1
vote
1answer
98 views

Using a Readied Action to avoid Opportunity Attacks

In 4E, combatants can't take Opportunity Actions (OAs) and Immediate Actions (IAs) on their own turn. Some Defenders function by getting to make OAs or IAs whenever the enemy attacks or shifts. This ...
4
votes
2answers
83 views

Do readied actions dissappear when falling unconscious?

Suppose I've readied an action to attack a minion, and then I was damaged below 0hp and fell unconscious. On the next turn I was healed. Do I still have the readied action to hit the minion or did it ...
4
votes
3answers
266 views

Using a readied action to manifest an opportunity attack or action by interrupting movement

Below I will present two similar scenarios in which I would like to use a readied action to interrupt an enemy's movement, with the specific goal of provoking an opportunity attack from that enemy ...
10
votes
1answer
147 views

What's the result when a Readied Action is triggered by another Readied Action?

Suppose two PCs both ready actions, and the triggering conditions are such that one PC's readied action is triggered by the second PC's readied action. What's the resulting initiative order if the ...
13
votes
3answers
470 views

Immobilized creature doesn't want to pay; can he charge instead?

Here is the situation that has come up often in our group: A creature is immobilized(save ends) at the start of its turn. As no enemies are adjacent, its options are limited. The creature readies a ...
14
votes
4answers
521 views

Readying an action before combat

Suppose the party suspects that combat is imminent, and some of the PCs ready actions (attack nearest hostile creature, attack first thing that moves). Then combat erupts. Some of the PCs are ...
9
votes
1answer
278 views

How does a readied action triggered on movement adjacent to an ally work when an enemy charges?

A readied action is an Immediate Reaction. A charge is a movement with an attack at the end. Suppose the following case: A PC charged with protecting his party's wizard does not want to move away ...
10
votes
1answer
295 views

Does readying an encounter or daily power expend it automatically?

Question: If I ready a daily or encounter power to trigger on a certain condition. Such as the fighter power Sweeping Blow with a condition such as to trigger when 3 or more enemies are adjacent to ...
12
votes
2answers
356 views

If a readied ranged attack action is used against the appearance of a burrowing creature, does the attack provoke an attack of opportunity?

In a recent D&D 4e session the characters readied an action, with the condition being the appearance of a burrowing creature from the ground. Suddenly the creature burst from the ground in front ...
14
votes
2answers
972 views

Sustaining a power and readied actions: what happens?

This came up today at our gaming session. I was sustaining a Wall of Fire with my minor actions. The enemy was out of sight and I readied an action to Thunderwave them into the Wall of Fire if they ...