Discrete abilities of a character, typically but not always associated with combat.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

7
votes
1answer
45 views

Is there an item that prevents expending a power on a miss?

I know that some powers have the Reliable Keyword. Is there an item that prevents me from expending a power on a miss? I've read my share of books, but it is just too many books.
6
votes
1answer
177 views

Rangers making attacks with different melee weapons?

I'm somewhat confused by the Ranger class attack powers from the Player's Handbook. Many powers require the player to wield two melee weapons. What's bothering me is the damage: the book says the ...
11
votes
1answer
370 views

Can the Pixie's Teleport Trick make you invincible?

Pixie Teleport Trick (Heroes of the Feywild page 33) Daily: Teleportation Minor Action, Personal Effect: Until the end of the encounter, whenever an enemy attacks you, you can use an ...
4
votes
1answer
211 views

How many times can this power attack one target?

One of my players wants to use this homebrew class, but we're unclear on how to read one of its powers: Rotating Turret Gunslinger Attack 1 Enemies close in from all sides. You make them ...
5
votes
2answers
112 views

What is considered a “special power” for the Leadership feat?

For the feat Leadership, there are several modifiers listed that change a character's Leadership score. One of the entries on the Reputation table is "Special Power," but there is nothing describing ...
2
votes
2answers
95 views

How to gain utility powers from multiple other classes

What are the options for a character that wants to gain utility powers from more than one class other than their own? I am aware of the following options so far: Paragon Multiclassing The ...
11
votes
5answers
296 views

What happens to effects when their origin dies?

Character A gives a target the dazed condition until the end of character A's next turn, but character A dies before their next turn. What happens to the dazed condition? When does it last until now? ...
5
votes
2answers
73 views

Does Manifestation of Wrath heal depending on the number of enemies hit or not?

The power says: Daily Divine, Radiant Standard Action Close burst 1 Target: Each enemy in the burst Effect: Each target takes 10 + Wisdom modifier radiant damage, and ...
1
vote
1answer
63 views

Does Avatar of Vice grant free uses of Dread Smite if I don't know it?

Assume I have a multi-class paladin, and have spent a feat to take Avatar of Vice (from Heroes of Shadow) as my level 29 daily power instead of whatever my class power was. The last part of this ...
3
votes
1answer
135 views

How do Hybrid Warlocks get Eldritch Blast?

I may be reading this wrong but with the hybrid rules in PHB3 it doesn't seem to say that a Hybrid Warlock does or does not get Eldritch Blast which in PHB1 it says all Warlocks have. Does this ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

How do I read the Attack line on power cards in D&D 4e?

I've just recently started playing D&D 4e through the Red Box, and I am confused about how to fill in the power cards. So, take Nimbus of Holy Shielding for instance. I understand the Target and ...
0
votes
1answer
67 views

How much resistance is dragon shield worth?

There is an epic destiny called "Dragonheart" in Martial Powers 2. The utility power for this epic destiny is called "Dragon Shield". The power is defined as follows: Daily ✦ Martial, ...
3
votes
1answer
294 views

Master of Flame (Paragon Path) and Flaming Weapon

Master of Flame paragon path has a level 12 Utility Power called Burning Transformation. Burning Transformation - You transform into a creature of fire until the end of the encounter. While in ...
3
votes
1answer
174 views

Does the Rogue's Riposte stop the enemy's attack?

Rogue's Riposte Strike (PHB1 Pg 118) says: Hit: 1[W] + Dexterity modifier damage. If the target attacks you before the start of your next turn, you make your riposte against the target as an ...
4
votes
1answer
136 views

Are the following moves legal when affected by the dread carapace power?

Dread Carapace is the L6 utility in the Misshapen theme from Dragon Mag 416. Part of the power states: In addition, when any enemy ends its turn adjacent to you, it must use a free action to move ...
6
votes
1answer
149 views

Can a power with “target: one creature” be used on an empty square in an attempt to hit a hidden creature?

Say that I'm in the midst of a battle, and I know that there's an Invisible and Hidden creature somewhere. Am I allowed to use a power that says "Target: One creature" on a random square in an attempt ...
1
vote
1answer
138 views

Do half-elves have the Elven Accuracy power?

In the DDI character builder, when building a half-elf character you can select the Elven Arcane Precision feat. This is an enhancement of the Elven Accuracy racial power. But the resulting character ...
-1
votes
1answer
84 views

What damage bonuses apply to Come and Get It?

The text of the power of Come and Get It reads: You pull the target up to 2 squares, but only if it can end the pull adjacent to you. If the target is adjacent to you after the pull, it takes 1[W] ...
4
votes
1answer
131 views

How do Psion At-Will Powers work?

Where can I find the list of Psion Powers? I know where the At-Wills, Encounters, etc. are, but where are the powers upon which I can spend power points? I'm a fairly green DM, and this is my first ...
5
votes
1answer
92 views

Can my Cleric with the Primordial Adept theme use his holy symbol for theme powers?

The Primordial Adept theme, which gives rod proficiency and has Implement-keyword powers, mentions no restrictions or caveats to its powers' implement use. Do only rods work for Primordial Adept ...
7
votes
1answer
270 views

Can multiple abilities be used at once if they have a shared prerequisite?

Greater Vital Strike, Spirited Charge, and Unstoppable Strike (19th level Weapon Master). Or Greater Vital Strike, Greater Power Attack, Piledriver, and Overhand chop. Do these all work at once or ...
1
vote
1answer
146 views

Help with Defender Aura at-will power

I'm not sure we are using the defender aura correctly. While in the aura, any enemy takes a -2 penalty to attack rolls when it makes an attack that does not include among its targets either you or ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Can I make multiple extra melee attacks with one crit?

Can I make a extra melee attack with Harmony Blade and Two-Weapon Opening and Rampage on the same crit? If I crit again with Rampage can I again make a melee attack with harmony blade and two weapon ...
2
votes
3answers
323 views

I'm looking for advice on Wizard status effect powers. Anyone have good advice?

After studying up on the wizards forums and reading the class 'handbooks' there (as well as getting pummeled to near death in the last few combat encounters in my group), I've begun to consider using ...
8
votes
2answers
292 views

Forced Movement: Can a Halfling really pull a Dragon?

One of my PCs is a Druid with "Thorn Whip". In our last session, he used it on a wall-mounted magic Turret Trap. Since the Power says "Pull the Target 2 squares", I ruled that he just ripped it out of ...
1
vote
2answers
207 views

How do these items which improve Dragonbreath stack?

What are the cumulative effects of the following? Ring of the Dragonborn Emperor (Adventurer's Vault) Arkhosian Scepter (Player's Handbook Races - Dragonborn) Paragon Path: Ninefold Master lvl 11 ...
3
votes
1answer
107 views

Does Pervasive Light stack with Painful Oath?

I've got a question about painful oath + pervasive light. Painful Oath says "The first time you hit..., you deal extra radiant and necrotic damage" Pervasive Light says "When you hit a target that ...
2
votes
2answers
152 views

Does the Assassin take damage when he uses Vanish?

The 4th Edition Assassin class has a Level 6 Utility Power Called Vanish: Encounter - Immediate Reaction Personal Keywords: Shadow, Teleportation Trigger: You are hit by an attack. Effect: ...
4
votes
1answer
96 views

Does Deep Shroud affect the Sorcerer's own attacks?

I was considering using Deep Shroud, but have a question on attacking through the cloud it creates. The Effect reads: "You create a shroud of supernatural shadow around you. Until the end of your next ...
3
votes
1answer
103 views

Theme, School and Feat damage for Conjurations and Summonings?

Okay, I'm playing a Tiefling Fire-oriented mage with the Infernal Prince theme, Hellfire Blood feat and Pyromancy school Apprentice bonus. With all of that, my fire attacks get +2 atk and +2 dmg. I ...
2
votes
2answers
96 views

Do conjurations still appear if you miss?

A question came up in my last gaming session about conjurations. I looked around online, but can't locate a clear answer on this. There's another wizard besides myself in our party and he tried to ...
7
votes
1answer
181 views

When does a power count as an attack?

I thought it was pretty simple: a power's an attack if it says Attack in the top right. Apparently, it's not that simple. I keep hearing there are other conditions a power must fulfil to count ...
3
votes
1answer
213 views

Blackstaff Apprentice and Wizard's Fury

I looked around online, but again couldn't find an answer. I also saw the Dragon Magazine articles from issues 409 and 374, but want a diffinative ruling. When you take the Blackstaff Apprentice ...
1
vote
2answers
194 views

Can Flaming Sphere attack each turn?

I have a question as to the sustaining of Flaming Sphere. I know that it only needs to be sustained once, but in the Sustain Minor effet, it reads: "You can sustain this power until the end of ...
3
votes
1answer
232 views

Wizard's Fury grants a second attack per turn?

I was wondering if it was possible to chain the effect of Wizard's Fury's power on following turns (after the turn I activate it) with other attack spells for a secondary attack each turn, seeing as ...
3
votes
1answer
83 views

Does Seeker's Biting Swarm give both a dex bonus and wis bonus to damage?

Biting Swarm damage is calculated at 1[W]+Wis. If you are using an xbow would that be 1[1d10+Dex]+Wis?
2
votes
1answer
134 views

Looking for promotional Power card effects [closed]

Well, even though they never finished making them, I went and got all the sets of Power cards available, but a few I bought used came with a few extra cards not listed in any of the handbooks. After a ...
5
votes
2answers
784 views

do I only get a limited number of at-will powers?

In the pre made characters for the 4e adventure Keep on the Shadowfell they only give each character about 3 at-will powers. reading through the PHB I find that most characters have about 4-6 at-will ...
1
vote
1answer
95 views

Can Adaptation have “pre-sets” that include offensive abilities?

In M&M 2e, Is there anything against a character with Adaptation having multiple pre-set forms he uses in response to regular threats, and if so can these forms include some offensive capabilities ...
4
votes
1answer
121 views

Can Oath of Enmity and Divine Challenge be stacked on the same target?

We have a Paladin and an Avenger. Both aim to kill the last standing baddie. The Paladin uses Divine Challenge on the target, then the Avenger wishes to use Oath of Enmity on their next turn. The ...
3
votes
1answer
506 views

Wizards and Skill Powers in D&D4

Playing my first campaign of 4e, I discovered Skill Powers in the Player's Handbook 3. Per the PHB 3: Whenever you reach a level that grants you a utility power from your class, you can choose a ...
1
vote
1answer
219 views

Fighting Fury: weapon vs. implement usage. One, both or neither?

I want to create a Monk and like the Fighting Fury Utility power, but cannot figure out which attacks it would work with. Which keywords does it apply to? Implement, Weapon, another keyword? I want to ...
3
votes
1answer
144 views

Does Thunder Hooves Rage damage stack with itself?

Can a barbarian move back and forth through an enemy space to stack Thunder Hooves damage? Thunder Hooves Rage Daily Standard Action      Melee Weapon Target: One ...
1
vote
1answer
75 views

Certain Justice and Superior Will

What happens if you have Superior Will and succeed on a Saving Throw (in the start of your turn) against the Dazed condition from Certain Justice (the 11th power from the Champion of Order paragon ...
11
votes
3answers
407 views

Role playing with powers, solely for the effect without damage

Certain abilities have very interesting effects, but are accompanied by damage. In combat, this is no problem. But say you want to use the ability outside of combat, for role-playing reasons. Can you ...
6
votes
1answer
146 views

Will Death's Resurgence prevent death?

Looking at the Swordmage/19 power Death's Resurgence: Immediate Interrupt Target: Each enemy in burst Trigger: You become bloodied or brought to 0 or fewer hit points. Hit: some damage ...
3
votes
1answer
164 views

How would a character use object projection to perform thievery?

I can imagine some fun uses for the wilder cantrip object projection, but a major one was the ability to steal things. I have a few scenario's that might be encountered, and I'd like to know how they ...
5
votes
2answers
212 views

Are the powers listed only in the Red Box available to use or deliberately removed?

I don't see Poised Strike and Stone Blood in any books other than the 4e Red Box. I believe there are quite a few others (listed below). Why weren't these added into the 4e PHB or other 'essentials' ...
2
votes
2answers
140 views

Do items that trigger off of “x basic attack” work with powers “used as” basic attacks?

For instance, I'm building a Level 4 Seeker (Ranged Arcane Archer-esque class) who has an At Will attack (Biting Swarm) that can be used "as a" ranged basic attack. I also have a couple of items that ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

How do I build an 4e essentials character?

I'm having trouble interpreting the 4th Edition Essentials books. How do I determine how many powers a level 1 paladin/cavalier gets? The book never comes out and says it. With skills and feats, it's ...