Discrete abilities of a character, typically but not always associated with combat.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

3
votes
2answers
252 views

What happens to a dying Revenant in the Stunning Palm stance?

Unnatural Vitality: When you drop to 0 hit points or fewer and are subjected to the dying condition, you can choose to be dazed, instead of falling unconscious. You make death saving throws as ...
6
votes
1answer
331 views

Does Punishing Eye count as an attack?

The last time I played my Artificer I used Punishing Eye and Spike Wire on a boss and waited for my ally's attack. First, my ally's attack got my Wis modifier for an attack, then the Eye triggered ...
1
vote
0answers
55 views

How can I make a daily power an encounter power? [duplicate]

Is there a way to make a Daily Power to an Encounter Power?
5
votes
3answers
131 views

Does ending a Power early take the equivalent of an action?

Obviously it normally takes an spellcasting action to use Shape Change (Savage Worlds Deluxe EE, p. 115) to shift into animal form, but the description says nothing about how shifting back to normal ...
-3
votes
2answers
221 views

Are there rules for making Class specific Custom Powers?

Please see above. I'd like to make a Rogue encounter power akin to "One Two Punch" but for ranged attacks. This will be for those Two Fisted shooters and thrown weapons savants. Basically I made this ...
5
votes
1answer
128 views

How Long does Unnerving Shove cause the target to grant Combat Advantage?

The level 3 Ardent power Unnerving Shove's Augment 2 states the following: Hit: 2[W] + Charisma modifier damage, and you push the target a number of squares equal to 1 + your Constitution ...
4
votes
2answers
688 views

How many attacks can you make with Duelist's Prowess in a round?

Duelist's Prowess Reads Effect: Until the stance ends, each time an enemy hits or misses you, you can use the Duelist's Prowess Attack power against it. But then the associated power is an ...
2
votes
2answers
352 views

Does a close burst attack that only targets 1 creature in the burst trigger burst vulnerability?

In a recent encounter there were creatures with vulnerability to burst attacks. One character used an attack that had the range 'Close Burst 10', and target 'One Creature'. The DM defined this as a ...
6
votes
1answer
780 views

How can a Warlord gain an at-will power that pushes?

I know you can multiclass, but that gives you another class's at-will power as an encounter power. I'm looking for an at-will attack that also pushes, but I'm playing a Warlord and they don't have ...
13
votes
4answers
409 views

How can I keep track of Aspects and Powers?

I'm going to begin running a Dresden Files Roleplaying Game campaign in a group that has no FATE or Fudge experience (myself included); we've largely been running D&D 3.5 and 4e. What are some ...
3
votes
1answer
237 views

Using Encounter Power twice per round?

Can you use the same encounter power twice in one round if you use power jewel to recharge and then an action point to use it again? I am looking to use Diabolic Strategm, power jewel, action point, ...
5
votes
3answers
163 views

Does a monster that saves against effect that gets reapplied by Dark Reach of Xevut get to save again?

In response to a monster saving against a dominate effect at the end of its turn, I successfully hit with Dark Reach of Xevut and chose to apply the dominate back to the same monster as an immediate ...
12
votes
2answers
412 views

Inhuman Strength vs. +5 Might

I have been reading Your Story and Our World, trying to figure certain things out. One of the things I am stumped over is how stats work in this system. I am not sure if this is intentional or not, ...
13
votes
3answers
440 views

When does a creature “Deal Damage”?

When does a creature deal damage? A number of powers mention "deals damage" and a number mention "takes damage" and a comprehensive understanding when, exactly, "dealing damage" happens would be ...
6
votes
1answer
155 views

Does a target affected by font of radiance get to save before it takes damage?

Font of Radiance Epic Tier Prerequisite: 21st level Benefit: When you score a critical hit with a power that has the radiant keyword, the target begins to glow brightly (save ends). ...
4
votes
1answer
136 views

Does sustaining Mountain's Might allow an extra attack?

The Level 9 Shaman power Mountain's MightDDI (Dark Sun Campaign Setting) does the following: Primary Target: One ally Effect: Your spirit companion disappears. Until the end of your next ...
4
votes
1answer
188 views

How many times does “Hammer of the Gods” deal extra damage?

The Cleric level 3 Encounter Power Hammer of the GodsDDI (Divine Power) states: Hit: 1[W] + Strength modifier radiant damage. When any ally hits the target before the start of your next turn, the ...
7
votes
1answer
516 views

What can a player do to force down a flying creature?

Dakeyras' answer in this thread got me thinking about how a player would/could counter an enemy that used hovering flight to its full advantage. What specific items/powers/etc. can a character use to ...
10
votes
3answers
1k views

What powers do deities gain from believers?

In the (A)D&D multiverse, when a deity gains believers, he/she/it also gains power. But how much might is gained as the number of followers increases? As an example, when Elan's puppet deity has ...
8
votes
1answer
218 views

Rogue's Tumble PHB vs HotFL

Which version of Tumble is correct? The powers are exactly the same Level 2 Utility, Encounter, Req. Acrobatics training. The difference is in the effect. Player's Handbook (PHB) ~ Effect:You can ...
6
votes
5answers
272 views

How does 'Warp in the Weave' interact with moveable area-effects?

The level 6 Arcana utility power 'Warp in the Weave' (Dragon #385, p79) reads as follows: Trigger: A creature uses a burst or blast power that includes you. Effect: You spend a healing surge ...
1
vote
1answer
841 views

Level 2 Wizard powers and Spellbook question

I am a little confused on how a wizard's spellbook works.. I used the dnd insider to help me create my character so I am assuming it knows what it's doing.. anyway, it's allowing me to take 3 at ...
7
votes
1answer
451 views

Can a Hypnotism target be forced to move before its attack?

I have just created a Wizard (Mage) who specializes in enchantment. I have a question about the Hypnotism spell.. The power states that the target creature can be forced to attack another enemy ...
4
votes
1answer
357 views

Does a Barbarian need to start out adjacent to his ultimate target to use Pressing Strike?

Suppose a Barbarian (with a reach 1 weapon) isn't adjacent to any enemy, but there is one 1 or 2 squares away. Can he use Pressing Strike to shift adjacent to that enemy and attack all in one action? ...
3
votes
1answer
121 views

How does the warlock's Smothering Darkness affect combat?

The power is a burst 1 that blocks line of sight for all creatures other than the warlock. What kind of attacks, if any, can target/hit the warlock? What happens if a monster attempts to attack the ...
5
votes
2answers
403 views

When do you need to call a Disruptive Strike?

Immediate Interrupt; Trigger: You or an ally is attacked by a creature. Does a ranger need to call this interrupt before the attack roll, before the damage roll or can he do it whenever he ...
2
votes
1answer
378 views

Does Battle Song Expertise work with Moment of Escape?

The additional effect from the Battle Song Expertise feat reads: You also gain a +1 feat bonus to the number of squares that you can pull, push, or slide creatures with your bard attacks and ...
3
votes
1answer
137 views

How do attack bonuses interact with double rolls?

A half-elf uses Knack for Success on a Ranger, who then uses Split the Tree: Knack for Success: The target gains a +2 power bonus to his next attack roll [...]" Split the Tree: Make two ...
3
votes
1answer
248 views

Pickpocketing through powers in GURPS

One of my players was thinking of creating "the best pickpocket evar" in GURPS 4e. Naturally, there will be some skills involved, but he's envisioning crazy stuff, like he's standing 5 feet away and ...
5
votes
1answer
223 views

Do attack powers that have an effect of marking a target use the class's defender mark or some other version of a mark?

Do attack powers that have an effect of marking a target use the class's defender mark (e.g. Aegis of Assault) or some other version of a mark? Powers like Swordmage: Dual Lightning Strike, lvl 3 ...
5
votes
2answers
388 views

Does my secondary attack use up my standard action for my turn?

Visions of Avarice Daily - Arcane, Illusion, Implement, Zone Standard Action Area burst 5 within 10 squares Effect: The burst creates a zone in its origin square. The zone lasts ...
18
votes
2answers
405 views

Can a blast hit targets vertically above the caster?

Can a blast hit targets vertically above the caster? ... trying to draw the situations in text mode ... Assuming we have a map like so ... A | B | C D | E | F G | H | I and the caster is in ...
10
votes
1answer
415 views

Monk and Swift Flight

The monk power Swift Flight [ddi] states You fly a number of squares equal to your speed + your Wisdom modifier. If you don’t land at the end of this movement, you fall. Can a monk fly these ...
0
votes
1answer
330 views

Free action/no action encounter power available to all players?

The DM I play with for encounters passes out these power cards that are either a free action or a non-action (can't remember) encounter power that lets you add to a skill check roll, add a damage die, ...
2
votes
1answer
235 views

Replacing Dilettante power with a level 13 encounter power

My players just hit level 13 and get to replace one old encounter attack power with a new level 13 power. Is there any reason why a half-elf player couldn't choose to replace his Dilettante power?
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Monk use a Full Discipline move without the attack?

One of my players in my 4e game is playing a monk. He opted to use two move actions in one turn. He used the move action of one of his Full Discipline powers - such as the power Crane's Wings - twice ...
6
votes
4answers
519 views

How long does True Shapeshifting take in Dresden Files?

There are a bunch of powers labeled "Shapeshifting" in dresden files, and in general they are pretty easy to understand and use. It even mentions that, unless otherwise mentioned, shapeshifting is a ...
9
votes
1answer
268 views

Does a creature take damage from Wall of Fire if it is moved before its turn?

Here's the scenario: A wizard is separated in initiative order from his target by one or more creatures/PCs. The wizard creates a Wall of Fire which occupies the space of his target creature. Prior ...
7
votes
1answer
379 views

Are the effects of a power applied in an “atomic” mode?

Are the effects of a power applied in an "atomic" mode, i.e. all at once, or are they sequentially applied ? So for example, the power says … "does 1W + Int damage and pushes the target one square" ...
4
votes
1answer
117 views

Does Thunder Buffer only work once per round?

My friends and I recently had an issue with the sorceror ability Thunder Buffer. Daily, Arcane Minor Action, Personal Effect: Until the end of the encounter, you gain a +2 ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

Sustaining a power and readied actions: what happens?

This came up today at our gaming session. I was sustaining a Wall of Fire with my minor actions. The enemy was out of sight and I readied an action to Thunderwave them into the Wall of Fire if they ...
6
votes
1answer
165 views

What counts as a target for the purposes of 'Simple Animation?

The 2nd level Wizard Utility 'Simple Animation' has the following specification: Target: One Medium or smaller object that is not fastened in place or held by a creature Effect: The target ...
7
votes
6answers
262 views

What are good techniques help remember the interrupts of DND 4e monsters?

For new and experienced 4e DM's alike, a recurring challenge is activating all of the appropriate interrupt powers on monster sheets. It gets really easy to miss something when solo monsters can have ...
4
votes
3answers
2k views

Is this a valid method to use Shadow Walk + Fleeting Ghost?

I would like to play a level 6 hybrid Assassin/Rogue MC Warlock in the Thunderspire Labyrinth. The character summary is given below. I have the Shadow Walk[DDI] (SW) ability and also have Fleeting ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

How do I use restful healing? (using encounter powers outside of an encounter)

I'll start this question with a bit of background first... I've been playing in a new group as a Cleric. Our warrior was in a pretty bad state but survived the encounter. He was about to use 3 ...
2
votes
1answer
149 views

storm pillar and huge creatures

Last game session I had a rule problem with storm pillar. The creature moved into a square adjacent to the pillar so took the damage. He moved through and so hit a new square adjacent to the pillar. ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a human's bonus at-will power be psionically augmented?

The other day, I used the old character builder to print out cards for a new human battlemind. For each of the augment-able at will powers, there is a separate card created for each augment point ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Dungeons and Dragons 4e character take D&D Essentials class powers?

Either by retraining or gaining a level, can a old-school D&D 4e character take the daily, encounter, utility, or at-will powers listed in the Essentials materials? For example, the Essentials' ...
4
votes
2answers
471 views

What does “any enemy you deal damage to” mean in Bloody Blades?

I am looking at Bloody Blades for my L9 fighter, but I have a question before I take it. The second effect line on the power has the following text: You can assume the stance of the bloody ...
2
votes
1answer
272 views

Would Guardian's Counter work while flanking?

Dragon Magazine 399, under "Character Themes", introduces a power named "Guardian's Counter." This power is described as follows: You and the ally shift up to 2 squares as a free action, ...