Interpretations and applications of rules that only take into consideration specifically what published game material states.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (2)

11
votes
1answer
783 views

Can other party members wield a warlock's pact weapon?

Lets say the group's Great Weapon Fighter and Bladelock have their weapons confiscated. Can the Warlock call his pact weapon and, assuming it is the type of weapon the Fighter uses mostly, give it to ...
5
votes
2answers
508 views

How can an object hide the fact that it is Animated?

I am currently designing an encounter with an animated ship carrying a massive cargo of animated objects. However, the entire thing loses its magic when all that a player needs to do in order to ...
7
votes
1answer
138 views

Iaijutsu dueling rules

I find iaijutsu dueling weird in 4th. This is what I understand so far: If someone doesn't roll high enough to strike first, the duel is over and considered a draw. That seems a weird rule. I feel ...
7
votes
1answer
87 views

Are any solar medicine charms effective against Final Viridescence?

In Exalted 2e, is there any solar medicine charm that can effectively cure (or aid in treating) Final Viridescence? I'm confused as to how it works, because while it initially calls itself a disease, ...
4
votes
2answers
193 views

How does the feat Ranged Pin work?

The feat Ranged Pin has as its benefit the following: You can perform a ranged grapple attempt against an opponent by pinning a bit of its clothing to a nearby surface. The target must be within 5 ...
9
votes
1answer
282 views

Is the Massive Damage Rule Needed? [closed]

In D&D 3.5 there is a Massive Damage rule: Massive Damage If you ever sustain a single attack deals 50 points of damage or more and it doesn’t kill you outright, you must make a DC 15 ...
11
votes
3answers
136 views

Who can use a Ring of adept maneuvers?

I'm here to ask your assistance to locate an official ruling or errata about an item. Last time our Group played we got among the enemy's belongings a Ring of adept maneuvers. According to our DM's ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

Does a healing spell after Beacon of Hope deal maximum healing?

Beacon of Hope is a concentration spell. Say a cleric casts it one turn and then decides to use Cure Wounds on their next turn. Cure Wounds would break concentration on the spell, thereby ending ...
8
votes
1answer
204 views

Does the “heroic level defense bonus” make armor pointless for DEX based characters?

I admit I'm a bit confused about the way how "Star Wars - Saga Edition" handles it's defenses, especially because of the addition of the heroic level. Reflex Defense: 10 + [your heroic level or ...
8
votes
2answers
961 views

How should we interpret the word “death” in the Deck of Many Things, Jack of Hearts, Knight?

Reading the description of the Deck of Many Things for the Jack of Hearts card, Knight, it says: the fighter ... serves you loyally until death.... (DMG5e, p.164) Usually, descriptions say ...
4
votes
2answers
127 views

Automatic-Dodge vs. Regular Dodge Bonus

I've been consulting a few RIFTS and Palladium system forums online to try and figure out exactly how the Automatic Dodge system in the games work and have been rather unsuccessful. So I'm turning to ...
4
votes
1answer
36 views

Where are the rules for Ride skill and beasts?

The ride skill (not pilot) in SAGA edition core rule books states: Use this skill to ride any kind of mount, such as a tauntaun, dewback or bantha Obviously these are types of beasts, as opposed ...
6
votes
1answer
372 views

Can I get trapped in my own Demiplane?

I've been looking at the 8th-level spell Demiplane: When the spell ends, the door disappears, and any creatures or objects inside the demiplane remain trapped there, as the door also disappears ...
4
votes
1answer
139 views

What's the real benefit of the feat Owlbear Berserker?

The benefit of the feat Owlbear Berserker says When grappling, you can make an unarmed attack to deal 1d6 points of normal damage with a successful grapple check. You do not suffer the usual −4 ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Does Jack Of All Trades allow me to keep the bonus after I become proficient in the skill later?

Starting at 2nd level, you can add half your proficiency bonus, rounded down, to any ability check you make that doesn't already include your proficiency bonus. I could at level 2 add half my ...
6
votes
2answers
510 views

What happens to a permanent Greater Magic Fang if you lose your natural weapon?

For instance, a caster with access to permanency and Greater Magic Fang casts a permanent GMF (claw) on a weretiger while he is in tiger form. When the lycan shifts back to his human form (no longer ...
9
votes
1answer
284 views

Do weapon enhancing spells let them hit incorporeal opponents?

So, a party of a Fighter, a Rogue, a Barbarian and a Wizard walks into a ghost city, and meets a hostile Joystealer (or a ghost, or some other incorporeal enemy). The party only has mundane and ...
8
votes
2answers
181 views

What happens if I empower a spell with limits?

In last session, out of panic, my magus used an empowered mirror image to protect himself. I rolled a 4 on the dice, +3 since I'm level 9, which totals 7 images, and the empower would bring that ...
7
votes
1answer
611 views

What specifically does Jack Of All Trades apply to?

Starting at 2nd level, you can add half your proficiency bonus, rounded own, to any ability check you make that doesn't already include your proficiency bonus. I was wondering if this meant I ...
7
votes
2answers
820 views

Do Wizards have to pay to learn new spells as they level?

I have long been conflicted on this point: do Wizards need to pay to write spells they learn for leveling into their spellbook, or just when copying from a scroll or another spell book? It seems that ...
5
votes
3answers
246 views

Does making a Sleight of Hand skill check really provoke an attack of opportunity?

The feat Cutpurse (Dragon Compendium Volume 1 95) has as its normal entry the following: Using Sleight of Hand in melee provokes an attack of opportunity. The feat Master Pickpocket (City of ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

What is the RAW of how Dodge works?

A few of my players think I am handling the Dodge Bonus incorrectly. I make all the dodge bonus apply only to a single designated target. After doing my research I am not so sure anymore. What is the ...
14
votes
2answers
615 views

Does grappling an enemy into an AOE also subject the grappler to the AOE?

Suppose the Fighter is successfully grappling an Orc. The Fighter then drags the Orc into the area of his Druid friend's Moonbeam so that, grid-wise, the Orc's space is fully inside the Moonbeam's AOE ...
3
votes
1answer
76 views

How exactly do disease and damage points stack in Shadows of Esteren?

I'm having a bit of a struggle with understanding how disease and damage points stack. The way I'm currently seeing it is: Character has clear health track. Lets say the character acquires 2 disease ...
4
votes
2answers
674 views

Can the area of effect of a spell be moved only if the description specifies so?

I understand that the effect of certain spells, once cast, cannot be moved around. A Web for example, is all sticky, a stonewall is not going to move... However, the Insect Plague spell, which my ...
1
vote
1answer
72 views

What is the standard limit on senses (vision, hearing)? [duplicate]

Just as the title asks, what is the normal limit on how far a character can see/hear under normal conditions (normal lighting, no fog or other weather interference)? Under the Vision and Light ...
5
votes
1answer
126 views

Can Alchemist use two different discoveries in the same bomb?

Long story short, while talking to my player he asked me this: can alchemist use two different discoveries in the same bomb? For example, could he use Acid Bomb and Immolation Bomb in the same bomb? ...
2
votes
1answer
205 views

Pathfinder: skinwalker druids and their racial bonus

Skinwalker is a Pathfinder race. They have the Change Shape racial ability to assume a so-called bestial form 3+1/2 character level times per day. While in bestial form, they gain a +2 racial bonus to ...
10
votes
1answer
200 views

What actions can a burrowed creature take?

A player in my upcoming game wants to play a burrowing race. I couldn't find rules about what sort of actions a burrow creature can take. Do rules exist for burrowing creatures: Attacking from ...
7
votes
5answers
3k views

Is Baleful Polymorph really this weak?

So, Polymorph subschool spells apparently end if you want them to, whenever you are subject to a new polymorph spell. Does this mean I can use literally any Polymorph spell to end Baleful Polymorph? ...
3
votes
2answers
263 views

How small can I make a character, mostly permanently, at 18th level?

Druids can wild shape once and become diminutive for (functionally) the whole day. Other than that, how small can a character get - either permanently or with a few rounds once per day - on a regular ...
8
votes
3answers
1k views

Are there official stats for an Illithid “Elder Brain”?

During an episode of Critical Role, the PCs battle an Illithid Elder Brain. I tried to find out more about this creature for possible inclusion in a campaign, but it barely has a mention in the ...
4
votes
1answer
173 views

Does magick fail with a single rolled 1?

I am not sure if I understand the rules correctly how Magick actually works (Edit: in the 2nd Edition): Tell what you want to do Check if you know how to do this Roll as much dice as you wish with ...
6
votes
3answers
279 views

Is a ranger's favored enemy damage bonus precision damage?

The Player's Handbook on the ranger's extraordinary ability favored enemy says At 1st level, a ranger may select a type of creature from among those given on Table 3–14: Ranger Favored Enemies. ...
8
votes
2answers
369 views

Did the designers intend that you need only carry the Cloak of Charisma to get the bonus?

The SRD's entry for the Cloak of Charisma says: This lightweight and fashionable cloak has a highly decorative silver trim. When in a character’s possession, it adds a +2, +4, or +6 enhancement ...
8
votes
2answers
801 views

Can a creature grappling someone move them into the chasm

The situation is like this. PCs having a fight on a battlefield with several very deep chasms. One of the PCs attempt to grapple an enemy, then moves with him into one of the chasms (bringing himself ...
4
votes
3answers
267 views

Limitations of targeting of 'Friends' cantrip

The "Friends" cantrip (PHB pg 244) has a range of "self", but it also affects "one creature of your choice". Can this creature be one you can't see, such as one behind a door? This question: What ...
4
votes
1answer
245 views

Can becoming a familiar make an improved familiar stupider?

The feat Improved Familiar (DMG 200) says that Improved familiars otherwise use the rules on page 52 of the Player’s Handbook, with two exceptions: If the creature’s type is something other than ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

Do Crossbows add Dex to damage?

My long-term RPG instinct is to say "clearly they don't". (Pathfinder, 3.5, AD&D, etc.) Looking at some NPCs seems to be back this up. The Veteran (MM 350) deals a straight 1d10 with their Heavy ...
2
votes
1answer
135 views

Do you fall through the floor when you cast Prismatic Sphere?

Prismatic Sphere functions in Pathfinder like Prismatic Wall. Underneath Prismatic Wall it states that the 7th (violet) layer of the sphere/wall has the following effect: "Energy field destroys all ...
11
votes
4answers
2k views

What's the training cost for, and is it still paid if you're being taught for free?

I have a player in my game who wants to learn Draconic from his two party members in their downtime. Something that he was wondering about was why he has to pay 1gp if the party members are freely ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Does unlimited Wild Shape make Circle of the Moon archdruids virtually unkillable?

Page 67 of the PHB states that druids gain all the hit points of whatever creature they become when using Wild Shape, and when that shape drops to 0hp, only the excess damage carries over to the ...
4
votes
2answers
613 views

How does Hurl Through Hell work in Mechanus?

The variant rule for Mechanus states that all rolls made there are automatically the average. However, what happens when a Fiend Pact Warlock uses their Hurl Through Hell feature there? Can they not ...
5
votes
1answer
425 views

Is a Warlock Eldritch Blast/Invocation use unlimited?

A Bit of background. I've decided to roll up a Warlock NPC as one of the final bosses for my campaign using the class from Complete Arcane since it fits in with some of the underlying themes and ...
0
votes
0answers
50 views

When multiclassing, do you gain feats only when you reach a certain level in every class? [duplicate]

I would like to be sure I'm reading the RAW correctly on this one... Say I want to multiclass as a Fighter/Cleric/Wizard and add one level to each class going in order. So at level 3 I have one level ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Ranger refuse to hate their favored enemy?

In our group, we have a certain ranger that isn't too bad at roleplay (given that their background is hermit and they are naturally antisocial), and is a good and valuable player. This player is a ...
7
votes
2answers
483 views

Is dropping a weapon, “free” in D&D 5e?

I've seen many people on StackExchange and other forums mention that you can drop something as a free action, but I've never seen it sourced, or come across support for it in the Player's Handbook. ...
5
votes
3answers
142 views

What is the dispel CL of a crafted Pearl of Power?

I asked something similar and didn't get the clarity I was seeking, so I will be more concise. If I craft a 1st level Pearl of Power at CL 1, and it gets hit with a targeted Dispel Magic, what is it's ...
7
votes
1answer
160 views

Order of effects for Swashbuckler's Panache and Butterfly's Sting

I am looking at building a Swashbuckler, and I had the idea of using Butterfly's Sting to pass my critical hits to an ally, after regaining a point of Panache. I have done some Google'ing and there ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Mystic Arcanum take up a spells known slot?

For levels where you get a new mystic arcanum, the warlock leveling table also shows that you get one more spell known. Are they the same spell, or is the spell you get from mystic arcanum a different ...