To change from one form to another form. Can be done both voluntarily and involuntary.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

7
votes
1answer
233 views

What happens to armor when you transform into a werebear?

I have a medium sized PC who is wearing plate armor. If he turns into a werebear, what happens to the armor? The MM states that any equipment it is carrying isn't transformed. Since the medium sized ...
1
vote
1answer
161 views

What can I polymorph into, whose natural attacks count as magic for DR?

Are there any monsters you can polymorph into that allow you to attack as if you had a magical weapon for the purposes of Damage Reduction? EDIT: I think an example would be easier to understand: ...
2
votes
2answers
259 views

What happens if you stop meeting the requirements for a spell?

Many spells specify a condition (animal, living creature, undead, etc.) that their targets must fulfill. What happens if such a spell is cast on a target that meets the condition(s), but changes in ...
0
votes
1answer
162 views

How do polymorph-like spells interact with spellcasting capability? [closed]

For this question I am going to define these spells as, namely, Polymorph, True Polymorph & Shapechange. You must also, for the sake of this question, disregard any creature type limitations and ...
5
votes
2answers
226 views

Does a caster under the effect of a True Polymorph spell retain their class levels?

The true Polymorph spell specifies that: The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of its new form ... The creature is limited in the actions it ...
3
votes
1answer
645 views

When transforming from a race using Polymorph any Object, what changes?

In the campaign I'm in, the narrative of my character's backstory involves being raised by a race that is not her own, and she is so enamored with the race as a whole that she actively pursues the ...
12
votes
4answers
893 views

Can a polymorphed creature use class features that don't require speech or hand gestures?

Polymorph states (in part): The target’s game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. It retains its alignment and personality. ...
9
votes
1answer
209 views

Does Animal Shapes continually refresh a creature's Hit Points?

Looking at the Animal Shapes spell (PHB pg.212) it says: On subsequent turns, you can use your action to transform affected creatures into new forms. Followed by the usual transformation rules: ...
11
votes
3answers
931 views

What is the meaning of 'permanent' in description of True Polymorph?

Following on from this question: Can I True Polymorph a goblin into adamantine (and then forge him into a sword?) Casting True Polymorph on an unwilling creature (relevant parts included only): ...
4
votes
1answer
221 views

Does whether a Wizard can maintain the spell Polymorph upon themselves depend on the form they change into?

The level 4 spell Polymorph requires concentration to maintain. The subject retains their personality and alignment, but they have the mental statistics of the new form, which must be a beast and ...
5
votes
2answers
266 views

Magically becoming multi-headed creatures

If someone Polymorphs into a Hydra, what happens when a head is cut off? Hydra heads have complicated rules about hitpoints and regrown heads and stuff. What if instead of a wizard casting polymorph ...
7
votes
1answer
361 views

Does true polymorph form a creature with equipment?

When a spellcaster transforms an object or creature into a creature using the True Polymorph spell, does that creature form with equipment? E.g., if a spellcaster used True Polymorph to transform a ...
8
votes
1answer
330 views

Can you shapechange into an object instead of a creature?

I'm fairly new to Pathfinder and I was wondering if a character could shapechange into something like a door, table, or wall? If not shapechange would polymorph do it? I don't have a particular ...
4
votes
4answers
2k views

Preventing gear loss while using Change Shape?

Change Shape states the following: Any gear worn or carried by the creature that can’t be worn or carried in its new form instead falls to the ground in its space. If the creature changes size, ...
5
votes
1answer
325 views

How does changing a PC's creature type but not race affect the character sheet?

I'm using the deck of many things in my campaign, it's a way to let the chaotic characters create chaos and to let the lawful characters fight against drawing cards. Anyway, I'm trying to be prepared ...
34
votes
6answers
10k views

How is Polymorph “broken”?

I have read numerous posts from various websites saying that the wizard/sorceror spell "polymorph" breaks game balance. Even Wizards of the Coast somewhat admits that. Sticking to just the core ...
0
votes
4answers
686 views

How to build a workable master transmogrifist 10

Ok, big edit to the question as people have suggested. I would like to use the master transmogrifist prestige class all the way to L10, as I find it interesting to use two of its key abilities. ...
2
votes
2answers
267 views

What abilities remain when using Draconic Exemplar's shapechange ability?

Draconic Exemplar is a Racial Paragon Class for the dragonlike Taninim Race by Rite. One of the Draconic Gifts is Humanoid Form (Su): The draconic exemplar can assume a specific humanoid form of ...
4
votes
1answer
721 views

Can one Wild Shape into a Swarm?

My gut feeling is that wildshaping into a swarm is not RAI, but I've had such feelings at times and been wrong, so it feels worth asking. When it comes to RAW, so far I cannot find anything that says ...
5
votes
5answers
557 views

A way to water-proof equipment on short notice

So, our 3.5 party is about to make a quick dive to the next story location, and just before that, our Bard remembers that he don't want to get his lute wet since it would damage the instrument. Then, ...
17
votes
5answers
1k views

Can you be Polymorphed and then be made into a Familiar?

If a character is converted to a snake using baleful polymorph, can they then be made a Familiar or a Druid's Animal Companion (or other similar conditions). And what happens once they are changed ...
21
votes
6answers
645 views

Should PCs be limited to choosing forms into which to polymorph (or wild shape, etc.) that the PCs have previously encountered?

In trying to set reasonable limits on a PC's usage of the polymorph chain of spells. Is it plausible to require that the PC have some form of interaction with the target creature? Or can a PC ...
12
votes
3answers
640 views

How worldly is a polymorphic elf?

In the 3.5e campaign I'm running, a very real concern has arisen that the player characters might actually fail to save the world from the horrific fate that the villian has planned for it. If this ...
8
votes
3answers
591 views

Can a polymorphed magic user still cast spells if the new form has limbs, mouth, and fingers?

The Wizard power Foe to Frog (Heroes of the Fey Wild) allows the wizard to change the target into a tiny beast. My question is: can the polymorphed target retain its spell casting ability if it has ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

D&D 3.5: Polymorphed Rust Monster vs. Iron Golem

GMs hate me because of my sheer resourcefulness. This situation presented itself during a 3.0 game, and I'm wondering how it would play out in a 3.5 game. The party was attacked by an iron golem. I ...