Discrete abilities of a character, typically but not always associated with combat.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

9
votes
1answer
293 views

Does a creature take damage from Wall of Fire if it is moved before its turn?

Here's the scenario: A wizard is separated in initiative order from his target by one or more creatures/PCs. The wizard creates a Wall of Fire which occupies the space of his target creature. Prior ...
7
votes
2answers
455 views

Does the damage caused by Wall of Fire get the implement bonus when a creature walks into it?

Our wizard cast a Wall Of Fire which is an implement power. Does the damage that is caused when a creature starts their turn adjacent to or in the wall of fire get to add the implement's ...
6
votes
1answer
295 views

Using the Shadow Jack encounter power, do I get an opportunity attack?

My assassin has an encounter power called Shadow Jack, it reads like this: Hit: 2[W] + Dexterity modifier damage, and you shift 1 square into the target’s space and remain there until the start of ...
6
votes
5answers
1k views

Can powers grant summoned creatures a “Basic Attack”?

Can powers that grant a basic attack, like many of the Warlord powers, be used to grant an attack to a summoned creature? If so, what does the summoned creature use for its basic attack? Inspired by ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

Sustaining a power and readied actions: what happens?

This came up today at our gaming session. I was sustaining a Wall of Fire with my minor actions. The enemy was out of sight and I readied an action to Thunderwave them into the Wall of Fire if they ...
4
votes
4answers
2k views

Is there a way to regain the daily power on a miss?

Missing on a daily power is a big let down and happens, frankly, a lot around our gaming table. Is there a way to introduce a rule that allows regaining the daily on a miss?
5
votes
3answers
266 views

Using Powers During A Rest

The below excerpts are from the D&DI Compendium entry on "Short Rest", referencing PHB 1. No Strenuous Activity: You have to rest during a short rest. You can stand guard, sit in place, ...
16
votes
1answer
1k views

How do I use restful healing? (using encounter powers outside of an encounter)

I'll start this question with a bit of background first... I've been playing in a new group as a Cleric. Our warrior was in a pretty bad state but survived the encounter. He was about to use 3 ...
14
votes
2answers
701 views

Can Aegis of Ensnarement teleport adjacent enemies to adjacent squares?

The Swordmage power Aegis of Ensnarement allows you to mark targets and trigger a reaction when the marked target attacks others. Paraphrasing pertinent power text: If the marked target hits with ...