Discrete abilities of a character, typically but not always associated with combat.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

6
votes
1answer
190 views

Can a power with “target: one creature” be used on an empty square in an attempt to hit a hidden creature?

Say that I'm in the midst of a battle, and I know that there's an Invisible and Hidden creature somewhere. Am I allowed to use a power that says "Target: One creature" on a random square in an attempt ...
1
vote
1answer
210 views

Do half-elves have the Elven Accuracy power?

In the DDI character builder, when building a half-elf character you can select the Elven Arcane Precision feat. This is an enhancement of the Elven Accuracy racial power. But the resulting character ...
-1
votes
1answer
107 views

What damage bonuses apply to Come and Get It?

The text of the power of Come and Get It reads: You pull the target up to 2 squares, but only if it can end the pull adjacent to you. If the target is adjacent to you after the pull, it takes 1[W] ...
4
votes
1answer
391 views

How do Psion At-Will Powers work?

Where can I find the list of Psion Powers? I know where the At-Wills, Encounters, etc. are, but where are the powers upon which I can spend power points? I'm a fairly green DM, and this is my first ...
5
votes
1answer
118 views

Can my Cleric with the Primordial Adept theme use his holy symbol for theme powers?

The Primordial Adept theme, which gives rod proficiency and has Implement-keyword powers, mentions no restrictions or caveats to its powers' implement use. Do only rods work for Primordial Adept ...
7
votes
1answer
862 views

Can multiple abilities be used at once if they have a shared prerequisite?

Greater Vital Strike, Spirited Charge, and Unstoppable Strike (19th level Weapon Master). Or Greater Vital Strike, Greater Power Attack, Piledriver, and Overhand chop. Do these all work at once or ...
1
vote
1answer
284 views

Help with Defender Aura at-will power

I'm not sure we are using the defender aura correctly. While in the aura, any enemy takes a -2 penalty to attack rolls when it makes an attack that does not include among its targets either you or ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I make multiple extra melee attacks with one crit?

Can I make a extra melee attack with Harmony Blade and Two-Weapon Opening and Rampage on the same crit? If I crit again with Rampage can I again make a melee attack with harmony blade and two weapon ...
2
votes
3answers
540 views

I'm looking for advice on Wizard status effect powers. Anyone have good advice?

After studying up on the wizards forums and reading the class 'handbooks' there (as well as getting pummeled to near death in the last few combat encounters in my group), I've begun to consider using ...
8
votes
2answers
357 views

Forced Movement: Can a Halfling really pull a Dragon?

One of my PCs is a Druid with "Thorn Whip". In our last session, he used it on a wall-mounted magic Turret Trap. Since the Power says "Pull the Target 2 squares", I ruled that he just ripped it out of ...
1
vote
2answers
271 views

How do these items which improve Dragonbreath stack?

What are the cumulative effects of the following? Ring of the Dragonborn Emperor (Adventurer's Vault) Arkhosian Scepter (Player's Handbook Races - Dragonborn) Paragon Path: Ninefold Master lvl 11 ...
3
votes
1answer
147 views

Does Pervasive Light stack with Painful Oath?

I've got a question about painful oath + pervasive light. Painful Oath says "The first time you hit..., you deal extra radiant and necrotic damage" Pervasive Light says "When you hit a target that ...
2
votes
2answers
185 views

Does the Assassin take damage when he uses Vanish?

The 4th Edition Assassin class has a Level 6 Utility Power Called Vanish: Encounter - Immediate Reaction Personal Keywords: Shadow, Teleportation Trigger: You are hit by an attack. Effect: ...
4
votes
1answer
126 views

Does Deep Shroud affect the Sorcerer's own attacks?

I was considering using Deep Shroud, but have a question on attacking through the cloud it creates. The Effect reads: "You create a shroud of supernatural shadow around you. Until the end of your next ...
3
votes
1answer
135 views

Theme, School and Feat damage for Conjurations and Summonings?

Okay, I'm playing a Tiefling Fire-oriented mage with the Infernal Prince theme, Hellfire Blood feat and Pyromancy school Apprentice bonus. With all of that, my fire attacks get +2 atk and +2 dmg. I ...
2
votes
2answers
104 views

Do conjurations still appear if you miss?

A question came up in my last gaming session about conjurations. I looked around online, but can't locate a clear answer on this. There's another wizard besides myself in our party and he tried to ...
8
votes
1answer
230 views

When does a power count as an attack?

I thought it was pretty simple: a power's an attack if it says Attack in the top right. Apparently, it's not that simple. I keep hearing there are other conditions a power must fulfil to count ...
3
votes
1answer
293 views

Blackstaff Apprentice and Wizard's Fury

I looked around online, but again couldn't find an answer. I also saw the Dragon Magazine articles from issues 409 and 374, but want a diffinative ruling. When you take the Blackstaff Apprentice ...
1
vote
2answers
278 views

Can Flaming Sphere attack each turn?

I have a question as to the sustaining of Flaming Sphere. I know that it only needs to be sustained once, but in the Sustain Minor effet, it reads: "You can sustain this power until the end of ...
3
votes
1answer
451 views

Wizard's Fury grants a second attack per turn?

I was wondering if it was possible to chain the effect of Wizard's Fury's power on following turns (after the turn I activate it) with other attack spells for a secondary attack each turn, seeing as ...
3
votes
1answer
90 views

Does Seeker's Biting Swarm give both a dex bonus and wis bonus to damage?

Biting Swarm damage is calculated at 1[W]+Wis. If you are using an xbow would that be 1[1d10+Dex]+Wis?
2
votes
1answer
196 views

Looking for promotional Power card effects [closed]

Well, even though they never finished making them, I went and got all the sets of Power cards available, but a few I bought used came with a few extra cards not listed in any of the handbooks. After a ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

do I only get a limited number of at-will powers?

In the pre made characters for the 4e adventure Keep on the Shadowfell they only give each character about 3 at-will powers. reading through the PHB I find that most characters have about 4-6 at-will ...
2
votes
1answer
115 views

Can Adaptation have “pre-sets” that include offensive abilities?

In M&M 2e, Is there anything against a character with Adaptation having multiple pre-set forms he uses in response to regular threats, and if so can these forms include some offensive capabilities ...
4
votes
1answer
138 views

Can Oath of Enmity and Divine Challenge be stacked on the same target?

We have a Paladin and an Avenger. Both aim to kill the last standing baddie. The Paladin uses Divine Challenge on the target, then the Avenger wishes to use Oath of Enmity on their next turn. The ...
1
vote
1answer
309 views

Fighting Fury: weapon vs. implement usage. One, both or neither?

I want to create a Monk and like the Fighting Fury Utility power, but cannot figure out which attacks it would work with. Which keywords does it apply to? Implement, Weapon, another keyword? I want to ...
3
votes
1answer
186 views

Does Thunder Hooves Rage damage stack with itself?

Can a barbarian move back and forth through an enemy space to stack Thunder Hooves damage? Thunder Hooves Rage Daily Standard Action      Melee Weapon Target: One ...
1
vote
1answer
103 views

Certain Justice and Superior Will

What happens if you have Superior Will and succeed on a Saving Throw (in the start of your turn) against the Dazed condition from Certain Justice (the 11th power from the Champion of Order paragon ...
12
votes
3answers
601 views

Role playing with powers, solely for the effect without damage

Certain abilities have very interesting effects, but are accompanied by damage. In combat, this is no problem. But say you want to use the ability outside of combat, for role-playing reasons. Can you ...
6
votes
1answer
164 views

Will Death's Resurgence prevent death?

Looking at the Swordmage/19 power Death's Resurgence: Immediate Interrupt Target: Each enemy in burst Trigger: You become bloodied or brought to 0 or fewer hit points. Hit: some damage ...
3
votes
1answer
191 views

How would a character use object projection to perform thievery?

I can imagine some fun uses for the wilder cantrip object projection, but a major one was the ability to steal things. I have a few scenario's that might be encountered, and I'd like to know how they ...
5
votes
2answers
260 views

Are the powers listed only in the Red Box available to use or deliberately removed?

I don't see Poised Strike and Stone Blood in any books other than the 4e Red Box. I believe there are quite a few others (listed below). Why weren't these added into the 4e PHB or other 'essentials' ...
2
votes
2answers
173 views

Do items that trigger off of “x basic attack” work with powers “used as” basic attacks?

For instance, I'm building a Level 4 Seeker (Ranged Arcane Archer-esque class) who has an At Will attack (Biting Swarm) that can be used "as a" ranged basic attack. I also have a couple of items that ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

How do I build an 4e essentials character?

I'm having trouble interpreting the 4th Edition Essentials books. How do I determine how many powers a level 1 paladin/cavalier gets? The book never comes out and says it. With skills and feats, it's ...
3
votes
1answer
176 views

Does a Half-Orcs furious assault affect non damaging attacks?

A question came up in todays session. If a Half-Orc uses an attack power that doesn't do any damage (for example, Song Of Discord, Bard 5) can they still apply the damage granted from their Furious ...
4
votes
1answer
151 views

Are Innate powers reused every turn or is the current manifestation just maintained

In Anima: Beyond Fantasy, I am playing a mentalist and I have access to an innate slot and the energy discipline power Energy Shield. I was wondering if making that an innate power reused the power ...
1
vote
1answer
81 views

When a power makes a zone, what squares does it affect?

Some powers create zones, and most of them just say it, "zone", but what exactly is it? I mean, whats the size? For they just mention the range of where I can put the "core" of the zone!
2
votes
1answer
129 views

How do I get as many enemies as possible to attack me in 1 round from a distance?

On my ranged rogue I have the Daring Gamble utility power, which, once activated, gives me CA for the rest of the encounter on any enemies that attack me before the start of my next turn. How can I ...
1
vote
1answer
204 views

What Book is “Everything in the Book” power from?

Please see above. I think it's a daily that make an attack on all of a targets defenses AC, Fort Ref and Will?
8
votes
1answer
289 views

Does the Direct The Strike power provoke OA?

Does using the Warlord's Direct The Strike power provoke opportunity attacks? It is a Ranged 5 power with only the Martial keyword (not an Implement or Weapon attack). It seems to me like it should ...
3
votes
2answers
242 views

What happens to a dying Revenant in the Stunning Palm stance?

Unnatural Vitality: When you drop to 0 hit points or fewer and are subjected to the dying condition, you can choose to be dazed, instead of falling unconscious. You make death saving throws as ...
6
votes
1answer
327 views

Does Punishing Eye count as an attack?

The last time I played my Artificer I used Punishing Eye and Spike Wire on a boss and waited for my ally's attack. First, my ally's attack got my Wis modifier for an attack, then the Eye triggered ...
1
vote
0answers
54 views

How can I make a daily power an encounter power? [duplicate]

Is there a way to make a Daily Power to an Encounter Power?
5
votes
3answers
124 views

Does ending a Power early take the equivalent of an action?

Obviously it normally takes an spellcasting action to use Shape Change (Savage Worlds Deluxe EE, p. 115) to shift into animal form, but the description says nothing about how shifting back to normal ...
-3
votes
2answers
214 views

Are there rules for making Class specific Custom Powers?

Please see above. I'd like to make a Rogue encounter power akin to "One Two Punch" but for ranged attacks. This will be for those Two Fisted shooters and thrown weapons savants. Basically I made this ...
5
votes
1answer
126 views

How Long does Unnerving Shove cause the target to grant Combat Advantage?

The level 3 Ardent power Unnerving Shove's Augment 2 states the following: Hit: 2[W] + Charisma modifier damage, and you push the target a number of squares equal to 1 + your Constitution ...
4
votes
2answers
655 views

How many attacks can you make with Duelist's Prowess in a round?

Duelist's Prowess Reads Effect: Until the stance ends, each time an enemy hits or misses you, you can use the Duelist's Prowess Attack power against it. But then the associated power is an ...
2
votes
2answers
341 views

Does a close burst attack that only targets 1 creature in the burst trigger burst vulnerability?

In a recent encounter there were creatures with vulnerability to burst attacks. One character used an attack that had the range 'Close Burst 10', and target 'One Creature'. The DM defined this as a ...
6
votes
1answer
738 views

How can a Warlord gain an at-will power that pushes?

I know you can multiclass, but that gives you another class's at-will power as an encounter power. I'm looking for an at-will attack that also pushes, but I'm playing a Warlord and they don't have ...
13
votes
4answers
397 views

How can I keep track of Aspects and Powers?

I'm going to begin running a Dresden Files Roleplaying Game campaign in a group that has no FATE or Fudge experience (myself included); we've largely been running D&D 3.5 and 4e. What are some ...