Discrete abilities of a character, typically but not always associated with combat.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

3
votes
1answer
146 views

Does Pervasive Light stack with Painful Oath?

I've got a question about painful oath + pervasive light. Painful Oath says "The first time you hit..., you deal extra radiant and necrotic damage" Pervasive Light says "When you hit a target that ...
2
votes
2answers
185 views

Does the Assassin take damage when he uses Vanish?

The 4th Edition Assassin class has a Level 6 Utility Power Called Vanish: Encounter - Immediate Reaction Personal Keywords: Shadow, Teleportation Trigger: You are hit by an attack. Effect: ...
4
votes
1answer
126 views

Does Deep Shroud affect the Sorcerer's own attacks?

I was considering using Deep Shroud, but have a question on attacking through the cloud it creates. The Effect reads: "You create a shroud of supernatural shadow around you. Until the end of your next ...
3
votes
1answer
135 views

Theme, School and Feat damage for Conjurations and Summonings?

Okay, I'm playing a Tiefling Fire-oriented mage with the Infernal Prince theme, Hellfire Blood feat and Pyromancy school Apprentice bonus. With all of that, my fire attacks get +2 atk and +2 dmg. I ...
1
vote
2answers
271 views

How do these items which improve Dragonbreath stack?

What are the cumulative effects of the following? Ring of the Dragonborn Emperor (Adventurer's Vault) Arkhosian Scepter (Player's Handbook Races - Dragonborn) Paragon Path: Ninefold Master lvl 11 ...
2
votes
2answers
104 views

Do conjurations still appear if you miss?

A question came up in my last gaming session about conjurations. I looked around online, but can't locate a clear answer on this. There's another wizard besides myself in our party and he tried to ...
3
votes
1answer
293 views

Blackstaff Apprentice and Wizard's Fury

I looked around online, but again couldn't find an answer. I also saw the Dragon Magazine articles from issues 409 and 374, but want a diffinative ruling. When you take the Blackstaff Apprentice ...
1
vote
2answers
278 views

Can Flaming Sphere attack each turn?

I have a question as to the sustaining of Flaming Sphere. I know that it only needs to be sustained once, but in the Sustain Minor effet, it reads: "You can sustain this power until the end of ...
3
votes
1answer
451 views

Wizard's Fury grants a second attack per turn?

I was wondering if it was possible to chain the effect of Wizard's Fury's power on following turns (after the turn I activate it) with other attack spells for a secondary attack each turn, seeing as ...
3
votes
1answer
90 views

Does Seeker's Biting Swarm give both a dex bonus and wis bonus to damage?

Biting Swarm damage is calculated at 1[W]+Wis. If you are using an xbow would that be 1[1d10+Dex]+Wis?
2
votes
1answer
196 views

Looking for promotional Power card effects [closed]

Well, even though they never finished making them, I went and got all the sets of Power cards available, but a few I bought used came with a few extra cards not listed in any of the handbooks. After a ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

do I only get a limited number of at-will powers?

In the pre made characters for the 4e adventure Keep on the Shadowfell they only give each character about 3 at-will powers. reading through the PHB I find that most characters have about 4-6 at-will ...
2
votes
1answer
115 views

Can Adaptation have “pre-sets” that include offensive abilities?

In M&M 2e, Is there anything against a character with Adaptation having multiple pre-set forms he uses in response to regular threats, and if so can these forms include some offensive capabilities ...
4
votes
1answer
138 views

Can Oath of Enmity and Divine Challenge be stacked on the same target?

We have a Paladin and an Avenger. Both aim to kill the last standing baddie. The Paladin uses Divine Challenge on the target, then the Avenger wishes to use Oath of Enmity on their next turn. The ...
3
votes
1answer
672 views

When a Wizard learns a non-spell power, do they learn two?

Playing my first campaign of 4e, I discovered Skill Powers in the Player's Handbook 3. Per the PHB 3: Whenever you reach a level that grants you a utility power from your class, you can choose a ...
1
vote
1answer
309 views

Fighting Fury: weapon vs. implement usage. One, both or neither?

I want to create a Monk and like the Fighting Fury Utility power, but cannot figure out which attacks it would work with. Which keywords does it apply to? Implement, Weapon, another keyword? I want to ...
4
votes
1answer
253 views

How many times can this power attack one target?

One of my players wants to use this homebrew class, but we're unclear on how to read one of its powers: Rotating Turret Gunslinger Attack 1 Enemies close in from all sides. You make them ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

How do I read the Attack line on power cards in D&D 4e?

I've just recently started playing D&D 4e through the Red Box, and I am confused about how to fill in the power cards. So, take Nimbus of Holy Shielding for instance. I understand the Target and ...
3
votes
1answer
394 views

Master of Flame (Paragon Path) and Flaming Weapon

Master of Flame paragon path has a level 12 Utility Power called Burning Transformation. Burning Transformation - You transform into a creature of fire until the end of the encounter. While in ...
3
votes
1answer
186 views

Does Thunder Hooves Rage damage stack with itself?

Can a barbarian move back and forth through an enemy space to stack Thunder Hooves damage? Thunder Hooves Rage Daily Standard Action      Melee Weapon Target: One ...
1
vote
1answer
103 views

Certain Justice and Superior Will

What happens if you have Superior Will and succeed on a Saving Throw (in the start of your turn) against the Dazed condition from Certain Justice (the 11th power from the Champion of Order paragon ...
12
votes
3answers
601 views

Role playing with powers, solely for the effect without damage

Certain abilities have very interesting effects, but are accompanied by damage. In combat, this is no problem. But say you want to use the ability outside of combat, for role-playing reasons. Can you ...
6
votes
1answer
164 views

Will Death's Resurgence prevent death?

Looking at the Swordmage/19 power Death's Resurgence: Immediate Interrupt Target: Each enemy in burst Trigger: You become bloodied or brought to 0 or fewer hit points. Hit: some damage ...
3
votes
1answer
191 views

How would a character use object projection to perform thievery?

I can imagine some fun uses for the wilder cantrip object projection, but a major one was the ability to steal things. I have a few scenario's that might be encountered, and I'd like to know how they ...
2
votes
2answers
173 views

Do items that trigger off of “x basic attack” work with powers “used as” basic attacks?

For instance, I'm building a Level 4 Seeker (Ranged Arcane Archer-esque class) who has an At Will attack (Biting Swarm) that can be used "as a" ranged basic attack. I also have a couple of items that ...
3
votes
1answer
176 views

Does a Half-Orcs furious assault affect non damaging attacks?

A question came up in todays session. If a Half-Orc uses an attack power that doesn't do any damage (for example, Song Of Discord, Bard 5) can they still apply the damage granted from their Furious ...
5
votes
2answers
260 views

Are the powers listed only in the Red Box available to use or deliberately removed?

I don't see Poised Strike and Stone Blood in any books other than the 4e Red Box. I believe there are quite a few others (listed below). Why weren't these added into the 4e PHB or other 'essentials' ...
4
votes
1answer
150 views

Are Innate powers reused every turn or is the current manifestation just maintained

In Anima: Beyond Fantasy, I am playing a mentalist and I have access to an innate slot and the energy discipline power Energy Shield. I was wondering if making that an innate power reused the power ...
1
vote
1answer
81 views

When a power makes a zone, what squares does it affect?

Some powers create zones, and most of them just say it, "zone", but what exactly is it? I mean, whats the size? For they just mention the range of where I can put the "core" of the zone!
2
votes
1answer
129 views

How do I get as many enemies as possible to attack me in 1 round from a distance?

On my ranged rogue I have the Daring Gamble utility power, which, once activated, gives me CA for the rest of the encounter on any enemies that attack me before the start of my next turn. How can I ...
1
vote
1answer
204 views

What Book is “Everything in the Book” power from?

Please see above. I think it's a daily that make an attack on all of a targets defenses AC, Fort Ref and Will?
8
votes
1answer
230 views

When does a power count as an attack?

I thought it was pretty simple: a power's an attack if it says Attack in the top right. Apparently, it's not that simple. I keep hearing there are other conditions a power must fulfil to count ...
8
votes
1answer
289 views

Does the Direct The Strike power provoke OA?

Does using the Warlord's Direct The Strike power provoke opportunity attacks? It is a Ranged 5 power with only the Martial keyword (not an Implement or Weapon attack). It seems to me like it should ...
3
votes
2answers
242 views

What happens to a dying Revenant in the Stunning Palm stance?

Unnatural Vitality: When you drop to 0 hit points or fewer and are subjected to the dying condition, you can choose to be dazed, instead of falling unconscious. You make death saving throws as ...
1
vote
0answers
54 views

How can I make a daily power an encounter power? [duplicate]

Is there a way to make a Daily Power to an Encounter Power?
-3
votes
2answers
214 views

Are there rules for making Class specific Custom Powers?

Please see above. I'd like to make a Rogue encounter power akin to "One Two Punch" but for ranged attacks. This will be for those Two Fisted shooters and thrown weapons savants. Basically I made this ...
5
votes
3answers
124 views

Does ending a Power early take the equivalent of an action?

Obviously it normally takes an spellcasting action to use Shape Change (Savage Worlds Deluxe EE, p. 115) to shift into animal form, but the description says nothing about how shifting back to normal ...
5
votes
1answer
126 views

How Long does Unnerving Shove cause the target to grant Combat Advantage?

The level 3 Ardent power Unnerving Shove's Augment 2 states the following: Hit: 2[W] + Charisma modifier damage, and you push the target a number of squares equal to 1 + your Constitution ...
8
votes
1answer
289 views

Do burst/close burst attacks “splash” around corners?

I know that blasts require LoS in 4e and that bursts require line of effect between the target square and the creature using the power but one my players asked if a burst would hit diagonally around a ...
2
votes
2answers
341 views

Does a close burst attack that only targets 1 creature in the burst trigger burst vulnerability?

In a recent encounter there were creatures with vulnerability to burst attacks. One character used an attack that had the range 'Close Burst 10', and target 'One Creature'. The DM defined this as a ...
6
votes
1answer
737 views

How can a Warlord gain an at-will power that pushes?

I know you can multiclass, but that gives you another class's at-will power as an encounter power. I'm looking for an at-will attack that also pushes, but I'm playing a Warlord and they don't have ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

How do I build an 4e essentials character?

I'm having trouble interpreting the 4th Edition Essentials books. How do I determine how many powers a level 1 paladin/cavalier gets? The book never comes out and says it. With skills and feats, it's ...
3
votes
1answer
232 views

Using Encounter Power twice per round?

Can you use the same encounter power twice in one round if you use power jewel to recharge and then an action point to use it again? I am looking to use Diabolic Strategm, power jewel, action point, ...
11
votes
1answer
435 views

Can the Pixie's Teleport Trick make you invincible?

Pixie Teleport Trick (Heroes of the Feywild page 33) Daily: Teleportation Minor Action, Personal Effect: Until the end of the encounter, whenever an enemy attacks you, you can use an ...
4
votes
2answers
289 views

Does Word of Life interrupt and heal a dying ally before they fall unconscious?

The Bard level 10 utility power Word of Lifeddi states: Immediate Reaction Close burst 20 Trigger: An enemy attack reduces an ally within 20 squares of you to 0 hit points or fewer ...
12
votes
2answers
403 views

Inhuman Strength vs. +5 Might

I have been reading Your Story and Our World, trying to figure certain things out. One of the things I am stumped over is how stats work in this system. I am not sure if this is intentional or not, ...
13
votes
3answers
413 views

When does a creature “Deal Damage”?

When does a creature deal damage? A number of powers mention "deals damage" and a number mention "takes damage" and a comprehensive understanding when, exactly, "dealing damage" happens would be ...
5
votes
3answers
160 views

Does a monster that saves against effect that gets reapplied by Dark Reach of Xevut get to save again?

In response to a monster saving against a dominate effect at the end of its turn, I successfully hit with Dark Reach of Xevut and chose to apply the dominate back to the same monster as an immediate ...
9
votes
2answers
332 views

How can I turn invisible?

I'm learning DFRPG, having no prior experience with the FATE system. One thing I really like is the idea that we can --and should-- create our own stunts and powers... but I'm not sure I've really got ...
6
votes
1answer
143 views

Does a target affected by font of radiance get to save before it takes damage?

Font of Radiance Epic Tier Prerequisite: 21st level Benefit: When you score a critical hit with a power that has the radiant keyword, the target begins to glow brightly (save ends). ...