Interpretations and applications of rules that only take into consideration specifically what published game material states.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (2)

18
votes
4answers
1k views

Is Charm Person obvious?

Charm Person has verbal and somatic components. Is there anything in the rules as written that defines how obvious those verbal and somatic components are? Would it be obvious the caster was casting ...
6
votes
3answers
869 views

Would an attacker have advantage over someone who is stabilizing an unconscious creature?

Asked in a different way: Can I still protect myself while taking an action that requires some focus on what I am doing? (i.e. it is probably not limited to stabilizing someone) So the scenario would ...
7
votes
2answers
343 views

Does stabilizing a character in combat provoke an attack of opportunity?

We had a session recently wherein a character went down in combat due to a creature attack. Two other characters stepped up to engage the creature while a third attempted to stabilize the downed ...
3
votes
1answer
81 views

Does the Cat Paws power allow doubling all power-granted movement while climbing?

Cat Paws are an item that helps you climb better, but while making a character who wants to utilize these items for various stunts and attacks I noticed that the wording on the 'double any climbing ...
8
votes
2answers
581 views

Is spell level a character concept or a player concept?

Is there anything in RAW that supports spell level as a character concept, or alternatively that supports it as solely a player concept? On the one hand, I see nothing that explicitly states that a ...
4
votes
1answer
187 views

Can a familiar travel any distance?

I (the DM) had this thought that the familiar who belongs to an evil wizard far away from the players was delivering a message to the Bugbear leader of a band of goblins who was under the command of ...
6
votes
2answers
188 views

Can a Cancer Mage use both its Touch Attacks?

Cancer Mages (from The Book of Vile Darkness) gain these two abilities: Contagion: ... The touch of a cancer mage carries a contagion spell ... Poison: ... the touch of a cancer mage carries ...
4
votes
1answer
181 views

Race, Class, Level Limitation List

Is there a definitive list for race, class, and level limitations in regards to PCs and NPCs. I'm aware of the table (Character Race Table II.: Class Level Limitations) in the PHB. However, is it ...
18
votes
2answers
3k views

Why can I not sneak attack with Magic Missile?

I have been brewing up a character build that uses Toppling Spell to knock creatures prone with Magic Missile. I stumbled across Kobold Style, specifically Kobold Groundling, and realized that if I ...
10
votes
1answer
925 views

Does ki count as magic for the purpose of an antimagic field, or is it only fluff?

I was verifying whether my fighter's Sun Blade would in fact be a useless hilt in an antimagic field (AMF) and came across this question on a few other sites, and it piqued my interest. My first ...
5
votes
1answer
125 views

How to make Second Wind a non-Standard action? [closed]

Second Wind is a Standard Action that allow you to use a healing surge and get a defensive bonus for one turn. What are the options the system gives to reduce this action from Standard to anything ...
2
votes
1answer
52 views

Dominating a summoned creature

I have a Sidhe House Guard adjacent to me, from the Summon Sidhe Ally power (Sidhe Lord Character Theme). A Mind Flayer attacks and hits me, and I use the Immediate Interrupt power of my House Guard ...
2
votes
2answers
328 views

Can Contingency plus Dispel Magic be used to mitigate all negative Wild Magic outcomes?

Is the following use of Contingency legal? You are a Wild Mage Sorcerer with Wizard levels. You cast Contingency with the following trigger condition: any time wild magic causes you to cast fireball ...
9
votes
2answers
222 views

Can I charge by falling toward my enemy?

I have a charging Slayer wearing Cat Tabi. Cat Tabi are boots that make you always land on your feet, and have a daily ability that makes you take no falling damage. I was imagining scenarios where ...
37
votes
4answers
3k views

Can a red dragon be boiled to death?

Red dragons have immunity to fire. They take no damage from fire, lava, or anything like that. But in both Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 and Pathfinder Boiling water deals 1d6 points of scalding ...
1
vote
1answer
138 views

Is it possible for a Cleric to catch up on spell levels not gained because of a prestige class?

I am currently looking to build a Cleric of Kossuth with levels in Elemental Savant (Complete Arcane, p.22). They got some neat tricks that I would love to integrate into my character. However, the ...
2
votes
1answer
113 views

Does Tenebrous Spell improve shadow spells?

Tenebrous Spell grants a +1 bonus to DC when casting a spell in darkness or dim light conditions. Then it goes on to say (emphasis mine) A tenebrous spell uses up a spell Slot one level higher ...
2
votes
2answers
269 views

Regarding Suggestion, does “obviously harmful” include financial/economic ruin, or only only physical detriment? [closed]

The Suggestion spell reads as follows: Suggestion (PHB, p. 279) You suggest a course of activity (limited to a sentence or two) and magically influence a creature you can see within range that ...
8
votes
3answers
216 views

Does Psionic Meditation allow a psion to psionically focus his psicrystal as a move action?

The feat Psicrystal Affinity grants the psion a psicrystal. The feat Psicrystal Containment allows the psion to take a full-round action to make a Concentration skill check (DC 20) to have the ...
3
votes
2answers
151 views

Can The Duration Of Illusory Reality Be Extended?

As a related question to this one, is there any way to extend the duration of Illusory Reality? My thoughts are either: Through re-casting it with a bonus action on the next round, or Extend it with ...
3
votes
1answer
123 views

Can Illusory Reality Bind Or Restrain Opponents?

Say you use Major Image. You tightly wrap your opponents with illusory adamantium chains (or another material strong enough your opponent cannot reasonably destroy), then make it real with Illusory ...
43
votes
4answers
4k views

Can Raise Dead revive a character with zero maximum Hit Points?

So, a character died from Draining Kiss of a succubus and his Max HP is 0. Can he be restored by Raise Dead, or does he need a higher level spell? Or a Greater Restoration cast on his lifeless body ...
0
votes
1answer
54 views

Can the Forbiddance spell be placed on a moving area? (like a ship) [duplicate]

The spell Forbiddance reads: Forbiddance seals an area against all planar travel into or within it. Can this area be mobile? Such as a the deck of a ship? More specifically, my campaign is in ...
4
votes
1answer
74 views

How to determine the PTGS for character with high power and low forte?

Consider a character with power 4 and forte 2 (perhaps due to permanent injury reducing forte). Mortal wound is 9, superficial is 2, and the interval between wound levels is 1. But this is not ...
3
votes
4answers
736 views

How can significant injuries like broken bones be healed?

During a campaign I ran several years ago, one player's character suffered nonlethal damage during a sparring session and broke his arm. When he healed the damage naturally overnight, he argued that ...
9
votes
3answers
316 views

Can I use Silent Image as an adjacent enemy for Sneak Attack?

Sneak attack says: You don't need advantage on the attack roll if another enemy of the target is within 5ft of it, that enemy isn't incapacitated, and you don't have disadvantage on the attack ...
4
votes
2answers
150 views

Does Concentrate Poison Stack?

As the title suggests: Does Concentrate Poison Stack with itself? This is one of those weird questions that I honestly would have expected to have been asked somewhere, especially here, but I haven't ...
5
votes
1answer
214 views

How does Pathfinder Dire Crocodile death roll work?

The perfect opportunity arose for my players to encounter a dire crocodile, but as I have been preparing for the encounter, I have been a bit confused as to how to interpret the death roll rules. The ...
5
votes
2answers
605 views

Can you use your reaction while ethereal from the blink spell?

If you have blink active and roll over 11 at the end of your turn, you're no longer on material plane. Are you then able to use your reaction? E.g. During turn, X melee attacks Y then ends turn in ...
7
votes
1answer
160 views

Which spells trigger the second benefit of Shield Master?

The Shield Master feat includes the following benefit: lf you aren't incapacitated, you can add your shield's AC bonus to any Dexterity saving throw you make against a spell or other harmful ...
6
votes
2answers
562 views

Can you Horde Breaker to gain attack (against an ally) and give up attack for commander's strike so ally gains attack?

To be more specific, the character in question is a Ranger using the 'ranger without spells' from the UA article on variant class designs, but the same thing can be done by a fighter-3 ...
1
vote
0answers
108 views

Actions after a Grapple [closed]

I'm playing a Goliath Barbarian, focusing on the inherent grappling advantages. I'm trying to pull as much benefit from Powerful Build as possible. My specific questions are: Considering my Goliath ...
16
votes
4answers
2k views

Does Divine Sense negate Mirror Image?

My players went up against a homebrew creature I made, it was a fallen angel that could cast Mirror Image. Our paladin had the idea to use his Divine Sense ability to be able to tell which Image was ...
10
votes
2answers
331 views

How does a magma mephit turn back into its original form?

The Magma Mephit has a neat little ability called Change Shape: Change Shape (Su) Once per hour, a magma mephit can assume the form of a pool of lava 3 feet in diameter and 6 inches deep. The ...
9
votes
3answers
172 views

Can I Trip or Disarm with the extra attack provided by the Snap Kick feat?

Snap Kick1 gives you an extra attack when performing an attack action. Improved Trip2 and Improved Disarm3 require an attack4, 5 to begin their special attack option. Does the extra attack from Snap ...
6
votes
2answers
106 views

Do Arcane Caster Levels Count as Cleric Levels for Turning/Rebuking Checks?

If I am a Wizard, with no levels of Cleric, and I gain a domain power (through a prestige class1) that Turns X-Creatures as a Cleric Turns Undead; does my arcane caster level equal Cleric levels for ...
9
votes
1answer
374 views

Can monsters be summoned to appear in mid-air to drop onto enemies?

I was playing a dwarven cleric who could summon small elementals, and started summoning earth elementals 10' (for instance) above enemies to basically combine my monster summoning with a crushing ...
28
votes
2answers
2k views

Clarification of Blink Mechanics, or “Should Someone have Punched in my Sandwich?”

I am looking for clarification as to the mechanics of the Blink spell. I believe that the spell reads quite clearly, however most of my play group does not agree with my recent ruling. Some ...
24
votes
5answers
1k views

Can one enter Leomund's Tiny Hut from below?

In a session today we were camped out in a Leomund's Tiny Hut and the DM determined that since it is described as a dome, the bad guys (Wraiths, so they are incorporeal) could enter the area from ...
7
votes
5answers
359 views

Hostage Situation: Do you miss, hit the hostage, or chance of either one?

Does holding someone hostage give partial cover and is there a chance of hitting the hostage if you miss hitting the intended target that is holding the hostage? My opinion is that it should trigger ...
37
votes
7answers
6k views

My party bypassed a combat encouter. Should they still get XP?

Some thug bandits set up a road block on the main road to extract a toll from passerbys. It was twilight when my party encountered them. They used the Rogue to scout ahead, and they ultimately decided ...
6
votes
1answer
208 views

Can I use Relentless Endurance after failing the Relentless Rage Constitution saving throw?

Can I make the saving throw from Relentless Rage (PHB p.49, Barbarian) and use my Relentless Endurance (PHB p.41, Half-Orc) if I fail it? Is there anything that would suggest this is not possible?
2
votes
1answer
102 views

Can you take a Squire at 3rd level?

According to the prerequisites of the Squire Feat you can take the feat at level 3, but you cannot have a squire more than 3 levels lower than you. The Leadership Feat does not provide rules for ...
2
votes
4answers
165 views

Under what circumstances do ranged attackers provide flanking?

Suppose my character is a monk (and thus can make unarmed strikes with her feet). Suppose that for some reason she's wielding a longbow. Does she threaten the area around her? Can she provide a ...
7
votes
2answers
683 views

Can fighter use Commander's strike when he only have one attack?

Question is about Battle Master maneuver. From PHB (74): Commander's Strike. When you take the Attack action on your turn, you can forgo one of your attacks and use a bonus action to direct ...
11
votes
1answer
182 views

Can “Phantasmal Force” be used as a flanking buddy?

If someone casts "Phantasmal Force" (2nd level illusion) on a foe, in a campaign that uses the optional flanking rules, and it renders to the foe as another attacking creature from a flanking ...
5
votes
2answers
129 views

Normal weapons immunity…as hardened armor or complete immunity vs normal weapons?

On page 397-398 immunities are mentioned. Now the question is how to handle normal weapons immunities. The first paragraph of the power mentions it working as hardened armor: Effectively, the ...
1
vote
1answer
189 views

What are the limits of the Feat Spell Perfection?

The reason I asked is because I think I found a bit of a loophole when using the feat that I'd like a bit of clarification on. Spell perfection states the following: Pick one spell which you have ...
12
votes
2answers
861 views

Does a spellcaster know when concentration ends?

Does a spellcaster know when concentration ends on one of their spells? For example, when a wizard casts invisibility, that target is invisible until they attack or after one hour. So if the ...
0
votes
1answer
234 views

Can a shove give an AoO?

For example the shield mastery feat gives the option to shove an adjacent creature 5ft as a bonus action could you make an AoO on the creature because it leaves your threat range without using the ...