Interpretations and applications of rules that only take into consideration specifically what published game material states.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (2)

7
votes
2answers
153 views

What happens when a creature loses its next move action?

The feat Undermountain Tactics allows the use of the tactical maneuver stair king, which says To use this maneuver, you must gain the high ground bonus on your attacks against an opponent. If you ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

Is a character obligated to advance in level?

Kind of a crazy question, but I was wondering if there were any written rules on the obligation of a character to advance in level? The reason I'm asking is this: since this summer, I have created ...
8
votes
3answers
439 views

Can I use the bonus action attack granted by War magic before casting the spell?

A Fighter with archetype Eldritch knight gets the feature War magic at 7th level (and Improved war magic at 18th level). It states: War Magic: Beginning at 7th level, when you use your action to ...
5
votes
1answer
399 views

Does Grim Harvest trigger when my Teleport causes a death?

Prompted by Does Grim Harvest trigger when my minions kill something? I Teleport a large, flat rock into the air some dozens of feet above an enemy. My DM rules that the rock falling does damage, and ...
6
votes
1answer
663 views

Does Grim Harvest trigger when my minions kill something?

The Necromancy School's Grim Harvest ability restores HP when you kill an enemy with a spell of 1st-level or higher. Does this apply when minions created by a spell, such as Animate Dead, or Conjure ...
5
votes
2answers
83 views

What happens when two Interference powers oppose each other?

In Wild Talents, a power with the Interference extra serves to reduce an opposing power's width: Interference allows your power to reduce the width of an opposed roll before the resolution of all ...
9
votes
1answer
225 views

What order are individual attacks taken in during a full attack action, and does it differ between editions?

What rules apply to the order in which individual attacks are taken during a full attack action in D&D 3.0, 3.5, and Pathfinder? I am specifically interested in RAW requirements on the order in ...
3
votes
1answer
145 views

Can I sneak attack after using Hide in Plain Sight?

I'm currently playing a TWF Rogue, and am looking to take a level in Shadowdancer for the HiPS ability. My line of thinking is I could sneak attack an enemy and use HiPS to effectively disappear ...
1
vote
2answers
144 views

What are the rules regarding taking actions while bluffing? [closed]

In Pathfinder, I am in the middle of creating a minor plot element that could become a full-blown side quest where a coven of witches have trained their familiars for the specific purpose of ...
11
votes
1answer
821 views

Can other party members wield a warlock's pact weapon?

Lets say the group's Great Weapon Fighter and Bladelock have their weapons confiscated. Can the Warlock call his pact weapon and, assuming it is the type of weapon the Fighter uses mostly, give it to ...
5
votes
2answers
523 views

How can an object hide the fact that it is Animated?

I am currently designing an encounter with an animated ship carrying a massive cargo of animated objects. However, the entire thing loses its magic when all that a player needs to do in order to ...
7
votes
1answer
186 views

Iaijutsu dueling rules

I find iaijutsu dueling weird in 4th. This is what I understand so far: If someone doesn't roll high enough to strike first, the duel is over and considered a draw. That seems a weird rule. I feel ...
7
votes
1answer
101 views

Are any solar medicine charms effective against Final Viridescence?

In Exalted 2e, is there any solar medicine charm that can effectively cure (or aid in treating) Final Viridescence? I'm confused as to how it works, because while it initially calls itself a disease, ...
4
votes
3answers
254 views

How does the feat Ranged Pin work?

The feat Ranged Pin has as its benefit the following: You can perform a ranged grapple attempt against an opponent by pinning a bit of its clothing to a nearby surface. The target must be within 5 ...
9
votes
1answer
369 views

Is the Massive Damage Rule Needed? [closed]

In D&D 3.5 there is a Massive Damage rule: Massive Damage If you ever sustain a single attack deals 50 points of damage or more and it doesn’t kill you outright, you must make a DC 15 ...
11
votes
3answers
138 views

Who can use a Ring of adept maneuvers?

I'm here to ask your assistance to locate an official ruling or errata about an item. Last time our Group played we got among the enemy's belongings a Ring of adept maneuvers. According to our DM's ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

Does a healing spell after Beacon of Hope deal maximum healing?

Beacon of Hope is a concentration spell. Say a cleric casts it one turn and then decides to use Cure Wounds on their next turn. Cure Wounds would break concentration on the spell, thereby ending ...
8
votes
3answers
407 views

Does the “heroic level defense bonus” make armor pointless for DEX based characters?

I admit I'm a bit confused about the way how "Star Wars - Saga Edition" handles it's defenses, especially because of the addition of the heroic level. Reflex Defense: 10 + [your heroic level or ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

How should we interpret the word “death” in the Deck of Many Things, Jack of Hearts, Knight?

Reading the description of the Deck of Many Things for the Jack of Hearts card, Knight, it says: the fighter ... serves you loyally until death.... (DMG5e, p.164) Usually, descriptions say ...
4
votes
2answers
165 views

Automatic-Dodge vs. Regular Dodge Bonus

I've been consulting a few RIFTS and Palladium system forums online to try and figure out exactly how the Automatic Dodge system in the games work and have been rather unsuccessful. So I'm turning to ...
4
votes
1answer
41 views

Where are the rules for Ride skill and beasts?

The ride skill (not pilot) in SAGA edition core rule books states: Use this skill to ride any kind of mount, such as a tauntaun, dewback or bantha Obviously these are types of beasts, as opposed ...
6
votes
1answer
531 views

Can I get trapped in my own Demiplane?

I've been looking at the 8th-level spell Demiplane: When the spell ends, the door disappears, and any creatures or objects inside the demiplane remain trapped there, as the door also disappears ...
4
votes
1answer
147 views

What's the real benefit of the feat Owlbear Berserker?

The benefit of the feat Owlbear Berserker says When grappling, you can make an unarmed attack to deal 1d6 points of normal damage with a successful grapple check. You do not suffer the usual −4 ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Does Jack Of All Trades allow me to keep the bonus after I become proficient in the skill later?

Starting at 2nd level, you can add half your proficiency bonus, rounded down, to any ability check you make that doesn't already include your proficiency bonus. I could at level 2 add half my ...
6
votes
2answers
567 views

What happens to a permanent Greater Magic Fang if you lose your natural weapon?

For instance, a caster with access to permanency and Greater Magic Fang casts a permanent GMF (claw) on a weretiger while he is in tiger form. When the lycan shifts back to his human form (no longer ...
9
votes
1answer
299 views

Do weapon enhancing spells let them hit incorporeal opponents?

So, a party of a Fighter, a Rogue, a Barbarian and a Wizard walks into a ghost city, and meets a hostile Joystealer (or a ghost, or some other incorporeal enemy). The party only has mundane and ...
8
votes
2answers
202 views

What happens if I empower a spell with limits?

In last session, out of panic, my magus used an empowered mirror image to protect himself. I rolled a 4 on the dice, +3 since I'm level 9, which totals 7 images, and the empower would bring that ...
7
votes
1answer
793 views

What specifically does Jack Of All Trades apply to?

Starting at 2nd level, you can add half your proficiency bonus, rounded own, to any ability check you make that doesn't already include your proficiency bonus. I was wondering if this meant I added ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Do Wizards have to pay to learn new spells as they level?

I have long been conflicted on this point: do Wizards need to pay to write spells they learn for leveling into their spellbook, or just when copying from a scroll or another spell book? It seems that ...
5
votes
3answers
290 views

Does making a Sleight of Hand skill check really provoke an attack of opportunity?

The feat Cutpurse (Dragon Compendium Volume 1 95) has as its normal entry the following: Using Sleight of Hand in melee provokes an attack of opportunity. The feat Master Pickpocket (City of ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

What is the RAW of how Dodge works?

A few of my players think I am handling the Dodge Bonus incorrectly. I make all the dodge bonus apply only to a single designated target. After doing my research I am not so sure anymore. What is the ...
14
votes
2answers
624 views

Does grappling an enemy into an AOE also subject the grappler to the AOE?

Suppose the Fighter is successfully grappling an Orc. The Fighter then drags the Orc into the area of his Druid friend's Moonbeam so that, grid-wise, the Orc's space is fully inside the Moonbeam's AOE ...
3
votes
1answer
80 views

How exactly do disease and damage points stack in Shadows of Esteren?

I'm having a bit of a struggle with understanding how disease and damage points stack. The way I'm currently seeing it is: Character has clear health track. Lets say the character acquires 2 disease ...
4
votes
2answers
695 views

Can the area of effect of a spell be moved only if the description specifies so?

I understand that the effect of certain spells, once cast, cannot be moved around. A Web for example, is all sticky, a stonewall is not going to move... However, the Insect Plague spell, which my ...
1
vote
1answer
84 views

What is the standard limit on senses (vision, hearing)? [duplicate]

Just as the title asks, what is the normal limit on how far a character can see/hear under normal conditions (normal lighting, no fog or other weather interference)? Under the Vision and Light ...
5
votes
1answer
146 views

Can Alchemist use two different discoveries in the same bomb?

Long story short, while talking to my player he asked me this: can alchemist use two different discoveries in the same bomb? For example, could he use Acid Bomb and Immolation Bomb in the same bomb? ...
2
votes
1answer
273 views

Pathfinder: skinwalker druids and their racial bonus

Skinwalker is a Pathfinder race. They have the Change Shape racial ability to assume a so-called bestial form 3+1/2 character level times per day. While in bestial form, they gain a +2 racial bonus to ...
10
votes
1answer
251 views

What actions can a burrowed creature take?

A player in my upcoming game wants to play a burrowing race. I couldn't find rules about what sort of actions a burrow creature can take. Do rules exist for burrowing creatures: Attacking from ...
7
votes
5answers
3k views

Is Baleful Polymorph really this weak?

So, Polymorph subschool spells apparently end if you want them to, whenever you are subject to a new polymorph spell. Does this mean I can use literally any Polymorph spell to end Baleful Polymorph? ...
3
votes
2answers
287 views

How small can I make a character, mostly permanently, at 18th level?

Druids can wild shape once and become diminutive for (functionally) the whole day. Other than that, how small can a character get - either permanently or with a few rounds once per day - on a regular ...
8
votes
3answers
2k views

Are there official stats for an Illithid “Elder Brain”?

During an episode of Critical Role, the PCs battle an Illithid Elder Brain. I tried to find out more about this creature for possible inclusion in a campaign, but it barely has a mention in the ...
4
votes
1answer
185 views

Does magick fail with a single rolled 1?

I am not sure if I understand the rules correctly how Magick actually works (Edit: in the 2nd Edition): Tell what you want to do Check if you know how to do this Roll as much dice as you wish with ...
6
votes
3answers
353 views

Is a ranger's favored enemy damage bonus precision damage?

The Player's Handbook on the ranger's extraordinary ability favored enemy says At 1st level, a ranger may select a type of creature from among those given on Table 3–14: Ranger Favored Enemies. ...
8
votes
2answers
454 views

Did the designers intend that you need only carry the Cloak of Charisma to get the bonus?

The SRD's entry for the Cloak of Charisma says: This lightweight and fashionable cloak has a highly decorative silver trim. When in a character’s possession, it adds a +2, +4, or +6 enhancement ...
8
votes
2answers
811 views

Can a creature grappling someone move them into the chasm

The situation is like this. PCs having a fight on a battlefield with several very deep chasms. One of the PCs attempt to grapple an enemy, then moves with him into one of the chasms (bringing himself ...
4
votes
3answers
296 views

Limitations of targeting of 'Friends' cantrip

The "Friends" cantrip (PHB pg 244) has a range of "self", but it also affects "one creature of your choice". Can this creature be one you can't see, such as one behind a door? This question: What ...
4
votes
2answers
307 views

Can becoming a familiar make an improved familiar stupider?

The feat Improved Familiar (DMG 200) says that Improved familiars otherwise use the rules on page 52 of the Player’s Handbook, with two exceptions: If the creature’s type is something other than ...
10
votes
2answers
6k views

Do Crossbows add Dex to damage?

My long-term RPG instinct is to say "clearly they don't". (Pathfinder, 3.5, AD&D, etc.) Looking at some NPCs seems to be back this up. The Veteran (MM 350) deals a straight 1d10 with their Heavy ...
2
votes
1answer
150 views

Do you fall through the floor when you cast Prismatic Sphere?

Prismatic Sphere functions in Pathfinder like Prismatic Wall. Underneath Prismatic Wall it states that the 7th (violet) layer of the sphere/wall has the following effect: "Energy field destroys all ...
11
votes
4answers
2k views

What's the training cost for, and is it still paid if you're being taught for free?

I have a player in my game who wants to learn Draconic from his two party members in their downtime. Something that he was wondering about was why he has to pay 1gp if the party members are freely ...