to increase my ranged threatened area further. I know ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Can player characters pick monster feats?

Some of my player characters have a race from a template but without monster hit dice (like half-orc) and others have a race from a template with monster hit dice (like ogre). Now in the back of ...
10
votes
6answers
9k views

Does the Eldritch Knight need the Warcaster feat to cast spells when using 2h or sword/shield?

Many of the spells that an Eldritch Knight can cast have a somatic component. If I am playing as an Eldritch Knight with a two-handed sword or weapon/shield combo, would I require the Warcaster feat? ...
2
votes
1answer
58 views

Do the bonuses of Alchemist bomb and Focused Shot count as from the same source?

One of my players is playing an alchemist and he plans on combining the alchemist's Int damage bonus for bombs with focused shot. Both add your Int mod to damage, so does that count as the same source?...
9
votes
2answers
330 views

Do you have to know the target spell to use Spiritual Counter?

My DM is saying the cleric needs to know the spell in question to counter it, but the wording of the power does not imply that. I checked the errata for the book (Complete Champion) and the feat was ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

Is there a way for an oracle to gain or take a revelation from a mystery not his own?

At least two oracle mysteries contain revelations letting an oracle use his Charisma modifier instead of his Dexterity modifier to compute his AC (the mystery lore has the revelation sidestep secret ...
0
votes
1answer
75 views

Can you repeatedly use Fortune Hex twice a day if you have the Accursed Hex feat?

Can you repeatedly target yourself or a party member twice a day with the Fortune Hex if you take Accursed Hex as a feat? Fortune (Su): The witch can grant a creature within 30 feet a bit of good ...
3
votes
2answers
116 views

Is there a limit to the types of thrown improvised weapons usable without penalty with Throw Anything?

So, my character has Throw Anything by default from her class and can throw improvised weapons without penalty. According to the rules, the damage and size category of an improvised weapon is ...
9
votes
1answer
619 views

What feats should I take with my Constructor Psion?

I've been playing a Metacreativity (Constructor) Psion for a few months, and I'm worried that my feat selection is not very good. I've been told by multiple sources that some of the feats that I've ...
3
votes
2answers
73 views

Is there a way to grant allies the benefit of teamwork feats without having that feat?

So a friend of mine can take a few teamwork feats that would really help him in combat like Enfilading Fire or Coordinated Shot but because of the prerequisites that would serve no purpose for melee ...
2
votes
1answer
59 views

Does Spring Attack work with the Skirmisher ability?

The Scout archetype for the Rogue grants the skirmisher ability at 8th level: At 8th level, whenever a scout moves more than 10 feet in a round and makes an attack action, the attack deals sneak ...
15
votes
2answers
1k views

Do any feats carry over when in Wild Shape?

I'm wondering if any feats might carry over when a druid assumes a Wild Shape. I'm specifically looking at the Alert and Lucky Feats. PHB p.67 stipulates: Your game statistics are replaced by the ...
1
vote
1answer
56 views

Does the prerequisites to Multiattack require three different natural attacks, or just three attacks?

For example, say that a monster has a Bite attack, and two Claw attacks... A relatively common situation. Would it qualify for Multiattack? It has three attacks (1 bite + 2 claws), after all. But do ...
7
votes
1answer
80 views

Does a Warder with Defensive Focus and Combat Reflexes use Int or Dex?

In Pathfinder, if a class grants an altered version of a feat that I already have, which takes priority? Specifically, I am wondering about the first paragraph of the Warder class feature Defensive ...
3
votes
3answers
147 views

How to make Remote Bombs work?

This is a question about the Remote Bomb feat available to Alchemists and any other class that can use their Bombs. It basically allows to set explosive traps and would see great use for a saboteur ...
8
votes
2answers
245 views

Different kinds of natural attacks require multiple instances of the Improved Critical feat

I can pick Improved Critical to enhance my natural attacks, no? When I pick the feat, is it tied to a specific natural attack or all of them? For example, lets say I have a bite attack and two claw ...
-3
votes
1answer
158 views

Can Aereni Focus and Skill Focus be stacked?

Aereni Focus says that it counts as Skill Focus for meeting requirements/prerequisites. So, for instance, I could take Aereni Focus (Listen) and I would qualify for the Keen-Eared Scout feat through ...
1
vote
1answer
65 views

Bleeding attack (Belier's bite) and non-lethal damage

Bleeding attack feat causes unarmed strikes to deal extra d4 bleeding damage. Does non-lethal bleeding damage exist? If the attacker chooses to cause non-lethal damage with the unarmed strike, is ...
4
votes
2answers
135 views

Is swordsage profficient with bastard sword?

The Bastard sword's description: A bastard sword is too large to use in one hand without special training; thus, it is an exotic weapon. A character can use a bastard sword two-handed as a martial ...
4
votes
1answer
96 views

Can dragon fire adept's breath weapon deal nonlethal damage?

Dragonfire adept player wants to gain Vow of Peace feat, which demands you to deal nonlethal damage to humanoids and monstrous humanoids. Is it possible or not? Please note, that he has Vow of Poverty ...
15
votes
6answers
1k views

How do the dual wield feat and versatile weapons interact?

I have a level 4 Paladin with the Dual Wield feat (he does not have the TWF style). He is wielding a longsword in one hand and a handaxe in his other (thrown weapon). Can the paladin throw the ...
5
votes
2answers
224 views

Is my feat chain for TWF Slayer Tank optimized?

I am about to bring a Shield and Sword Slayer to a PFS game. Assume I can use anything on PFSRD since if I need the book, I will just buy it. I am starting form level 1 with 150g, as is PFS standard. ...
5
votes
3answers
138 views

How many Attacks of Opportunity can you take by moving with Robilar's Gambit?

If a player had activated Robilar's Gambit (PHB2 p.82) and then moved through threatened areas for three enemies provoking AoOs from each enemy, could the player get retaliatory AoOs from each enemy ...
7
votes
2answers
206 views

If you have Steady Concentration, can you take 10 on Elder Giant Magic?

Elder Giant Magic (Secrets of Xen'drik p.135) requires a Concentration check each round you use it, and “You cannot take 10 on these checks.” Steady Concentration (Races of Stone p.144) says that “...
11
votes
4answers
1k views

(How) can a Warforged get the Dragonblood Subtype?

I am currently trying to make a Warforged Bard, and wanted to give him the Dragonfire Inspiration Feat to trade +X Atk and +X Dmg for +Xd6 dmg. However, this requires me to have 11 Cha (No problem) ...
10
votes
3answers
14k views

Is the Alert Feat always better than an Ability Score Improvement?

I'm close to getting a 4th level of Assassin Rogue with a character I'm playing and I'm torn between picking up the Alert feat or improving an Ability Score (i.e. +2 Dexterity) so: Which is best, an ...
1
vote
4answers
128 views

Which other feat might I use for double wielding reach?

Starting from the assumptions that Dragon Magazine material was often unbalanced (under- or over-powered) and that adding lots of options always increases the chance of combining powers and feats into ...
2
votes
3answers
314 views

What are the levels used for Cantrips learned with the “Magic Initiate” feat?

The Magic Initiate feat gives access to two cantrips from a class. It says Choose a class: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn two cantrips of your choice from that class'...
6
votes
1answer
156 views

Can a character multiclassed into Bard multiclass into a third or fourth class by taking the Multiclass Mastery feat?

Multiclass Mastery Prerequisites: 21st level, Bard Benefit: Gain two multiclass feats for which you meet the prerequisites. If a character (a wizard, for instance) multiclasses as a bard with ...
4
votes
4answers
398 views

What Feat or Item do I remember that allows making basic melee attacks at range?

I stayed up way too late last night reworking a character. Today I find myself going over some of the things I read. I just remembered a feat (or something) that gives your melee attacks some range, ...
18
votes
3answers
1k views

Does the Heavy Armor Master feat reduce damage twice against a mixed damage attack?

Displacer Beasts have a Tentacle attack that does 7 (1d6 + 4) bludgeoning damage plus 3 (1d6) piercing damage. Does the bludgeoning and piercing damage reduction granted by Heavy Armor Master reduce ...
9
votes
3answers
13k views

Isn't wielding inappropriately large weapons pretty powerful?

Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can't make optimum use of a weapon that isn't properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference ...
14
votes
3answers
10k views

How do you load a hand crossbow?

The Crossbow Expert feat states that as a bonus action, you can "attack with a loaded hand crossbow you are holding." However, nowhere in the rules does it specify a "loaded" versus "unloaded" state ...
3
votes
1answer
84 views

Does a Dragonwrought Kobold gain Dragon attacks?

The Kobold only feat “Dragonwrought” turns you into a True Dragon with a colour/metal of your choosing. Does this mean it also gets the attacks associated with being a true Dragon? i.e. Breath Weapon, ...
1
vote
2answers
119 views

Do metabreath feats require a cooldown?

There has been a bit of a discussion in our party. One player is playing a Dragonfire Adept. His class has given him quite a variety of breath weapons, and only one of them has an actual cooldown (and ...