15
votes
1answer
753 views

Is grappling symmetrical?

Once a character successfully starts grappling a target, is there now any difference between the aggressor and the defender? Or do both characters get exactly the same mechanical effects, such as no ...
13
votes
2answers
519 views

How can I create a Cleric that uses grappling moves and martial arts?

I'm a complete newcomer to the RPG hobby. I was invited to a D&D session and when I was asked to create my character I was completely blanked. But when I came up with the idea of a martial-artist ...
4
votes
2answers
125 views

What Are the Movement Limits When Maintaining a Grapple?

Question When the grappler attempts to maintain the grapple (PH 156), how much movement can the grappler take to move into the target's space? Comments say this issue apparently goes unaddressed in ...
9
votes
3answers
488 views

Can you use spell-like abilities in a grapple?

The rules say you can cast spells as an in-grapple maneuver (subject to some strict limitations), but don't appear to expressly mention spell-like abilities. Yet in most ways spell-like abilities act ...
1
vote
4answers
199 views

Heart of Water and grappling threats

I have been making a new wizard lately and I have been trying to have many ways of avoiding statuses/effects that easily disable/endanger a caster. As many of you know, one of these is Grapple, and ...
9
votes
3answers
407 views

What kind of action is rake?

Rake descriptions are annoyingly unclear. Does winning a grapple check let you rake immediately as a free/triggered/no action, or Is winning a grapple check simply a prerequisite for being able to ...
5
votes
3answers
207 views

Can a creature use rake when you can't win a grapple check?

Creature A grapples creature B. Creature B has Rake. Creature B attempts to rake creature A. Can you rake when you did not start the grapple, and can't win a grapple check? Edit 1: In this case, ...
12
votes
5answers
757 views

Can a horse start a grapple?

I know it defies suspension of disbelief, but what official rule can I show a rules lawyer player that "proves" a horse can't start a grapple? If the answer needs to distinguish between animal ...
2
votes
2answers
189 views

How does a Cloaker's Engulf ability work?

From the 3.5 SRD, A cloaker can try to wrap a Medium or smaller creature in its body as a standard action. The cloaker attempts a grapple that does not provoke an attack of opportunity. If it ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Are there any rules for wrestling / submissions aside from grappling?

I'm DMing a paperless campaign loosely based on the d&d 3.5 ruleset. One of my players wanted to play a wrestler (a la Hulk Hogan). As of now I've been winging it but, even through this particular ...
18
votes
10answers
4k views

Is there a way to eliminate opponents through grappling?

I am playing a monk in our Oriental Adventures campaign, and recently we had a situation where another player was grappling a wu jen spell caster. We thought about breaking her neck to quickly get rid ...