Pathfinder RPG, derived from Dungeons & Dragons v3.5, published in 2009.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

1
vote
1answer
87 views

Do characters lose feats if they lose the pre-reqs

Specifically the feat Versatile Channeller Versatile Channeler Prerequisites: Channel energy class feature, necromancer or neutrally aligned cleric (see below)... .... [editted ...
5
votes
2answers
198 views

How to handle mystery adventures when there are copious divination spells? [closed]

I'm gming a Pathfinder game. It's part hack-and-slash and part detective work/mystery solving. The premise is that there is a young necromancer raising the dead to right a wrong. Now, the source book ...
4
votes
2answers
233 views

Multiple Attacks with a Two-Handed Weapon and Off-Hand Spells [closed]

If I have a high-enough BAB to earn two attacks per round as a full-round action, can I attack with a two-handed weapon (1st attack), remove one hand from the weapon (free action) and, say, make a ...
3
votes
1answer
136 views

Underground Chemist Rogue Archetype: Is Sneak Attack damage amplified by Energy Vulnerability?

Is the Sneak Attack damage dealt by a splash weapon multiplied by Energy Vulnerability? Underground Chemist is a Rogue archetype which swaps some Rogue abilities with Alchemist ones. Their "Precise ...
8
votes
1answer
399 views

Can a basilisk turn another basilisk to stone?

Can a basilisk turn another basilisk to stone with its petrifying gaze? If yes: then I imagine that around any basilisk herd there should be many petrified basilisks. If no: then I'm thinking that ...
3
votes
1answer
150 views

Are Shadow Conjurations effectively invisible to True Seeing?

With the spell Shadow Conjuration you can essentially cast Summon Monster, however, the summoned creature is an Illusion (or at least from the Illusion school). How does True Seeing react to this? ...
4
votes
2answers
331 views

If you cast an illusion then cast Invisibility on it, what does True Seeing show?

I am unsure whether or not it is possible to cast invisibility on an illusion. The question is based on the idea that you could stack illusions and/or invisibility on themselves. To illustrate the ...
4
votes
1answer
194 views

Can an Antipaladin combine Touch of Corruption and a held touch spell?

In pathfinder, can an antipaladin deliver a held touch spell (e.g. inflict moderate wounds) and touch of corruption at the same time? I have quoted items that I feel are relevant. From the Player'...
10
votes
4answers
323 views

How many can I topple with my mighty missiles?

I have magic missile with caster level 3 and the toppling spells feat. Magic missile says: For every two caster levels beyond 1st, you gain an additional missile - two at 3rd level, three at 5th, ...
2
votes
1answer
90 views

What part of skill numbers in bestiary entries are actual skill ranks (above all in the case of animals that can be used as Companions and Familiars)?

This is a question about the sometimes very confusing wording (or maybe "numbering" ?) of bestiary entries. Preparing a Pathfinder campaign with friends, checking stats for animals that could ...
3
votes
1answer
144 views

Is a carried person “gear” for the purpose of Invisibility and Gaseous Form?

If I'm carrying a person and use Gaseous Form or Invisibility, is the person I'm carrying also transformed or made invisible? If no, what if the person is inside a big bag?
3
votes
1answer
189 views

Can an alchemist create extracts with metamagic feats?

Potions can be created with metamagic feats, so long as they don't exceed the potion spell level limit (3). Magic Items and Metamagic Spells: With the right item creation feat, you can store a ...
4
votes
2answers
163 views

Can a normal, unaltered animal gain battle experience and levels?

I and a group of friends are starting a Pathfinder campaign, and I plan to play a halfling dog rider just for the fun of it. There is one big problem : I don't plan to play any class with an animal ...
6
votes
2answers
233 views

What can a high level spellcaster with no spellcasting effectively do?

Inspired by Can Disjunction destroy artifacts in its AoE (maybe accidentally) or only when directly targeting them? One of the effects of Disjunction is that you can destroy an artifact, but with a ...
0
votes
2answers
130 views

Does Accelerated magic item crafting increase the daily cap?

Magic Creation rules The creator also needs a fairly quiet, comfortable, and well-lit place in which to work. Any place suitable for preparing spells is suitable for making items. Creating an item ...
7
votes
1answer
134 views

What is the total ATK bonus of my Dancing Weapon?

Playing a Bladebound Magus in a campaign and wondering if it's practical to use the Dancing weapon enchantment while I focus on spellcasting. According to the entry on the Dancing enchantment on the ...
16
votes
3answers
1k views

How Many Candles in a Barrel?

In a current Pathfinder game I'm running the PCs have decided to take multiple wagons full of mundane items to outposts/remote villages/etc., both as bribes and for business purposes. They are ...
9
votes
3answers
190 views

Can Disjunction destroy artifacts in its AoE (maybe accidentally) or only when directly targeting them?

My Sorcerer is only a few levels away from 9th level spellcasting and I'm considering taking Disjunction. But I don't quite understand this section on how it interacts with artifacts: You can also ...
4
votes
2answers
188 views

Large (10ft.) Creature Crossing 5ft. Gap

So, basically, the party is going to be in a sewer and there's going to be a large (10ft. square) creature on the other side of a 5 ft. sewage channel. The party probably won't be eager to cross the ...
4
votes
1answer
236 views

How many spells can a Cleric prepare?

To my understanding, in Pathfinder, I have all Cleric spells available to me but in order to use them I have to prepare them first. How many can I prepare? Does it depend on my spell slots or can I ...
1
vote
3answers
154 views

What is an appropriate RP value for this Flight modification?

I'm currently working on a bit of a custom pathfinder world built from the ground up. First step is the races and I really wanted to try and balance the three core races in terms of power. All in ...
3
votes
2answers
222 views

Is there anything like a life drain weapon enchantment?

I'm looking for a weapon enchantment that will increase my health based on the amount of damage that I do, using only the Pathfinder system. If there is nothing like that, what could accomplish the ...
6
votes
1answer
137 views

May I dual-wield unarmed strikes with Scarlet Throne?

According to the d20pfsrd, "All Scarlet Throne maneuvers and stances require that ... He must either have his off-hand empty, or be wielding a weapon two-handed to use this discipline." If I use a ...
1
vote
2answers
343 views

Is there a way for a fighter to see or locate invisible objects without the use of magic items?

How can a fighter still see invisible objects while attending a soiree wherein at the door magic items are confiscated and active spells can be dispelled? There's a quest in a special dimension ...
5
votes
2answers
205 views

Does the Sniper Archetype of the slayer get a talent at level 2?

The PFSRD does not mention it being replaced by the level 2 ability, but HeroForge does not give me the level 2 talent.
3
votes
1answer
144 views

Final Caster level of a crafted magical item with multiple abilities

I've been trying to fully understand how Magic Item Creation works, specifically an item with multiple abilities, but there's still one thing that I don't understand: How do you determine that final ...
2
votes
2answers
104 views

Does Polymorph Any Object grant a Con score to an Undead polymorphed into another Undead?

Polymorph Any Object gives an ability score to a stat when the target does not have an ability score: If the target of the spell does not have physical ability scores (Strength, Dexterity, or ...
3
votes
1answer
113 views

Threatend fields for a large person with a long spear

Situation: A human character with a long spear who uses the feat "Lunge" becomes enlarged (as per spell). Question: Which fields does he threaten? Are these the squares in 15', 20' and 25' distance?...
4
votes
1answer
222 views

Will becoming a vampire help me survive? [closed]

I'm playing in a campaign in which I have the opportunity to become a vampire, and perhaps limit some of the downsides of it. I am a level 7 Chaotic Good Alchemist that has been offered 3 castings of ...
4
votes
1answer
140 views

Can incendiary arrows be put out and re-ignited?

Can incendiary arrows be put out again after being ignited and later be re-ignited? Their description doesn't mention anything about it, so we're kinda at a loss.
3
votes
1answer
77 views

Does the natural armor on the Devilbound creature template stack with natural armor bonuses

I know that bonuses of the same type other than dodge do not stack. However, the natural armor increase in this template is not labeled as a bonus. Does that mean it would stack with something like ...
14
votes
1answer
327 views

Have either of the Icewind Dale video games been published as d20-compatible adventures?

My own searches did not yield any results on adaptations of the Icewind Dale video game series' story into pen & paper adventures. All I could find were adaptions for other video games like ...
3
votes
1answer
169 views

Does the Amulet of Mighty Fists Stack with Enchanted Gauntlets

The description of gauntlets state. This metal glove lets you deal lethal damage rather than nonlethal damage with unarmed strikes. A strike with a gauntlet is otherwise considered an unarmed ...
2
votes
1answer
73 views

How does the Warpriest's major Travel Blessing interact with Aspect of War?

I'm curious about how two different Warpriest class features interact with each other. The features in question are Aspect of War and the major Travel Blessing. To what extent do these two features ...
1
vote
1answer
131 views

Does a Brawler with Powerful Build wielding Large Gauntlets count as Large for Brawler unarmed attack damage table?

I have a player who wants to use gauntlets with his Brawler for enchanting purposes, and the race he chose grants him Powerful Build. By my understanding of the Brawler's Unarmed Strike ability text: ...
1
vote
2answers
115 views

Does an NPC provoke an AOO when he attacks one of two adjacent PCs?

I've read the table which lists the various actions that do and do not provoke an AOO and know that an attack doesnt. But I'm unsure of what happens in the following situation. If two PCs are ...
1
vote
0answers
47 views

converting a Worm the Walks from 3.5/pathfinder to 2ED [duplicate]

I am writing a mod for 2ED and really wanted to include something I found in both the 3.0/3.6 Epic Level Handbook and a Pathfinder Bestiary. I wanted to include a Worm that Walks as the main boss, ...
4
votes
3answers
107 views

Glyph of Warding with touch effects

I was DMing a game and eventually set up a scenario where the players had to choose between leaving their wagon, or bringing it to a dangerous place where it could be destroyed. The enchanter thought ...
9
votes
6answers
379 views

How can I preserve medieval transportation tropes for the PCs in a world with travel magic?

The problem: Overland travel spells and magic items disrupt the value of several fantasy elements that I don't want to sacrifice in a campaign, such as mounts (and the classes that make use of them), ...
0
votes
1answer
295 views

What's the largest a 1st level character can get? [closed]

In the words of Tom Hanks: "I wanna be... big." A) What is the largest size a first level character can achieve on his own? Assume potions and scrolls are allowed, but that his buddy Elminster or ...
9
votes
1answer
207 views

What order are individual attacks taken in during a full attack action, and does it differ between editions?

What rules apply to the order in which individual attacks are taken during a full attack action in D&D 3.0, 3.5, and Pathfinder? I am specifically interested in RAW requirements on the order in ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

How does two-weapon fighting work?

I'm quite confused about attacking with two weapons in both hands and wondering what is required to be able to do to (in Pathfinder). 1. Base Attack Bonus Looking at the base attack bonus tables for ...
5
votes
1answer
136 views

How can an earth elemental get back to the Plane of Earth

I'm currently preparing an adventure in which the players encounter an earth elemental in a mine and want it to leave the mine. I expect them to try to find a peaceful solution. From @Erik in another ...
5
votes
1answer
130 views

How do earth elementals get to “our” plane?

I'm currently preparing an adventure in which the players encounter an earth elemental. I expect them to want to speak to it and learn about it. Afaik, earth elementals come from the Plane of Earth. ...
4
votes
1answer
390 views

Pathfinder plant domain: Can you really speak with plants?

One of my players chose a druid with the domain of plants. The description says: You find solace in the green, can grow defensive thorns, and can communicate with plants. Is this "can ...
3
votes
3answers
380 views

Weapon for a Horse

I play a Cavalier, and I am always on horse back. When I fight, my horse's bite attack does a significant amount of damages. Sometimes more than myself. But I just can't picture a Horse fighting ...
3
votes
1answer
139 views

Can I sneak attack after using Hide in Plain Sight?

I'm currently playing a TWF Rogue, and am looking to take a level in Shadowdancer for the HiPS ability. My line of thinking is I could sneak attack an enemy and use HiPS to effectively disappear ...
2
votes
2answers
109 views

Talking to Earth Elemental in Beginner Box GM Kit possible? What would the Earth Elemental do/want?

Background I recently started DMing a group of players for Pathfinder. They are completely new to the game (and roleplaying in general) and I'm rather new to Pathfinder and completely new to DMing. ...
18
votes
2answers
432 views

Characters Created via dice rolls: Do I have a problem with vastly differing characters?

Background I recently started DMing a group of players for Pathfinder. They are completely new to the game (and roleplaying in general) and I'm rather new to Pathfinder and completely new to DMing. ...
5
votes
1answer
283 views

Can a Magus surpass the normal +10 limit to magic weapons

The base ability of the Magus Arcane pool class feature is. At 1st level, a magus can expend 1 point from his arcane pool as a swift action to grant any weapon he is holding a +1 enhancement bonus ...