Interpretations and applications of rules that only take into consideration specifically what published game material states. Questions involving this tag require explicit citations of the rules in question when providing an answer.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

9
votes
2answers
291 views

Is there any way a Binder can use Metabreath feats?

Some of the vestiges that Binders have give breath weapons like fire breath, or sleep breath, which is flavorful and fluffy. Though, to maintain battle efficiency, one may want to do something to make ...
7
votes
5answers
502 views

How may times can you charge during a combat?

I have quite a silly question (sorry for that): how may times can you charge during a combat in DnD 3.5? I remember seeing somewhere that you can do it only once, but i cannot find that source again. ...
5
votes
3answers
807 views

When does a character gaining a level in a new class get the features of that class?

When does a character gaining a level in a new class get the features of that class, according to the RAW of DnD3.5? In my interpretation, when your character, who already has levels in some other ...
6
votes
2answers
206 views

Where do items created with the Path of Conjuring appear?

The rules concerning the items are simple, but the way the items are created is not clear (this is from the 20th Anniversary edition). The vampire can create a simple form (in the case I'm ...
2
votes
1answer
251 views

Is there an action cost for changing facing?

Is there, in canonical D&D 3.5*, a ruling prescribing action (move action, standard action etc.) for changing the facing of a character without changing position, or a ruling specifically saying ...
4
votes
2answers
206 views

What defines the CR of a creature

I'm trying to figure out what exactly defines the CR of a creature. Without the dozen playtests with different levels of groups, is there a quick easy way to do this?
4
votes
2answers
198 views

How do you handle Held action in Savage Worlds?

Ok, the Held actions have been giving us a lot of trouble recently. I'm gonna illustrate a situation: Let's say a vampire gets a King of Spades, a zombie gets a 3 of hearts, a ranger gets a Queen of ...
3
votes
1answer
221 views

How complex are sprite tasks usually allowed to be?

What is the general consensus on how detailed a Sprite command can be? I know Sprite tasks aren't spent until the Technomancer changes the command, but does having conditional modifiers like "if" or ...
14
votes
1answer
479 views

Can a PC cast a Floor of force?

The PRD entry for environment states: Transparent Floor: Transparent floors, made of reinforced glass or magic materials (even a wall of force) [...] The PRD entry for Wall of Force states: ...
6
votes
3answers
686 views

How should I interpret Assassin's Death Attack conditions?

The Assassin presige class feature called Death Attack says: While studying the victim, the assassin can undertake other actions so long as his attention stays focused on the target and the target ...
5
votes
1answer
270 views

How can established settings contact each other, and are there rules about it?

I've actually had some of my questions answered browsing through the forums; however, I wanted to address some issues that may come of my conclusions! First off, I haven't DM'd since the first ...
3
votes
2answers
495 views

Feat or minimal LA template to gain Aberration type

I’m looking for a way to give a 1st-level character the Aberration type, without simply being an Aberration because the race is already fixed (non-psionic thri-kreen, i.e. Monstrous Humanoid ...
7
votes
4answers
288 views

What works on a creature targeted by an antimagic ray?

The Antimagic Ray is a spell originally from Draconomicon, updated in the Spell Compendium. Here's all the extracts from the text we need to analyze the case, or so I believe. The target functions ...
12
votes
3answers
2k views

Is there an unarmed strike proficiency in D&D 3.5, and, if there is, do monks get it for free?

I'm trying to settle a coffee break argument - does a weapon proficiency for unarmed strike exist (either explicitly, or under some other more general weapon proficiency) under D&D 3.5 rules, and, ...
5
votes
2answers
287 views

Does Spectral Hand require extra actions?

The spectral hand spell creates a hovering hand that delivers touch spells you cast. Purging the description from informations that are not useful to this question, this is the spell's description: ...
11
votes
3answers
439 views

Is there, in D&D 3.5, a standard/canonical ruling for skill in astronomy/knowledge(astronomy)?

Question see title; further explanation: what I mean is especially in relation to identifying time (of month, year) and location/heading based on the location of celestial objects and, say, a standard ...
7
votes
2answers
615 views

How to legally trap a character under a rock, underwater

The huge water elemental grapples the PC, and pulls him into the murky water. The rest of the party manages to finish it off with ranged attacks and spells, but oh no! It was a load-bearing elemental, ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Is there a difference between “Able to cast x lvl spells” and “Ability to cast x lvl spells”?

I was looking at the Eldritch Knight prestige class and saw one of its requirements is "Able to cast 3rd-level arcane spells." I thought "Hmm, well my 1st level sorc with 18 Charisma is "able to cast ...
7
votes
9answers
2k views

Can a DM disallow the Candle of Invocation exploit using RAW?

The Candle of Invocation exploit is pretty cheesy. Basically, a player uses a candle to gate in an extra-planar being that grants more than one wish per summoning. One wish is used to get another ...
15
votes
8answers
3k views

What is the best way to prevent abuse of the gate spell?

The gate spell may be used for calling a extraplanar creature up to 39 HD for your service, e.g. Solar. That creature may be commanded to use wish spell for raising your attributes or for creating a ...
10
votes
2answers
374 views

How can I arrange for the long-term containment of magical animals?

One of my players is building a Hermetic Menagerie. There was some discussion during the game about how to enchant the Menagerie to securely contain the animals stored inside. The requirements are ...
8
votes
1answer
3k views

Question about ability score bonus spells

The Player's Handbook states that you can get "bonus spells" for certain ability scores, but does that mean more spell slots/spells per day, more spells known, or both?
9
votes
3answers
485 views

What kind of action is rake?

Rake descriptions are annoyingly unclear. Does winning a grapple check let you rake immediately as a free/triggered/no action, or Is winning a grapple check simply a prerequisite for being able to ...
4
votes
1answer
371 views

Master of Shrouds Summon Undead caster level

At second level Master of Shrouds (LM p46) gets Summon Undead ability: Summon Undead (Sp):At 2nd level and higher, a master of shrouds can summon one or more incorporeal undead creatures a ...
6
votes
2answers
194 views

What is the physical stress cap for a Diminutive Size creature with Claws?

Consider the lowly garden gnome. He's got the Diminutive Size [-1] power, which means he is Wee. [...] When your size is a factor in combat, you can only inflict 1 physical stress per attack (but ...
2
votes
3answers
564 views

Can characters with the Guardian theme choose powerful ranged characters as their bonded charge?

The Guardian character theme level 10 feature states that Generally speaking, you can’t designate someone as a bonded charge whose melee combat skills equal or exceed your own The warden in my ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Are Weapon Finesse and two-handed wielding mutually exclusive?

I noticed some weapons, like the Elven Thinblade, can qualify for Weapon Finesse despite being classified as one-handed weapons. Does this mean I can wield it two-handed for 150% of my Dex bonus? ...
35
votes
3answers
2k views

Are there any rules for a Cleric to change his faith?

There are rules for a Cleric who loses faith, and how to regain his standing through atonement. But what if he abandons one faith entirely for another? Presumably his new god/faith should be picking ...
7
votes
1answer
325 views

Counting milestones for the death penalty

When a character is resurrected using the Raise Dead ritual, she gets a death penalty: The subject returns with a death penalty: –1 to all attack rolls, skill checks, saving throws, and ability ...
13
votes
5answers
808 views

Can a horse start a grapple?

I know it defies suspension of disbelief, but what official rule can I show a rules lawyer player that "proves" a horse can't start a grapple? If the answer needs to distinguish between animal ...
10
votes
3answers
515 views

Can't get “a hold” of this At-Range Grappling Conundrum

I usually have a solid grip on grappling rules but a recent battle caught me flat footed. Word play aside, a creature with multiple tentacles grappled me from 10' away, and chose to maintain the ...
7
votes
1answer
248 views

Are two creatures sharing one square adjacent to each other?

If a Tiny creature (like a Pixie) shares a square with a Medium creature (say human), are they considered adjacent to each other? Adjacent Squares: Two squares are adjacent if a side or a corner ...
4
votes
1answer
156 views

Can the MBA provided by Repel Charge be made at reach?

A player in my group is building a PC with a reach weapon With a reach weapon, a creature can make melee attacks against enemies that are 2 squares away from it as well as adjacent enemies. Even ...
9
votes
3answers
3k views

What action is it to switch between holding a weapon two-handed, and then wielding it one-handed

I'm planning on building a Gish for the next game I play in, and I was wondering how to best plan the build. I want power attack so I can do damage in combat, and I want to wield the weapon ...
5
votes
2answers
470 views

Intangibility in Marvel Heroic Roleplaying

I am playing the Breakout event, as Spiderman (stop reading if you don't want spoilers!). We just met Zzzax, and I decided to attack him by web-throwing a huge metal pipe through him. I managed a ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

What throwing weapons are treated as light weapons?

So according to the book, the two weapons fighting rules applied to thrown weapons are: The same rules apply when you throw a weapon from each hand. Treat a dart or shuriken as a light weapons ...
22
votes
3answers
3k views

Is a Dragonwrought Kobold a True Dragon?

The Monster Manual refers to some creatures with the Dragon type as “True Dragons,” and some later books refer to True Dragon status as a prerequisite for various options. Races of the ...
6
votes
1answer
576 views

Does turn undead from different sources stack?

I've read somewhere in the Internet (in a Divine Metamagic build) that having levels as Cleric and Paladin lets you have twice thee turn undead attempts per day. Is that true?
2
votes
2answers
130 views

Can items be retrieved from Alchemical Defense Nodes?

In D&D 4e, a piece of armor Alchemical Defense Nodes has the following property: You can stow up to three consumable alchemical items within this armor. While you can stow items in it, there ...
8
votes
1answer
202 views

Universalis: The thundering herd — Where did I misunderstand the rules?

I'm going to describe a problem I had in a game of universalis. What I want to know is, Did I misunderstand the rules. We had a master component of a barbarian, who had (relevant) traits of "mighty ...
12
votes
1answer
433 views

What does it mean to “harm someone with magic” in nWoD Mage?

In New World of Darkness Mage, the Hierarchy of Sins is less than clear about some cases. Specifically, it is a Wisdom 4 sin to "Harm someone with magic". In other sourcebooks, is there a more clear ...
10
votes
2answers
412 views

Does Rain of Steel still work if you're blind?

The power description for Rain of Steel says specifically that Effect: You assume the rain of steel stance. Until the stance ends, any enemy that starts its turn adjacent to you takes 1[W] ...
11
votes
3answers
965 views

Can a PC start with more than one attribute at 8 or 9?

In DnD4e essentials you have a choice of 3 arrays. However in the rules compendium they mention a point buy system. I know from previous versions of the character builder that it will not allow you ...
10
votes
4answers
266 views

What to do in Labyrinth Lord when both PCs and Foes are surprised?

In Labyrinth Lord, when there is a possibility of surprise for both PCs and foes, both sides roll 1d6. A 1-2 indicates that side is surprised for the first round. If both sides roll a 1-2, both ...
28
votes
12answers
1k views

Do any newer D&D versions grant experience for exceptional role-playing?

Do any of the newer D&D editions' books (most likely the DM Guide) have guidelines for granting experience for exceptional role-playing? I once played with a professional DM (there's a job I ...