The practice of advancing more than one character class on a single character either simultaneously or alternatively.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

8
votes
3answers
3k views

How can I get more spell slots for my caster without resorting to the Extra Slot feat?

Im planning on building a wizard/Warmage/Ultimate Magus. By level 15 I will have caster level 11 in both classes, this leaves me with 5 levels left. I was planning on taking Dragon Disciple to ...
7
votes
1answer
270 views

How to decide which of my intended classes to start as when multiclassing in D&D 5e?

I'm putting together a Shadow Monk/Assassin Rogue character concept for a new game of D&D 5e but I have little experience with multi-classing. So, what should I consider when deciding which class ...
11
votes
3answers
3k views

Is a Fighter/Wizard/Thief viable in Pathfinder?

I'm looking for a decent build for a Fighter/Wizard/Thief in Pathfinder. The goal is to have a "jack of all trades" PC. I'd like to enhance these aspect if possible: Fighter: melee dps Wizard: ...
5
votes
2answers
305 views

How compatible are D&D 4E core and essentials in terms of hybrid characters?

I know that in terms of actually running a campaign that they can go side by side very well, with one side doing some things honestly better than the other like the monster vault...However, a person ...
5
votes
3answers
265 views

How to implement dual-classing in a non-levelled RPG game?

I'm working on an alternate ruleset for a tabletop pen-and-paper RPG (like D&D). Recently I've been toying the idea of abolishing a level system. However, I don't want to remove the ability for a ...
18
votes
3answers
1k views

Is there a disadvantage I'm missing to starting outside my “main” class?

I am planning a character as a level 1 Rogue / 19 Wizard. If I take the Rogue level first, I get a bunch of skill, weapon, tool, and armour proficiencies I wouldn't get if I started Wizard and ...
12
votes
1answer
573 views

Can a sorc 19 / cleric 1 cast cleric spells at higher sorcerer levels?

Inspired by this answer http://rpg.stackexchange.com/a/46442/3799 Sorc 19/Cleric 1 has a bit more issues. You only have the few L1 cleric spells, and lots of Sorcerer spells, make sure you took ...
8
votes
1answer
744 views

Pathfinder Magus/Sorceror Multiclass question

If I multiclass a Magus and a Sorcerer in Pathfinder, how do my casting mechanics end up? Do I get a certain amount of slots that I must prepare in advance in addition to a few I can improvise with, ...
4
votes
1answer
381 views

Pros & Cons: Sorcerer & Cleric cross-class

I'm toying with the idea of cross-classing a Sorcerer with one level in Cleric (Life domain for the bonuses to heals and heavy armor). At 2nd level, 1st level Cleric & 1st level Sorcerer, what ...
33
votes
4answers
3k views

Can you multiclass the same class twice for different class features?

The way that 5e works, each class has a sub class that dictates a heap of class features. The question here is generally, can a character of a specific class take levels in that same class in order to ...
13
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a Barbarian/Rogue Sneak Attack during a Rage?

Can you sneak attack and rage at the same time? Honestly, I only ask because it seems like one of those things that you just shouldn't be able to do, but I can't find any rule preventing it. Am I ...
11
votes
2answers
792 views

What Hit Dice do multiclass characters spend at the end of a short rest?

Under the rules for Short Rest you are able to heal: A character can spend one or more Hit Dice at the end of a short rest, up to the characters maximum number of Hit Dice, which is equal to the ...
10
votes
4answers
15k views

What exactly are Prestige classes, and what purpose do they serve?

What exactly are Prestige classes, and what purpose do they serve? Are they, in any way, better than the default classes? Do they have any disadvantages/advantages to them?
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Is there a limit to the number of times you can multiclass?

Is there a limit to the number of times you are able to multiclass, for example could you get 1 level in 4 different classes?
4
votes
1answer
4k views

What prestige classes can Warlocks take?

I know there are prestige classes for casters, but due to the Warlock's Invocation mechanics, I'm not sure which ones it can qualify for, or at least which ones would be beneficial for it. What are ...
4
votes
1answer
745 views

Does Novice Power let you retrain your Paragon Path encounter power?

The Novice Power feat reads You can swap one encounter attack power you know for one encounter attack power of the same level or lower from the class you multiclassed into. Note: If you have ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Dipping in these ranger archetypes mechanically permissible?

The Trapper gains very useful abilities while losing access to spells that he wouldn't have access to anyways for many levels to come. Essentially [unless you don't want to deprive the party rogue of ...