2
votes
2answers
59 views

Do you provoke opportunity attacks when flying?

Moving away from a square which is within threatening reach of an enemy, provokes OA if one does not shift, is pushed/pulled/slid or teleports. Further, so far I know, squares are 3d, as indicated ...
6
votes
1answer
776 views

Attacks of Opportunity from moving within a threatened area?

I'm curious about moving in threatened squares, say I'm a fighter and I'm already in a square fighting a monster with normal melee range and I move to the opposite side of him so that an ally can move ...
5
votes
1answer
302 views

Does a proning opportunity attack end movement in the square a creature was moving from?

For the party I DM for, one of the Minotaur players has an nearly absurd (judgement call) feat called Opportunity Gore. Opportunity Gore lets a Minotaur use his racial power Goring Charge over and ...
9
votes
3answers
334 views

If movement is interrupted and an enemy occupies the destination square, is the movement lost?

Rules Compendium p.195 states: If an interrupt invalidates a triggering action, the triggering action is lost. It also states on p.197 that Opportunity Actions Interrupt the triggering action. ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Does phasing away from an opponent provoke an attack of opportunity?

I know the rules for opportunity attacks: the only way to avoid an attack of opportunity is to either shift away or teleport away. However, if a creature moves via phasing, do they still trigger ...
19
votes
4answers
4k views

Why does shifting in D&D 4 not provoke Opportunity Attacks?

My gaming group is brand new. We had our first session tonight. I had a few questions for this SE... the first is this one. Why does shifting in D&D 4 not provoke Opportunity Attacks? Or am I ...