Items imbued with magic in some way, usually beneficial but occasionally detrimental, such as a cloak which renders the wearer invisible or a hammer which returns to its wielder when thrown.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (2)

5
votes
2answers
477 views

Do 'Seeking' ranged weapons work against nonconcealment miss chances? (3.5)

The phrasing in the DMG seems (to me) to indicate Seeking weapons would work against any miss chance, including Entropic Shield or Blink. Is there disagreement regarding this?
3
votes
1answer
115 views

Why can't my monk use the Frost Unarmed Attack +1?

I use the official D&D character creator and I currently have a monk who uses the monk unarmed strike attack. I gave him the Primordial Adept theme and I want him to be able to constantly deal ...
7
votes
3answers
797 views

Are partially charged wands generally purchasable?

In the D&D 3.5 DMG rules are given for the pricing of partially charged wands, which one may explicitly purchase during character creation or sell during play. So long as the wand's final ...
3
votes
1answer
83 views

Can I use trick granting items to learn the 2nd 'attack' trick?

Expanding from this question, if I use a Bridle of Tricks or War Saddle to give my mount/animal friend the 'attack' trick, and I then use one of its normal trick slots to teach it the 2nd 'attack' ...
8
votes
2answers
420 views

Does magic armor resize with wild shape?

If my level 5 druid with +1 hide armor wild shapes into a brown bear, does his armor resize to fit the new form? In the PHB for druid wild shape it says: You choose whether your equipment falls ...
10
votes
1answer
16k views

Pathfinder Magic Item Crafter Build Guide

I have been trying to build a Wizard who focuses entirely on crafting magic items. Looking online for a guide on what Class, traits, feats, race...ect to choose I have yet to find one anywhere. Is ...
2
votes
1answer
70 views

Do magic items granting an animal extra tricks stack with already known tricks?

Lets say I buy a Giant Chameleon for a mount/battle partner. Since the chameleon has int 2, it can learn 6 tricks, so I teach it 6. I then put a Bridle of Tricks on it (assuming the bridle tricks are ...
2
votes
1answer
133 views

Spell Resistance vs Necklace of Fireballs

My party just picked up a Necklace of Fireballs, and I'm trying to figure out how much damage our Drow rogue can expect to take from it. This brings up a couple questions: Does spell resistance work ...
21
votes
6answers
1k views

What's a good item or spell for creating a magical surveillance state?

The mayor of Generic Fantasytown wants a means to monitor his town (population 4,000, perhaps 1 mi. (1.64 km) square). The townsfolk are cowed and submissive, fearing their mayor but fearing even more ...
4
votes
2answers
310 views

Can Wizards use potions and magic items with effects from their prohibited schools?

In D&D 3.5, can wizards make use of potions with effects from their prohibited schools of magic? Similarly, can they use magic items that give buffs or similar effects based on spells that are ...
7
votes
3answers
203 views

Can nonweapons have magic weapon special abilities?

In this question, Comments suggested that a creature with feat Improved Unarmed Strike that wanted magic weapon special abilities for his unarmed strike get a pair of masterwork gloves, have them ...
6
votes
2answers
303 views

Can a lower-level spellcaster recharge a staff?

While doing research for another recent question, I ran into two back-to-back lines that seem to contradict each other. From the PFSRD, emphasis mine: Each morning, when a spellcaster prepares ...
10
votes
2answers
594 views

How do plate armor and swim speeds interact?

If a PC has plate armor, Str 19, and dons a Cloak of the Manta Ray, can they swim 60 ft. as the DMG says (p. 159), or do they suffer penalties for swimming in heavy armor even with a magically-granted ...
4
votes
2answers
122 views

Can the Ghost Touch weapon property allow an attacker to perform incorporeal touch attacks?

This is a specific question: The Ghost Touch weapon property states that: ...Essentially, a ghost touch weapon counts as either corporeal or incorporeal at any given time, whichever is more ...
3
votes
2answers
180 views

Most expensive magic item at caster levels 3 through to 6 in 3.5e's Core?

In a game using 3.5e's Core books exclusively, what is the most expensive magic item available at each of the caster levels 3, 4, 5 and 6? I want to make money making magic items, so I want to know ...
4
votes
2answers
218 views

How can a barbarian rage more often without taking levels or feats?

Barbarian is frequently cited as an excellent 1-level- or 2-level-long class. When the wizard can use the 2nd-level spell rope trick [trans] (PH 273) to make the adventuring day 15 min. long, a lone ...
4
votes
1answer
64 views

Earthreaver Stompers (Boots) Daily Power Target Clarification

To the point: Does the Daily Power given from the Earthreaver Stompers (AV) attack each creature in the burst, each enemy in the burst, or one creature in the burst? "Power (Daily): Standard Action. ...
2
votes
3answers
125 views

Are Slippers of Spider Climb usable while Wild Shaped?

Are Slippers of Spider Climb usable while Wild Shaped? I don't know if the item is use-activated is the problem. I'm under the impression that use activated items, like Boots of Striding and ...
11
votes
3answers
866 views

In DnD 5e's lower magic approach, how would the mages of Thay's magic item business work out?

DnD 5e makes magic items much less common than previous editions. Also, the Forgotten Realms are the assumed background even in the Core Rules. One of the most interesting groups in Faerun are the ...
6
votes
2answers
873 views

Does magic armor stack with a magic shield?

Does the magical bonus of armor and a shield stack? For example, would a PC with a +2 armor and a +2 shield be able to stack both bonuses?
5
votes
2answers
189 views

Do bonuses of the same type stack?

My group and I have a question about stacking enhancement effects of spell and items. For example: A fighter got ogre power gauntlets +2; in a fight, the wizard cast Bull's Strength on him, which ...
10
votes
1answer
412 views

Who can charge a ring of storing?

Ring of spell storing specifies that it requires attunement. That's fine, that makes sense for using the ring. But the text on charging it states that 'Any creature can cast a spell...' Does the ...
1
vote
1answer
243 views

Does taking a branch from the tree produced by staff of the woodlands harm the staff?

If you turn the staff of woodlands into a tree with its ability, and then cut off a branch of the tree, would it damage the staff?
5
votes
3answers
469 views

Can equipment be enchanted and dis/reenchanted without destroying the item?

I'm thinking in fifth edition but this may apply to all editions. If playing a character with a family sword or a particular set of armour that they wish to use throughout the game (from level 1 to ...
5
votes
1answer
179 views

Nonlethal damage up to max HP instead of current HP, as feat or item?

I am playing a Kineticist from the Occult Adventures Playtest, and am looking for a specific effect to help with the Burn class feature: the ability to take nonlethal damage up to my maximum HP, ...
13
votes
1answer
710 views

Does a “Helm of Opposite Alignment” work on demons?

Reading the description of the Helm of Opposite Alignment, I don't see anything which would prevent it from working on demons. But somehow I have the strong impression that the evil of a demon is an ...
1
vote
4answers
340 views

How can I balance the power of loot between players?

The 5e dmg only gives proximate levels of item strength: common, uncommon, rare, very rare, and legendary. The item levels don't really seem to help me judge if two items of the same rarity will be ...
3
votes
2answers
172 views

Do flaming, etc. weapon properties deal their extra damage just on contact?

Some magic weapons have special abilities such as flaming, where it does extra damage on a hit. Since it's elemental damage, would just the extra damage be dealt on contact? For example, would an ...
1
vote
1answer
109 views

Why can't a Dispelling bow apply Dispel to its arrow?

I was recently building an archer character and was looking at weapon/arrow properties that would be helpful. Dispelling(/burst) were some very attractive choices until I looked closer. My first ...
6
votes
2answers
394 views

What is the real price of a Druid's Vestment?

A Druid's Vestment doesn't take up a body slot and grants one Wild shape more per day. The tables with the wondrous items in the DMG say its price is 3750 gp while the item description says 10000 gp. ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens when I think like a dragon?

In the Hoard of the Dragon Queen adventure, there is a unique magic item (which will go unnamed to avoid spoilers) which among other things, says that the character who wears the magic item is able to ...
4
votes
1answer
94 views

The Creation of Magical items and the increase of DC

In my Campaign a question is consistently brought up: Note that all items have prerequisites in their descriptions. These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the ...
1
vote
4answers
135 views

What kind of check is disguising a command word activation?

I want to activate a magic item using Command Words. I don't need to disguise the effect or that I used a command word at all. However, I want to disguise what the command word is, such as by saying a ...
4
votes
1answer
106 views

Creating a magic item with two continuous effects I can pick between (or deactivate)

I was working on a magic item belt in Pathfinder. The belt is going to provide the standard boosts to Str/Dex/Con. However, I also want it to have a split property, and I'm struggling with how to ...
1
vote
0answers
77 views

Command word activation questions [closed]

I was working on a Pathfinder Character build for the whole 20 levels. As a monk you really have no ability with casting spells (with minor exceptions using the new Unchained rules and the one ...
1
vote
1answer
208 views

If I have four hands, is there anything preventing wielding a magic item in each?

I have a player whose character has four arms. They just reached level 5 and now have two magical items — a shield and mace. If they get a third magic item, can they have it in hand at the same time ...
4
votes
1answer
217 views

How does Disguise Self manifest for creatures of very large, very small, or unusually-shaped bodies?

Some magic items, like False Face allow you to change form into a humanoid creature with a specific size, but the only requirement is that the creature has an appropriate slot for the magic item. The ...
2
votes
2answers
149 views

Good items for Sword and Pistol trench fighter using Power Attack and Deadly Aim

I'm playing a level 8 fighter with the archetype trench fighter and using the feat Sword and Pistol. When using feats like Power Attack and Deadly Aim I take around a -7 penalty on all attack rolls. ...
7
votes
3answers
237 views

Sash of the War Champion with no Fighter levels

I was looking at the item Sash of the War Champion and also read This thread But neither really answered my question. If a character with no levels in fighter uses a Sash does it grant them armor ...
14
votes
4answers
2k views

Does casting a spell from an item allow you to apply class abilities that are used when casting a spell?

This question is edited to request additional answers and detail in light of information now available in the DMG. In the released DM basic rules, Lost Mine of Phandelver, Hoard of the Dragon Queen, ...
2
votes
1answer
143 views

Are thought bottles reusable?

I was reading this item on page 150 of Complete Arcane and it does not specify either way. Are these a one time use or a reusable item?
21
votes
11answers
3k views

How can an aristocracy be perpetuated between creatures that can't interbreed?

The 25-year-old human prince of a 50-year-old small nation (total population maybe 100,000 spread out in a rather large valley among settlements no larger than 5,000 creatures each) is looking to ...
8
votes
1answer
989 views

Can my fancy shirt be as tough as that guy's magical platemail?

Not as in armor bonus, but with the enchantment. If my ninja or duelist is wearing a really nice shirt in place of armor, can they have heavy fortification (or any armor enchantment) added to that ...
3
votes
1answer
150 views

Imbuing an item with Owl's Insight

According to the Magic Item Creation Rules, one can add the benefits of a spell to an item continuously for a price of Spell Level x Caster Level x 2,000 gp. There are modifiers for the spell ...
12
votes
2answers
808 views

How to handle Legend-of-Zelda-esque magic items without aspect spamming?

I think that one of the reasons that Zelda is a good setting for Fate is because advancement is horizontal rather than vertical. In other words, instead of zero-sum increases to power level as in ...
22
votes
4answers
3k views

Do magic items really cost at least as much to create as they do to purchase?

The table on page 129 of the DMG lists the costs to craft an item. Taking as an example a Common magic items, such as a level 1 spell scroll, the cost is listed as 100 gp. The crafter can only make ...
12
votes
1answer
563 views

What is the spell attack bonus and spell save DC of a Thief using the Use Magic Device feature?

A 13th level Rogue with the Thief archetype has the following feature: Use Magic Device By 13th level, you have learned enough about the workings of magic that you can improvise the use of ...
0
votes
1answer
86 views

Does the Sword of the Planes have a basis in the rules for its GP cost for its abilities?

As per the SRD: This longsword has an enhancement bonus of +1 on the Material Plane, but on any Elemental Plane its enhancement bonus increases to +2. (The +2 enhancement bonus also applies on the ...
5
votes
1answer
119 views

What benefits can a character with no domains bestow with a wand of ceremony?

The 1st-level cleric spell ceremony is complex: first, the caster takes 8 hours casting the spell then for 1 hour grants 2 creatures a benefit depending on the picked ceremony—either funeral, holiday ...
11
votes
2answers
4k views

Can Ability Score increases caused by magic items qualify me for feats?

As far as I know, only a player character's non-temporary ability scores are considered for taking feats, taking prestige classes, etc. Meanwhile, any ability bonus that comes from spells, or magic ...