Interpretations and applications of rules that only take into consideration specifically what published game material states.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (2)

7
votes
3answers
3k views

How to make a dragonborn sorcerer appear to be human for 8 to 16 hours?

I am DMing a game in which the king's son is a dragonborn, born from the human king and a female shadow dragon. I need the dragonborn prince to appear human for periods of 8 to 16 hours. He has to ...
17
votes
2answers
1k views

Does 5e D&D limit the XP gain of a PC who was KO'd?

A friend of mine's character just died, and as we chatted he lamented all the bad luck he had over the course of the campaign. One thing that stuck out (other than his death being at the hands of a ...
4
votes
2answers
172 views

How can I trade the ability to speak for a bonus to sleight of hand, for a character inspired by Teller?

I'm creating a sleight of hand–based character and have drawn a fair bit of inspiration from Teller, of Penn and Teller. To further the connection, how can I trade away the ability to speak for a ...
0
votes
0answers
34 views

Does using a shield affect your ability to use the Dueling skill? [duplicate]

The rule for dueling says that you can only be using one weapon and no others to get the bonus. Dueling When you are wielding a melee weapon in one hand and no other weapons, you gain a +2 ...
3
votes
1answer
638 views

Can you farm your clones for “your” body parts?

In Pathfinder, there is the spell Spherescry that requires you to use a part of yourself as a catalyst ingredient for the sensor (at least a digit). So, If the spellcaster prepared a Clone beforehand, ...
2
votes
1answer
121 views

How many divination spells are scrying?

I saw in the Pathfinder core rule book that there are specific spells called Scrying Spells, which allow the character to observe something as if they were there. However, there are just three of such ...
2
votes
1answer
48 views

Do you have to be the ritual leader when creating an ally spirit?

Do you have to be the ritual leader when creating your ally spirit? (Note that I would still be taking part.) I'm asking because the character I'm making doesn't have any skill in ritual spellcasting, ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you Enlarge/Reduce the planet you stand on?

I won't reprint the spell's text here, but the long and the short of it is that I don't see anything in the text of the spell that would prevent casting it on extremely big objects. The planet sits ...
3
votes
1answer
77 views

Which weapons can use the Double Tap and Three Round Burst rules?

Page 81 of Savage Worlds Deluxe Explorer's Edition says: Double Taps & Three Round Bursts A character with a semi-automatic weapon (such as a Colt .45, an M1 Carbine, or even an M16 [my ...
-3
votes
1answer
162 views

Can Aereni Focus and Skill Focus be stacked?

Aereni Focus says that it counts as Skill Focus for meeting requirements/prerequisites. So, for instance, I could take Aereni Focus (Listen) and I would qualify for the Keen-Eared Scout feat through ...
16
votes
3answers
457 views

Do non-instantaneous spells fail if the target becomes illegal later on in the spell's duration?

A wizard wants to sneak an apparatus of kwalish past a bunch of guards, and comes up with an ingenious plan - he wants to use polymorph any object to turn the apparatus into a small acorn. However, ...
7
votes
2answers
432 views

How many undead of each type can you control at one time?

With a 20 wizard necromancer, all magic items allowed (with the exception of sentient items) with the three attuned as usual, by RAW: How many undead can you maintain control over with a 100% success ...
2
votes
1answer
40 views

Can the Impervious Power Modifier be linked to unenhanced, natural Toughness?

I'm building a new character whose powers come from a "cyber skin implant" that is pretty natural to her since it's now part of her body, giving her 12 Stamina without Enhanced Trait. Her cyber skin ...
4
votes
1answer
134 views

Can you start the game with a spirit pact?

In Shadowrun 5th Edition, there is no Spirit Pact quality (research seems to indicate there was one for SR4). Is there anything in the rules that would explicitly prevent an SR5 character from ...
9
votes
2answers
237 views

Can I Apply Sneak Attack Damage Twice in One Attack?

Is there a rule that states sneak attack damage can't be applied more than once per attack? There are several instances of feats and weapon enchants that allow rogues to gain the sneak attack damage ...
4
votes
2answers
126 views

Does a free action Spell Like Ability provoke an attack of opportunity?

The specific scenario in question is an arcane bloodrager getting the free buff spells when entering his bloodrage at 4th level or higher. The bloodrage itself is supernatural and does not provoke, ...
6
votes
1answer
310 views

How can tome warlocks “back up” ritual spells they have inscribed?

PHB hints that wizards may want to have a backup copy of their spellbook in case they lose it. Tome warlocks have a way to restore their Book of Shadows should they lose it, but it's not clear if ...
-2
votes
3answers
214 views

Can a wizard use a 25gp book as a replacement spellbook?

Or must they use the 50gp spellbook? (PHB pg 150) RAW only, please.
17
votes
4answers
749 views

Can Skill Mastery let you take 10 with Use Magic Device?

The rogue special ability (advanced talent) Skill Mastery reads as follows: The rogue becomes so certain in the use of certain skills that she can use them reliably even under adverse conditions. ...
13
votes
4answers
2k views

What is the source defining what is RAW?

While discussing what constitutes RAW with NautArch in the comments on this question he claimed the Starter Rules aren't RAW. While I'm aware that they are incomplete I can't belive that they are ...
2
votes
0answers
40 views

Crossbow Expert feat second clause clarification [duplicate]

The Crossbow Expert Feat has three clauses: Thanks to extensive practice with the crossbow, you gain the fol lowing benefits: • You ignore the loading quality of crossbows with which you ...
7
votes
4answers
582 views

Is a player character required to engage in downtime activity?

This question was inspired by a scenario, where a character could use Elven trance and any number of short rests but no long rests. Based on this answer, I have a follow up question. By the rules-as-...
51
votes
4answers
5k views

Does this cheesy character concept violate RAW, and if so how?

Does the following, very cheesy character concept, violate any RAW? Please cite rules or official rulings in your answer. (Apart from RAW, I expect my DM to disallow or limit the concept, in the ...
6
votes
0answers
62 views

Wish for Instant Summons spell gives a sapphire? [duplicate]

Wish: The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don’t need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. Instant Summons: ...
4
votes
3answers
227 views

Can you affect multiple targets with multiple Warding Bond casts?

It has come to my attention that the text of Warding Bond, the legal target(s) of Warding Bond, and the rules as written for target's and spell casting and such; leave it possible that Warding Bond ...
5
votes
2answers
103 views

How does encumbrance interact with Enlarge Person?

According to the Carry Capacity rules, an increase in size of one category grants a x2 multiplier to your carrying capacity, and a decrease in size reduces your capacity by half. When under the ...
4
votes
1answer
152 views

Does concealment negate all precision damage?

I will start with the feat that leads me to believe that this might be the case. Shadow Strike: You can deal precision damage, such as sneak attack damage, against targets with concealment (but ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Are there higher CR than the Tarrasque in D&D 5?

We were discussing with a DM friend of mine about the challenge ratings in D&D 5, and I affirmed the highest known to this day in the official content is the Tarrasque, with a CR of 30. He then ...
7
votes
3answers
353 views

For Vow of Poverty, how many items does a quiver of arrows count as?

Is a quiver of arrows a single item or 21 separate items under RAW? I'm making a zen archer monk and am wondering if the "Vow of Poverty" is unobtainable with that build.
2
votes
2answers
122 views

Can an Medium Enlarged PC pick up and wield a Large Weapon? [duplicate]

Scenario: A PC has become Large through means of Enlarge Person. All of the gear he carries has been Enlarged with him as per Enlarge Person spell. A Large Greatsword lies on the ground nearby and ...
1
vote
1answer
144 views

Can a Trap-the-Soul enspelled Gem be thrown at it's target?

The Paizo/Pathfinder Spell "Trap the Soul", has two possible triggers. Spell Completion: First, the spell can be completed by speaking its final word as a standard action as if you were casting a ...
1
vote
1answer
326 views

Is Reaper's Challenge really that broken? Did I get it wrong?

I'm DMing a 4e campaign and the PCs are level 19, now, but I have been having trouble with a power. Reaper's Challenge. My group's swordmage saves it through every adventure so he can use it on a ...
2
votes
2answers
508 views

How does the abstraction of AC make sense when flat-footed?

I am looking for a rule-wise explanation of the logic as to why your deflection bonus (e.g. a shield) is counted in your flat-footed AC. From what I understand, being flat-footed means you didn't see ...
0
votes
1answer
157 views

Does the Ray of Sickness cause poison damage twice on a failed save?

The spell says: On a failed save, it is also poisoned until the end of your next turn. Does that mean the 2d8 poison damage reapplies on the following turn, or is that just a statement meaning ...
4
votes
1answer
146 views

Where is it stated that you can gain spells as favored class option?

This question Human Favored Class: Sorcerer on here brought something up that I never heard before. After reading it I checked the SRD again and found nothing there. In essence it states that as ...
3
votes
1answer
73 views

How does the Crusader's Steely Resolve class feature work exactly?

I am trying to understand how the Crusader's Steely Resolve class feature works in "corner" cases. From Tome of Battle, p. 10, we get: Steely Resolve (Ex): [...] At the end of your next turn,...
5
votes
1answer
92 views

What will cause a bard to cease maintaining inspire courage?

My party just entered a cave. I have melodic casting as a feat. Usually I wait until the first round of combat to activate inspire courage. But the more I think about it, why not just do it right ...
4
votes
1answer
103 views

Does the DC increase of multiple iron spikes stack?

The gear Iron spikes description says: Hammering one of these blunt, wide metal wedges between a door and its frame requires a standard action and adds 5 to the DC of checks to open the door. If ...
7
votes
1answer
201 views

Can a character elect to be considered “running” or “sprinting” even if they don't exceed their walk rate?

The problem is a matter of wording. The core rulebook equates distance (walk rate, run rate) with terms that describe speed (walking, running, sprinting). For example, say we have a Human with an ...
8
votes
1answer
123 views

Spell Combat and Halfling Sling Staff/Thrown Weapons

My question is pretty straightforward. The Magus ability spellstrike reads: To use this ability, the magus must have one hand free (even if the spell being cast does not have somatic components), ...
22
votes
3answers
2k views

Do creatures with Legendary Resistance know what is hitting them in order to choose to use the resistance or not?

Say I cast a Fireball at a white dragon, it definitively knows that the spell cast was a Fireball, with all those flames around... However, some spells are more subtle, such as Banishment. Maybe the ...
4
votes
1answer
135 views

Is the bonus domain of the Contemplative class restricted?

I have a D&D 3.5e cleric who is lawful good and has no patron deity, but still meets all of the prerequisites for the Contemplative prestige class (Complete Divine) by grace of having: had ...
9
votes
2answers
862 views

Dissonant Whispers: For how long does a creature run/stay away after a failed save?

I'm playing a Bard in a 5E campaign. One of my most useful spells has been Dissonant Whispers. It's saved the party quite a few times but the question has come up and I've not found any answers in ...
-3
votes
1answer
214 views

Can a Shadow Dragon become a Dracolich or vice versa?

Can a Shadow Dragon subdue itself to the ritual that would transform it into a Dracolich? Likewise, would a Dracolich that stays in Shadowfell for a time gain the traits of a Shadow Dragon? According ...
4
votes
1answer
71 views

Computing treasure from an NPC encounter

I've been reading and cant make heads or tails how to generate treasure awarded after defeating an NPC. For example, a level 2 warrior human that the players kill. I can look up his wealth by ...
7
votes
1answer
739 views

Does a petrified creature count as an object?

I'm curious whether the Siege Monster special ability that allows a creature to deal double damage to objects would allow them to deal double damage to a petrified character. It seems like this ought ...
6
votes
2answers
271 views

How to get out of a pit?

Adventurer(s) have fallen into a pit and want to get out. Being the murderhoboes they are, they have not prepared for such an occasion. In fact, they are only wearing pitiful rags (that do not a ...
2
votes
1answer
66 views

What are the effects of adopting a patron deity later on? [duplicate]

I have a D&D 3.5e cleric with the Time and Travel bonus domains and no specific patron deity (bonus domains based on personal beliefs and inclinations). This cleric meets all of the requirements ...
7
votes
2answers
365 views

What are the limits of Mage Hand Legerdemain?

I'm honestly shocked I couldn't find this, I swear I've seen it before and if I overlooked it and this is a duplicate, by all means tell me, but otherwise here it goes. We recently started a thief ...
6
votes
3answers
138 views

If you're flying, does dismounting still take a move action?

If you are mounted and are flying, such as under the affects of a fly spell, does dismounting take a move action still? The ride skill seems silent on this, specifically on what actually makes this ...