To change from one form to another form. Can be done both voluntarily and involuntary.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

34
votes
6answers
13k views

How is Polymorph “broken”?

I have read numerous posts from various websites saying that the wizard/sorceror spell "polymorph" breaks game balance. Even Wizards of the Coast somewhat admits that. Sticking to just the core ...
22
votes
6answers
783 views

Should PCs be limited to choosing forms into which to polymorph (or wild shape, etc.) that the PCs have previously encountered?

In trying to set reasonable limits on a PC's usage of the polymorph chain of spells. Is it plausible to require that the PC have some form of interaction with the target creature? Or can a PC ...
18
votes
2answers
3k views

Removing an unreasonable number of curses

So, in my last session, my trusty Dwarf Fighter became cursed. He is currently afflicted with one hundred distinct polymorph curses. For both my sake and the DM's, how would he go about getting ...
18
votes
5answers
2k views

Can you be Polymorphed and then be made into a Familiar?

If a character is converted to a snake using baleful polymorph, can they then be made a Familiar or a Druid's Animal Companion (or other similar conditions). And what happens once they are changed ...
17
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you permanently True Polymorph into yourself?

Can a character True Polymorph into itself (possibly after transforming into some other form first)? Possibly to prevent aging, cure wounds, or alter their original body in some way? Or as a means of ...
16
votes
4answers
528 views

How to polymorph one object into another, specifically a pumpkin into a carriage?

So, I wish to polymorph one object into another. But neither Polymorph nor True Polymorph say anything about casting it on an object and transforming it into another object, so how could it be ...
15
votes
5answers
3k views

Can you cast polymorph on a dead thing?

Can you polymorph a dead creature? If so, would the wounds sustained by the target's original form appear on the polymorphed form? A possible scenario would be you're hunting a stag on the king's ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

What is the meaning of 'permanent' in description of True Polymorph?

Following on from this question: Can I True Polymorph a goblin into adamantine (and then forge him into a sword?) Casting True Polymorph on an unwilling creature (relevant parts included only): ...
15
votes
2answers
1k views

Does a True Polymorphed player character continue to gain experience?

Suppose a 5th-level human wizard (let's call her Morgan) is subject to true polymorph, and the spell becomes permanent. While polymorphed, Morgan remains with the party and contributes to adventures. ...
15
votes
3answers
1k views

What happens when a Polymorphed creature is reduced to 0 HP by Disintegrate?

Disintegrate and Polymorph both have effects that happen when the subject is reduced to 0 hit points. Disintegrate says: If this damage reduces the target to 0 hit points, it is disintegrated. ...
15
votes
3answers
849 views

How worldly is a polymorphic elf?

In the 3.5e campaign I'm running, a very real concern has arisen that the player characters might actually fail to save the world from the horrific fate that the villian has planned for it. If this ...
14
votes
5answers
3k views

Can a polymorphed creature use class features that don't require speech or hand gestures?

Polymorph states (in part): The target’s game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. It retains its alignment and personality. ...
13
votes
2answers
744 views

Does whether a Wizard can maintain the spell Polymorph upon themselves depend on the form they change into?

The level 4 spell Polymorph requires concentration to maintain. The subject retains their personality and alignment, but they have the mental statistics of the new form, which must be a beast and ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

D&D 3.5: Polymorphed Rust Monster vs. Iron Golem

GMs hate me because of my sheer resourcefulness. This situation presented itself during a 3.0 game, and I'm wondering how it would play out in a 3.5 game. The party was attacked by an iron golem. I ...
10
votes
2answers
572 views

Can True Polymorph be used repeatedly to never age?

Let's say we have a level 20 human wizard named Dumbledore. Dumbledore is wicked old. Dumbledore would like to not die of old age, as he has a few enemies left to take care of. Can Dumbledore cast ...
9
votes
1answer
271 views

What kind of control should a player have over themselves when they are polymorphed?

So I'm a level 8 sorcerer and I love the spell polymorph for all those situations where fireball isn't the answer. Usually it involves me polymorphing myself and maybe one other party member into a ...
9
votes
1answer
587 views

Does true polymorph form a creature with equipment?

When a spellcaster transforms an object or creature into a creature using the True Polymorph spell, does that creature form with equipment? E.g., if a spellcaster used True Polymorph to transform a ...
9
votes
2answers
251 views

How do multiple castings of True Polymorph interact?

When targeting a creature changed by any form of polymorph affect (Polymorph, Shapechange, Wild Shape, or True Polymorph), do you target the original creature, or the creature in its current form? ...
9
votes
1answer
328 views

Does Animal Shapes continually refresh a creature's Hit Points?

Looking at the Animal Shapes spell (PHB pg.212) it says: On subsequent turns, you can use your action to transform affected creatures into new forms. Followed by the usual transformation rules: ...
8
votes
1answer
409 views

Can you shapechange into an object instead of a creature?

I'm fairly new to Pathfinder and I was wondering if a character could shapechange into something like a door, table, or wall? If not shapechange would polymorph do it? I don't have a particular ...
8
votes
3answers
668 views

Can a polymorphed magic user still cast spells if the new form has limbs, mouth, and fingers?

The Wizard power Foe to Frog (Heroes of the Fey Wild) allows the wizard to change the target into a tiny beast. My question is: can the polymorphed target retain its spell casting ability if it has ...
7
votes
5answers
3k views

Is Baleful Polymorph really this weak?

So, Polymorph subschool spells apparently end if you want them to, whenever you are subject to a new polymorph spell. Does this mean I can use literally any Polymorph spell to end Baleful Polymorph? ...
7
votes
6answers
745 views

A way to water-proof equipment on short notice

So, our 3.5 party is about to make a quick dive to the next story location, and just before that, our Bard remembers that he don't want to get his lute wet since it would damage the instrument. Then, ...
7
votes
4answers
814 views

Can True Polymorph be dispelled or reversed?

My interpretation of True Polymorph is that, once made permanent, it could not be undone (except perhaps with a Wish spell, god-level magic, another casting of True Polymorph, or some similar ...
7
votes
1answer
462 views

Can a Druid cast the spell Polymorph on themselves?

A thought occurred to me when I noticed that the Druid can learn the Polymorph spell and I came up with the idea of casting Polymorph on yourself to turn into beast with a challenge rating that ...
7
votes
2answers
797 views

Does a caster under the effect of a True Polymorph spell retain their class levels?

The true Polymorph spell specifies that: The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of its new form ... The creature is limited in the actions it ...
7
votes
1answer
396 views

What happens to armor when you transform into a werebear?

I have a medium sized PC who is wearing plate armor. If he turns into a werebear, what happens to the armor? The MM states that any equipment it is carrying isn't transformed. Since the medium sized ...
6
votes
1answer
438 views

How does changing a PC's creature type but not race affect the character sheet?

I'm using the deck of many things in my campaign, it's a way to let the chaotic characters create chaos and to let the lawful characters fight against drawing cards. Anyway, I'm trying to be prepared ...
6
votes
1answer
127 views

How does true polymorph interact with class feature companions?

How does true polymorph work with the companion from the rangers beast master and warlocks pact of the chain class options? Beast Master Can it be true polymorphed into a large CR 1/4 creature? Can ...
5
votes
2answers
743 views

Is a creature that uses Change Shape to become a humanoid affected by spells that only work on humanoids?

Creatures such as the Deva, Couatl and Oni have an ability which lets them magically polymorph into a humanoid, stating that they keep their statistics (other than ones listed as changing). Does this ...
5
votes
1answer
232 views

What does Banishment do to a person Polymorphed into an outsider? [duplicate]

If a person is Polymorphed into an outsider by the 4th level spell Polymorph, what affect does the 4th level spell Banishment have on them? I mean, based on RAW, they're treated as a native, because ...
5
votes
1answer
100 views

Does increasing size stop the grapple if it has been initiated with Improved Grab?

A Huge reptile bit my Medium character and started a grapple using Improved Grab. My character activated a Polymorph item and transformed into an elefant - which is Huge. Improved Grab says: ...
5
votes
2answers
405 views

Magically becoming multi-headed creatures

If someone Polymorphs into a Hydra, what happens when a head is cut off? Hydra heads have complicated rules about hitpoints and regrown heads and stuff. What if instead of a wizard casting polymorph ...
5
votes
1answer
157 views

If a magical item has an effect that changes how it looks passively after its activated, would polymorph disable that?

So essentially I am trying to understand this is the situation: Kitsune with Fox shape feat has the item Demon Talon equipped to a stump. Let's say both of their hands, so two Demon Talons. If this ...
5
votes
3answers
415 views

How much control does Polymorph/True Polymorph allow over aesthetics?

Say a level 20 human wizard named Dumbledore would like to become an elf. When casting either Polymorph or True Polymorph, can Dumbledore specify how the elf will look? For example: "I want to be a ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Can one Wild Shape into a Swarm?

My gut feeling is that wildshaping into a swarm is not RAI, but I've had such feelings at times and been wrong, so it feels worth asking. When it comes to RAW, so far I cannot find anything that says ...
4
votes
2answers
314 views

How large can a thing be “produced” by True Polymorph?

In this question, it was decided a goblin could be permanently True Polymorphed into a lump of adamantine. True Polymorph can also turn a goblin into a larger creature, like a cow. This effectively ...
4
votes
4answers
255 views

What is a character's level after being True Polymorphed?

One of my players intends to cast 'True Polymorph' on himself to turn into a CR 16 Creature. What character level does he have in this form, if he has any at all? Is he level 16, and if so, can he ...
4
votes
4answers
3k views

Preventing gear loss while using Change Shape?

Change Shape states the following: Any gear worn or carried by the creature that can’t be worn or carried in its new form instead falls to the ground in its space. If the creature changes size, ...
3
votes
1answer
297 views

Can True Polymorph be used to recover from diseases or curses?

Say a level 20 human wizard named Dumbledore is tired of his hand hurting. Said appendage was damaged magically and cannot be cured by any known means (short of deity magic or a Wish spell, which ...
3
votes
2answers
401 views

What do you and do you not inherit from your new form when using Wild Shape / Beast Shape?

Changing shape using Wild Shape appears quite daunting when first looking it over. I was wondering if there was a clear, step-by-step, process of working out what you do and do not gain from changing ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

When transforming from a race using Polymorph any Object, what changes?

In the campaign I'm in, the narrative of my character's backstory involves being raised by a race that is not her own, and she is so enamored with the race as a whole that she actively pursues the ...
3
votes
2answers
238 views

Can a caster grant class levels to the target form of a True Polymorph?

This is a follow-on to: Does a caster under the effect of a True Polymorph spell retain their class levels? Assume we have a wizard who wants to check out a cave system where he or she can't fit ...
2
votes
2answers
318 views

What happens if you stop meeting the requirements for a spell?

Many spells specify a condition (animal, living creature, undead, etc.) that their targets must fulfill. What happens if such a spell is cast on a target that meets the condition(s), but changes in ...
2
votes
3answers
868 views

Can you use a Dragon's Change Shape Ability to Turn Back Into Yourself?

If you are a level 20 Wizard who is True Polymorphed into an Ancient Brass Dragon, can you then use the Dragon's Change Shape ability to turn back into a level 20 Wizard, maintaining all your class ...
2
votes
1answer
597 views

Does polymorph change your ability to think?

Polymorph says that they cannot cast spells in the new form, their intelligence hits the floor, but they maintain personality. Does this mean they also lose the ability of Logical thinking? As an ...
2
votes
2answers
229 views

Do you need to know the creature to use Polymorph to change someone into that creature?

Does a character need to know a creature to use Polymorph? If yes, is a little information found in an old book enough, or does it have to be an encounter with said creature? If no, does the ...
2
votes
1answer
139 views

Can True Polymorph be used to create magic items?

The True Polymorph spell allows you to turn a creature into an object and if you concentrate on it for 1 hour it becomes permanent. The relevant text follows: Choose one creature or non-magical ...
2
votes
2answers
425 views

What abilities remain when using Draconic Exemplar's shapechange ability?

Draconic Exemplar is a Racial Paragon Class for the dragonlike Taninim Race by Rite. One of the Draconic Gifts is Humanoid Form (Su): The draconic exemplar can assume a specific humanoid form of ...
1
vote
2answers
237 views

Does innate shapeshifting change your physical stats, and also give you the creatures innate abilities?

The Changling race from the Eberron Unearthed Arcana has the ability to innately shapeshift, polymorph itself into a humanoid creature of its size it has seen. My question is, do you get the physical ...