Interpretations and applications of rules that only take into consideration specifically what published game material states.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (2)

9
votes
5answers
331 views

May a character with Evasion under the effect of Starmantle avoid all damage?

The Starmantle spell (Book of Exalted Deeds, p. 108) states: Contact with the starmantle does not destroy magic weapons or missiles, but the starmantle's wearer is entitled to a Reflex saving ...
8
votes
3answers
311 views

Does the “heroic level defense bonus” make armor pointless for DEX based characters?

I admit I'm a bit confused about the way how "Star Wars - Saga Edition" handles it's defenses, especially because of the addition of the heroic level. Reflex Defense: 10 + [your heroic level or ...
8
votes
3answers
561 views

What are the effects of losing your feat prerequisite?

I have a human cleric with the Extend Spell feat thanks to the domain power of the Spell domain. The first level human bonus feat was spent on Persistent Spell and the regular first level feat was ...
2
votes
3answers
1k views

What level of lifestyle do you have when living in the wild without practicing a profession?

Now the box on page 159 says that if you live in the wild and practicing a profession you have the equivalent of a poor lifestyle and if you have proficiency in the survival skill you have the ...
2
votes
1answer
99 views

Can I attack the target of my Overrun?

Simply put: Can I attack the same creature I choose to use the Overrun combat maneuver on? The entry for the Overrun maneuver states it can be done as part of a charge, does that mean I can attack ...
4
votes
1answer
597 views

What are the limits of an arcane lock?

The spell arcane lock can be cast on "a closed door, window, gate, chest, or other entryway." What are limits of this entryway? That is, must this entryway have a flap, lid, or other type of barrier ...
-4
votes
1answer
155 views

Can Aereni Focus and Skill Focus be stacked?

Aereni Focus says that it counts as Skill Focus for meeting requirements/prerequisites. So, for instance, I could take Aereni Focus (Listen) and I would qualify for the Keen-Eared Scout feat through ...
5
votes
1answer
235 views

Where, exactly, is it laid out that a torch can do damage to swarms?

So it's pretty common that people say that torches can do a single point of fire damage to swarms. However, my group can't seem to find any sources that confirm this. Basically, it comes down to ...
9
votes
3answers
315 views

Can I use Silent Image as an adjacent enemy for Sneak Attack?

Sneak attack says: You don't need advantage on the attack roll if another enemy of the target is within 5ft of it, that enemy isn't incapacitated, and you don't have disadvantage on the attack ...
2
votes
1answer
375 views

Typing non-lethal damage and its interaction with DR

In this answer, bacrossland suggests that throwing enemies should inflict non-lethal damage on them. While this is an eminently reasonable suggestion, it leaves one thing open: by RAW, what type is ...
2
votes
1answer
113 views

What determines whether you are familiar or not with a device in Dark Heresy 2e?

The Heretek background gets the Master of Hidden Lores bonus which states you get a +20 for Tech-Use tests to comprehend, repair, use, or modify an unfamiliar device if I have a relevant Forbidden ...
10
votes
4answers
1k views

What is the point of applying shield spikes to a one-handed weapon?

I was looking over the weapon-creation chart towards the end of this page, and saw that one of the options available to you is making the weapon count as a light shield with spikes. However, when I ...
11
votes
4answers
2k views

Can I use fabricate to turn gold coins into ingots worth three times as much gold?

I was reading through some spells and I came across Fabricate. This gave me a solid moment of pause. Particularily, "Material Component: The original material, which costs the same amount as the raw ...
28
votes
2answers
2k views

Clarification of Blink Mechanics, or “Should Someone have Punched in my Sandwich?”

I am looking for clarification as to the mechanics of the Blink spell. I believe that the spell reads quite clearly, however most of my play group does not agree with my recent ruling. Some ...
9
votes
5answers
3k views

How much damage do torches used as improvised weapons do?

I'm trying to get to the bottom of using a torch as an improvised weapon in 5e D&D. Moving from the more to the less certain: If you make a melee attack with a burning torch and hit, it deals ...
-2
votes
1answer
71 views

How can bonuses or advantage be attained for attempts to gain control over a creature? [closed]

This question about Pathfinder has gotten me wondering about how willpower might be more easily overcome in D&D 5e. By gain control, I mean using a spell or ability to get a creature to "switch ...
7
votes
3answers
3k views

What is required to be able to sneak attack with a spell or ranged attack?

I'm playing a 3rd level rogue, and I'm looking at at taking a few levels of sorcerer for the Draconic bloodline's claws, and as a prerequisite for the arcane trickster prestige class. Since I'm going ...
12
votes
2answers
811 views

Is this how to hide?

I know that Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 is a pretty lousy stealth simulator--which is probably why I've not seen a lot of folks try to play characters that hide--, but I want to clarify the hiding rules ...
7
votes
3answers
3k views

How to make a dragonborn sorcerer appear to be human for 8 to 16 hours?

I am DMing a game in which the king's son is a dragonborn, born from the human king and a female shadow dragon. I need the dragonborn prince to appear human for periods of 8 to 16 hours. He has to ...
1
vote
1answer
88 views

Can a Target of Nightmare Haunting be woken up to break the effect?

This arises from discussions in comments on the question: How can a party defend against the Dream Haunting action of a Night Hag? . The wording could either it lasts the duration the Night Hag is in ...
4
votes
2answers
165 views

How can I trade the ability to speak for a bonus to sleight of hand, for a character inspired by Teller?

I'm creating a sleight of hand–based character and have drawn a fair bit of inspiration from Teller, of Penn and Teller. To further the connection, how can I trade away the ability to speak for a ...
16
votes
2answers
1k views

Does 5e D&D limit the XP gain of a PC who was KO'd?

A friend of mine's character just died, and as we chatted he lamented all the bad luck he had over the course of the campaign. One thing that stuck out (other than his death being at the hands of a ...
0
votes
0answers
32 views

Does using a shield affect your ability to use the Dueling skill? [duplicate]

The rule for dueling says that you can only be using one weapon and no others to get the bonus. Dueling When you are wielding a melee weapon in one hand and no other weapons, you gain a +2 ...
3
votes
1answer
593 views

Can you farm your clones for “your” body parts?

In Pathfinder, there is the spell Spherescry that requires you to use a part of yourself as a catalyst ingredient for the sensor (at least a digit). So, If the spellcaster prepared a Clone beforehand, ...
2
votes
1answer
92 views

How many divination spells are scrying?

I saw in the Pathfinder core rule book that there are specific spells called Scrying Spells, which allow the character to observe something as if they were there. However, there are just three of such ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

How does Armor of Agathys interact with getting temporary hit points?

The spell Armor of Agathys states: You gain 5 temporary hit points for the duration. If a creature hits you with a melee attack while you have these hit points, the creature takes 5 cold damage. ...
4
votes
3answers
214 views

Can you affect multiple targets with multiple Warding Bond casts?

It has come to my attention that the text of Warding Bond, the legal target(s) of Warding Bond, and the rules as written for target's and spell casting and such; leave it possible that Warding Bond ...
11
votes
7answers
11k views

Can Clerics be Death Domain and Neutral?

Basically, me and my friend have been arguing for 2 months over the Death domain cleric alignment. He keeps referencing the DMG's quote of "The gods of death domain embody murder" and the fact it is a ...
2
votes
1answer
45 views

Do you have to be the ritual leader when creating an ally spirit?

Do you have to be the ritual leader when creating your ally spirit? (Note that I would still be taking part.) I'm asking because the character I'm making doesn't have any skill in ritual spellcasting, ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you Enlarge/Reduce the planet you stand on?

I won't reprint the spell's text here, but the long and the short of it is that I don't see anything in the text of the spell that would prevent casting it on extremely big objects. The planet sits ...
7
votes
2answers
290 views

Are obvious cybereyes cheaper?

A player recently got the idea that obvious cybereyes should be cheaper, just like obvious cyberlimbs. I disagreed, but for the sake of group morale I'm asking here. If possible, I would like a ...
7
votes
2answers
403 views

How many undead of each type can you control at one time?

With a 20 wizard necromancer, all magic items allowed (with the exception of sentient items) with the three attuned as usual, by RAW: How many undead can you maintain control over with a 100% success ...
3
votes
1answer
63 views

Which weapons can use the Double Tap and Three Round Burst rules?

Page 81 of Savage Worlds Deluxe Explorer's Edition says: Double Taps & Three Round Bursts A character with a semi-automatic weapon (such as a Colt .45, an M1 Carbine, or even an M16 [my ...
8
votes
2answers
705 views

Can a character take Attacks of Opportunity while moving without stopping?

This mostly would come up in the context of readied actions, but other situations could arise. If a character is moving past an opponent who is provoking an attack of opportunity, can that character ...
15
votes
1answer
312 views

Do non-instantaneous spells fail if the target becomes illegal later on in the spell's duration?

A wizard wants to sneak an apparatus of kwalish past a bunch of guards, and comes up with an ingenious plan - he wants to use polymorph any object to turn the apparatus into a small acorn. However, ...
6
votes
1answer
266 views

How can tome warlocks “back up” ritual spells they have inscribed?

PHB hints that wizards may want to have a backup copy of their spellbook in case they lose it. Tome warlocks have a way to restore their Book of Shadows should they lose it, but it's not clear if ...
2
votes
1answer
38 views

Can the Impervious Power Modifier be linked to unenhanced, natural Toughness?

I'm building a new character whose powers come from a "cyber skin implant" that is pretty natural to her since it's now part of her body, giving her 12 Stamina without Enhanced Trait. Her cyber skin ...
4
votes
1answer
106 views

Can you start the game with a spirit pact?

In Shadowrun 5th Edition, there is no Spirit Pact quality (research seems to indicate there was one for SR4). Is there anything in the rules that would explicitly prevent an SR5 character from ...
9
votes
1answer
166 views

Can I Apply Sneak Attack Damage Twice in One Attack?

Is there a rule that states sneak attack damage can't be applied more than once per attack? There are several instances of feats and weapon enchants that allow rogues to gain the sneak attack damage ...
4
votes
2answers
112 views

Does a free action Spell Like Ability provoke an attack of opportunity?

The specific scenario in question is an arcane bloodrager getting the free buff spells when entering his bloodrage at 4th level or higher. The bloodrage itself is supernatural and does not provoke, ...
15
votes
4answers
653 views

Can Skill Mastery let you take 10 with Use Magic Device?

The rogue special ability (advanced talent) Skill Mastery reads as follows: The rogue becomes so certain in the use of certain skills that she can use them reliably even under adverse conditions. ...
50
votes
4answers
5k views

Does this cheesy character concept violate RAW, and if so how?

Does the following, very cheesy character concept, violate any RAW? Please cite rules or official rulings in your answer. (Apart from RAW, I expect my DM to disallow or limit the concept, in the ...
-2
votes
3answers
197 views

Can a wizard use a 25gp book as a replacement spellbook?

Or must they use the 50gp spellbook? (PHB pg 150) RAW only, please.
12
votes
4answers
2k views

What is the source defining what is RAW?

While discussing what constitutes RAW with NautArch in the comments on this question he claimed the Starter Rules aren't RAW. While I'm aware that they are incomplete I can't belive that they are ...
7
votes
4answers
573 views

Is a player character required to engage in downtime activity?

This question was inspired by a scenario, where a character could use Elven trance and any number of short rests but no long rests. Based on this answer, I have a follow up question. By the ...
2
votes
0answers
36 views

Crossbow Expert feat second clause clarification [duplicate]

The Crossbow Expert Feat has three clauses: Thanks to extensive practice with the crossbow, you gain the fol lowing benefits: • You ignore the loading quality of crossbows with which you ...
6
votes
0answers
61 views

Wish for Instant Summons spell gives a sapphire? [duplicate]

Wish: The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don’t need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. Instant Summons: ...
5
votes
2answers
98 views

How does encumbrance interact with Enlarge Person?

According to the Carry Capacity rules, an increase in size of one category grants a x2 multiplier to your carrying capacity, and a decrease in size reduces your capacity by half. When under the ...
11
votes
2answers
668 views

Are rulings that only feature in Dragon/Dungeon Magazine 'official'?

A recent answer presented the following ruling from Dragon Magazine 371, page 9 (emphasis added): If you choose multiple heritage feats (or feats that similarly modify at-will powers), you choose ...
11
votes
1answer
806 views

What does Use an Object cover?

I saw this come up in another question in regards to drinking a healing potion not being a Use an Object action as the text in the equipment chapter under healing potion specifically says that using a ...