To change from one form to another form. Can be done both voluntarily and involuntary.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

21
votes
3answers
600 views

How easy is it to make the distinction between a druid in beast form and a normal animal?

Short Version: If a druid knows what animals are local to an area, and changes into something that wouldn't cause immediate suspicion I.E. changing into a polar bear in the middle of the desert, ...
33
votes
6answers
7k views

How is Polymorph “broken”?

I have read numerous posts from various websites saying that the wizard/sorceror spell "polymorph" breaks game balance. Even Wizards of the Coast somewhat admits that. Sticking to just the core ...
0
votes
4answers
245 views

How to build a workable master transmogrifist 10

Ok, big edit to the question as people have suggested. I would like to use the master transmogrifist prestige class all the way to L10, as I find it interesting to use two of its key abilities. ...
2
votes
2answers
176 views

What abilities remain when using Draconic Exemplar's shapechange ability?

Draconic Exemplar is a Racial Paragon Class for the dragonlike Taninim Race by Rite. One of the Draconic Gifts is Humanoid Form (Su): The draconic exemplar can assume a specific humanoid form of ...
3
votes
1answer
189 views

When transforming from a race using Polymorph any Object, what changes?

In the campaign I'm in, the narrative of my character's backstory involves being raised by a race that is not her own, and she is so enamored with the race as a whole that she actively pursues the ...
4
votes
1answer
499 views

Can one Wild Shape into a Swarm?

My gut feeling is that wildshaping into a swarm is not RAI, but I've had such feelings at times and been wrong, so it feels worth asking. When it comes to RAW, so far I cannot find anything that says ...
3
votes
3answers
828 views

Preventing gear loss while using Change Shape?

Change Shape states the following: Any gear worn or carried by the creature that can’t be worn or carried in its new form instead falls to the ground in its space. If the creature changes size, ...
5
votes
1answer
177 views

Magically becoming multi-headed creatures

If someone Polymorphs into a Hydra, what happens when a head is cut off? Hydra heads have complicated rules about hitpoints and regrown heads and stuff. What if instead of a wizard casting polymorph ...
5
votes
5answers
447 views

A way to water-proof equipment on short notice

So, our 3.5 party is about to make a quick dive to the next story location, and just before that, our Bard remembers that he don't want to get his lute wet since it would damage the instrument. Then, ...
6
votes
1answer
208 views

Can you shapechange into an object instead of a creature?

I'm fairly new to Pathfinder and I was wondering if a character could shapechange into something like a door, table, or wall? If not shapechange would polymorph do it? I don't have a particular ...
17
votes
5answers
1k views

Can you be Polymorphed and then be made into a Familiar?

If a character is converted to a snake using baleful polymorph, can they then be made a Familiar or a Druid's Animal Companion (or other similar conditions). And what happens once they are changed ...
21
votes
6answers
526 views

Should PCs be limited to choosing forms into which to polymorph (or wild shape, etc.) that the PCs have previously encountered?

In trying to set reasonable limits on a PC's usage of the polymorph chain of spells. Is it plausible to require that the PC have some form of interaction with the target creature? Or can a PC ...
11
votes
3answers
561 views

How worldly is a polymorphic elf?

In the 3.5e campaign I'm running, a very real concern has arisen that the player characters might actually fail to save the world from the horrific fate that the villian has planned for it. If this ...
8
votes
3answers
521 views

Can a polymorphed magic user still cast spells if the new form has limbs, mouth, and fingers?

The Wizard power Foe to Frog (Heroes of the Fey Wild) allows the wizard to change the target into a tiny beast. My question is: can the polymorphed target retain its spell casting ability if it has ...
12
votes
2answers
1k views

D&D 3.5: Polymorphed Rust Monster vs. Iron Golem

GMs hate me because of my sheer resourcefulness. This situation presented itself during a 3.0 game, and I'm wondering how it would play out in a 3.5 game. The party was attacked by an iron golem. I ...