3
votes
2answers
81 views

Do you provoke opportunity attacks when flying?

Moving away from a square which is within threatening reach of an enemy, provokes OA if one does not shift, is pushed/pulled/slid or teleports. Further, so far I know, squares are 3d, as indicated ...
2
votes
2answers
120 views

When does combat advantage end with push effects and deadly draw?

I built a Centered Breath monk with Deadly Draw and I as well have the "Gauntlets of the Ram" which allow me to "Add 1 to the distance of any push effect you create." Let's assume an enemy is ...
1
vote
1answer
39 views

Persistent tail combined with concealment from Ghostwalker

I am not sure if I understand the level 10 Utility Power Persistent Tail correctly. Let's say I have a level 11 CB-Monk Ghostwalker. When I hit a target and slide it adjacent I get CA. I then have ...
1
vote
1answer
64 views

When is the flurry power triggered?

As I have read, it is possible to use the flurry power as soon as I hit. So when using Crane's Wings, I can use the flurry before pushing the enemy. But what when I attack multiple targets? When can ...
3
votes
2answers
163 views

Do Properties of magic weapons stack when using Two-Weapon Fighting?

Let's assume my monk has the Two-Weapon Fighting feat. 1.) When I use two daggers, one with Ki-Weapon and another magic dagger, do the magic features of the Ki-Weapon and the magic dagger stack? It ...
2
votes
1answer
62 views

When does a flurry of blows occur when attacking multiple enemies at once?

I have a question concerning the monk class in the PHB3: On this page I have read the following conerning five storms: http://community.wizards.com/content/forum-topic/2416336 Be aware that when ...
4
votes
2answers
616 views

How does Violent Awakening work with Flurry of Blows and Furious Assault?

The feat Violent Awakening goes off when both Flurry of Blows and Furious Assault (the Half-orc Racial) are triggered. Both are triggered when I hit an enemy. This feat adds extra damage to my Flurry ...
3
votes
1answer
104 views

Do magic weapon/Implement bonuses affect extra damage?

I'm going over my monk character and moving him into the Fight Club iPhone app and one thing I noticed was that the implement damage bonus from my Cascading Strikes Ki Focus was being added to my ...
1
vote
1answer
218 views

Fighting Fury: weapon vs. implement usage. One, both or neither?

I want to create a Monk and like the Fighting Fury Utility power, but cannot figure out which attacks it would work with. Which keywords does it apply to? Implement, Weapon, another keyword? I want to ...
6
votes
1answer
144 views

Monk Dragon's tail vs. Duergar Stand Your Ground - Does SYG Apply?

The move element of Dragon's Tail is: Move : Swap places with target Duergar have Stand your Ground: Stand Your Ground: When an effect forces you to move — through a pull, a push, or a slide — ...
4
votes
1answer
409 views

Does a Monk use Dex on basic melee attacks

Does the monk's unarmed strike use Dexterity or Strength when making Opportunity Attacks? Our DM swears up and down that it goes off of Strength, but everything we read says that all of a monk's ...
2
votes
1answer
79 views

Resolving triggers arising during a move action

I recently designed a Centered Breath Monk, lvl16 that, according to the current build, has an event that triggers when I am missed by a melee attack: Ghostwalker, Of Two Worlds (11th level) ...
4
votes
2answers
177 views

Resolving simultaneous triggers

I have a general concepts (see title) that I would like to run by the rules experts. I recently designed a Centered Breath Monk, lvl16 that, according to the current build, has two events that trigger ...
2
votes
2answers
350 views

How does non-attack-power targeting work, particularly with feat-enhanced Flurry of Blows?

Flurry of Blows powers are features, not attack powers, with a range of Melee 1 or 2. Although it's clear melee attacks can target squares rather than creatures, I've been ruling that Flurry doesn't ...
4
votes
1answer
233 views

How do 'no action' powers interact with the events that trigger them?

I'm not sure how to generalize this question, so I'll give the specific example my player is concerned with. Hope it's not too chatty. A monk, adjacent to a single enemy, lands an attack such as ...
7
votes
1answer
983 views

Can a Monk use a Full Discipline move without the attack?

One of my players in my 4e game is playing a monk. He opted to use two move actions in one turn. He used the move action of one of his Full Discipline powers - such as the power Crane's Wings - twice ...
2
votes
2answers
367 views

What kind of monsters should I use against a monk in 4e?

So, I'm running a dnd 4e campaign, and one of the characters in the party is a level 12 monk. He keeps killing the monsters I throw against him, and it is getting difficult to make encounters ...
4
votes
1answer
533 views

Can a Monk use a Holy Symbol as their Ki Focus

Can a Monk who has multi-classed with Cleric, via Initiate of the Faith, use a Holy Symbol as their Ki Focus? ... see the semi-related question at rpg My thinking here is: whilst maybe they can use a ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

How does Monk's unarmed strike interact with powers requiring two weapons?

I was looking up Monk's Unarmed Strike for another answer and was wondering. If a power, such as Twin Strike requires you to be wielding two weapons, are you effectively wielding two unarmed strikes, ...
5
votes
1answer
216 views

Can Artificers powers that target “weapon or implement” affect a Monks hand/feet?

Can the various Artificer powers that target weapon or implement be used to affect a Monks hand/feet attacks, even though they are not a weapon like a Long Sword? UPDATE Thinking on it, I suppose ...
23
votes
1answer
1k views

What is the difference between “No Action” and “Free Action”?

What is the difference between No Action, e.g. the Monk's Centered Flurry of Blows [ddi], and the more common Free Action?
4
votes
1answer
238 views

Can a Monk who has multi-classed to Cleric use holy symbols?

Can a Monk who has multi-classed with Initiate of the Faith to Cleric use holy symbols as an implement?
7
votes
2answers
515 views

Can the target of Drunken Monkey attack themself?

Can you make the target of a Drunken Monkey[DDI] attack themself ? The point is the "against one enemy of your choice" ... couldn't you pick the target ? Hit: 1d8 + Dexterity modifier damage, and ...
3
votes
1answer
245 views

Would a Spiked Shield magically enhanced as a shield and a Magic Ki Focus work together?

As the title, I want to know if its technically possible to use a Magic Ki Focus with a Spiked Shield. I know that if you had a magical weapon and a Ki focus, at the time of attacking, you choose ...
10
votes
3answers
3k views

How do monk attacks work?

I've skimmed through the books but I'm a little confused about powers. Unarmed monks for example get +3 Atk and 1d8 naturally. Is the +3 only added to rolls when you make a basic attack or does it get ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Does Flurry of Blows count as an attack?

This handbook suggests that Flurry of Blows is an attack when recommending the otherwise extremely underwhelming malec-keth janissary: Malec-Keth Janissary (Swordmage-MoP)- Add extra damage to all ...
5
votes
5answers
1k views

How can a Monk be made effective against flying/ranged monsters?

The Monk in D&D4e is very much a melee combatant, as most Monks tend to be. Generally, this is okay because he should have the support of a Controller or other ranged combatant in his party. ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

What magic items and feats improve a Monk's attack bonus?

The Stone Fist Monk character in my group has a relatively low attack bonus because she didn't get a really high main ability score. I'm wondering what feats and magic items, other than magic ...
5
votes
1answer
732 views

How do you calculate the Monk's Attack bonus?

I'm having a lot of trouble figuring out how to calculate the Monk's attack bonus, for some reason it seems stupidly low. If an attack power has the keywords Full Discipline, Implement, Psionic. ...
8
votes
2answers
535 views

Must you not use Monk Unarmed Strike, to take the bonus from Iron Parry?

NOTE: I recently posed this question to Wizards Customer Support, and thought I'd share with the community. This came up when the offline Character Builder appeared to be mishandling the AC bonus of ...