In D&D 3.0 and related editions, a prestige class is a class that a player can take in addition to their starting class, to expand the options their character has or to specialize in certain aspects of said class.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

6
votes
3answers
96 views

How do bloodlines work with prestige classes that increase another class's caster level?

Unearthed Arcana on Bloodline Levels says A bloodline level grants no increase in base attack bonus or base save bonuses, no hit points or skill points, and no class features. It counts as a ...
3
votes
2answers
289 views

When I level up as a prestige class, do I gain the bonus of both my core class and my prestige class?

If I am a prestige class, does leveling up give me skills from both my prestige class and my core class? i.e. If I am a rogue who wants to be a shadowdancer, does leveling up to level six give me ...
5
votes
3answers
249 views

How can I assume a larger alternate form?

The Weretouched Master prestige class from Eberron Campaign Setting and the Primeval prestige class from Frostburn have a size limit restriction on your alternate form. I'm wondering if there's any ...
5
votes
1answer
51 views

What types of healing does Aspect of Healing affect?

The Singer of Concordance Prestige Class has a class feature that reads Aspect of Healing (Su): At 6th level, you become able to call upon your sphere's aspect of healing. This aspect is always ...
2
votes
0answers
41 views

Best suited PrC? [closed]

I'm creating a Direlock and am thinking of going for a PrC, Could someone tell me some suggestions that would be best suited to a Direlock? I'm thinking of doing Shadowdancer, but I'd like others ...
4
votes
1answer
104 views

Is the bonus domain of the Contemplative class restricted?

I have a D&D 3.5e cleric who is lawful good and has no patron deity, but still meets all of the prerequisites for the Contemplative prestige class (Complete Divine) by grace of having: had ...
4
votes
3answers
431 views

How can I get the spell Shield for a Bard without losing BAB?

Recently we helped a friend in our group to convert his AD&D human bard to 3.5. That AD&D-bard had a good share of fighter levels so our friend wanted to get a character able to fight. We ...
6
votes
2answers
186 views

Can a Cancer Mage use both its Touch Attacks?

Cancer Mages (from The Book of Vile Darkness) gain these two abilities: Contagion: ... The touch of a cancer mage carries a contagion spell ... Poison: ... the touch of a cancer mage carries ...
1
vote
1answer
135 views

Is it possible for a Cleric to catch up on spell levels not gained because of a prestige class?

I am currently looking to build a Cleric of Kossuth with levels in Elemental Savant (Complete Arcane, p.22). They got some neat tricks that I would love to integrate into my character. However, the ...
4
votes
2answers
224 views

How does leveling up a spellcaster after a prestige class that advanced spell casting ability work?

I am playing Pathfinder and interested in taking the Dragon Disciple (DD) prestige class for my Sorcerer (with a draconic bloodline). I understand that as the DD levels up the spell casting abilities ...
7
votes
1answer
73 views

How long does Weapon Aptitude (Warblade class feature) last?

The Warblade class feature "Weapon Aptitude" permits transfering weapon specific feats to another weapon. The description reads: You also have the flexibility to adjust your weapon training. Each ...
1
vote
1answer
97 views

About church inquisitor caster level 3.5E

So me and my group just finished our first dungeon, and I play a cleric. I'm now at level 4, and I just upgraded to a prestige class that I fit, Church Inquisitor, because it seemed easy to acquire ...
5
votes
3answers
124 views

Does a Master Alchemist allow an Alchemist Savant brew 9th level Universal Potions?

Regarding a build mentioned in KRyan's answer to a question: Does a Master Alchemist's... Brew Potion (9th): As Brew Potion (4th), except that the master alchemist can brew potions of 9th-level ...
2
votes
1answer
317 views

Do prestige class levels advance an Ardent's number of mantles assumed?

Let's say I'm a level 7 Ardent/4 Ectopic Adept. That combination makes me, for all intents and purposes, a level 10 Ardent when it comes to manifesting powers. Would I, at that level, assume my 5th ...
3
votes
1answer
111 views

Nar Demonbinder & Ultimate Magus - How do they interact?

I have an Incantatrix and I am interested in getting the build Wizard 5/Incantatrix 3/Nar Demonbinder 1/Ultimate Magus 10/Incantatrix 4 as suggested in the famous Ultimate Magus Handbook However, I ...
1
vote
0answers
56 views

What happens when you swap out a required feature to get into a PrC? [duplicate]

Say a Human Warlock-6/Mindbender-1 was to gain another level in Warlock and decided to swap out his Charm invocation (required for Mindbender entry) for the Flee the Scene invocation. Is this a legal ...
9
votes
5answers
1k views

What happens if a Rainbow Servant takes levels in Mystic Theurge?

When a Rainbow Servant hits level 10 they gain access to all nondomain Cleric spells. All spells that do not appear on any other spell list they have are cast as Divine spells. This means that, if ...
1
vote
1answer
161 views

Are Psychics arcane casters? Can they prestige into Dragon Disciples and do they suffer Spell Failure?

Nowhere on the Psychic section does it state that Psychics are arcane or divine casters. As such, it's not clear if they suffer spell failure, let alone whether or not they can prestige into Dragon ...
8
votes
5answers
8k views

Where can I find a list of Monk Prestige Classes?

I have been looking all over for a comprehensive list of prestige classes either specifically meant for the monks or ones that synergize extremely well with them. Does such a list exist or do I ...
1
vote
1answer
196 views

What changes when an Alienist becomes an outsider?

When a character becomes a 10th level Alienist (prestige class), the following change is said to occur (emphasis mine): Alien Transcendence (Su): A 10th-level alienist, because of long ...
2
votes
2answers
268 views

Can a chameleon qualify for blighter?

An ex-druid 1 / chameleon (Races of Destiny) wants to take levels in blighter (Complete Divine). Can he?
2
votes
3answers
6k views

Questions about an Arcane/Divine combo build

I had an idea for a character that was multiclass Wizard/Archivist(Heroes of Horror) with Prestige levels in Mystic Theurge. However, upon further examination of the Mystic Theurge class, I noticed a ...
5
votes
2answers
3k views

Is the Dweomerkeeper unacceptably powerful thanks to Supernatural Spell?

The Dweomerkeeper 3.5e prestige class (Complete Divine rulebook official web enhancement) provides multiple uses of "Supernatural Spell (Su)" per day as escalating benefits for class progression up to ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

How much does a large monstrous spider weigh?

The first spider shape an Arachnomancer gets will be a small, medium, and large monstrous spider. Let's just talk about large size for the sake of argument. According to a National Geographic ...
2
votes
1answer
182 views

Can Technomancer progress two arcane casting classes at once?

So I am planning out my character for the next AP my group is doing. We decided upon "Iron Gods" so naturally I want to make a Technomancer. So looking around I found the "Spell Slinger" Wizard ...
4
votes
2answers
720 views

Does a Combat Medic's Evasion Work Exactly as a Monk's Evasion?

Evasion granted by the Combat Medic prestige class states: Evasion (Ex): Beginning at 4th level, you can avoid damage from certain attacks with a successful Reflex save. See the monk class ...
6
votes
1answer
99 views

Can a planar shepherd take on the Special Qualities of a pit fiend?

Does a Druid 8/Planar Shepherd 10 who uses Wild Shape to become a pit fiend take on Special Qualities like DR 15/good-and-silver Darkvision 60 ft. See in darkness Immunity to fire and poison ...
5
votes
3answers
4k views

Soulknife vs Soulbow

On one hand, we have the Soulknife, who is able to conjure blade weaponry at will and throw them for ranged attacks. On the other, we have the Soulbow, which specializes in throwing attacks, but uses ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Is the Cancer Mage overpowered?

I am running a D&D 3.5 campaign, and a player wants to go for the Cancer Mage prestige class in the Book of Vile Darkness. Is this prestige class overpowered, as defined in this question?
5
votes
1answer
188 views

Can the Fatespinner's Spin Fate ability be used after the target roll is made?

In 3.5 the Fatespinner prestige class has the ability Spin Fate: as a free action a Fatespinner can add a point or more of DC to one spell. Can this be done after the target's save roll or must it be ...
1
vote
1answer
74 views

Can other Shifters enter Weretouched Master?

The Weretouched Master is supposed to be designed for shifters of any bloodline right? So why are Bear, Boar, Rat, Tiger, Wolf and Wolverine the only bloodlines with listed info.? Shifters are ...
7
votes
3answers
759 views

What prestige classes include the Class Feature of “+1 level of existing class features”?

I'm looking for prestige classes from D&D 3e or 3.5e that have a class feature of providing "+1 level of existing class features". I currently know of Uncanny Trickster (CS) and Legacy Champion ...
4
votes
1answer
290 views

Does this rend deal damage equal to double the creature's Strength modifier?

When a black blood cultist (Champions of Ruin 44-8) gains the special ability feral rage at level 1 that ability says that he gains two claw attacks at your highest base attack bonus. Each claw ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

What bloodline should I choose for a character I want to turn into an arcane trickster?

I've just started playing Pathfinder, and I have a 1st level gnome rogue. I decided early on that I wanted to eventually go the route of an arcane trickster, so my good attributes are DEX and CHA, ...
4
votes
1answer
184 views

Ultimate Magus Question (3.5)

I'm making a Beguiler 1/Wizard 4/Ultimate Magus X. Using the practiced spellcaster feat, I can make sure that levels 1 and 4 of UM count towards my wizard class. However, at level 7 of UM, the ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

How to get early entry into mystic theurge?

I've heard there is some "cheese" that would allow you to enter mystic theurge without going wizard 3 / cleric 3: how do you do that? What is the earliest you can enter the class?
-5
votes
1answer
129 views

Where do I find prestige classes?

I have several PrCs that I want to try but I don't know what books/expansions they are in. Can you please tell me? I would like to try Shadowdancer, Airship Pilot, Arcane Drummer, and Gunslinger.
1
vote
0answers
118 views

Would this custom prestige class be balanced? (arcane battlesmith that cannot cast) [closed]

I've been a DM for a year now. lately, one of my players asked me if there was a way to make magical weapons/armor without being able to use magic... as far as i know, you can't. Craft Magic Arms and ...
14
votes
3answers
2k views

Do you lose your prestige class features when you no longer meet its requirements?

Certain prestige classes detail a list of requirements that are possible for the player to lose (alignment, casting at a certain level), but not what happens if you no longer meet those requirements ...
3
votes
1answer
124 views

Can you take a second real level of Ur-Priest?

Ur-priest has as a prerequisite an inability to cast divine spells. It also grants divine spells. The first level's fine, because you don't necessarily have spells yet, but every level after that ...
4
votes
1answer
160 views

How Does Bone Knight's Paladin Conversion Interact with Paladin of Tyranny

I was wondering what rulings there are on how the Bone Knight's Paladin Conversion ability interacts with the Paladin of Tyranny? It would seem that the class had the PHB Paladin in mind during the ...
2
votes
1answer
112 views

How does a “theurge” prestige class mix with another spellcasting prestige class? [duplicate]

Scenario: Given a Cleric 1 / Wizard 4 / Ur-Priest 2 (character level 7). This character has both arcane and divine spellcasting and is assumed to meet the requirements for Mystic Theurge. Takes 8 ...
0
votes
0answers
31 views

When gaining a level of Mystic Theurge based on a Wizard, does the character gain 2 new Wizard spells? [duplicate]

On advancing a level of Mystic Theurge wherein the base arcane class is Wizard, does the advancement of "+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class" include the 2 additional new spells a Wizard ...
2
votes
2answers
99 views

How does the Stormcaster's Storm Spell Power ability work?

I am currently in a campaign as a wizard who specializes in lightning descriptor spells. I dipped into Stormcaster for flavor and its Storm Spell Power extraordinary ability. I stumbled across Born of ...
3
votes
1answer
584 views

What's up with the Siberys dragonmark?

Besides taking at least two levels in the prestige class heir of Siberys (Eberron Campaign Setting 80-2), is there another method of gaining a Siberys dragonmark? For the purpose of meeting a feat's ...
1
vote
3answers
323 views

Taking a level in Airship Pilot instead of level 3 Rogue

I'm a 1st level Rogue in 3.5e. Instead of taking 3rd level Rogue, I want to take a level of Airship Pilot. I'll be playing Sky Pirate style captain. I know that the prerequisites are challenging for a ...
7
votes
3answers
725 views

Once you take a Prestige Class, can you advance your base class later?

Okay, so here is the situation. I have a lvl 4 Rogue/lvl 3 Fighter/lvl 2 Shadowblade character, which is all fine and well. But I am curious if I can take my next level in Rogue or Fighter or if, ...
4
votes
1answer
409 views

Where is the Swiftblade PrC and what are its requirements?

I'm a level 1 rogue playing 3.5. My DM said I could multiclass at level 3. I want to multiclass as a swiftblade, but I need more details. What expansion is it part of and what are the requirements?
6
votes
1answer
571 views

Is it possible to take a prestige class level 1?

I would like to take levels in Forsaker (we're importing it from 3.0) and the only requirements are Feats: Great Fortitude , Iron Will , Lightning Reflexes If I take those feats at level 1, can ...
0
votes
1answer
107 views

Arcane Archer “within range”

I was reading the arcane archer class because of another post, and while reading the abilities it kept referring to using them "within range". How do they define within range? Clearly the weapon focus ...