Discrete abilities of a character, typically but not always associated with combat.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

18
votes
3answers
530 views

How do you make your players see beyond their power cards?

This question is similar in intent to How do you help players not focus on the rules?, but more focused on a particular feature of D&D 4E: the power list. On today's Rule of Three's article, ...
18
votes
2answers
365 views

Can a blast hit targets vertically above the caster?

Can a blast hit targets vertically above the caster? ... trying to draw the situations in text mode ... Assuming we have a map like so ... A | B | C D | E | F G | H | I and the caster is in ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

How do I use restful healing? (using encounter powers outside of an encounter)

I'll start this question with a bit of background first... I've been playing in a new group as a Cleric. Our warrior was in a pretty bad state but survived the encounter. He was about to use 3 ...
14
votes
2answers
933 views

Sustaining a power and readied actions: what happens?

This came up today at our gaming session. I was sustaining a Wall of Fire with my minor actions. The enemy was out of sight and I readied an action to Thunderwave them into the Wall of Fire if they ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Do attacks against gelatinous cubes hit engulfed players?

I have a question about a situation happened in our last D&D 4th edition session. A gelatinous cube managed to swallow one of us and put us into troubles because almost all of our powers have as ...
13
votes
4answers
381 views

How can I keep track of Aspects and Powers?

I'm going to begin running a Dresden Files Roleplaying Game campaign in a group that has no FATE or Fudge experience (myself included); we've largely been running D&D 3.5 and 4e. What are some ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a human's bonus at-will power be psionically augmented?

The other day, I used the old character builder to print out cards for a new human battlemind. For each of the augment-able at will powers, there is a separate card created for each augment point ...
12
votes
3answers
522 views

Role playing with powers, solely for the effect without damage

Certain abilities have very interesting effects, but are accompanied by damage. In combat, this is no problem. But say you want to use the ability outside of combat, for role-playing reasons. Can you ...
12
votes
2answers
379 views

Inhuman Strength vs. +5 Might

I have been reading Your Story and Our World, trying to figure certain things out. One of the things I am stumped over is how stats work in this system. I am not sure if this is intentional or not, ...
12
votes
3answers
377 views

When does a creature “Deal Damage”?

When does a creature deal damage? A number of powers mention "deals damage" and a number mention "takes damage" and a comprehensive understanding when, exactly, "dealing damage" happens would be ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Dungeons and Dragons 4e character take D&D Essentials class powers?

Either by retraining or gaining a level, can a old-school D&D 4e character take the daily, encounter, utility, or at-will powers listed in the Essentials materials? For example, the Essentials' ...
11
votes
1answer
392 views

Can the Pixie's Teleport Trick make you invincible?

Pixie Teleport Trick (Heroes of the Feywild page 33) Daily: Teleportation Minor Action, Personal Effect: Until the end of the encounter, whenever an enemy attacks you, you can use an ...
11
votes
3answers
955 views

Does a Pacifist Healer using a non-damaging attack who crits with a magic implement… do damage? Does he have to?

Pacifist Clerics (and anyone who takes Astral Seal, for example, but there are other powers- Hymn of Resurgence, for example that do no damage) can use their magic holy symbols to augment their attack ...
10
votes
5answers
339 views

What happens to effects when their origin dies?

Character A gives a target the dazed condition until the end of character A's next turn, but character A dies before their next turn. What happens to the dazed condition? When does it last until now? ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

How do I build an 4e essentials character?

I'm having trouble interpreting the 4th Edition Essentials books. How do I determine how many powers a level 1 paladin/cavalier gets? The book never comes out and says it. With skills and feats, it's ...
10
votes
3answers
938 views

What powers do deities gain from believers?

In the (A)D&D multiverse, when a deity gains believers, he/she/it also gains power. But how much might is gained as the number of followers increases? As an example, when Elan's puppet deity has ...
10
votes
1answer
354 views

Monk and Swift Flight

The monk power Swift Flight [ddi] states You fly a number of squares equal to your speed + your Wisdom modifier. If you don’t land at the end of this movement, you fall. Can a monk fly these ...
9
votes
1answer
262 views

Does a creature take damage from Wall of Fire if it is moved before its turn?

Here's the scenario: A wizard is separated in initiative order from his target by one or more creatures/PCs. The wizard creates a Wall of Fire which occupies the space of his target creature. Prior ...
9
votes
2answers
303 views

How can I turn invisible?

I'm learning DFRPG, having no prior experience with the FATE system. One thing I really like is the idea that we can --and should-- create our own stunts and powers... but I'm not sure I've really got ...
8
votes
4answers
3k views

Is it fair to make all Encounter/Daily powers Reliable in D&D 4e?

There's a D&D 4e variant rule where all powers are Reliable, meaning you don't lose your Encounter/Daily powers if they miss. If a power has an effect on a miss, you may either accept the miss ...
8
votes
2answers
12k views

How many powers do I get as a first level character in D&D 4E?

I can't seem to figure out how many powers I get. Is it one of each type of the level I'm at? I'm starting at level one, so I get one at-will, one encounter, and one daily? The recommended builds ...
8
votes
2answers
328 views

Forced Movement: Can a Halfling really pull a Dragon?

One of my PCs is a Druid with "Thorn Whip". In our last session, he used it on a wall-mounted magic Turret Trap. Since the Power says "Pull the Target 2 squares", I ruled that he just ripped it out of ...
8
votes
3answers
372 views

Do creatures take falling damage after Hurl Into Heaven?

Hurl Into Heaven allows you to fling a creature 5 to 50 feet into the air, where it will remain until the start of your next turn. At that point, "the target drops to the ground ... taking 3d10 + ...
8
votes
1answer
262 views

Does the Direct The Strike power provoke OA?

Does using the Warlord's Direct The Strike power provoke opportunity attacks? It is a Ranged 5 power with only the Martial keyword (not an Implement or Weapon attack). It seems to me like it should ...
8
votes
1answer
194 views

Rogue's Tumble PHB vs HotFL

Which version of Tumble is correct? The powers are exactly the same Level 2 Utility, Encounter, Req. Acrobatics training. The difference is in the effect. Player's Handbook (PHB) ~ Effect:You can ...
7
votes
6answers
250 views

What are good techniques help remember the interrupts of DND 4e monsters?

For new and experienced 4e DM's alike, a recurring challenge is activating all of the appropriate interrupt powers on monster sheets. It gets really easy to miss something when solo monsters can have ...
7
votes
1answer
435 views

What can a player do to force down a flying creature?

Dakeyras' answer in this thread got me thinking about how a player would/could counter an enemy that used hovering flight to its full advantage. What specific items/powers/etc. can a character use to ...
7
votes
1answer
387 views

Can a Hypnotism target be forced to move before its attack?

I have just created a Wizard (Mage) who specializes in enchantment. I have a question about the Hypnotism spell.. The power states that the target creature can be forced to attack another enemy ...
7
votes
1answer
886 views

In D&D 4e, does the half-elf get an extra encounter power, or does his race power take the place of his class power?

The half-elf gets a racial power that lets him take an at-will from a class not his own and make it an encounter power. Does that mean it replaces his class encounter power or that he gets an ...
7
votes
1answer
260 views

Do burst/close burst attacks “splash” around corners?

I know that blasts require LoS in 4e and that bursts require line of effect between the target square and the creature using the power but one my players asked if a burst would hit diagonally around a ...
7
votes
2answers
386 views

Does the damage caused by Wall of Fire get the implement bonus when a creature walks into it?

Our wizard cast a Wall Of Fire which is an implement power. Does the damage that is caused when a creature starts their turn adjacent to or in the wall of fire get to add the implement's ...
7
votes
1answer
479 views

Can multiple abilities be used at once if they have a shared prerequisite?

Greater Vital Strike, Spirited Charge, and Unstoppable Strike (19th level Weapon Master). Or Greater Vital Strike, Greater Power Attack, Piledriver, and Overhand chop. Do these all work at once or ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Monk use a Full Discipline move without the attack?

One of my players in my 4e game is playing a monk. He opted to use two move actions in one turn. He used the move action of one of his Full Discipline powers - such as the power Crane's Wings - twice ...
7
votes
1answer
134 views

Is there an item that prevents expending a power on a miss?

I know that some powers have the Reliable Keyword. Is there an item that prevents me from expending a power on a miss? I've read my share of books, but it is just too many books.
7
votes
1answer
202 views

When does a power count as an attack?

I thought it was pretty simple: a power's an attack if it says Attack in the top right. Apparently, it's not that simple. I keep hearing there are other conditions a power must fulfil to count ...
7
votes
1answer
338 views

Are the effects of a power applied in an “atomic” mode?

Are the effects of a power applied in an "atomic" mode, i.e. all at once, or are they sequentially applied ? So for example, the power says … "does 1W + Int damage and pushes the target one square" ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

How do I read the Attack line on power cards in D&D 4e?

I've just recently started playing D&D 4e through the Red Box, and I am confused about how to fill in the power cards. So, take Nimbus of Holy Shielding for instance. I understand the Target and ...
6
votes
5answers
229 views

How does 'Warp in the Weave' interact with moveable area-effects?

The level 6 Arcana utility power 'Warp in the Weave' (Dragon #385, p79) reads as follows: Trigger: A creature uses a burst or blast power that includes you. Effect: You spend a healing surge ...
6
votes
4answers
341 views

How do I work Powers into Skill Challenges?

I am a rather new DM (returning after 18 years) and I had a question about running a Skill Challenge called "Give it Back". The party was chasing a thief through the market and the mage said "I'm ...
6
votes
1answer
654 views

How can a Warlord gain an at-will power that pushes?

I know you can multiclass, but that gives you another class's at-will power as an encounter power. I'm looking for an at-will attack that also pushes, but I'm playing a Warlord and they don't have ...
6
votes
2answers
398 views

What class pairs well with a fighter in 4e?

We're getting ever closer to our 4e game and have begun to hash out backgrounds. Much like in Fire Emblem (yes I do pretty much decide all of what I want to do based on video games) I really want my ...
6
votes
4answers
424 views

How long does True Shapeshifting take in Dresden Files?

There are a bunch of powers labeled "Shapeshifting" in dresden files, and in general they are pretty easy to understand and use. It even mentions that, unless otherwise mentioned, shapeshifting is a ...
6
votes
1answer
152 views

Will Death's Resurgence prevent death?

Looking at the Swordmage/19 power Death's Resurgence: Immediate Interrupt Target: Each enemy in burst Trigger: You become bloodied or brought to 0 or fewer hit points. Hit: some damage ...
6
votes
5answers
868 views

Can powers grant summoned creatures a “Basic Attack”?

Can powers that grant a basic attack, like many of the Warlord powers, be used to grant an attack to a summoned creature? If so, what does the summoned creature use for its basic attack? Inspired by ...
6
votes
3answers
201 views

Do Weapon of the Gods and Seldarine Dedicate form a combo?

I think I just discovered a combo for a cleric, but I'm not sure if it actually works. Weapon of the Gods (PHB) is a daily which allows you to do an extra 1d6 radiant when you make an attack with ...
6
votes
1answer
242 views

Using the Shadow Jack encounter power, do I get an opportunity attack?

My assassin has an encounter power called Shadow Jack, it reads like this: Hit: 2[W] + Dexterity modifier damage, and you shift 1 square into the target’s space and remain there until the start of ...
6
votes
1answer
132 views

Does a target affected by font of radiance get to save before it takes damage?

Font of Radiance Epic Tier Prerequisite: 21st level Benefit: When you score a critical hit with a power that has the radiant keyword, the target begins to glow brightly (save ends). ...
6
votes
1answer
234 views

Rangers making attacks with different melee weapons?

I'm somewhat confused by the Ranger class attack powers from the Player's Handbook. Many powers require the player to wield two melee weapons. What's bothering me is the damage: the book says the ...
6
votes
1answer
293 views

Does Punishing Eye count as an attack?

The last time I played my Artificer I used Punishing Eye and Spike Wire on a boss and waited for my ally's attack. First, my ally's attack got my Wis modifier for an attack, then the Eye triggered ...
6
votes
1answer
172 views

Can a power with “target: one creature” be used on an empty square in an attempt to hit a hidden creature?

Say that I'm in the midst of a battle, and I know that there's an Invisible and Hidden creature somewhere. Am I allowed to use a power that says "Target: One creature" on a random square in an attempt ...