Pathfinder RPG, derived from Dungeons & Dragons v3.5, published in 2009.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

0
votes
1answer
71 views

Price Break Down & Limits on Amulet of Mighty Fist?

Alright so I somehow mad a goof up in my group playing pathfinder. I bought an Agile Amulet of Mighty Fist +1 for 4k. I had seen that price listing someplace but when shown the page for the item today ...
1
vote
1answer
288 views

Where is the table for determining how many feats a character has based on level in the Pathfinder Core Rulebook?

I've paged through my entire book, looked in the index, checked the sections on feats and ability scores, and I've not been able to find the table that breaks down when you get ability score ...
3
votes
2answers
284 views

When I level up as a prestige class, do I gain the bonus of both my core class and my prestige class?

If I am a prestige class, does leveling up give me skills from both my prestige class and my core class? i.e. If I am a rogue who wants to be a shadowdancer, does leveling up to level six give me ...
2
votes
1answer
185 views

Can ghost sound be used to bypass arcane spell failure for verbal components?

My level 6 magus has just been magically transformed, his mouth and tongue becoming weird. This causes a 15% arcane spell failure chance, and, when combined with the 10% from my armor, is a ...
0
votes
2answers
103 views

Being DM for a DND 5E club [closed]

I'm new to this website, so forgive me if this question has been asked a billion times, but I'm kind of a predicament here. I haven't played either DND or PF in a little less than 2 years, and I'm ...
2
votes
1answer
64 views

Pathfinder : about the Riding Dog's “Loyal” quality

This is a question about a missing detail in PF rules. According to the Dog Breeds rules, Riding Dogs have a special quality called "Loyal" as Animal Companions at 4th level advancement. The problem ...
2
votes
1answer
92 views

Can you take a Squire at 3rd level?

According to the prerequisites of the Squire Feat you can take the feat at level 3, but you cannot have a squire more than 3 levels lower than you. The Leadership Feat does not provide rules for ...
2
votes
4answers
159 views

Under what circumstances do ranged attackers provide flanking?

Suppose my character is a monk (and thus can make unarmed strikes with her feet). Suppose that for some reason she's wielding a longbow. Does she threaten the area around her? Can she provide a ...
4
votes
2answers
224 views

Paladin's Detect Evil and worn equipment with Evil aura

If a Paladin uses Detect Evil on a single target by a move action, does the eventual aura of their equipment count? Let's say for instance, if the target is Chaotic Neutral and not intending to harm ...
0
votes
1answer
71 views

Do individual deities restrict inquisitions?

When building an Inquisitor and taking an Inquisition instead of a Domain, are there any restrictions imposed by deities?
4
votes
1answer
228 views

Can creatures use the Withdraw action when Frightened? What about Panicked?

Frightened from the Pathfinder Core: A frightened creature flees from the source of its fear as best it can. If unable to flee, it may fight. A frightened creature takes a -2 penalty on all ...
5
votes
2answers
123 views

Can the Pathfinder Magus add the Flaming/Frost/Shock enchantments pre-activated?

The rules state that, while those abilities do all stack and all of them can be activated simultaneously, they do require a standard action to activate. I can't, however, find anything saying that the ...
5
votes
3answers
130 views

Does the Bow of Ashes' flaming ability trigger its special ability?

The Bow of Ashes is counted as a flaming composite longbow. According to the linked rules regarding flaming, the bow can sheathe itself in flames. The Bow of Ashes has a special ability as follows: ...
7
votes
2answers
613 views

Easiest way to transition from Pathfinder to Dungeons and Dragons

I've been playing Pathfinder off and on for a couple years now, and am fairly familiar with the rules. I also heard from my brother that Pathfinder came into being as a better version of Dungeons and ...
6
votes
1answer
136 views

Which of the Arcanist's features lets it swap out its prepared spells?

I've heard that the Arcanist, Pathfinder's Wizard/Sorcerer Hybrid, has the batspit insane capacity to swap out its prepared spells during the day, effectively making it a Wizard minus their biggest ...
14
votes
4answers
410 views

How would a Flesh to Stone'd Hydra with Shape Stone cast on it regrow limbs once Stone to Flesh is cast on it?

So, I'm trying to make a fast food/business wizard (McCaster's Burgers). The idea being that I capture a Hydra and preserve it with flesh to stone. Whenever I need more meat for the Big Cast Burger, I ...
2
votes
1answer
93 views

Conditions to unlock Alchemist Discoveries when playing another class

Again, another question about Pathfinder. This time it's about classes that can get Alchemist's Discoveries without actual Alchemist levels. The Rogue is a good example with his Bomber Rogue Talent ...
3
votes
2answers
178 views

How to modify a bulette to challenge a level 10 party?

In my campaign, the PCs have been tasked with removing a group of bulettes from a mining claim. I plan on using standard bulettes as a lead-up to a 'boss fight' where I would like a larger (perhaps cr ...
6
votes
2answers
153 views

Can I combine Path of War maneuvers with Power Attack?

Can I combine a strike with combat expertise and/or power attack? Strike: A strike is a maneuver that allows a special attack. A martial disciple who slays a wyvern in a single blow is using a ...
1
vote
1answer
170 views

What are the limits of the Feat Spell Perfection?

The reason I asked is because I think I found a bit of a loophole when using the feat that I'd like a bit of clarification on. Spell perfection states the following: Pick one spell which you have ...
55
votes
6answers
10k views

How are Fighters Linear but Wizards Quadratic?

The phrase "Linear Fighters, Quadratic Wizards" gets bandied about a lot, but I've found I don't have a good way to explain it to newer players. The tier system post has some examples of how wizards ...
4
votes
2answers
238 views

How to find an NPC spellcaster to cast Raise Dead on a person?

TL:DR Where can I find a spellcaster to cast Raise Dead? Where's the nearest large city to Sandpoint in Golarion? Any other avenues to bring someone back from the dead? My group is running through ...
2
votes
2answers
408 views

Do you retain the benefits of Vampirism after it has been lifted?

You somehow managed to get cured of vampirism (for example). You maybe really happy to not have to consume blood ever again, but do you keep what you have gained from it: I) Bonus to your ...
2
votes
2answers
313 views

Is it possible to be cured of vampirism?

Let's say that Bob, after a really complicated plot, tricked a vampire lord, but get changed into a vampire during the process. Is it possible to turn back into his previous living self? I can ...
3
votes
1answer
109 views

Is third party content automatically published under the OGL?

When publishing third party content for Pathfinder, is the published content automatically considered to be under the OGL? I was browsing http://www.d20pfsrd.com and see tons of third party content. ...
1
vote
1answer
83 views

Do characters lose feats if they lose the pre-reqs

Specifically the feat Versatile Channeller Versatile Channeler Prerequisites: Channel energy class feature, necromancer or neutrally aligned cleric (see below)... .... [editted ...
5
votes
2answers
193 views

How to handle mystery adventures when there are copious divination spells? [closed]

I'm gming a Pathfinder game. It's part hack-and-slash and part detective work/mystery solving. The premise is that there is a young necromancer raising the dead to right a wrong. Now, the source book ...
4
votes
2answers
210 views

Multiple Attacks with a Two-Handed Weapon and Off-Hand Spells [closed]

If I have a high-enough BAB to earn two attacks per round as a full-round action, can I attack with a two-handed weapon (1st attack), remove one hand from the weapon (free action) and, say, make a ...
3
votes
1answer
120 views

Underground Chemist Rogue Archetype: Is Sneak Attack damage amplified by Energy Vulnerability?

Is the Sneak Attack damage dealt by a splash weapon multiplied by Energy Vulnerability? Underground Chemist is a Rogue archetype which swaps some Rogue abilities with Alchemist ones. Their "Precise ...
8
votes
1answer
369 views

Can a basilisk turn another basilisk to stone?

Can a basilisk turn another basilisk to stone with its petrifying gaze? If yes: then I imagine that around any basilisk herd there should be many petrified basilisks. If no: then I'm thinking that ...
3
votes
1answer
139 views

Are Shadow Conjurations effectively invisible to True Seeing?

With the spell Shadow Conjuration you can essentially cast Summon Monster, however, the summoned creature is an Illusion (or at least from the Illusion school). How does True Seeing react to this? ...
4
votes
2answers
313 views

If you cast an illusion then cast Invisibility on it, what does True Seeing show?

I am unsure whether or not it is possible to cast invisibility on an illusion. The question is based on the idea that you could stack illusions and/or invisibility on themselves. To illustrate the ...
4
votes
1answer
150 views

Can an Antipaladin combine Touch of Corruption and a held touch spell?

In pathfinder, can an antipaladin deliver a held touch spell (e.g. inflict moderate wounds) and touch of corruption at the same time? I have quoted items that I feel are relevant. From the ...
10
votes
4answers
280 views

How many can I topple with my mighty missiles?

I have magic missile with caster level 3 and the toppling spells feat. Magic missile says: For every two caster levels beyond 1st, you gain an additional missile - two at 3rd level, three at 5th, ...
2
votes
1answer
84 views

What part of skill numbers in bestiary entries are actual skill ranks (above all in the case of animals that can be used as Companions and Familiars)?

This is a question about the sometimes very confusing wording (or maybe "numbering" ?) of bestiary entries. Preparing a Pathfinder campaign with friends, checking stats for animals that could ...
3
votes
1answer
130 views

Is a carried person “gear” for the purpose of Invisibility and Gaseous Form?

If I'm carrying a person and use Gaseous Form or Invisibility, is the person I'm carrying also transformed or made invisible? If no, what if the person is inside a big bag?
3
votes
1answer
146 views

Can an alchemist create extracts with metamagic feats?

Potions can be created with metamagic feats, so long as they don't exceed the potion spell level limit (3). Magic Items and Metamagic Spells: With the right item creation feat, you can store a ...
4
votes
2answers
157 views

Can a normal, unaltered animal gain battle experience and levels?

I and a group of friends are starting a Pathfinder campaign, and I plan to play a halfling dog rider just for the fun of it. There is one big problem : I don't plan to play any class with an animal ...
6
votes
2answers
220 views

What can a high level spellcaster with no spellcasting effectively do?

Inspired by Can Disjunction destroy artifacts in its AoE (maybe accidentally) or only when directly targeting them? One of the effects of Disjunction is that you can destroy an artifact, but with a ...
0
votes
2answers
98 views

Does Accelerated magic item crafting increase the daily cap?

Magic Creation rules The creator also needs a fairly quiet, comfortable, and well-lit place in which to work. Any place suitable for preparing spells is suitable for making items. Creating an item ...
7
votes
1answer
111 views

What is the total ATK bonus of my Dancing Weapon?

Playing a Bladebound Magus in a campaign and wondering if it's practical to use the Dancing weapon enchantment while I focus on spellcasting. According to the entry on the Dancing enchantment on the ...
16
votes
3answers
1k views

How Many Candles in a Barrel?

In a current Pathfinder game I'm running the PCs have decided to take multiple wagons full of mundane items to outposts/remote villages/etc., both as bribes and for business purposes. They are ...
9
votes
3answers
183 views

Can Disjunction destroy artifacts in its AoE (maybe accidentally) or only when directly targeting them?

My Sorcerer is only a few levels away from 9th level spellcasting and I'm considering taking Disjunction. But I don't quite understand this section on how it interacts with artifacts: You can also ...
4
votes
2answers
177 views

Large (10ft.) Creature Crossing 5ft. Gap

So, basically, the party is going to be in a sewer and there's going to be a large (10ft. square) creature on the other side of a 5 ft. sewage channel. The party probably won't be eager to cross the ...
4
votes
1answer
200 views

How many spells can a Cleric prepare?

To my understanding, in Pathfinder, I have all Cleric spells available to me but in order to use them I have to prepare them first. How many can I prepare? Does it depend on my spell slots or can I ...
1
vote
3answers
149 views

What is an appropriate RP value for this Flight modification?

I'm currently working on a bit of a custom pathfinder world built from the ground up. First step is the races and I really wanted to try and balance the three core races in terms of power. All in ...
3
votes
2answers
174 views

Is there anything like a life drain weapon enchantment?

I'm looking for a weapon enchantment that will increase my health based on the amount of damage that I do, using only the Pathfinder system. If there is nothing like that, what could accomplish the ...
6
votes
1answer
130 views

May I dual-wield unarmed strikes with Scarlet Throne?

According to the d20pfsrd, "All Scarlet Throne maneuvers and stances require that ... He must either have his off-hand empty, or be wielding a weapon two-handed to use this discipline." If I use a ...
1
vote
2answers
270 views

Is there a way for a fighter to see or locate invisible objects without the use of magic items?

How can a fighter still see invisible objects while attending a soiree wherein at the door magic items are confiscated and active spells can be dispelled? There's a quest in a special dimension ...
5
votes
2answers
171 views

Does the Sniper Archetype of the slayer get a talent at level 2?

The PFSRD does not mention it being replaced by the level 2 ability, but HeroForge does not give me the level 2 talent.