Ability to move in the third (height) dimension freely.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

14
votes
5answers
4k views

When does a flying creature start and end falling?

Situation: Alice the Aarakokra sees Bob the Battlemaster coming. She ascends to 605', just out of the 600' range of Bob's longbow. Bob (Str 14) performs a running high jump 5' into the air and ...
17
votes
9answers
3k views

Can you intentionally fail a skill check?

This comes up to me in the context of the 3.x/PF/d20 Fly skill, even when I simply read about it: Can you intentionally fail a Fly skill check, or any other skill check for that matter, if you, or ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a pixie fly higher than their altitude of one?

In the pixie description on the compendium: Altitude Limit: You fall at the end of your turn if you are using your racial fly speed and are more than 1 square above the ground (see the rules for ...
7
votes
1answer
5k views

Are there any established rules for flying in combat for D&D 3.x or d20 Modern?

My game is d20 Modern, but the two systems are very similar, so either is fine just to give me some templates to work from. I'm basically looking for anything that isn't me pulling stuff out of thin ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Turning radius of a flying thing in D&D 3.5

I am trying to turn the 3.5e SRD's degrees-of-turn-per-feet-of-game-movement numbers (such as 45 degrees of turn per 5' of movement with 45 degrees of maximum turn per square for a creature classed ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

What happens when you trip a flying target with Good or Perfect maneuverability?

According to the Rule Compendium, "A winged creature can be tripped, and if it is, it falls as if it didn’t maintain its minimum forward speed." (P. 145) But if the target has good or perfect ...
5
votes
1answer
186 views

Can a Pixie float over the middle of a pit?

Pixies have an altitude limit of one, meaning they can only ever be one square high when they end their turn. But if the party comes upon something like a chasm or a large pit, can the Pixie end ...
4
votes
2answers
331 views

Can a prone or unconscious character with 'Winged Boots' equipped still be safe from crashing?

According to DMG p.47+: A flying creature can crash under certain conditions, e.g. being knocked prone while flying. Crashing itself is descried as falling and taking damage. The item 'Winged Boots' ...
4
votes
1answer
385 views

Could a Halfling Warlock Ride a Pseudodragon?

What I would like to know is, can I ride a pseudodragon or get carried ( by its feetclaws) by an Imp. Without taking any attack penalties. Not really looking for cover bonuses. I have a Halfling ...
2
votes
1answer
125 views

Would flying a grappled character hard into the ground deal them extra falling damage?

Trying to figure out the mechanics of a certain situation. PC grapples enemy and uses a move that doubles movement speed. Following that, a stacked move allows the PC to carry grappled enemy 60 ft ...