Discrete abilities of a character, typically but not always associated with combat.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

7
votes
1answer
203 views

When does a power count as an attack?

I thought it was pretty simple: a power's an attack if it says Attack in the top right. Apparently, it's not that simple. I keep hearing there are other conditions a power must fulfil to count ...
3
votes
1answer
256 views

Blackstaff Apprentice and Wizard's Fury

I looked around online, but again couldn't find an answer. I also saw the Dragon Magazine articles from issues 409 and 374, but want a diffinative ruling. When you take the Blackstaff Apprentice ...
1
vote
2answers
240 views

Can Flaming Sphere attack each turn?

I have a question as to the sustaining of Flaming Sphere. I know that it only needs to be sustained once, but in the Sustain Minor effet, it reads: "You can sustain this power until the end of ...
3
votes
1answer
351 views

Wizard's Fury grants a second attack per turn?

I was wondering if it was possible to chain the effect of Wizard's Fury's power on following turns (after the turn I activate it) with other attack spells for a secondary attack each turn, seeing as ...
3
votes
1answer
85 views

Does Seeker's Biting Swarm give both a dex bonus and wis bonus to damage?

Biting Swarm damage is calculated at 1[W]+Wis. If you are using an xbow would that be 1[1d10+Dex]+Wis?
2
votes
1answer
164 views

Looking for promotional Power card effects [closed]

Well, even though they never finished making them, I went and got all the sets of Power cards available, but a few I bought used came with a few extra cards not listed in any of the handbooks. After a ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

do I only get a limited number of at-will powers?

In the pre made characters for the 4e adventure Keep on the Shadowfell they only give each character about 3 at-will powers. reading through the PHB I find that most characters have about 4-6 at-will ...
2
votes
1answer
108 views

Can Adaptation have “pre-sets” that include offensive abilities?

In M&M 2e, Is there anything against a character with Adaptation having multiple pre-set forms he uses in response to regular threats, and if so can these forms include some offensive capabilities ...
4
votes
1answer
129 views

Can Oath of Enmity and Divine Challenge be stacked on the same target?

We have a Paladin and an Avenger. Both aim to kill the last standing baddie. The Paladin uses Divine Challenge on the target, then the Avenger wishes to use Oath of Enmity on their next turn. The ...
1
vote
1answer
261 views

Fighting Fury: weapon vs. implement usage. One, both or neither?

I want to create a Monk and like the Fighting Fury Utility power, but cannot figure out which attacks it would work with. Which keywords does it apply to? Implement, Weapon, another keyword? I want to ...
3
votes
1answer
168 views

Does Thunder Hooves Rage damage stack with itself?

Can a barbarian move back and forth through an enemy space to stack Thunder Hooves damage? Thunder Hooves Rage Daily Standard Action      Melee Weapon Target: One ...
1
vote
1answer
86 views

Certain Justice and Superior Will

What happens if you have Superior Will and succeed on a Saving Throw (in the start of your turn) against the Dazed condition from Certain Justice (the 11th power from the Champion of Order paragon ...
12
votes
3answers
526 views

Role playing with powers, solely for the effect without damage

Certain abilities have very interesting effects, but are accompanied by damage. In combat, this is no problem. But say you want to use the ability outside of combat, for role-playing reasons. Can you ...
6
votes
1answer
154 views

Will Death's Resurgence prevent death?

Looking at the Swordmage/19 power Death's Resurgence: Immediate Interrupt Target: Each enemy in burst Trigger: You become bloodied or brought to 0 or fewer hit points. Hit: some damage ...
3
votes
1answer
179 views

How would a character use object projection to perform thievery?

I can imagine some fun uses for the wilder cantrip object projection, but a major one was the ability to steal things. I have a few scenario's that might be encountered, and I'd like to know how they ...
5
votes
2answers
245 views

Are the powers listed only in the Red Box available to use or deliberately removed?

I don't see Poised Strike and Stone Blood in any books other than the 4e Red Box. I believe there are quite a few others (listed below). Why weren't these added into the 4e PHB or other 'essentials' ...
2
votes
2answers
160 views

Do items that trigger off of “x basic attack” work with powers “used as” basic attacks?

For instance, I'm building a Level 4 Seeker (Ranged Arcane Archer-esque class) who has an At Will attack (Biting Swarm) that can be used "as a" ranged basic attack. I also have a couple of items that ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

How do I build an 4e essentials character?

I'm having trouble interpreting the 4th Edition Essentials books. How do I determine how many powers a level 1 paladin/cavalier gets? The book never comes out and says it. With skills and feats, it's ...
2
votes
1answer
162 views

Does a Half-Orcs furious assault affect non damaging attacks?

A question came up in todays session. If a Half-Orc uses an attack power that doesn't do any damage (for example, Song Of Discord, Bard 5) can they still apply the damage granted from their Furious ...
4
votes
1answer
139 views

Are Innate powers reused every turn or is the current manifestation just maintained

In Anima: Beyond Fantasy, I am playing a mentalist and I have access to an innate slot and the energy discipline power Energy Shield. I was wondering if making that an innate power reused the power ...
1
vote
1answer
80 views

When a power makes a zone, what squares does it affect?

Some powers create zones, and most of them just say it, "zone", but what exactly is it? I mean, whats the size? For they just mention the range of where I can put the "core" of the zone!
2
votes
1answer
115 views

How do I get as many enemies as possible to attack me in 1 round from a distance?

On my ranged rogue I have the Daring Gamble utility power, which, once activated, gives me CA for the rest of the encounter on any enemies that attack me before the start of my next turn. How can I ...
1
vote
1answer
201 views

What Book is “Everything in the Book” power from?

Please see above. I think it's a daily that make an attack on all of a targets defenses AC, Fort Ref and Will?
8
votes
1answer
263 views

Does the Direct The Strike power provoke OA?

Does using the Warlord's Direct The Strike power provoke opportunity attacks? It is a Ranged 5 power with only the Martial keyword (not an Implement or Weapon attack). It seems to me like it should ...
3
votes
2answers
219 views

What happens to a dying Revenant in the Stunning Palm stance?

Unnatural Vitality: When you drop to 0 hit points or fewer and are subjected to the dying condition, you can choose to be dazed, instead of falling unconscious. You make death saving throws as ...
6
votes
1answer
299 views

Does Punishing Eye count as an attack?

The last time I played my Artificer I used Punishing Eye and Spike Wire on a boss and waited for my ally's attack. First, my ally's attack got my Wis modifier for an attack, then the Eye triggered ...
1
vote
0answers
54 views

How can I make a daily power an encounter power? [duplicate]

Is there a way to make a Daily Power to an Encounter Power?
5
votes
3answers
118 views

Does ending a Power early take the equivalent of an action?

Obviously it normally takes an spellcasting action to use Shape Change (Savage Worlds Deluxe EE, p. 115) to shift into animal form, but the description says nothing about how shifting back to normal ...
-3
votes
2answers
203 views

Are there rules for making Class specific Custom Powers?

Please see above. I'd like to make a Rogue encounter power akin to "One Two Punch" but for ranged attacks. This will be for those Two Fisted shooters and thrown weapons savants. Basically I made this ...
5
votes
1answer
120 views

How Long does Unnerving Shove cause the target to grant Combat Advantage?

The level 3 Ardent power Unnerving Shove's Augment 2 states the following: Hit: 2[W] + Charisma modifier damage, and you push the target a number of squares equal to 1 + your Constitution ...
4
votes
2answers
626 views

How many attacks can you make with Duelist's Prowess in a round?

Duelist's Prowess Reads Effect: Until the stance ends, each time an enemy hits or misses you, you can use the Duelist's Prowess Attack power against it. But then the associated power is an ...
2
votes
2answers
320 views

Does a close burst attack that only targets 1 creature in the burst trigger burst vulnerability?

In a recent encounter there were creatures with vulnerability to burst attacks. One character used an attack that had the range 'Close Burst 10', and target 'One Creature'. The DM defined this as a ...
6
votes
1answer
660 views

How can a Warlord gain an at-will power that pushes?

I know you can multiclass, but that gives you another class's at-will power as an encounter power. I'm looking for an at-will attack that also pushes, but I'm playing a Warlord and they don't have ...
13
votes
4answers
383 views

How can I keep track of Aspects and Powers?

I'm going to begin running a Dresden Files Roleplaying Game campaign in a group that has no FATE or Fudge experience (myself included); we've largely been running D&D 3.5 and 4e. What are some ...
3
votes
1answer
225 views

Using Encounter Power twice per round?

Can you use the same encounter power twice in one round if you use power jewel to recharge and then an action point to use it again? I am looking to use Diabolic Strategm, power jewel, action point, ...
5
votes
3answers
156 views

Does a monster that saves against effect that gets reapplied by Dark Reach of Xevut get to save again?

In response to a monster saving against a dominate effect at the end of its turn, I successfully hit with Dark Reach of Xevut and chose to apply the dominate back to the same monster as an immediate ...
12
votes
2answers
384 views

Inhuman Strength vs. +5 Might

I have been reading Your Story and Our World, trying to figure certain things out. One of the things I am stumped over is how stats work in this system. I am not sure if this is intentional or not, ...
12
votes
3answers
380 views

When does a creature “Deal Damage”?

When does a creature deal damage? A number of powers mention "deals damage" and a number mention "takes damage" and a comprehensive understanding when, exactly, "dealing damage" happens would be ...
6
votes
1answer
134 views

Does a target affected by font of radiance get to save before it takes damage?

Font of Radiance Epic Tier Prerequisite: 21st level Benefit: When you score a critical hit with a power that has the radiant keyword, the target begins to glow brightly (save ends). ...
4
votes
1answer
119 views

Does sustaining Mountain's Might allow an extra attack?

The Level 9 Shaman power Mountain's MightDDI (Dark Sun Campaign Setting) does the following: Primary Target: One ally Effect: Your spirit companion disappears. Until the end of your next ...
4
votes
1answer
158 views

How many times does “Hammer of the Gods” deal extra damage?

The Cleric level 3 Encounter Power Hammer of the GodsDDI (Divine Power) states: Hit: 1[W] + Strength modifier radiant damage. When any ally hits the target before the start of your next turn, the ...
7
votes
1answer
439 views

What can a player do to force down a flying creature?

Dakeyras' answer in this thread got me thinking about how a player would/could counter an enemy that used hovering flight to its full advantage. What specific items/powers/etc. can a character use to ...
10
votes
3answers
942 views

What powers do deities gain from believers?

In the (A)D&D multiverse, when a deity gains believers, he/she/it also gains power. But how much might is gained as the number of followers increases? As an example, when Elan's puppet deity has ...
8
votes
1answer
194 views

Rogue's Tumble PHB vs HotFL

Which version of Tumble is correct? The powers are exactly the same Level 2 Utility, Encounter, Req. Acrobatics training. The difference is in the effect. Player's Handbook (PHB) ~ Effect:You can ...
6
votes
5answers
231 views

How does 'Warp in the Weave' interact with moveable area-effects?

The level 6 Arcana utility power 'Warp in the Weave' (Dragon #385, p79) reads as follows: Trigger: A creature uses a burst or blast power that includes you. Effect: You spend a healing surge ...
1
vote
1answer
736 views

Level 2 Wizard powers and Spellbook question

I am a little confused on how a wizard's spellbook works.. I used the dnd insider to help me create my character so I am assuming it knows what it's doing.. anyway, it's allowing me to take 3 at ...
7
votes
1answer
392 views

Can a Hypnotism target be forced to move before its attack?

I have just created a Wizard (Mage) who specializes in enchantment. I have a question about the Hypnotism spell.. The power states that the target creature can be forced to attack another enemy ...
4
votes
1answer
311 views

Does a Barbarian need to start out adjacent to his ultimate target to use Pressing Strike?

Suppose a Barbarian (with a reach 1 weapon) isn't adjacent to any enemy, but there is one 1 or 2 squares away. Can he use Pressing Strike to shift adjacent to that enemy and attack all in one action? ...
3
votes
1answer
108 views

How does the warlock's Smothering Darkness affect combat?

The power is a burst 1 that blocks line of sight for all creatures other than the warlock. What kind of attacks, if any, can target/hit the warlock? What happens if a monster attempts to attack the ...
5
votes
2answers
309 views

When do you need to call a Disruptive Strike?

Immediate Interrupt; Trigger: You or an ally is attacked by a creature. Does a ranger need to call this interrupt before the attack roll, before the damage roll or can he do it whenever he ...