A fantasy martial artist, specializing in unarmed combat. Often a playable character class.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

23
votes
13answers
33k views

Optimizing a D&D 3.5 Monk

I have complaints from someone in one of my groups that the 3.5 monk isn't good for anything offensive, only for defense and disarming (defenestration wasn't mentioned). My experience has only been ...
17
votes
5answers
5k views

Can I use a full attack and natural attacks in the same round?

I'm playing a 7th level monk variant in D&D 3.5e and I'm a werewolf. The variant has a 1 for 1 BAB. (level 1 = BAB+1) If I'm in hybrid form, Can I make my 2 standard attacks followed by 2 claws ...
11
votes
3answers
1k views

Is there an unarmed strike proficiency in D&D 3.5, and, if there is, do monks get it for free?

I'm trying to settle a coffee break argument - does a weapon proficiency for unarmed strike exist (either explicitly, or under some other more general weapon proficiency) under D&D 3.5 rules, and, ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Does Flurry of Blows count as an attack?

This handbook suggests that Flurry of Blows is an attack when recommending the otherwise extremely underwhelming malec-keth janissary: Malec-Keth Janissary (Swordmage-MoP)- Add extra damage to all ...
3
votes
2answers
164 views

Do Properties of magic weapons stack when using Two-Weapon Fighting?

Let's assume my monk has the Two-Weapon Fighting feat. 1.) When I use two daggers, one with Ki-Weapon and another magic dagger, do the magic features of the Ki-Weapon and the magic dagger stack? It ...
23
votes
1answer
1k views

What is the difference between “No Action” and “Free Action”?

What is the difference between No Action, e.g. the Monk's Centered Flurry of Blows [ddi], and the more common Free Action?
8
votes
2answers
481 views

How can a monk control a battlefield?

My group has decided to switch from 4e (which had very mixed reactions) to Pathfinder, since we all seem to like 3.5 well enough. However, one of the few things everyone enjoyed in 4e was the ability ...
7
votes
2answers
516 views

Can the target of Drunken Monkey attack themself?

Can you make the target of a Drunken Monkey[DDI] attack themself ? The point is the "against one enemy of your choice" ... couldn't you pick the target ? Hit: 1d8 + Dexterity modifier damage, and ...
4
votes
1answer
239 views

Can a Monk who has multi-classed to Cleric use holy symbols?

Can a Monk who has multi-classed with Initiate of the Faith to Cleric use holy symbols as an implement?
3
votes
2answers
2k views

Does Pathfinder significantly fix known problems with the Monk class? [closed]

As a somewhat follow up to this question re. unarmed strike, I'm wondering: Does Pathfinder significantly fix the monk class (this, and other potential well known class issues)? Specifically *: ...