An attack or maneuver that occurs where an entity would have to theoretically let its guard down near a nearby attacker in order to concentrate on some delicate action.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

4
votes
2answers
385 views

Magic User moves, then touches (spell attack), then moves again

If a magic user wants to move 10 feet toward a monster, touch it for a spell attack, and then move back 10 feet, does the monster get an opportunity attack when the magic user moves back? Or can the ...
17
votes
4answers
2k views

Can you draw a weapon as part of the Opportunity Attack?

Can you draw a weapon as part of the Opportunity Attack? The section about "Interacting with Objects around you" in the PHB p.190 says you can do things like "draw or sheathe a sword" as part of your ...
0
votes
1answer
88 views

Can a non-action be taken as part of an OA/reaction?

Some acts, such as dropping items or speaking, are consistently considered "non-actions" in the D&D rules (I'm asking about 3.5e in this question, but it seems that this is consistent among all ...
2
votes
1answer
123 views

Responding to Opportunity Attacks with Snarling Wolf Stance

I have a 5th Level Ranger/Psion playing in a Dungeons and Dragons 4e Eberron campaign. The other day, we had a situation come up in a fight and I want to see if we handled it right. I had Snarling ...
4
votes
1answer
187 views

Does Agile Opportunist work with reach weapons?

I'm playing a level 16 Cunning Bard in DnD4e. The "melee" striker in our party is a Barbarian with a reach weapon (he also has a focus on charge attacks). Since I have access to all sorts of sliding ...
3
votes
1answer
191 views

Persistent Threat and Rain of Steel

Are you able to make opportunity attacks if you're dazed and has the feat Persisent Threat? Persistent Threat - While you are dazed, you can still flank enemies, and you can take an opportunity action ...
4
votes
1answer
209 views

Can the MBA provided by Repel Charge be made at reach?

A player in my group is building a PC with a reach weapon With a reach weapon, a creature can make melee attacks against enemies that are 2 squares away from it as well as adjacent enemies. Even ...
4
votes
3answers
394 views

Using a readied action to manifest an opportunity attack or action by interrupting movement

Below I will present two similar scenarios in which I would like to use a readied action to interrupt an enemy's movement, with the specific goal of provoking an opportunity attack from that enemy ...
5
votes
1answer
248 views

Swarms' limited immunity to OAs

According to RAW for swarms, A swarm can enter or move through an enemy’s space; this movement does not provoke opportunity actions. I assume "pass through" in this case means "move into and out ...
5
votes
1answer
625 views

Forced/involuntary movement and OAs

The basics: Moving away from a threatened square provokes an Opportunity Action. The wrinkles: Certain forms of voluntary movement (shifts, teleports) specifically do not provoke OAs. Being pushed, ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a creature use an immediate reaction after another creature's opportunity action on a third creature's turn?

My battlemind and a cleric were engaged in a melee battle with a Deathdog the other day. The cleric was knocked down on a previous turn, so that when her turn began she attempted to stand up. The ...
6
votes
1answer
252 views

Can shifting trigger non-attack opportunity actions?

Part of the Shift rule is this: No Opportunity Attacks: Your movement doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks. However, there are a few Opportunity Actions that do not include attacks. If such an ...