Pathfinder RPG, derived from Dungeons & Dragons v3.5, published in 2009.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

5
votes
3answers
581 views

How to handle some new NPCs who enter a fight in progress?

I am GMing for the second time in my life, and do not know how to handle this situation: There are 5 PCs who walk through this map. In almost every room there are a couple of NPCs who might or might ...
3
votes
0answers
70 views

How do I roleplay a journey? [duplicate]

I'm starting a new campaign and my players want to play a "journey". They want to explore a continent, walking to the objective, like a LOTR-styled thing. They literally want to walk through the ...
3
votes
2answers
168 views

Do all Spell Trigger items always require a Use Magic Device check?

Or is it only when you are trying to use something you wouldn't normally use? Speaking mostly of wands, staves, and rods. For example; Would a level 1 druid be able to use a Cure Light Wounds wand ...
1
vote
2answers
450 views

Can a Fighter without multiple attacks use Two-Weapon Fighting?

If you are a level 5 fighter who just picked up two-weapon fighting, even if you don't have multiple attacks, would you be able to attack with two weapons? Specifics: Weapon training: blades, heavy; ...
6
votes
1answer
402 views

Best Healing Potion Possible

I have built a lvl 20 fighter with the ability to chug potions/Drinks as a swift action. I don't remember how I got that power, but as best as I remember it applies to all drinkable substances. What ...
5
votes
1answer
199 views

How many creatures does Heavenly Fire target?

The Sorcerer Celestial Bloodline has this power: Heavenly Fire (Sp): Starting at 1st level, you can unleash a ray of heavenly fire as a standard action, targeting any foe within 30 feet as a ...
8
votes
4answers
1k views

Alternate, 2H, non-double use of quarterstaff?

I understand usually a quarterstaff is usually treated as a double weapon with 1d6/1d6 - however it seems like regripping it should allow use as a two handed weapon using only one end to get more out ...
10
votes
5answers
1k views

How does the Multi-Weapon Fighting feat 'replace' the Two-Weapon Fighting feat?

The Multiweapon Fighting feat clearly states that it Replaces two-weapon fighting for creatures with more than two arms. What does that mean? I've given it some thought, and I can think of only three ...
4
votes
0answers
100 views

How do Favored Classes work? [duplicate]

So, I am creating my first Pathfinder character ever right now together with some friends. We are all new at this. I figured I'd go for a half-elven Cleric. Everything good so far. But! The two ...
16
votes
4answers
1k views

Do enemies have the same rules for death as PCs?

Once an enemy is lowered to 0 HP, are they dead or just knocked out? Do you have to reduce them to their negative Con score or is that mechanic strictly reserved for players?
15
votes
5answers
1k views

Should drawing weapons involve an initiative roll when combat isn't going to happen?

I need some advice on how to handle a troublesome situation. If my PCs are in a tense situation, and an NPC suddenly draws a weapon, should I ask my players to roll for initiative? Is this the most ...
5
votes
1answer
147 views

Using Ghoul Army spell as am Oracle with the Tongues curse

My character just reached Orcale level 10 and I was looking through 5th level spells. I came across the spell Ghoul Army but was told by another player that I cannot use it because as an Oracle with ...
6
votes
3answers
912 views

Can I use Sow Thought to make someone my servant?

There´s a first-level spell on the Witch's spell list avaliable for Changellings, Sow Thought, that says: You plant an idea, concept, or suspicion in the mind of the subject. The target ...
5
votes
1answer
632 views

Can you interrupt an action with a Ready Action?

I know that you can interrupt a turn, but can you interrupt the middle of an action, like a move action or would you have to wait until the other's move action is complete and then interrupt them ...
7
votes
2answers
893 views

Can a multiclassing Wizard/Magus cast a Wizard spell as a Magus spell?

A close friend and I were wondering, if a Magus/Wizard share a spell from both of their spell lists, how it is cast in regards to usage and preparation. Say, a Magus has a spell in their Wizard ...
1
vote
1answer
198 views

How does the “Handle Animal” skill work during combat?

I'm a bit confused as to how this skill is carried out during combat. If you have an animal companion/familiar/pet/or anything that follows you around, at the start of battle you roll for its ...
12
votes
3answers
439 views

Can I use a Combat Maneuver in place of an AoO?

Does this require a feat? If not, does itself provoke an AoO? For example, my cleric is standing between some guards and the rogue picking a lock. One of the guards walks through the square next to ...
6
votes
3answers
286 views

Why even bother with XP? [closed]

Our group has run into irreconcilable differences of opinion, unfortunately. One of the players was not present for our first session of a new campaign and was not awarded any XP for that session. ...
1
vote
1answer
105 views

Multiple attacks in a round (iterative attacks)

In what order do iterative attacks resolve? Right after the character who has initiative has resolved his first attack (attack with highest BAB), or do the other characters and npc's resolve their ...
2
votes
1answer
125 views

Can an alchemical oil be used as a splash weapon?

If I create or purchase an oil with a harmful spell like say Magic Missile. Can I throw it as a splash weapon?
1
vote
3answers
277 views

What do I need to craft potions and oils?

I know that the Brew Potion feat can be used to make these items, but can I also use skills? The Paizo Site states that potions can be crafted with the Brew Potion feat, Spellcraft skill, and Craft ...
8
votes
1answer
363 views

How exactly do potions and oils work?

So I read the bit about potions in the CRB and it sayss a potion can have the effect of a spell up to 3rd level. It says with potions that the drinker is the target and the caster. So if I drink a ...
3
votes
3answers
452 views

Are there mechanics to make your own deities?

I noticed in The Inner Sea World Guide that most core deities seem to have 5 domains associated with them, and every other deity has 4. I'm trying to make a few additions to the list for my campaign ...
7
votes
1answer
162 views

Gemstones in a Treasure Hoard

I am using the Appendix in Ultimate Equipment to generate a Treasure Hoard. A 1000 GP (Type H Treasure, Lair Treasure) contains "three grade 1 gemstones", but the gemstone tables aren't referenced ...
5
votes
1answer
110 views

Would someone clarify the HD section in the Zombie Bestiary entry?

I'm mostly confused by the line "Drop HD gained by class levels (minimum of 1) and change racial HD to d8s." Now, let me see if I understood that correctly; If I'm dealing with something that has no ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

Do you generally do anything with a creature's remains?

Say the party goes off into the woods and kills a few wolves. Would anything useful come from the carcasses? How about at higher levels when killing Dragons and such? I understand with creatures ...
1
vote
2answers
156 views

Would armor that you're wearing and weapons be counted in your carry weight?

I've heard people who run games where they don't count armor that you wear in your carry weight and people who do. I'm wondering what the RAW would state - does it count?
2
votes
1answer
309 views

Can you 5-foot step while entangled

This should be a really simple question but - can you 5-foot step while entangled in Pathfinder. I can see arguments both ways as to whether you can but I cannot see anything definitive. 5' step ...
6
votes
2answers
351 views

Can you use the heal skill on yourself?

I know you can't use long-term care on yourself, but could you use the other aspects of the skill like first aid, treat wounds, treat disease, etc.
9
votes
1answer
631 views

What does “the save DC is Charisma-based.” mean?

I'm looking at Ghoul Fever and it says that, but a few lines up it says the save is Fort DC 13, so I'm not sure what they mean by the charisma based part.
4
votes
1answer
75 views

Does the same affliction stack?

If you catch a specific affliction like a disease while in combat can you then catch it again next round? What are the effects of this if it's possible? Would you need to cure it twice? etc.
1
vote
1answer
52 views

Are ability scores restored daily even while still under an affliction?

I'm trying to better understand afflictions and I was wondering if, for example; Someone gets Ghoul Fever. If they fail the save then they take 1d3 Con and 1d3 Dex damage. The next day, would they ...
5
votes
2answers
469 views

If you perform a standard action can you still attack on the same turn?

Attacking is a standard action I think so you can't do that right? You can do a move and a standard or 2 moves, but not 2 standards as far as I understand it. Looking for confirmation.
6
votes
1answer
246 views

What does “advanced simple template” mean in the context of a creature?

In the horse's bestiary entry it states that a heavy horse gains the "advanced simple template" and I'm not sure what that means.
4
votes
1answer
136 views

How can you tell when a creature can speak a language or just understand it?

For example, the Unicorn entry in the bestiary says Languages: common, sylvan Does that mean the unicorn can speak and understand both or just understand common but not speak it? I thought I ...
3
votes
1answer
445 views

If you take a 5 foot step into a threatened square do you provoke an AoO?

I know it says "never provokes an attack of opportunity" so I'm guessing the answer is no, but I wanted to make sure. Especially in the event there are several enemies and all threatening the square ...
11
votes
5answers
777 views

How can player characters restore a mostly-burned note?

Background Pathfinder ruleset, with 2-3 low level characters of unknown classes. Scenario: In an encounter, the minor villain's last action is to throw a note into the fire. With a successful ...
12
votes
2answers
248 views

Can a bound outsider disobey its orders?

The Planar Binding spell reads: You can attempt to compel the creature to perform a service by describing the service and perhaps offering some sort of reward. [...] This process can be ...
2
votes
1answer
268 views

If using a double weapon do you get multiple attacks?

If you don't have multiple attacks from your BAB but you have a double weapon like a quarterstaff, do you get multiple attacks if you take a full-round action or do you still need the bonus from the ...
3
votes
1answer
444 views

Can you attack and then do Total Defense in the same turn?

I would think that's the intended use but I want to be sure.
5
votes
1answer
529 views

How many iterative attacks can an Eidolon with a two-handed weapon make?

I'm experienced with RPG's but this is my first run of Pathfinder. I elected to play a summoner who's Eidolon wield a greatsword. I've heard of this class's supposed "brokenness" so I elected to ...
2
votes
1answer
838 views

Formula for scaling weapon damage with size?

As weapons get larger or smaller, they tend to deal different damage dice. Most weapons list damage for Small and Medium weapons: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/equipment---final/weapons There is also a ...
1
vote
1answer
131 views

When monster cohorts level up, do they work just like a PC of that class level?

That is, if a monster cohort levels up with a PC and they would normally qualify for a class ability, like the fighter's bravery or a barbarian's rage, do the monster cohorts also get these abilities? ...
5
votes
3answers
747 views

How to get players to survive this particular battle?

My NPCs are tougher than I thought. Luckily I'm finding this out before the game is starting (in 2 hours), so I still have a bit of time to adjust, but if anyone is willing to help, I'd be interested ...
1
vote
1answer
177 views

How do monster cohorts work?

The bestiary says they "gain a key class level," when they level up. Does this mean they take their first level or appropriate cohort level in say, fighter? So, in example; If I'm level 10, then ...
4
votes
2answers
677 views

Does a druid's animal companion roll HD to determine health or just add 8 points for every HD?

It says the HD is the number of d8s the animal has but I wasn't sure if we should be rolling a d8 or just adding up the HDs as 8s + Con modifier.
4
votes
2answers
193 views

What stats do you use when buying an animal?

The bestiary provides separate entries for animal companions sometimes. When a character who either does not get an animal companion or already has one and you want to purchase an animal for a general ...
2
votes
2answers
130 views

Where can I find a Pathfinder charsheet PSD?

I am looking to customize my pathfinder sheet to remove things I don't use and add some houserules elements of my DM. All of us in the party can use these things. I have searched for a charsheet for ...
5
votes
2answers
536 views

Barbarian rage and fight on defense

Can a Barbarian in Rage mode fight defensively or use Full Defense? I didnt find any rule about it, I think there is something about using Combat Expertise, but nothing else. In the session that the ...
9
votes
2answers
222 views

Charisma-based checks and concentration

Some abilities such as Strength of the Sun give a bonus to Charisma-based checks. On the other hand, paladins, bards, and sorcerers add their Charisma modifier to Concentration checks. In that ...