Items imbued with magic in some way, usually beneficial but occasionally detrimental, such as a cloak which renders the wearer invisible or a hammer which returns to its wielder when thrown.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (2)

10
votes
3answers
253 views

How does the Necklace of Adaption's bubble of air work out in practice underwater?

A recent question about the necklace of adaptation reminded me of an old question of my own that I've never been able to answer: Can a character wearing a necklace of adaption swim? It might seem a ...
7
votes
1answer
353 views

Is a scroll destroyed when you fail the spellcaster level check?

The rules on scrolls state: A spell on a scroll can be used only once. The writing vanishes from the scroll when the spell is activated. (...) If she meets all three requirements but her ...
5
votes
1answer
124 views

Where can step-by-step instructions for creating magic items be found?

The Dungeon Master's Guide for AD&D says magic items are created using instructions devised by the DM. However, it presents only a handful of examples. Here's one: An example of a formula for ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a monk's unarmed strikes be enchanted?

I see a lot of forums calling for Kensai and Amulet of Mighty Fists for a monk to enchant their unarmed strikes. I feel it is unnecessary since the SRD states: A monk’s unarmed strike is treated ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

How do masterwork armours work (e.g. Feyleather, Starleather)?

In D&D 4e, there are superior "masterwork" versions of armour types, like "feyleather" for leather armour or "wyrmscale" for scale armour. They have a higher armour bonus, but a minimum ...
2
votes
1answer
371 views

Does the Necklace of Adaptation let someone breathe under the surface of liquids other than water?

If I was wearing a Necklace of Adaptation, and jumped in a tank of lamp oil, would I drown, or would I breathe normally just as if I was in an environment specified in the item's description? P.S. ...
6
votes
4answers
289 views

Is there any way to magically detect treasure long-distance?

Inspired by the recent news item about the Swiss farmer discovering a hoard of 4,000+ Roman coins, it seems reasonable that frontier residents of a fantasy world beset by invading Orcs, dragons, etc. ...
7
votes
1answer
223 views

Does attempting to activate a wand count as an attack for invisibility?

Does attempting to activate a wand count as an attack for the purpose of breaking invisibility? Context is my ninja using vanishing trick, if i attempt to activate a wand of scorching ray (or other ...
8
votes
1answer
201 views

What does the +X on a magic weapon apply to?

What does the e.g. +1 on a magic longsword count for in Advanced Dungeons & Dragons? Is it a bonus to damage, or is it to attack?
7
votes
1answer
141 views

How can a Wondrous Item be made lighter?

I want to give my familiar a Healing Belt (along with a Pearl of Speech so that it can say the command word), so that it can save our butts if it comes down to it (and perhaps hurt that mean ghoul a ...
5
votes
2answers
98 views

Wands while holding a touch spell

Im trying to figure out the interaction between wands and holding touch spells. From my understanding, using a wand is not actually casting a spell, and as long as you were holding the wand and not ...
10
votes
2answers
779 views

Does a missed attack expend a charge for Ring of the Ram?

The description for Ring of the Ram states: While wearing the ring, you can use an action to expend 1 to 3 of its charges to attack one creature you can see within 60 feet of you...On a hit, for ...
7
votes
1answer
221 views

Should I have to roll to copy a spell into my Book of Ancient Secrets?

The Book of Ancient Secrets invocation says (PH p. 110): On your adventures, you can add other ritual spells to your Book of Shadows. When you find such a spell, you can add it to the book if ...
4
votes
1answer
471 views

What is the required caster level to make a Sunblade?

Per the magic item creation rules: Creating a magic weapon has a special prerequisite: The creator's caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the weapon. If an item has ...
4
votes
3answers
247 views

Magic Vestment on Bracers of Armor?

The Bracers of Armor are described to "surround the wearer with invisible but tangible field of force", which essentially is an invisible suit of armor. My question is: Can Magic Vestment be cast on ...
4
votes
1answer
184 views

How to avoid dropping a wand when grabbing another one

Im working on a character who is going to be using a fair amount of wands. Im going to be using efficient quiver to carry them around, which also lets me grab the one I want easily. Here's the but ...
7
votes
2answers
329 views

Did the designers intend that you need only carry the Cloak of Charisma to get the bonus?

The SRD's entry for the Cloak of Charisma says: This lightweight and fashionable cloak has a highly decorative silver trim. When in a character’s possession, it adds a +2, +4, or +6 enhancement ...
5
votes
1answer
216 views

Can my familiar use a Ring of Spell Storing?

Can a familiar from the pact of chain (quasit, imp, sprite, pseudodragon) attune with a ring of spell storing? If so, can I cast a spell requiring concentration into the ring and then have the ...
9
votes
8answers
2k views

What is this player planning? [closed]

I'm running a Pathfinder game for a few friends (using core + UM + UC + APG). Last session the party thief said that he was planning on buying a called anchoring adamantium axe. What I want to know is ...
11
votes
2answers
745 views

What would it take to enchant a pet rock?

This is what I want: A system for enchanting pet rocks, miniature non-ambulatory golems, that can be placed in unassuming places around your home or campsite to sense intruders and make some sort of ...
7
votes
1answer
455 views

What is the correct price of cold iron?

DMG states on page 284: Weapons made of cold iron cost twice as much to make as their normal counterparts. Also, any magical enhancements cost an additional 2,000 gp. The Magic Item Compendium ...
10
votes
2answers
791 views

How can I create a weapon with a permanent spell?

I am trying to create a great sword which has a chance to activate disintegrate spell. But I am not sure about the parameters. After a 6-7 sessions I want to reward my pc's with epic (or close to ...
-2
votes
2answers
176 views

Does putting a Portable Hole into a Bag of Holding allow a saving throw?

Does putting the Portable Hole into the Bag of Holding grant a saving throw or is it a guaranteed rip to another plane? I want to use this to derail a game with a group I don't like, but I need to ...
3
votes
2answers
297 views

Why are constructs so hard to build?

Golems and other constructs have a long history in Dungeons & Dragons and its spinoffs, but, almost invariably, it's extremely difficult for PCs to create them, and they often have varying ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

Can you enchant weapons if you aren't a caster by copying an existing magic weapon?

My fighter is about to get its archetype and I was wondering about enchanting weapons. The Battle Master archetype's Student of War class feature grants proficiency in an artisan tool. If I was to ...
7
votes
3answers
320 views

Can nonweapons have magic weapon special abilities?

In this question, Comments suggested that a creature with feat Improved Unarmed Strike that wanted magic weapon special abilities for his unarmed strike get a pair of masterwork gloves, have them ...
52
votes
9answers
6k views

What happens when an Immovable Rod is activated while in a vehicle?

The Red Bandits have boarded the train, hidden among the other passengers. They wait an hour or two - to be sure the train is far from any city - then, on the boss's signal, they all pull out their ...
5
votes
3answers
134 views

What is the dispel CL of a crafted Pearl of Power?

I asked something similar and didn't get the clarity I was seeking, so I will be more concise. If I craft a 1st level Pearl of Power at CL 1, and it gets hit with a targeted Dispel Magic, what is it's ...
2
votes
1answer
202 views

How can I turn a creature with Su and Ex abilties into armour that grants those abilities? [closed]

Could someone describe to me a method for changing a corporeal creature with Supernatural and Extraordinary racial abilities into a set of armor that would grant those same racial abilities to the ...
18
votes
5answers
3k views

Can a Bag of Holding be opened from the inside?

The party rogue found a suit of armor that happened to have an evil soul bound to it. He unwittingly stuffed it into his bag of holding to sell the suit of armor later. The animated suit of armor does ...
4
votes
1answer
440 views

Could a portable hole be stitched onto an item of clothing?

I'd like to introduce a new PC into a party, but allow him some gear and give the party a portable hole. I like the idea of a character preparing an emergency kit and stashing it in a portable hole ...
2
votes
1answer
281 views

Does the 5e version of Hammer of Thunderbolts return to the thrower if a charge is used to make a ranged attack?

I have noticed in previous dnd versions, the hammer of thunderbolts explicitly returns to the thrower after ranged attacks, but I see nothing in the description of the 5e version of the hammer about ...
6
votes
1answer
151 views

Does Spell Storing Armor automatically hit with its spell?

The Spell Storing magical armor property states: This armor allows a spellcaster to store a single touch spell of up to 3rd level in it. Anytime a creature hits the wearer with a melee attack or ...
6
votes
1answer
696 views

What are the consequences of damaging a portable hole?

After asking a question about stitching a portable hole, and reading the DMG last night, I couldn't find any information on what happens to a portable hole if it's damaged. I could assume the effects ...
60
votes
18answers
10k views

What can I do when I accidentally gave out an overpowered item?

In our last game, the players worked their way through a series of fiendish traps into a high security vault, where they recovered a Staff of the Magi. After the game I looked at the stats, and ...
19
votes
3answers
2k views

Is possible to Chain-Activate Pearls of Power?

I will start a campaing in a few days and my players are on the "Character Building" mode for this week, and they are asking me a lot of really creative questions regarding possible builds. That's ...
10
votes
1answer
936 views

Can weapons have multiple energy enchants?

I have a friend who wants to put Flaming and Shocking on a bow to get some extra damage. All the enchants say is upon command they activate. If the enchants have the same command would they both ...
21
votes
4answers
2k views

Can someone unintentionally cast a spell into a Ring of Spell Storing?

I am looking for a clarification. As per the DMG (p.192), the Ring of spell storing is "charged: when: Any creature can cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as ...
4
votes
3answers
889 views

Effective and efficient way to distribute starting wealth for a one-shot? [closed]

I'm looking to do a one-shot to try my hand at DM-ing. I've decided for everyone to be level 5 and I have built encounters around that fact. Based on the DMG, my player's characters will have about ...
3
votes
2answers
327 views

What are the most important things magic items do for the players into higher levels of the campaign? [closed]

Currently I am planning for a campaign that might essentially end up with no magic items, and I wanted to get an idea of how that tends to effect game balance with the PCs. The previous campaigns I've ...
4
votes
3answers
210 views

Is Soulfire at all useful for a character with high Fortitude and Steadfast Determination?

I am working on a martial character which happens to have a high Fortitude score and the Steadfast Determination feat (Player's Handbook II, p. 83): Benefit: […] You do not automatically fail ...
2
votes
2answers
135 views

Was being instantly frozen like this right, even when wearing a Ring of Regeneration?

In a recent First Edition Advanced D&D campaign we were running through the character fought with a Frost Giant deity. The Frost Giant rolled a critical hit on the character and dealt a massive ...
6
votes
2answers
479 views

Can Metamagic be used in Item Creation? What are the limits?

One of my players has recently obtained the Craft Wondrous Item feat. In an attempt to prepare for what he may build I want to know the specific limits of Wondrous Items. I know that someone can ...
3
votes
1answer
82 views

Can you improve your attack modifier when using items?

Are there ways to improve you attack modifier with items? For example, Hrothmar's Gauntlets have an attack "Constitution or Charisma +4 vs. Reflex". This is made up of: 1/2 level + Con or Cha + 4 ...
3
votes
1answer
108 views

Can a character using a Cloak of the Gargoyle use line-of-sight psionic effects?

If a character who has turned to stone by using a Cloak of the Gargoyle detects an ally nearby using tremorsense, can he still communicate them with a telepathy power that requires line of ...
4
votes
2answers
130 views

How to Levitate a heavy chariot

I'm running my party through the Pathfinder Iron Gods Lords of Rust campaign. They are about to get into combat with the head of the coloseum who uses a chariot. He's seen the characters in a couple ...
7
votes
2answers
869 views

Cutting open a Bag of Holding

What happens to the items in a bag of holding if you slice it open? We had an instance where a player character placed a bag of holding over an enemies head and sliced it open.
4
votes
1answer
79 views

How does the Preservation Shield interact with the Soul Pool ritual?

The Preservation Shield from Adventurer's Vault 2 has the following power: Power (Daily): Minor Action. You and each ally within 5 squares of you gain temporary hit points equal to the number of ...
6
votes
3answers
692 views

How do you identify what spell is on a spell scroll?

Are they always unidentified, except for when a Wizard already knows the spell? If the wizard already knows it, is it already identified?
1
vote
0answers
36 views

Spell scroll use [duplicate]

If I copy a scroll into a spellbook, does the scroll get used and thus become unusable, or do I keep it, still able to use it to cast the spell?