The practice of advancing more than one character class on a single character either simultaneously or serially.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

50
votes
4answers
5k views

Does this cheesy character concept violate RAW, and if so how?

Does the following, very cheesy character concept, violate any RAW? Please cite rules or official rulings in your answer. (Apart from RAW, I expect my DM to disallow or limit the concept, in the ...
43
votes
4answers
6k views

Can you multiclass the same class twice for different class features?

The way that 5e works, each class has a sub class that dictates a heap of class features. The question here is generally, can a character of a specific class take levels in that same class in order to ...
28
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I resume levelling up as a paladin after taking a few levels as an Oracle? [duplicate]

I want to do a build that is Paladin and Oracle, but I can't seem to find any concrete information on going about this. If I start at Paladin, get to level 2, then level Oracle to 4, can I then ...
19
votes
3answers
2k views

Is there a disadvantage I'm missing to starting outside my “main” class?

I am planning a character as a level 1 Rogue / 19 Wizard. If I take the Rogue level first, I get a bunch of skill, weapon, tool, and armour proficiencies I wouldn't get if I started Wizard and multi-...
17
votes
3answers
3k views

Can a Barbarian/Rogue Sneak Attack during a Rage?

Can you sneak attack and rage at the same time? Honestly, I only ask because it seems like one of those things that you just shouldn't be able to do, but I can't find any rule preventing it. Am I ...
16
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a sorcerer's metamagic work for non-sorcerer spells?

Can a multiclass sorcerer/cleric use the Metamagic class ability with non-sorcerer spells? For example, using Twinned Spell when casting cure wounds to heal two creatures instead of just one?
15
votes
3answers
3k views

If I multiclass from ranger into Druid, can I still wear metal armor?

In the proficiencies of Druid, it says Druids will not wear armor made of metal, however, if I was originally a ranger, can I still wear my metal armor or do I have to remove it?
14
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a druid use powers from other classes while in beast form?

I'm a first-level Druid, and I'm thinking of using my next feat to multiclass into Paladin (specifically to be able to take some helpful Encounter powers later on). Regardless of how smart this is, or ...
13
votes
2answers
802 views

What potential problems could arise from changing the multiclassing prerequisites?

The question I have been unable to think of any real drawbacks to changing the multiclass prerequisites, but I also haven't had enough time with the 5e system to make a good judgment on that. My ...
12
votes
3answers
4k views

Is a Fighter/Wizard/Thief viable in Pathfinder?

I'm looking for a decent build for a Fighter/Wizard/Thief in Pathfinder. The goal is to have a "jack of all trades" PC. I'd like to enhance these aspect if possible: Fighter: melee dps Wizard: ...
12
votes
3answers
7k views

How can I get the most synergy out of this Paladin/Warlock multi-class combination?

I'm planning on playing a Paladin/Warlock in an upcoming game and I've picked the Oath of Vengeance, and Great Old One Patron/Pact of Tome. I've made my backstory (island home sunk when invaded by ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

What Hit Dice do multiclass characters spend at the end of a short rest?

Under the rules for Short Rest you are able to heal: A character can spend one or more Hit Dice at the end of a short rest, up to the characters maximum number of Hit Dice, which is equal to the ...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a multiclass Wizard use any Wizard spell?

The Wizard includes the following feature: Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a level for which you ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a sorc 19 / cleric 1 cast cleric spells at higher sorcerer levels?

Inspired by this answer http://rpg.stackexchange.com/a/46442/3799 Sorc 19/Cleric 1 has a bit more issues. You only have the few L1 cleric spells, and lots of Sorcerer spells, make sure you took ...
12
votes
1answer
6k views

Multiclassing: How do Ability Score Improvements work?

Given that every class gets a minimum of 5 ability score improvements each at levels 4, 8, 12, 16, and 19 (Rogue and Fighter get more at other levels), do these ability score improvements occur by ...
12
votes
1answer
872 views

Do you gain any proficiencies when multi-classing other than weapon and armor?

When multi-classing, do you gain any other proficiencies outside of weapon and armor. In particular do you gain saving throw proficiencies?
11
votes
8answers
3k views

How can I roleplay multiclassing to explain new class features?

A nice broad question to set the scene I'm fairly new to roleplaying and I'm struggling with a valid reasons for both why and how a character would multiclass into another class independently - that ...
11
votes
4answers
6k views

How can I get more spell slots for an ultimate magus without resorting to the feat Extra Slot?

I'm planning on a wizard/warmage/ultimate magus build. By level 15 the character'll have caster level 11 in both classes, yet 5 levels remain. I want to save the character's feats for metamagic feats, ...
11
votes
4answers
2k views

Is the alignment conflict in the Ranger/Druid multiclass combination evidence of an error?

In 2nd Edition D&D, it mentions in the Player's Handbook that Half-Elves can multiclass as Ranger/Druid. This is a contradiction with the alignment rules, stating that a Ranger must be Good and a ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you cast a 9th level spell if your multiclass spell slots have 9th level spell slots?

Say I play a Cleric 14/Paladin 6. I have the spell slots of a lvl 17 spellcaster, but can I cast the 9th level spells of the Cleric, or am I limited to 7th? Would this also work with other classes ...
11
votes
5answers
27k views

What exactly are Prestige classes, and what purpose do they serve?

What exactly are Prestige classes, and what purpose do they serve? Are they, in any way, better than the default classes? Do they have any disadvantages/advantages to them?
11
votes
10answers
4k views

Advantage to normal multiclassing in D&D4?

Is normal (feat-based) multi-classing beneficial in D&D 4e? Is there a better way to achieve the same character design (a character with facets of two classes)?
11
votes
1answer
507 views

Does multi-classing into a martial class make you a member of martial class?

A character who has taken a class-specific multiclass feat counts as a member of that class for the purpose of meeting prerequisites for taking other feats and qualifying for paragon paths. As a ...
11
votes
1answer
834 views

Question regarding Sneak of Shadows feat

My question is when you use the multiclass feat Sneak of Shadows for the 1/encounter sneak attack damage, does it increase by tier like the rogue class feature Sneak Attack, Heroic: 2d6, Paragon: 3d6; ...
10
votes
2answers
713 views

Do you get the equipment of your new class when you multi-class?

When multi-classing, do you take the equipment from your new class and add it to the equipment you got from your main class?
10
votes
6answers
923 views

Can a player multiclass if a prerequisite ability score(s) is met through a magic item?

To qualify for a new class, you must meet the ability score prerequisites for both your current class and your new one ... Without the full training that a beginning character receives, you must be a ...
10
votes
2answers
4k views

Multiclass total saving throw adjustment in Pathfinder

Adding base attack bonuses, saving throw bonuses from prior class is throwing me for a loop. Example Barbarian level 3 decides Bard level 1 will be next. BAB +3 FORT +3 REF + 1 WILL +1 (barbarian 3) ...
10
votes
2answers
4k views

Multi Class Leveling

I am new to D&D, currently using 3.5 & Pathfinder (Pathfinder book arrives next week, ordered it). I am extremely confused with the Multiclass leveling system. When I opt to take a new class ...
10
votes
3answers
298 views

Can a multi-class spellcaster have one thing be two different focuses?

In my group, I have a Cleric 1/ Bard 1 character. He bangs on his engraved shield (cleric focus) to turn it into a war drum (bard focus). What are the rules concerning if a player can have two ...
10
votes
6answers
339 views

Do Two Class Features That Add The Same Modifier to Damage Double It?

I've had a question that I can't seem to find an answer to and it's hard to formulate a question that I feel is clear enough without explaining the setup. Lets use a 6/2 Sorc/Warlock as an example. ...
10
votes
2answers
167 views

Can you trade a slow track for a fast track when multiclassing in Legend?

In Rule of Cool’s Legend, there are three “types” of track: “fast” (1st, 3rd, 6th, etc.), “normal” (1st, 4th, 7th, etc.), and “slow” (2nd, 5th, ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Does a Magus/Sorcerer still have to prepare some spells?

If I multiclass a Magus and a Sorcerer in Pathfinder, how do my casting mechanics end up? Do I get a certain amount of slots that I must prepare in advance in addition to a few I can improvise with, ...
9
votes
4answers
4k views

Does the level prerequisite for Invocations refer to class or character level?

The level requirements for Warlock invocations stated in the PHB are refering to which level, character or Warlock class? Example: If I multiclassed into Warlock, Monk6/Warlock2, would I be able to ...
9
votes
3answers
22k views

Which classes continue to synergize well for a multi-class character?

I've recently committed to playing in a Pathfinder game, and I've become somewhat intrigued with the idea of playing a rogue/sorcerer multi-class character. I'm concerned, though, that as the game ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

Can I acquire cantrips with the Wizard multi-class feat?

The multiclass feat for wizards in the PHB says you gain a 1st level wizard at-will ability. Now, the cantrips in there are gained at first level, and they are at-will. I'm guessing that, since they ...
9
votes
1answer
9k views

Multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer: How do spell slots recover?

If you multiclass a Warlock and a Sorcerer, then you have a character with both the Spellcasting and Pact Magic features. PHB Page 101, Sorcerer, Spellcasting, Spell Slots: You regain all ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

Does multiclassing into Cleric grant Domain Bonus Proficiencies?

I know that the Multiclassing Proficiencies are listed on p. 164 of the Player's Handbook: Proficiencies When you gain a level in a class other than your first, you gain only some of that class'...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Can I multi-class between a class and an archetype of that class?

Background I am playing Pathfinder with a character who is a Fighter with the Polearm Master archetype. There is an ability that the Fighter (sans archetype) earns at third level called "Armor ...
9
votes
2answers
770 views

Can one multiclass into the same second class twice?

I know there is an answer similar to this at Is there a limit to the number of times you can multiclass?, but I want to know if one can multiclass twice in the same class. The rules seem weird to me; ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a Paladin 3/Fighter 1 get the level 4 ability score improvement? [duplicate]

I'm about to level up in a fifth edition campaign and so far I'm a level 3 paladin. I'm thinking of multiclassing into a fighter instead of increasing my paladin level to 4. I am wanting to know, if I ...
8
votes
2answers
690 views

Pathfinder Multi classing as a rogue archetype

I have been running Pathfinder for various groups for many years, so character creation is fairly simple for me. However, one of my players and I have locked horns over something which to me seems ...
8
votes
1answer
852 views

Are Blastlocks not Special?

I am making a character for d&d 5e and I am thinking about playing an Abjurer Eldritch Knight with a dip of Warlock for some refluffed flavor, out of combat utility, in combat utility, and I just ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Do class skill bonuses stack when multiclassing?

So, let's say I'm multiclassing Barbarian and Fighter and I take climb as a skill. Would I get a +3 from both classes, or only from one?
8
votes
2answers
613 views

Which spells can a multiclass bard cast with an instrument focus?

If I were to multiclass Sorcerer 9 Bard 1, could I use an instrument (per Bard Level 1 feature) as my focus for spells that appear on both class spell lists? For example, Polymorph, Confusion, and ...
8
votes
3answers
424 views

Can I cast a spell as a ritual if I have it prepared from a class without Ritual casting?

For example, a paladin of the ancients learns the ritual spell Speak with animals as an oath spell and thus has it always prepared. If I multiclass as Wizard, I gain the ability to cast ritual spells ...
8
votes
1answer
619 views

With the Paladin's Divine Smite, can you expend spell slots over 4th?

If I multiclass Caster 18/Paladin 2, could I use higher than 4th level spell slots to use Divine Smite, even if I gain no bonuses to damage for doing so?
8
votes
1answer
121 views

Can a Druid/Wizard share wizard spells on his companion? Or druid spells with his familiar?

As the title; I'm not seeing anything against it, I just know a lot of class abilities are limited to the class they're from normally. As a Druid 2/Wizard 1, could a character share say... mage armor ...
8
votes
3answers
986 views

How to maximize Monk DPR?

I tacked the question above at the end of this question, but realised that it's probably best to ask in a separate post altogether. My current strategy for maxing Monk DPR is to take 3 levels of ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the same fighting style stack with itself?

Suppose I have a ranger with the style Archery, and I take a one level dip into fighter and also pick Archery. Do I get an additional +4 to my attack rolls, or just +2? More generally, does the same ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

How does BAB from prestige classes stack with normal BAB?

I am at the moment playing 3.5 and in a discussion with my dm he told me that the increase in attack bonus granted for each level in a prestige class only applies to the first attack. For example, a ...