Discrete abilities of a character, typically but not always associated with combat.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

6
votes
2answers
2k views

How do I read the Attack line on power cards in D&D 4e?

I've just recently started playing D&D 4e through the Red Box, and I am confused about how to fill in the power cards. So, take Nimbus of Holy Shielding for instance. I understand the Target and ...
12
votes
3answers
539 views

Role playing with powers, solely for the effect without damage

Certain abilities have very interesting effects, but are accompanied by damage. In combat, this is no problem. But say you want to use the ability outside of combat, for role-playing reasons. Can you ...
7
votes
1answer
205 views

When does a power count as an attack?

I thought it was pretty simple: a power's an attack if it says Attack in the top right. Apparently, it's not that simple. I keep hearing there are other conditions a power must fulfil to count ...
6
votes
4answers
341 views

How do I work Powers into Skill Challenges?

I am a rather new DM (returning after 18 years) and I had a question about running a Skill Challenge called "Give it Back". The party was chasing a thief through the market and the mage said "I'm ...
8
votes
2answers
13k views

How many powers do I get as a first level character in D&D 4E?

I can't seem to figure out how many powers I get. Is it one of each type of the level I'm at? I'm starting at level one, so I get one at-will, one encounter, and one daily? The recommended builds ...
14
votes
2answers
971 views

Sustaining a power and readied actions: what happens?

This came up today at our gaming session. I was sustaining a Wall of Fire with my minor actions. The enemy was out of sight and I readied an action to Thunderwave them into the Wall of Fire if they ...
12
votes
2answers
388 views

Inhuman Strength vs. +5 Might

I have been reading Your Story and Our World, trying to figure certain things out. One of the things I am stumped over is how stats work in this system. I am not sure if this is intentional or not, ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Dungeons and Dragons 4e character take D&D Essentials class powers?

Either by retraining or gaining a level, can a old-school D&D 4e character take the daily, encounter, utility, or at-will powers listed in the Essentials materials? For example, the Essentials' ...
11
votes
1answer
397 views

Can the Pixie's Teleport Trick make you invincible?

Pixie Teleport Trick (Heroes of the Feywild page 33) Daily: Teleportation Minor Action, Personal Effect: Until the end of the encounter, whenever an enemy attacks you, you can use an ...
7
votes
1answer
138 views

Is there an item that prevents expending a power on a miss?

I know that some powers have the Reliable Keyword. Is there an item that prevents me from expending a power on a miss? I've read my share of books, but it is just too many books.
7
votes
1answer
449 views

What can a player do to force down a flying creature?

Dakeyras' answer in this thread got me thinking about how a player would/could counter an enemy that used hovering flight to its full advantage. What specific items/powers/etc. can a character use to ...
7
votes
1answer
344 views

Are the effects of a power applied in an “atomic” mode?

Are the effects of a power applied in an "atomic" mode, i.e. all at once, or are they sequentially applied ? So for example, the power says … "does 1W + Int damage and pushes the target one square" ...
6
votes
1answer
310 views

Does Punishing Eye count as an attack?

The last time I played my Artificer I used Punishing Eye and Spike Wire on a boss and waited for my ally's attack. First, my ally's attack got my Wis modifier for an attack, then the Eye triggered ...
5
votes
2answers
251 views

Are the powers listed only in the Red Box available to use or deliberately removed?

I don't see Poised Strike and Stone Blood in any books other than the 4e Red Box. I believe there are quite a few others (listed below). Why weren't these added into the 4e PHB or other 'essentials' ...
5
votes
1answer
841 views

Do certain powers gain or lose keywords depending on usage?

Blazing Starfall is a Sorcerer power that, in its power description, includes the Fire keyword. However, the Fire keyword is apparently inherited from a zone effect that is only available when the ...
3
votes
1answer
213 views

How do Hybrid Warlocks get Eldritch Blast?

I may be reading this wrong but with the hybrid rules in PHB3 it doesn't seem to say that a Hybrid Warlock does or does not get Eldritch Blast which in PHB1 it says all Warlocks have. Does this ...
3
votes
1answer
615 views

When a Wizard learns a non-spell power, do they learn two?

Playing my first campaign of 4e, I discovered Skill Powers in the Player's Handbook 3. Per the PHB 3: Whenever you reach a level that grants you a utility power from your class, you can choose a ...
2
votes
1answer
669 views

Do class and race abilities count against your at-will/encounter powers?

At first level, you know 2 at wills, 1 encounter, and 1 daily power. Let's say I'm a Tiefling Wizard. I have an racial power of "Infernal Wrath" which is an encounter power. Wizards can also learn ...