Questions about rulings when a character is prone on the ground: standing up, attacking and defending, and other maneuvers.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

8
votes
1answer
197 views

Can an enemy creature who is grabbed and prone escape?

A PC in my campaign has an enemy grabbed and prone and is attempting to drown them. It's the enemy's turn. Can the enemy escape while grabbed? If so can he shift while prone if he succeeds on an ...
4
votes
3answers
946 views

How can I take advantage of intentionally going prone?

Being in the prone position has some advantages. You're harder to hit with melee and ranged attacks. But what is considered prone for D&D 4th ed. My rogue uses hand cross-bows. So could he go ...
10
votes
2answers
242 views

Does a creature have to make a saving throw after being knocked prone?

We know that you -can- willingly go prone as a minor action, but we're unsure as to the mechanics of recovering from it. Does it matter if you are knocked prone or willingly make yourself prone? And ...
9
votes
1answer
302 views

Flying straight from prone

I had a dragon that was knocked prone, but the handbooks are very vague about the rules regarding flight. If the dragon has move 10 fly(hover) 10 could a dragon simply fly from prone position, or must ...
6
votes
1answer
319 views

Can a flying creature with Hover be knocked prone?

If a creature is flying and has the Hover keyword, what happens to it when an attack power inflicts the prone condition on it? (created to discuss the issue as raised in Would flying monsters ever ...
5
votes
1answer
346 views

Does a proning opportunity attack end movement in the square a creature was moving from?

For the party I DM for, one of the Minotaur players has an nearly absurd (judgement call) feat called Opportunity Gore. Opportunity Gore lets a Minotaur use his racial power Goring Charge over and ...
7
votes
1answer
269 views

What happens to a target you are grabbing when you are knocked prone?

One of my PCs grabbed someone with a garrote and was knocked prone shortly afterwards. What would happen to the grabbed target? Would he be let go (it was a human), would he get knocked prone as well ...
15
votes
2answers
664 views

If a power says 'move your speed', what happens while I'm prone?

I want to use the Battlemind At-Will power Lightning Rush [ddi], PHB3 p49, while I am prone, with a normal speed of 6, with an enemy that is 6 squares away, one that is 3 squares away, and one that is ...
3
votes
1answer
584 views

Does being prone affect your Combat Maneuver Defense (CMD)?

When a character is prone, is their CMD penalized?
16
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a prone immobilized creature stand up?

If I knock a creature prone and also manage to immobilize it (or if I prone an immobilized creature of I immobilize a prone creature) can it stand up on its next turn? Put simple: Can I stand up from ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

If a flying or hovering creature is knocked prone, does it still have to stand?

A creature like the Bloodkiss beholder hovers and flies 6. If a rogue knocks this creature prone with a jumping blade assault, does the creature still have to stand? Does knocking a flying or prone ...
8
votes
3answers
783 views

Does a Flaming Sphere gain combat advantage with its initial attack against a prone enemy?

Daily ✦ Arcane, Conjuration, Fire, Implement Standard Action Ranged 10 Flame Sphere: Effect: You conjure a Medium flaming sphere that occupies a square within range, and the sphere ...
10
votes
3answers
782 views

If a prone creature teleports can it stand as part of that move action?

I can't find anything in the PHB about how teleporting affects prone creatures. Teleporting automatically ends the restrained condition, I wonder if it also can end the prone condition. Can a prone ...
8
votes
2answers
597 views

Can a prone ally be used to flank an enemy?

If a prone ally is on the opposite side of a creature than another standing ally, does the prone ally allow the standing ally to gain combat advantage? Can the prone ally also gain combat advantage ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

When a creature is prone, can it make opportunity attacks?

If a creature is knocked prone, can it still make opportunity attacks?
8
votes
2answers
383 views

Can the Sorcerer use 'Lightning Shift' while prone?

Lightning Shift is a 6th Level Sorcerer Utility Encounter Power that is a move action. Effect: You shift your speed. You ignore difficult terrain during the shift. If the sorcerer is ...
7
votes
3answers
403 views

Does a prone creature grant cover to its allies against ranged attacks?

It seems like it's a no-brainer that against ranged attacks, prone creatures would not provide cover to allies, but I don't see any specific rules about it. Also I guess you could argue that larger ...