Discrete abilities of a character, typically but not always associated with combat.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

5
votes
1answer
1k views

Do certain powers gain or lose keywords depending on usage?

Blazing Starfall is a Sorcerer power that, in its power description, includes the Fire keyword. However, the Fire keyword is apparently inherited from a zone effect that is only available when the ...
4
votes
3answers
713 views

Does Blazing Starfall Cause Fire Damage?

Blazing Starfall has the Fire and Radiant keywords, the damage line indicates radiant damage, and cosmic magic sorcerers create a zone has a fire damage effect. The players were fighting Trolls "if ...
5
votes
1answer
309 views

Does Arcane Resistance work against inherent abilities?

If a creature has an ability that is like a power. For example, an undead with fear ability. Are the character allowed to save using their Arcane Resistance Edge?
5
votes
1answer
79 views

How do Aspect Miracles and Auctoritas interact?

In Nobilis does the Auctoritas defend against Aspect Miracles? What would this look like, i.e. how best to roleplay to avoid "forcefield" phenomena.
8
votes
3answers
437 views

Do creatures take falling damage after Hurl Into Heaven?

Hurl Into Heaven allows you to fling a creature 5 to 50 feet into the air, where it will remain until the start of your next turn. At that point, "the target drops to the ground ... taking 3d10 + ...
9
votes
1answer
294 views

Does a creature take damage from Wall of Fire if it is moved before its turn?

Here's the scenario: A wizard is separated in initiative order from his target by one or more creatures/PCs. The wizard creates a Wall of Fire which occupies the space of his target creature. Prior ...
7
votes
2answers
456 views

Does the damage caused by Wall of Fire get the implement bonus when a creature walks into it?

Our wizard cast a Wall Of Fire which is an implement power. Does the damage that is caused when a creature starts their turn adjacent to or in the wall of fire get to add the implement's ...
6
votes
1answer
295 views

Using the Shadow Jack encounter power, do I get an opportunity attack?

My assassin has an encounter power called Shadow Jack, it reads like this: Hit: 2[W] + Dexterity modifier damage, and you shift 1 square into the target’s space and remain there until the start of ...
6
votes
5answers
1k views

Can powers grant summoned creatures a “Basic Attack”?

Can powers that grant a basic attack, like many of the Warlord powers, be used to grant an attack to a summoned creature? If so, what does the summoned creature use for its basic attack? Inspired by ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

Sustaining a power and readied actions: what happens?

This came up today at our gaming session. I was sustaining a Wall of Fire with my minor actions. The enemy was out of sight and I readied an action to Thunderwave them into the Wall of Fire if they ...
4
votes
4answers
2k views

Is there a way to regain the daily power on a miss?

Missing on a daily power is a big let down and happens, frankly, a lot around our gaming table. Is there a way to introduce a rule that allows regaining the daily on a miss?
5
votes
3answers
267 views

Using Powers During A Rest

The below excerpts are from the D&DI Compendium entry on "Short Rest", referencing PHB 1. No Strenuous Activity: You have to rest during a short rest. You can stand guard, sit in place, ...
16
votes
1answer
1k views

How do I use restful healing? (using encounter powers outside of an encounter)

I'll start this question with a bit of background first... I've been playing in a new group as a Cleric. Our warrior was in a pretty bad state but survived the encounter. He was about to use 3 ...
14
votes
2answers
703 views

Can Aegis of Ensnarement teleport adjacent enemies to adjacent squares?

The Swordmage power Aegis of Ensnarement allows you to mark targets and trigger a reaction when the marked target attacks others. Paraphrasing pertinent power text: If the marked target hits with ...