Discrete abilities of a character, typically but not always associated with combat.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

6
votes
1answer
148 views

Does a target affected by font of radiance get to save before it takes damage?

Font of Radiance Epic Tier Prerequisite: 21st level Benefit: When you score a critical hit with a power that has the radiant keyword, the target begins to glow brightly (save ends). ...
13
votes
4answers
401 views

How can I keep track of Aspects and Powers?

I'm going to begin running a Dresden Files Roleplaying Game campaign in a group that has no FATE or Fudge experience (myself included); we've largely been running D&D 3.5 and 4e. What are some ...
4
votes
1answer
132 views

Does sustaining Mountain's Might allow an extra attack?

The Level 9 Shaman power Mountain's MightDDI (Dark Sun Campaign Setting) does the following: Primary Target: One ally Effect: Your spirit companion disappears. Until the end of your next ...
4
votes
1answer
178 views

How many times does “Hammer of the Gods” deal extra damage?

The Cleric level 3 Encounter Power Hammer of the GodsDDI (Divine Power) states: Hit: 1[W] + Strength modifier radiant damage. When any ally hits the target before the start of your next turn, the ...
7
votes
1answer
497 views

What can a player do to force down a flying creature?

Dakeyras' answer in this thread got me thinking about how a player would/could counter an enemy that used hovering flight to its full advantage. What specific items/powers/etc. can a character use to ...
8
votes
1answer
214 views

Rogue's Tumble PHB vs HotFL

Which version of Tumble is correct? The powers are exactly the same Level 2 Utility, Encounter, Req. Acrobatics training. The difference is in the effect. Player's Handbook (PHB) ~ Effect:You can ...
6
votes
5answers
257 views

How does 'Warp in the Weave' interact with moveable area-effects?

The level 6 Arcana utility power 'Warp in the Weave' (Dragon #385, p79) reads as follows: Trigger: A creature uses a burst or blast power that includes you. Effect: You spend a healing surge ...
1
vote
1answer
803 views

Level 2 Wizard powers and Spellbook question

I am a little confused on how a wizard's spellbook works.. I used the dnd insider to help me create my character so I am assuming it knows what it's doing.. anyway, it's allowing me to take 3 at ...
7
votes
1answer
439 views

Can a Hypnotism target be forced to move before its attack?

I have just created a Wizard (Mage) who specializes in enchantment. I have a question about the Hypnotism spell.. The power states that the target creature can be forced to attack another enemy ...
4
votes
1answer
345 views

Does a Barbarian need to start out adjacent to his ultimate target to use Pressing Strike?

Suppose a Barbarian (with a reach 1 weapon) isn't adjacent to any enemy, but there is one 1 or 2 squares away. Can he use Pressing Strike to shift adjacent to that enemy and attack all in one action? ...
3
votes
1answer
119 views

How does the warlock's Smothering Darkness affect combat?

The power is a burst 1 that blocks line of sight for all creatures other than the warlock. What kind of attacks, if any, can target/hit the warlock? What happens if a monster attempts to attack the ...
2
votes
1answer
365 views

Does Battle Song Expertise work with Moment of Escape?

The additional effect from the Battle Song Expertise feat reads: You also gain a +1 feat bonus to the number of squares that you can pull, push, or slide creatures with your bard attacks and ...
5
votes
2answers
381 views

When do you need to call a Disruptive Strike?

Immediate Interrupt; Trigger: You or an ally is attacked by a creature. Does a ranger need to call this interrupt before the attack roll, before the damage roll or can he do it whenever he ...
6
votes
1answer
327 views

Does Punishing Eye count as an attack?

The last time I played my Artificer I used Punishing Eye and Spike Wire on a boss and waited for my ally's attack. First, my ally's attack got my Wis modifier for an attack, then the Eye triggered ...
3
votes
1answer
136 views

How do attack bonuses interact with double rolls?

A half-elf uses Knack for Success on a Ranger, who then uses Split the Tree: Knack for Success: The target gains a +2 power bonus to his next attack roll [...]" Split the Tree: Make two ...
3
votes
1answer
234 views

Pickpocketing through powers in GURPS

One of my players was thinking of creating "the best pickpocket evar" in GURPS 4e. Naturally, there will be some skills involved, but he's envisioning crazy stuff, like he's standing 5 feet away and ...
5
votes
1answer
214 views

Do attack powers that have an effect of marking a target use the class's defender mark or some other version of a mark?

Do attack powers that have an effect of marking a target use the class's defender mark (e.g. Aegis of Assault) or some other version of a mark? Powers like Swordmage: Dual Lightning Strike, lvl 3 ...
5
votes
2answers
374 views

Does my secondary attack use up my standard action for my turn?

Visions of Avarice Daily - Arcane, Illusion, Implement, Zone Standard Action Area burst 5 within 10 squares Effect: The burst creates a zone in its origin square. The zone lasts ...
2
votes
1answer
227 views

Replacing Dilettante power with a level 13 encounter power

My players just hit level 13 and get to replace one old encounter attack power with a new level 13 power. Is there any reason why a half-elf player couldn't choose to replace his Dilettante power?
0
votes
1answer
323 views

Free action/no action encounter power available to all players?

The DM I play with for encounters passes out these power cards that are either a free action or a non-action (can't remember) encounter power that lets you add to a skill check roll, add a damage die, ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Monk use a Full Discipline move without the attack?

One of my players in my 4e game is playing a monk. He opted to use two move actions in one turn. He used the move action of one of his Full Discipline powers - such as the power Crane's Wings - twice ...
6
votes
4answers
486 views

How long does True Shapeshifting take in Dresden Files?

There are a bunch of powers labeled "Shapeshifting" in dresden files, and in general they are pretty easy to understand and use. It even mentions that, unless otherwise mentioned, shapeshifting is a ...
7
votes
1answer
360 views

Are the effects of a power applied in an “atomic” mode?

Are the effects of a power applied in an "atomic" mode, i.e. all at once, or are they sequentially applied ? So for example, the power says … "does 1W + Int damage and pushes the target one square" ...
4
votes
1answer
116 views

Does Thunder Buffer only work once per round?

My friends and I recently had an issue with the sorceror ability Thunder Buffer. Daily, Arcane Minor Action, Personal Effect: Until the end of the encounter, you gain a +2 ...
10
votes
1answer
397 views

Monk and Swift Flight

The monk power Swift Flight [ddi] states You fly a number of squares equal to your speed + your Wisdom modifier. If you don’t land at the end of this movement, you fall. Can a monk fly these ...
18
votes
2answers
393 views

Can a blast hit targets vertically above the caster?

Can a blast hit targets vertically above the caster? ... trying to draw the situations in text mode ... Assuming we have a map like so ... A | B | C D | E | F G | H | I and the caster is in ...
6
votes
1answer
156 views

What counts as a target for the purposes of 'Simple Animation?

The 2nd level Wizard Utility 'Simple Animation' has the following specification: Target: One Medium or smaller object that is not fastened in place or held by a creature Effect: The target ...
4
votes
3answers
2k views

Is this a valid method to use Shadow Walk + Fleeting Ghost?

I would like to play a level 6 hybrid Assassin/Rogue MC Warlock in the Thunderspire Labyrinth. The character summary is given below. I have the Shadow Walk[DDI] (SW) ability and also have Fleeting ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I make multiple extra melee attacks with one crit?

Can I make a extra melee attack with Harmony Blade and Two-Weapon Opening and Rampage on the same crit? If I crit again with Rampage can I again make a melee attack with harmony blade and two weapon ...
2
votes
1answer
146 views

storm pillar and huge creatures

Last game session I had a rule problem with storm pillar. The creature moved into a square adjacent to the pillar so took the damage. He moved through and so hit a new square adjacent to the pillar. ...
18
votes
3answers
563 views

How do you make your players see beyond their power cards?

This question is similar in intent to How do you help players not focus on the rules?, but more focused on a particular feature of D&D 4E: the power list. On today's Rule of Three's article, ...
4
votes
2answers
460 views

What does “any enemy you deal damage to” mean in Bloody Blades?

I am looking at Bloody Blades for my L9 fighter, but I have a question before I take it. The second effect line on the power has the following text: You can assume the stance of the bloody ...
2
votes
1answer
271 views

Would Guardian's Counter work while flanking?

Dragon Magazine 399, under "Character Themes", introduces a power named "Guardian's Counter." This power is described as follows: You and the ally shift up to 2 squares as a free action, ...
5
votes
1answer
413 views

What changes to Blinding Barrage, as reflected in the October 2011 errata updates, actually happened?

Listed here it states the Blinding Barrage has had it's damage reduced. On the errata for the Player's Handbook (page 8) as of the October update it states that: Blinding Barrage Page 119: Delete ...
10
votes
3answers
1k views

What powers do deities gain from believers?

In the (A)D&D multiverse, when a deity gains believers, he/she/it also gains power. But how much might is gained as the number of followers increases? As an example, when Elan's puppet deity has ...
8
votes
4answers
3k views

Is it fair to make all Encounter/Daily powers Reliable in D&D 4e?

There's a D&D 4e variant rule where all powers are Reliable, meaning you don't lose your Encounter/Daily powers if they miss. If a power has an effect on a miss, you may either accept the miss ...
4
votes
2answers
663 views

How many attacks can you make with Duelist's Prowess in a round?

Duelist's Prowess Reads Effect: Until the stance ends, each time an enemy hits or misses you, you can use the Duelist's Prowess Attack power against it. But then the associated power is an ...
2
votes
1answer
723 views

Do class and race abilities count against your at-will/encounter powers?

At first level, you know 2 at wills, 1 encounter, and 1 daily power. Let's say I'm a Tiefling Wizard. I have an racial power of "Infernal Wrath" which is an encounter power. Wizards can also learn ...
2
votes
2answers
5k views

How many daily/encounter powers can I “prepare” per day?

The book is a little confusing on this. Especially for classes with spellbooks. Is it (in laymans terms): One power, per level (minus your level one at wills?), per day? If so, how does a ...
9
votes
2answers
14k views

How many powers do I get as a first level character in D&D 4E?

I can't seem to figure out how many powers I get. Is it one of each type of the level I'm at? I'm starting at level one, so I get one at-will, one encounter, and one daily? The recommended builds ...
6
votes
2answers
411 views

What class pairs well with a fighter in 4e?

We're getting ever closer to our 4e game and have begun to hash out backgrounds. Much like in Fire Emblem (yes I do pretty much decide all of what I want to do based on video games) I really want my ...
4
votes
2answers
398 views

Final Fantasy Style/Tales of Symphonia Style Summoner in 4e

I’m trying to build a character for a 4e game but I’m having trouble picking a class and powers that go with the feel I’m looking for. I want to effectively play a Final Fantasy style or a Tales of ...
4
votes
1answer
122 views

Can Pursuit of the Hunter be triggered in the middle of the enemy's movement?

From Pursuit of the Hunter: Trigger: An enemy within 2 squares of you moves on its turn Does the triggering enemy have to start its movement within two squares, or can the power be triggered ...
7
votes
1answer
933 views

In D&D 4e, does the half-elf get an extra encounter power, or does his race power take the place of his class power?

The half-elf gets a racial power that lets him take an at-will from a class not his own and make it an encounter power. Does that mean it replaces his class encounter power or that he gets an ...
7
votes
6answers
257 views

What are good techniques help remember the interrupts of DND 4e monsters?

For new and experienced 4e DM's alike, a recurring challenge is activating all of the appropriate interrupt powers on monster sheets. It gets really easy to miss something when solo monsters can have ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a human's bonus at-will power be psionically augmented?

The other day, I used the old character builder to print out cards for a new human battlemind. For each of the augment-able at will powers, there is a separate card created for each augment point ...
11
votes
3answers
1k views

Does a Pacifist Healer using a non-damaging attack who crits with a magic implement… do damage? Does he have to?

Pacifist Clerics (and anyone who takes Astral Seal, for example, but there are other powers- Hymn of Resurgence, for example that do no damage) can use their magic holy symbols to augment their attack ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Dungeons and Dragons 4e character take D&D Essentials class powers?

Either by retraining or gaining a level, can a old-school D&D 4e character take the daily, encounter, utility, or at-will powers listed in the Essentials materials? For example, the Essentials' ...
6
votes
4answers
352 views

How do I work Powers into Skill Challenges?

I am a rather new DM (returning after 18 years) and I had a question about running a Skill Challenge called "Give it Back". The party was chasing a thief through the market and the mage said "I'm ...
5
votes
1answer
901 views

Do certain powers gain or lose keywords depending on usage?

Blazing Starfall is a Sorcerer power that, in its power description, includes the Fire keyword. However, the Fire keyword is apparently inherited from a zone effect that is only available when the ...