Set in the universe of Warhammer 40K, players take on the role of a ships captain and crew.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

7
votes
1answer
146 views

Is a 10% bonus the same as a +10 bonus?

Some skills have 10% bonus, most have +10. Also, in the character sheet, the skills have a checkbox for "basic" "trained" and +10%/+20%... skills can either be untrained, trained, +10 or +20. So... is ...
3
votes
0answers
48 views

Is a damage die replaced by the DoS if they are higher than that roll?

I'm using Wolph42's framework for RT, and on the settings there's an option to turn that rule on or off. In that option's description it states that it's rules as written for all FFG40k systems except ...
4
votes
2answers
200 views

Does Polyglot cover Secret Tongues?

From Rogue Trader p. 104: "Polyglot: The Explorer has an innate ability to derive meaning from unknown languages and make himself understood using this intuitive grasp. He treats all languages ...
8
votes
1answer
97 views

What is the Strength of a Landing Bay?

In Rogue Trader's Battlefield Koronus book, page 36, it indicates that "a Landing Bay comes equipped with one squadron per point of strength". While it indicates clearly what a squadron can entail, it ...
7
votes
1answer
103 views

Can an Astropath Trascendent use or burn a Fate Point to save himself from a 100 roll of Perils of the Warp

The worst thing that can happen to a Psyker in Rogue Trader is to roll in the Perils of the Warp table. Among them, the 100 roll states: 100 Destruction: The psyker is immediately and irrevocably ...
5
votes
1answer
116 views

Are there any skills that actually cannot be gained via the Press-Ganged origin path?

The Press-Ganged origin path in the Core Rulebook reads (emphasis mine): Thanks to your shadowed past, you have picked up some knowledge along the way that you would not normally have access to. ...
2
votes
2answers
103 views

Can a Space Combat action get more than +60 bonus?

The rules describing "normal" combat say If a situation calls for two or more bonuses or penalties, simply combine all modifiers together and apply the total to the appropriate Characteristic. ...
1
vote
1answer
59 views

Can you stack Disinformation bonuses?

Disinformation The character makes a Difficult (–10) Deceive or Blather Test. If he succeeds, he can increase the crew’s Morale by 1d5 for every degree of success for the duration of the ...
3
votes
1answer
116 views

How many Ship Roles can one character cover?

In the book Into the Storm for Rogue Trader, on page 225, Ship Roles are introduced. There is a lot of overlap between different roles, and I'm wondering how many roles can a single character have? Is ...
5
votes
1answer
616 views

Whose skull should/could I use?

Being a Tech Priest in the Dark Heresy/Rogue Trader universe, my (personal) first and foremost need is to accrue Servo Skulls. I have already acquired one, and I am already lining up plans for ...
3
votes
2answers
380 views

How are Attacks of Opportunity and Reactions explained in Narrative Time?

I'm not sure if the title is clear. I'll try my best to explain this problem. In Pathfinder, when an enemy moves out of a square within your melee reach, you can perform an Attack of Opportunity ...
1
vote
1answer
45 views

When can a starship fire its weapons before making a maneuver action?

Starship combat in Rogue Trader works like this: Actions During each Strategic Round, each ship receives one Strategic Turn. Like regular combat, each ship can perform Actions during this ...
3
votes
1answer
166 views

What weapon training is required to fire ship weapons?

When fighting against other ships, you must make a Ballistic Skill test to shoot your ship's weapons. Do these weapons require any sort of training? None of the "Weapon traning skills" mention ...
4
votes
3answers
303 views

How easy is it to create a Space Marine?

After finding a dead Deathwatch Space Marine aboard a derelict Inquisitor Space Hulk that was wiped from all records by the Inquisition due to Heresy and Chaos involvement and doing little more than ...
2
votes
1answer
77 views

Just how involved are Explorators in their surroundings? [closed]

Tech Priests would not give the time of day to another fleshling if it had nothing to do with anything mechanical, electrical, or remotely linked to the Machine God. However, Explorators seem to be a ...
1
vote
1answer
96 views

How can I make sure my minion stays in my control?

So, following up a question determining whether or not a Servo Skull had any sentience, (which after talking to the DM and accruing quite a few insanity points determined that in this case, he would ...
2
votes
1answer
66 views

What penalties does Sensory Deprivation apply?

Description of the ability: The psyker has learned how to block the messages of the target’s senses. The psyker makes an Opposed Willpower Test against the target. If he succeeds, the target ...
10
votes
2answers
321 views

Is a Servo Skull still “alive”?

So I have recently come into the acquisition of my first Servo Skull (yay!), which is actually the skull of one of our other comrades. To be specific it's the skull of a Psyker who fried himself with ...
6
votes
1answer
737 views

What makes a Servo Skull fly?

I was having a discussion about how many attachments a single servo skull could carry, and the topic led onto how a Servo Skull actually stayed afloat. One theory was that it used a jet-based ...
4
votes
2answers
215 views

Does corruption affect the choices you make?

We have begun to take a trip into the mind of our Rogue Trader, and in his self-discovery, he has quite plainly taken the path of Chaos, and is taking corruption points by the handful (took 30 in one ...
1
vote
1answer
176 views

What causes intoxication for Dark Eldar?

Ok so in our adventures, I found a Flask of unknown contents. Long story short: wanted to know what was in it, so I put a bit in the Dark Eldar's food, next thing we know, he's passed out cold from ...
5
votes
2answers
478 views

What should we do with a player who can't deal with a tough decision and has brought the game to a halt?

One of our players (Bob) is in turmoil over what should be done with the dead Deathguard with intact Gene-seed we found. The options we see are to Pawn the corpse, sell it, throw it in a dumpster. ...
1
vote
1answer
90 views

What penalties do shields have?

Shield description says "Attacks made with a shield suffer a -20 penalty" Shields also have "defensive" quality, which increases +15 to parry but attacks made by such weapons suffer -10 penalty. Do ...
0
votes
1answer
61 views

Do shield's AP stack with the player's armour AP?

The rulebook says the shield applies its AP to the arm. Do these stack with the player's armour on said location?
21
votes
10answers
3k views

How do I rein in a character's backstory without discouraging the player?

I'm planning to start a game of Rogue Trader with a number of new players that are new to RPGs. I've helped the players generate their characters and have given them a very very basic backstory to ...
3
votes
1answer
45 views

Do basic techniques and special powers count towards a discipline mastery? [duplicate]

Once a psyker has acquired 8 abilities of the same discipline he earns the discipline mastery, which gives him an extra point of psy-rating when using abilities of that discipline. The Telepathy ...
3
votes
1answer
268 views

What exactly is the goal of a Rogue Trader Game?

Dark Heresy, Deathwatch and Only War are all mission-based games to some extent, while Black Crusade has the characters making a dash for Daemonhood. But what about Rogue Trader? I couldn't really ...
1
vote
1answer
184 views

What tools can I use to help me calculate Damage in combat?

Whenever I am in combat I find it really hard to calculate the damage my NPCs receive, because it has a lot of small steps: account the damage the PC did, subtract any Pen the PC's weapon may have to ...
2
votes
2answers
234 views

How many Medicae First Aid tests can you perform in/out of combat?

Medicae has 2 special uses: First Aid and Extended Care. First aid description states: Special use: First aid The Medicae Skill performs first aid for the injured, removing a small amount of ...
3
votes
1answer
205 views

Can you use someone as a human shield?

With human shield I mean grabbing someone like this and using him as a mobile cover while you can still shoot your enemies. I thought this would be covered in the Grapple rules, but to my surprise ...
14
votes
5answers
3k views

How can I give strong weapons to enemies without the players looting them?

If I give an enemy NPC a Meltagun in combat, nothing prevents the players from taking the weapon after they kill him, which leads to the inevitable snowballing: they get stronger, I need stronger ...
5
votes
2answers
372 views

Preventing servitor spamming?

I made a similar question earlier, but I still don't quite understand how exactly do his "minions" work. Is he able to control as many servitors as his Tech-Use (intelligence bonus) allows him? How ...
4
votes
1answer
306 views

How can an Explorator acquire new minions?

How can an explorator acquire servitors/servo-skulls/etc? What requirements should he meet to turn an enemy into a servitor? (that is to capture the enemy alive, and make all the procedures required ...
3
votes
3answers
940 views

How does a psyker choose which disciplines he takes?

It's a bit confusing, because the basic abilities are obtained when a psyker has acquired a certain discipline... or what? I can't find a line that says he has to purchase anything with XP... does ...
3
votes
2answers
711 views

What XP counts to acquire new ranks? Spent XP or earned XP?

This is very important, because it can allow/prevent players from "saving" XP to spend it to buy skills from higher ranks.
3
votes
2answers
411 views

How many “pets” can an Explorator have at the same time?

The Explorator comes with a servo-skull, now he is about to recieve a Grapplehawk as a gift. Can he use them both at the same time? Furthermore, how do these work in combat? Do they roll initiative as ...
2
votes
1answer
165 views

Does the psyker have to roll for psychic phenomena every time he wants to use a psychic ability while pushing?

Or he has to roll only once, when "activating" the power? If so, he maintains the bonus psy rating until he "decativates" the ability?
4
votes
2answers
357 views

What are the limits of Telekinetic powers?

One of my players has asked me if he can use the abilities Mind Over Matter and Precision Telekinesis to do the following: -Use melee weapons at range (imagine a floating sword) -Throw grenades ...
4
votes
1answer
160 views

Mastering Telekinetic Discipline?

The book says about mastering a psychic discipline: Once a psyker has purchased 8 psychic techniques from a single Discipline, he has attained mastery of that Discipline, and the Psy Rating for all ...
3
votes
2answers
492 views

How does Sound Constitution exactly work?

The description says "Gain an additional wound", and also says that the number (which I assume is the x2, x3 number that follows the skill) means the times you have purchased the skill, so does this ...
21
votes
5answers
3k views

How to make a countdown?

How can I properly measure "ingame" time to make a countdown? I'll explain it with an example: The party encounters a small ghost ship, and they board it to investigate/salvage. When they get to the ...
3
votes
1answer
187 views

Multiple attacks, parry and actions

When fighting someone with the trait like Swift Attack/Lightning Attack (as a full action, make 2/3 attacks), does the player have to roll for each attack can he roll once for all of them? Also, how ...
5
votes
2answers
198 views

Smaller bolter patterns?

The Exlorator comes with a default "boltgun", but as it is described in the book, it is a smaller (or normal-human adapted) version of the regular bolter that the Adeptus Astartes use (which is called ...
1
vote
1answer
254 views

Using a ranged weapon in melee

In the last Rogue Trader session I ran, one of the PC's wanted to use the butt of his pistol in an attempt to 'pistol whip'. This came about because I told him that ranged weapons cannot be used in ...
1
vote
2answers
189 views

How do I adapt enemies to the current party's level?

My party is currently quite strong in combat (specially thanks to an Ogryn Arch-Militant), so it's been hard to make them sweat in combat. The "default" enemies the main corebook gives have laughable ...
2
votes
3answers
237 views

How can I implement multiclassing?

My party is composed of 4 players, a Rogue Trader, an Arch Militant, an Astropath and an Explorator. While to me this number is perfect, as it's not too much and not too few, I can see there are some ...
5
votes
1answer
361 views

Mechanicus and armor

How does exactly armor works with an Explorator? Technically, won't the implants and mechadendrites interfere with the armor? Are they able to wear it normally? (let's say, a carapace armor or such)
6
votes
1answer
383 views

Avoiding slow and boring combat

I ran my first 'mini' session as a GM yesterday for Rogue Trader. It was a 1 on 1 session designed to help both myself and one of my players to get familiar with the rules and the setting. After a ...
2
votes
1answer
258 views

How do I implement a money-based economy?

Rogue Trader uses a "Profit Value" system, which treats wealth as another characteristic and to make a purchase you have to apply modifiers and make a percentile test against your PV. The point to ...
1
vote
3answers
247 views

Ogryn's trait “Auto-stabilised” from Only War to Rogue Trader

They're identical in both books except in Rogue Trader this talent allows the player to shoot semi/full auto bursts with half action, while in Only War there is no mention to that. Which rule should ...