The tag has no usage guidance.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

14
votes
5answers
6k views

Any tips for two-weapon training in LARP?

At my local LARP I have a character with a skill called Ambidex, which lets him swing two weapons round like a boss. It doesn't however help me with fighting, and I'm just not that great. I've seen a ...
13
votes
3answers
2k views

Tunnel Fighter & Polearm Master : Indefinite Attacks of Opportunity?

Here's the scenario: The character in question has both the Tunnel Fighter fighting style from Unearthed Arcana: Light, Dark, Underdark!: Tunnel Fighter You excel at defending narrow passages, ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Does the Dueling Fighting Style prevent using a shield?

The Dueling fighting style doesn't seem to state anything about shields, stating that the character can only wield one weapon while fighting to gain the benefit. Does a shield count as a weapon or ...
9
votes
2answers
392 views

How can large weapons be used in a small forest?

My main LARP character has a honking great 6'6" Dire Mace as his paladin weapon (Read; attuned to so cannot be replaced with a smaller weapon). Our LARPs are commonly in small forested areas making ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

How can I take multiple fighting styles?

For a fighter in D&D 5e, I can take one fighting style as part of the character creation. At third level, I can choose a martial archetype (Champion) which can then allow me to choose an ...
5
votes
2answers
797 views

Do bonuses from proficiency and Fighting Style stack?

One of the pregen fighters in the Starter Set has proficiency in simple & martial weapons, giving a +2 bonus, but also has the Archery fighting style, giving a +2 bonus. I don't see these added ...
5
votes
1answer
892 views

Does Dueling Fighting Style apply to thrown weapons?

PHB p. 72 (and others) Dueling When you are wielding a melee weapon in one hand and no other weapons, you gain a +2 bonus to damage rolls with that weapon. PHB p.147 Thrown. If a weapon ...
4
votes
1answer
434 views

Do the main gauche and Fighting Style: Two Weapons combine defensively?

Using the MET core rules, do the defense bonuses for using a Main Gauche and Fighting Style: Two Weapons stack? i.e. If I have a character with a main-gauche and one dot of FS:TW, does he get two dots ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

Should a dedicated sword-and-boarder use their on or off hand for their shield?

At LARP I mostly see people who focus on Sword and Board (or Sword and shield as it's sometimes known) holding their shield in their left arm, sword in the right. I'm sure I've heard some historical ...
3
votes
1answer
3k views

What might be the downside of taking “Duelling” over “Great Weapon Fighting”?

Taken from the Player's Handbook - Fighter's Fighting Styles (p. 72) Dueling When you are wielding a melee weapon in one hand and no other weapons, you gain a +2 bonus to damage rolls with that ...
3
votes
1answer
218 views

Can you get three attacks on a single creature just from its movement

If a character has Tunnel Fighting and Polearm mastery, could a character get up to 3 opportunity attacks, on a single creature, in the same turn, just from that creatures movement? Once for entering ...
2
votes
1answer
326 views

What Paladin fighting styles are usable while wild shaped?

What fighting style, if any, can I choose from Paladin 2 that will help in beast form? I have a plan for a half orc Paladin/Druid build, but I want to make sure this aspect of the build works before I ...
2
votes
0answers
60 views

What are the limitations on the “Dueling” fighting style for Fighters? [duplicate]

So I was looking over the wording for the fighting styles for Fighters, and I notices the wording for the Dueling Fighting Style (p. 72 PHB) seemed to allow for more options than you would ...
-5
votes
2answers
225 views

Does Dueling Preclude Use of Two-Handed Weapons?

The Dueling fighting style is defined as following (PHB p 72): "When you are wielding a melee weapon in one hand and no other weapons, you gain a +2 bonus to damage rolls with that weapon" Can ...