In d20 and similar games, any sort of extra attack that gets triggered by an enemy opening up his defenses either during his turn or while taking an opportunity action.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

2
votes
2answers
665 views

Does moving around an opponent trigger an Opportunity Attack?

I'll try to be as specific as possible. In the first diagram, creature A wants to attack creature B. In the second diagram, it moves 5 squares to the back of creature B and attacks. · · · A · · · | ...
5
votes
1answer
599 views

Do rogues get sneak attack damage added to attacks made outside their turn?

PHB says 'once per turn,' so, it would seem that a Rogue with Sentinel, for example, could "consistently" deal Sneak attack twice per round (whether the enemy triggers an OA or the melee weapon attack ...
13
votes
3answers
772 views

Does a reach weapon allow you to threaten squares 10 feet away or not?

In D&D 5e, does a reach weapon allow you to threaten squares up to 10 feet away for the purpose of Opportunity Attacks or does it just allow you to attack squares up to 10 feet away? There is ...
6
votes
1answer
280 views

How many times does Sneak Attack damage apply?

In 3.5e, I used to add Sneak Attack damages to all the attacks of my character as long as the target was flat-footed or flanked or... However, when discussing the feature with wax eagle he mentioned ...
1
vote
1answer
108 views

Using a Readied Action to avoid Opportunity Attacks

In 4E, combatants can't take Opportunity Actions (OAs) and Immediate Actions (IAs) on their own turn. Some Defenders function by getting to make OAs or IAs whenever the enemy attacks or shifts. This ...
7
votes
1answer
481 views

When can I make opportunity attacks?

What provokes an opportunity attack? In 3.X moving out of a threatened square, standing up from prone, casting a spell (unless cast defensively), or making a ranged attack provoked, while in 4e ...
5
votes
2answers
167 views

AoOs against the same enemy on his turn?

I had this question: Attacks of Opportunity from moving within a threatened area? So, if an enemy goes from one threatened square to another one threatened by the same guy twice, and the area ...
3
votes
2answers
165 views

Enemies AoO generate AoOs? AoOs for non-beginners, understanding Karmic Strike and Robilar's gambit

I've got a robilar knockback dungeoncrasher build and I want to fully understand how does it work. So, let me get this stright: Jack the barbarian has a sword on his hand and both feats in the title ...
2
votes
2answers
206 views

How can I discharge a touch spell on an attack without provoking an AoO?

Is there a way to basically hit someone in the face with a charged spell in hand, without provoking an attack of opportunity? In the core rules it says that you can perform an unarmed strike or ...
3
votes
3answers
191 views

Attack of Opportunity with ranged weapons

Attacks of Opportunity with a ranged weapon seems like an insane concept. The way I understand it, if a creature were to move within range of a PC's light crossbow it would trigger an AoO. If so that ...
3
votes
1answer
332 views

Does a rogue get precision damage during an attack of opportunity if flanking?

In the Pathfinder rules here's what it says: If a rogue can catch an opponent when he is unable to defend himself effectively from her attack, she can strike a vital spot for extra damage. ...
4
votes
1answer
229 views

Does an invisible creature trigger an opportunity attack if it makes a ranged attack

Does an invisible creature trigger an opportunity attack if it makes a ranged attack? And if it does, is the opportunity attack -5 as it's against an invisible creature? Where does the invisibility ...
4
votes
1answer
243 views

What's with the Paladin's ranged powers? Do they provoke opportunity attacks?

So I am a little bit confused. I am currently playing a Paladin built for tanking and holding the front while my party hopefully finishes the enemy off before I die. I was looking though some of the ...
2
votes
2answers
204 views

Do you provoke opportunity attacks when flying?

Moving away from a square which is within threatening reach of an enemy, provokes OA if one does not shift, is pushed/pulled/slid or teleports. Further, so far I know, squares are 3d, as indicated ...
9
votes
2answers
276 views

Do large creatures provoke Opportunity Attacks when moving if some part of them still occupies the threatened square?

This scenario happened in our 4E game last night. A Troll (2x2) started in a non-threatened space and tried to move 2 squares to attack the cleric. With the first step, it entered a square ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

D&D 3.5e understanding attacks of opportunity

I am currently assisting in the dming of the game as far as understanding rules. in the last game session we played i experianced a AoO for the first time as did the actual dm. A pc(1) was engaged in ...
4
votes
2answers
669 views

How can I make Attacks of Opportunity using a ranged weapon?

Is there any way a character can make an attack of opportunity using a ranged weapon? If so, how? What book does it come from?
7
votes
3answers
2k views

In D&D 3.5 Why does “Withdraw” not trigger an “Attack of Opportunity”?

In D&D 3.5 "Withdraw" is defined as follows: Withdrawing from melee combat is a full-round action. When you withdraw, you can move up to double your speed. The square you start out in is ...
2
votes
1answer
87 views

Howl of Fury provoking opportunity attacks?

Curious if a barbarian's Howl of Fury provokes opportunity attacks, as it does not specify CLOSE blast. I think it's reasonable to assume it does not?
8
votes
1answer
200 views

In 3.5 DnD, readying a move action to go adjacent to an enemy provoking AoO

If you ready an action to move into threat range of an enemy triggered by that enemy doing something that would trigger an Attack of Opportunity (such as casting a spell or moving out of a square), do ...
6
votes
1answer
125 views

What's the attack of opportunity for a monk

What if a monk is allowed to do an attack of opportunity on a spellcasting enemy, is the monk only allowed to one attack, or use full attack like +10 / +5 for a level 14 monk?
2
votes
2answers
78 views

For an Elder Polyp, do each of its tentacles get its own attack of opportunity?

My PCs have an upcoming bottle with an Elder Polyp (Tome of Horrors III 10). The monster is copied into an adventure path I'm running and has 4 tentacles. The Elder Polyp does not have Combat Reflexes ...
4
votes
1answer
555 views

Does a Monk use Dex on basic melee attacks

Does the monk's unarmed strike use Dexterity or Strength when making Opportunity Attacks? Our DM swears up and down that it goes off of Strength, but everything we read says that all of a monk's ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

Attack of Opportunity & spell casting

I'm a little stumped with this. Example, casting a spell, 1 standard action provokes attack of opportunity. The enemy is allowed a single melee attack. So, each time the wizard casts a spell, ...
16
votes
2answers
1k views

If an enemy moves and provokes an opportunity attack, where are they when the AoO happens?

I was surprised to find no mention of this in the Opportunity Attack rules on d20pfsrd or on the Paizo SRD: if an enemy moves from tile A to tile B and provokes an opportunity attack from me in doing ...
8
votes
1answer
272 views

Does the Direct The Strike power provoke OA?

Does using the Warlord's Direct The Strike power provoke opportunity attacks? It is a Ranged 5 power with only the Martial keyword (not an Implement or Weapon attack). It seems to me like it should ...
4
votes
1answer
245 views

Opportunity Knocks and opportunity attacks

This is a question about timing. If a rogue character has the Opportunity Knocks feat: Whenever you hit with an opportunity attack ... the enemy you hit ... grants combat advantage to you until ...
4
votes
1answer
291 views

Can a Combat Challenge/Divine Challenge/Warden's Fury interrupt an opportunity attack?

Can a Defender's interrupt ability stop an opportunity attack? If so, can I get a page reference?
5
votes
1answer
177 views

AoO and subsequent rolls

I read somewhere that if you take an action that causes an AoO, from the subsequent roll for that action, you have to subtract the eventually taken damage. Is it right? If yes, does this apply too to ...
1
vote
1answer
2k views

Opportunity attacks and immediate interupts per round [duplicate]

I read this in an online article, which sounded incorrect to me. The Fighter takes his free attack and gets all the additional bonuses that come with Combat Superiority. Needless to say, my ...
20
votes
2answers
2k views

My group's misunderstood opportunity attacks for years; what to do now I know this?

So, it turns out that my group has been doing shifting/OAs wrong for the 2½ years and the four campaigns we've played 4.0. We've always assumed that non-shift movement was safe, as long as it was ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Attacks of Opportunity from moving within a threatened area?

I'm curious about moving in threatened squares, say I'm a fighter and I'm already in a square fighting a monster with normal melee range and I move to the opposite side of him so that an ally can move ...
12
votes
1answer
575 views

Does movement whilst hidden provoke opportunity attacks?

Playing a rogue in my first two D&D Sessions ever thanks to online tabletop (a god send, really!) However, I've come to learn that it's not an easy task (however, my healer has kept me from death ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

Does making an opportunity attack with a ranged weapon provoke an opportunity attack?

If I make an opportunity attack with a ranged weapon (e.g., a crossbow) against an adjacent enemy, does it provoke an opportunity attack as well?
5
votes
1answer
338 views

Does a proning opportunity attack end movement in the square a creature was moving from?

For the party I DM for, one of the Minotaur players has an nearly absurd (judgement call) feat called Opportunity Gore. Opportunity Gore lets a Minotaur use his racial power Goring Charge over and ...
9
votes
3answers
372 views

If movement is interrupted and an enemy occupies the destination square, is the movement lost?

Rules Compendium p.195 states: If an interrupt invalidates a triggering action, the triggering action is lost. It also states on p.197 that Opportunity Actions Interrupt the triggering action. ...
7
votes
1answer
380 views

Do bonuses against Opportunity Attacks stack?

I have started playing a halfling rogue. His racial bonus to AC against Opportunity Attacks is +2. Because he is an Artful Dodger he also has a class feature of adding his CHA MOD (which is +5) to his ...
8
votes
2answers
638 views

Combat Challenge vs Opportunity Attack - which happens first?

If a fighter has marked an enemy, and the enemy does a ranged attack against someone other than the fighter, I believe the fighter can attack using Combat Challenge as the enemy is making an attack ...
14
votes
2answers
927 views

What is the reason for introducing the rule for Attacks of Opportunity in D&D?

The Attacks of Opportunity are an important part in D&D and spinoffs of the game like Pathfinder. What does this rule for the game-system? How does it affect the fun of the players? Why was this ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

How can you force an opponent to provoke an opportunity attack?

I'm wondering if there's any way to give the fighter an extra attack by forcing the opponent to move out of a threatened square. Does bull rush provoke an opportunity attack against the target? Bull ...
6
votes
1answer
205 views

Does the Linebreaker feat imply that the battlemind provokes an opportunity attack?

Linebreaker Benefit: When you use your speed of thought, you can enter an enemy's space. Doing so ends the movement. You must then slide the enemy 1 square. Unless a Battlemind takes ...
9
votes
2answers
533 views

Does a defender get to respond to a marked target making an opportunity attack on another PC?

Had a moment in my last session where the Striker provoked an Opportunity Attack from a Monster that was marked by the Defender. After the attack was resolved, our Defender wanted to respond with his ...
5
votes
2answers
540 views

Does an opportunity attack that stuns prevent the movement?

If I make an opportunity attack with some combination of riders that will cause a hit to stun (or if the victim has already taken some action, daze) can the target of my attack continue their ...
6
votes
4answers
1k views

Does movement continue after an Opportunity Attack?

If a character moves away from a square adjacent to a monster, the monster gets an OA. Good. What happens after the attack is resolved? Can the character continue moving? So far, I've houseruled ...
4
votes
1answer
494 views

Is throwing other PC's possible? [duplicate]

Possible Duplicate: How do you rule halfling tossing as a combat action? Hello, one of my fellow players brought upon a good question to me; is possible to throw another PC almost like a ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Does phasing away from an opponent provoke an attack of opportunity?

I know the rules for opportunity attacks: the only way to avoid an attack of opportunity is to either shift away or teleport away. However, if a creature moves via phasing, do they still trigger ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Does a falling creature provoke Opportunity Attacks on the way down?

I'm in a D&D4e game right now, and in the current combat there are some flying creatures which may soon be knocked prone by PC #1. As part of being knocked prone, a flying creature falls to the ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

When a creature is prone, can it make opportunity attacks?

If a creature is knocked prone, can it still make opportunity attacks?
7
votes
3answers
365 views

Can a creature inside a Stinking Cloud make an Opportunity Attack against a creature outside of it?

The text for Stinking Cloud says Effect: The burst creates a zone of poisonous vapor that blocks line of sight until the end of your next turn.... Does that mean that even at the inside ...
8
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a creature use an immediate interrupt power and an opportunity attack in the same round?

Can one creature or character use both an immediate interrupt and an opportunity attack in the same round, or are they mutually exclusive actions?