Pathfinder RPG, derived from Dungeons & Dragons v3.5, published in 2009.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

5
votes
1answer
78 views

Can the Pathfinder Magus add the Flaming/Frost/Shock enchantments pre-activated?

The rules state that, while those abilities do all stack and all of them can be activated simultaneously, they do require a standard action to activate. I can't, however, find anything saying that the ...
5
votes
3answers
109 views

Does the Bow of Ashes' flaming ability trigger its special ability?

The Bow of Ashes is counted as a flaming composite longbow. According to the linked rules regarding flaming, the bow can sheathe itself in flames. The Bow of Ashes has a special ability as follows: ...
6
votes
2answers
588 views

Easiest way to transition from Pathfinder to Dungeons and Dragons

I've been playing Pathfinder off and on for a couple years now, and am fairly familiar with the rules. I also heard from my brother that Pathfinder came into being as a better version of Dungeons and ...
6
votes
1answer
121 views

Which of the Arcanist's features lets it swap out its prepared spells?

I've heard that the Arcanist, Pathfinder's Wizard/Sorcerer Hybrid, has the batspit insane capacity to swap out its prepared spells during the day, effectively making it a Wizard minus their biggest ...
14
votes
4answers
371 views

How would a Flesh to Stone'd Hydra with Shape Stone cast on it regrow limbs once Stone to Flesh is cast on it?

So, I'm trying to make a fast food/business wizard (McCaster's Burgers). The idea being that I capture a Hydra and preserve it with flesh to stone. Whenever I need more meat for the Big Cast Burger, I ...
2
votes
1answer
67 views

Conditions to unlock Alchemist Discoveries when playing another class

Again, another question about Pathfinder. This time it's about classes that can get Alchemist's Discoveries without actual Alchemist levels. The Rogue is a good example with his Bomber Rogue Talent ...
3
votes
2answers
164 views

How to modify a bulette to challenge a level 10 party?

In my campaign, the PCs have been tasked with removing a group of bulettes from a mining claim. I plan on using standard bulettes as a lead-up to a 'boss fight' where I would like a larger (perhaps cr ...
6
votes
2answers
94 views

Can I combine Path of War maneuvers with Power Attack?

Can I combine a strike with combat expertise and/or power attack? Strike: A strike is a maneuver that allows a special attack. A martial disciple who slays a wyvern in a single blow is using a ...
1
vote
1answer
103 views

What are the limits of the Feat Spell Perfection?

The reason I asked is because I think I found a bit of a loophole when using the feat that I'd like a bit of clarification on. Spell perfection states the following: Pick one spell which you have ...
53
votes
6answers
10k views

How are Fighters Linear but Wizards Quadratic?

The phrase "Linear Fighters, Quadratic Wizards" gets bandied about a lot, but I've found I don't have a good way to explain it to newer players. The tier system post has some examples of how wizards ...
3
votes
2answers
158 views

How to find an NPC spellcaster to cast Raise Dead on a person?

TL:DR Where can I find a spellcaster to cast Raise Dead? Where's the nearest large city to Sandpoint in Golarion? Any other avenues to bring someone back from the dead? My group is running through ...
2
votes
2answers
406 views

Do you retain the benefits of Vampirism after it has been lifted?

You somehow managed to get cured of vampirism (for example). You maybe really happy to not have to consume blood ever again, but do you keep what you have gained from it: I) Bonus to your ...
2
votes
2answers
249 views

Is it possible to be cured of vampirism?

Let's say that Bob, after a really complicated plot, tricked a vampire lord, but get changed into a vampire during the process. Is it possible to turn back into his previous living self? I can ...
3
votes
1answer
105 views

Is third party content automatically published under the OGL?

When publishing third party content for Pathfinder, is the published content automatically considered to be under the OGL? I was browsing http://www.d20pfsrd.com and see tons of third party content. ...
1
vote
1answer
72 views

Do characters lose feats if they lose the pre-reqs

Specifically the feat Versatile Channeller Versatile Channeler Prerequisites: Channel energy class feature, necromancer or neutrally aligned cleric (see below)... .... [editted ...
5
votes
2answers
181 views

How to handle mystery adventures when there are copious divination spells? [closed]

I'm gming a Pathfinder game. It's part hack-and-slash and part detective work/mystery solving. The premise is that there is a young necromancer raising the dead to right a wrong. Now, the source book ...
4
votes
2answers
178 views

Multiple Attacks with a Two-Handed Weapon and Off-Hand Spells [closed]

If I have a high-enough BAB to earn two attacks per round as a full-round action, can I attack with a two-handed weapon (1st attack), remove one hand from the weapon (free action) and, say, make a ...
3
votes
1answer
90 views

Underground Chemist Rogue Archetype: Is Sneak Attack damage amplified by Energy Vulnerability?

Is the Sneak Attack damage dealt by a splash weapon multiplied by Energy Vulnerability? Underground Chemist is a Rogue archetype which swaps some Rogue abilities with Alchemist ones. Their "Precise ...
8
votes
1answer
331 views

Can a basilisk turn another basilisk to stone?

Can a basilisk turn another basilisk to stone with its petrifying gaze? If yes: then I imagine that around any basilisk herd there should be many petrified basilisks. If no: then I'm thinking that ...
3
votes
1answer
122 views

Are Shadow Conjurations effectively invisible to True Seeing?

With the spell Shadow Conjuration you can essentially cast Summon Monster, however, the summoned creature is an Illusion (or at least from the Illusion school). How does True Seeing react to this? ...
4
votes
2answers
279 views

If you cast an illusion then cast Invisibility on it, what does True Seeing show?

I am unsure whether or not it is possible to cast invisibility on an illusion. The question is based on the idea that you could stack illusions and/or invisibility on themselves. To illustrate the ...
3
votes
1answer
86 views

Can an Antipaladin combine Touch of Corruption and a held touch spell?

In pathfinder, can an antipaladin deliver a held touch spell (e.g. inflict moderate wounds) and touch of corruption at the same time? I have quoted items that I feel are relevant. From the ...
5
votes
1answer
160 views

How many can I topple with my mighty missiles?

I have magic missile with caster level 3 and the toppling spells feat. Magic missile says: For every two caster levels beyond 1st, you gain an additional missile - two at 3rd level, three at 5th, ...
2
votes
1answer
80 views

What part of skill numbers in bestiary entries are actual skill ranks (above all in the case of animals that can be used as Companions and Familiars)?

This is a question about the sometimes very confusing wording (or maybe "numbering" ?) of bestiary entries. Preparing a Pathfinder campaign with friends, checking stats for animals that could ...
3
votes
1answer
110 views

Is a carried person “gear” for the purpose of Invisibility and Gaseous Form?

If I'm carrying a person and use Gaseous Form or Invisibility, is the person I'm carrying also transformed or made invisible? If no, what if the person is inside a big bag?
3
votes
1answer
72 views

Can an alchemist create extracts with metamagic feats?

Potions can be created with metamagic feats, so long as they don't exceed the potion spell level limit (3). Magic Items and Metamagic Spells: With the right item creation feat, you can store a ...
4
votes
2answers
126 views

Can a normal, unaltered animal gain battle experience and levels?

I and a group of friends are starting a Pathfinder campaign, and I plan to play a halfling dog rider just for the fun of it. There is one big problem : I don't plan to play any class with an animal ...
6
votes
2answers
188 views

What can a high level spellcaster with no spellcasting effectively do?

Inspired by Can Disjunction destroy artifacts in its AoE (maybe accidentally) or only when directly targeting them? One of the effects of Disjunction is that you can destroy an artifact, but with a ...
0
votes
2answers
54 views

Does Accelerated magic item crafting increase the daily cap?

Magic Creation rules The creator also needs a fairly quiet, comfortable, and well-lit place in which to work. Any place suitable for preparing spells is suitable for making items. Creating an item ...
7
votes
1answer
67 views

What is the total ATK bonus of my Dancing Weapon?

Playing a Bladebound Magus in a campaign and wondering if it's practical to use the Dancing weapon enchantment while I focus on spellcasting. According to the entry on the Dancing enchantment on the ...
16
votes
3answers
1k views

How Many Candles in a Barrel?

In a current Pathfinder game I'm running the PCs have decided to take multiple wagons full of mundane items to outposts/remote villages/etc., both as bribes and for business purposes. They are ...
9
votes
3answers
156 views

Can Disjunction destroy artifacts in its AoE (maybe accidentally) or only when directly targeting them?

My Sorcerer is only a few levels away from 9th level spellcasting and I'm considering taking Disjunction. But I don't quite understand this section on how it interacts with artifacts: You can also ...
4
votes
2answers
171 views

Large (10ft.) Creature Crossing 5ft. Gap

So, basically, the party is going to be in a sewer and there's going to be a large (10ft. square) creature on the other side of a 5 ft. sewage channel. The party probably won't be eager to cross the ...
4
votes
1answer
161 views

How many spells can a Cleric prepare?

To my understanding, in Pathfinder, I have all Cleric spells available to me but in order to use them I have to prepare them first. How many can I prepare? Does it depend on my spell slots or can I ...
1
vote
3answers
143 views

What is an appropriate RP value for this Flight modification?

I'm currently working on a bit of a custom pathfinder world built from the ground up. First step is the races and I really wanted to try and balance the three core races in terms of power. All in ...
3
votes
2answers
119 views

Is there anything like a life drain weapon enchantment?

I'm looking for a weapon enchantment that will increase my health based on the amount of damage that I do, using only the Pathfinder system. If there is nothing like that, what could accomplish the ...
6
votes
1answer
112 views

May I dual-wield unarmed strikes with Scarlet Throne?

According to the d20pfsrd, "All Scarlet Throne maneuvers and stances require that ... He must either have his off-hand empty, or be wielding a weapon two-handed to use this discipline." If I use a ...
1
vote
3answers
209 views

Is there a way for a fighter to see or locate invisible objects without the use of magic items?

How can a fighter still see invisible objects while attending a soiree wherein at the door magic items are confiscated and active spells can be dispelled? There's a quest in a special dimension ...
5
votes
2answers
158 views

Does the Sniper Archetype of the slayer get a talent at level 2?

The PFSRD does not mention it being replaced by the level 2 ability, but HeroForge does not give me the level 2 talent.
3
votes
1answer
84 views

Final Caster level of a crafted magical item with multiple abilities

I've been trying to fully understand how Magic Item Creation works, specifically an item with multiple abilities, but there's still one thing that I don't understand: How do you determine that final ...
2
votes
2answers
85 views

Does Polymorph Any Object grant a Con score to an Undead polymorphed into another Undead?

Polymorph Any Object gives an ability score to a stat when the target does not have an ability score: If the target of the spell does not have physical ability scores (Strength, Dexterity, or ...
3
votes
1answer
77 views

Threatend fields for a large person with a long spear

Situation: A human character with a long spear who uses the feat "Lunge" becomes enlarged (as per spell). Question: Which fields does he threaten? Are these the squares in 15', 20' and 25' ...
4
votes
1answer
171 views

Will becoming a vampire help me survive? [closed]

I'm playing in a campaign in which I have the opportunity to become a vampire, and perhaps limit some of the downsides of it. I am a level 7 Chaotic Good Alchemist that has been offered 3 castings of ...
4
votes
1answer
117 views

Can incendiary arrows be put out and re-ignited?

Can incendiary arrows be put out again after being ignited and later be re-ignited? Their description doesn't mention anything about it, so we're kinda at a loss.
3
votes
1answer
55 views

Does the natural armor on the Devilbound creature template stack with natural armor bonuses

I know that bonuses of the same type other than dodge do not stack. However, the natural armor increase in this template is not labeled as a bonus. Does that mean it would stack with something like ...
14
votes
1answer
299 views

Have either of the Icewind Dale video games been published as d20-compatible adventures?

My own searches did not yield any results on adaptations of the Icewind Dale video game series' story into pen & paper adventures. All I could find were adaptions for other video games like ...
3
votes
1answer
88 views

Does the Amulet of Mighty Fists Stack with Enchanted Gauntlets

The description of gauntlets state. This metal glove lets you deal lethal damage rather than nonlethal damage with unarmed strikes. A strike with a gauntlet is otherwise considered an unarmed ...
2
votes
1answer
40 views

How does the Warpriest's major Travel Blessing interact with Aspect of War?

I'm curious about how two different Warpriest class features interact with each other. The features in question are Aspect of War and the major Travel Blessing. To what extent do these two features ...
1
vote
1answer
83 views

Does a Brawler with Powerful Build wielding Large Gauntlets count as Large for Brawler unarmed attack damage table?

I have a player who wants to use gauntlets with his Brawler for enchanting purposes, and the race he chose grants him Powerful Build. By my understanding of the Brawler's Unarmed Strike ability text: ...
1
vote
2answers
109 views

Does an NPC provoke an AOO when he attacks one of two adjacent PCs?

I've read the table which lists the various actions that do and do not provoke an AOO and know that an attack doesnt. But I'm unsure of what happens in the following situation. If two PCs are ...