Interpretations and applications of rules that only take into consideration specifically what published game material states.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

8
votes
1answer
104 views

Can I cast darkness on an object, then turn it off and on during a round of combat?

I'm playing as a shadow monk in my 5e game. I have the same question about darkness that I have seen. What is the usefulness? However, as I was reading it, I noticed that it can be cast on an object ...
1
vote
2answers
63 views

Can weapon special abilities that don't say they're passed on to ammunition be added to ranged weapons?

Certain weapon special abilities in D&D 3.5 can sensibly be applied to melee or ranged weapons yet are not listed in the random roll table for magical ranged weapons, only melee, and do not state ...
4
votes
1answer
48 views

Can Wall of Stone merge with gravel, riprap, ballast rock, aggregate, or other non-solid/non-compacted forms of stone?

This stems from Mike Mearls' interpretation in the answers to this question: Mike Mearls :@Daganev @wax_eagle Correct, you'd need rocks of some sort (ruins, boulders) to support it. The RAW ...
10
votes
5answers
565 views

Shield Master - Does the reaction to block a Fireball happen before or after the Dexterity saving throw?

The Shield Master feat (PH p.170) grants the following ability: If you are subjected to an effect that allows you to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, you can use your ...
15
votes
4answers
1k views

What are the choices for proficiency in a musical instrument?

The rules say the following regarding musical instruments (PH p.154): Each type of musical instrument requires a separate proficiency. Since this text is an annotation for the equipment list on ...
2
votes
1answer
41 views

Can a Space Combat action get more than +60 bonus?

The rules describing "normal" combat say If a situation calls for two or more bonuses or penalties, simply combine all modifiers together and apply the total to the appropriate Characteristic. ...
0
votes
1answer
52 views

What does Martial arcanist mean for gaining spells? [duplicate]

I was a bit confused by the wording for Martial Arcanist. Martial Arcanist (Ex): At 5th level, you master the art of combining your militant and mystical training. From this point on, your caster ...
6
votes
3answers
618 views

Is someone in an area of darkness vulnerable to sneak attacks?

I was recently faced with the following scenario: A rogue activates darkness (as the spell) in an area of dim light. The rogue has darkvision, whereas the target does not. Therefore, the target ...
9
votes
1answer
88 views

While flying with a grappled opponent, will they get a free grapple check any time they're above 10 feet?

In a game this weekend, we came upon an Iron Golem that was very difficult for our group to kill. I had the idea to have my Eidolon (Serpentine, large, wingless flight) grapple the golem, then fly him ...
16
votes
2answers
942 views

Can you attack more than once using multiple weapons with the “loading” property?

Alice has no feats, the Extra Attack class feature, and is holding two hand crossbows, one in each hand. Can she load and fire both crossbows every turn?
0
votes
0answers
56 views

Does my familiar effectively grant me permanent advantage on attack roles via the Help action? [duplicate]

I am a Pact of the Chain Warlock. Can my Imp go invisible and take the Help action each round to effectively give me permanent advantage on my first attack each round? Is my imp specifically ...
4
votes
1answer
81 views

How many attacks would be in a full-attack with this Ratfolk Monk/Ninja?

I've tried doing some research on this, and I'm still confused on the rules. By RAW, how many attacks could I get as a full-attack with this guy? Steve the Testrat, 4 Flowing Monk/16 Ninja (BAB+15), ...
10
votes
3answers
1k views

When does a flying creature start and end falling?

Situation: Alice the Aarakokra sees Bob the Battlemaster coming. She ascends to 605', just out of the 600' range of Bob's longbow. Bob (Str 14) performs a running high jump 5' into the air and ...
0
votes
2answers
388 views

What level of lifestyle do you have when living in the wild without practicing a profession?

Now the box on page 159 says that if you live in the wild and practicing a profession you have the equivalent of a poor lifestyle and if you have proficiency in the survival skill you have the ...
1
vote
1answer
57 views

Do specialties stack?

I'm wondering if you have 2 or more specialties that would apply to a roll, do all specialties apply their bonus. For example, if I had a specialty in handguns and revolvers (which is a handgun) and ...
24
votes
3answers
4k views

Is a Dragonwrought Kobold a True Dragon?

The Monster Manual refers to some creatures with the Dragon type as “True Dragons,” and some later books refer to True Dragon status as a prerequisite for various options. Races of the ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Monkey Grip allow wielding 2 handed weapons in 1 hand?

As typical in D&D a friend and I are having a debate, this time about whether or not Monkey Grip (3.5 complete warrior feat) allows a medium creature to wield a 2-handed medium weapon with one ...
8
votes
2answers
773 views

Can Detect Magic detect prepared spells or spellcasters?

Inspired by a recent question about discerning divine and arcane spellcasters, of like to hear the case for and against detecting spellcasters of either style with Detect Magic. I think you can ...
9
votes
1answer
188 views

When adding a new ability to a magic weapon, does the crafter need to meet only the prerequisites of the addition?

The Adding New Abilities paragraph in the magic items rules, gives the example of turning a +1 longsword, to a flaming +1 longsword, costing only the difference between a plain +1 weapon and a +1 ...
0
votes
1answer
57 views

Can a non-action be taken as part of an OA/reaction?

Some acts, such as dropping items or speaking, are consistently considered "non-actions" in the D&D rules (I'm asking about 3.5e in this question, but it seems that this is consistent among all ...
4
votes
2answers
604 views

Can create water break some of the conjuration rules?

In the core rule book, this is stated about conjuration spells: A creature or object brought into being or transported to your location by a conjuration spell cannot appear inside another ...
7
votes
4answers
972 views

Can a monster use its other actions during a Multiattack?

I'm running my first ever campaign as DM using the modified Starter Set (Mines of Phandelver). One of the monsters (Nothic) has a stat block (under Actions) that states that the monster has a ...
2
votes
2answers
210 views

What happens when a character is shoved into other characters in tight quarters?

On a successful Shove against a target, what are the consequences for creatures directly behind? Scenario: The characters are single file in a narrow corridor (crates and barrels to one side and a ...
1
vote
0answers
36 views

Does beast form entitlement include just mundane animals, or can you also change into things like dragons?

Does beast form entitlement only include mundane animals like cats, or also things like dragons? If so, does it only give basic powers like turning you into a human sized dragon (if you don't also ...
1
vote
0answers
20 views

Does shapechanging come under Entitlement(Shapechange), the Vessel power or can it be either?

I'm a bit confused in part time gods about changing shapes. There are a few powers under the shaping manifestation skill that allow for this. But on the other hand there exists an animal form ...
1
vote
1answer
87 views

Do I also add half my level again if I can add a second attribute to a roll?

Consider a level 4 character with 14 Dex and 16 Int. Normally this character would have an initiative modifier of +4; +2 for Dex, and +2 for half level. If this character takes a feat or gains a magic ...
3
votes
0answers
116 views

Does The Ranger's Feral Senses Accomplish Anything, RAW? [duplicate]

According to this question, Invisible, but unhidden enemies are sensed automatically. However, this seems to contradict the Ranger's Feral Senses ability. FERAL SENSES: You are also aware of the ...
6
votes
1answer
210 views

Do you need a Ranger's Feral Senses to have positional awareness of invisibile creatures?

In D&D 5e, the description of hiding (PHB p177) says an invisible creature needs to stay quiet and otherwise avoid leaving signs of its passing, while the "invisible" condition (p291) says the ...
7
votes
1answer
134 views

How does Time Stop interact with “End of Turn” durations?

The spell Time Stop allows you take take extra rounds of action during your turn. For the purpose of effects that have the duration of "End of Turn", would buffing yourself with something that lasted ...
8
votes
2answers
255 views

Dual wield and sneak attack with rogue?

I have heard when you dual wield with a rogue you have one primary action which is used to attack main hand and you have a bonus action which is used to attack off hand. My question is can you attack ...
0
votes
1answer
53 views

Does a Cleric with high Wisdom get all their bonus spells? [duplicate]

How do bonus spells work? Bob is a Level 2 Cleric with a 16 Wisdom. The class table grants him the following spells per day [O:4] [L1:2+1] But his high casting stat grants him the following Bonus ...
3
votes
1answer
64 views

Does “Shield Specialization” apply to an unwielded “Winged Shield”?

Will I get the feat bonus if I am using both hands to wield a two-handed weapon and having the Winged Shield float near me? The feat: Shield Specialization Benefit: You gain a +1 feat bonus ...
3
votes
3answers
541 views

When advantage isn't enough. Other circumstantial bonuses in 5e?

As noted in this question in many cases a party is going to be able to reasonably gain advantage on a check due to simply working together. However what happens when the party also gets some extra ...
6
votes
1answer
236 views

Duration of feather fall for very long distances

Let's say a character has to go down into a vertical gulf of about ten miles. A helpful NPC (wizard, character level of about 10) who does not want to join her on the way down casts feather fall on ...
10
votes
2answers
770 views

Can a Sorcerer with an Int of 2 still cast spells?

Our Sorcerer was hit by massive Int drain, to the point that she had an effective Int of 2. Between then and the time we could fix her Int drain, could she cast spells? There are two obvious factors: ...
4
votes
2answers
92 views

Can brawler fighters sustain grabs from their powers?

The brawler fighter attack powers that enable grabbing contain the following line: ... The grab ends automatically at the end of your next turn. Can players sustain these grabs with a minor ...
10
votes
1answer
196 views

Does “Immune to sleep” affect the Sleep power?

This seems like a silly question at first, but I am not clear how this works with rules as written. The 1st level spell Sleep has the keywords Arcane, Charm, Enchantment, and Implement. It previously ...
4
votes
4answers
192 views

How do Contests and Saving Throws interact?

Say I have a Stunned opponent, and I roll to grapple them. Stunned says this: Stunned A stunned creature is incapacitated (see the condition), can’t move, and can speak only falteringly. ...
12
votes
3answers
1k views

What does Assassinate mean by “surprised”, and can it be used multiple times?

I need some elaboration on what is covered by "surprised". The Assassin Rogue’s special feature “Assassinate” states: …In addition, if you (...) hit a creature that is surprised, you score a ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

Great Old One Warlocks: Ways to Counter Create Thrall

PHB page 110, Warlock, Otherworldly Patrons, Great Old One Create Thrall At 14th level, you gain the ability to infect a humanoid’s mind with the alien magic of your patron. You can use your ...
11
votes
4answers
6k views

Two-Weapon Fighting & Bonus Action in 5e

During the latest gaming session our level 3 Rogue was Two-Weapon fighting with a Rapier in the main-hand and a scimitar in the off-hand. At the completion of our gaming session I contested the ...
5
votes
6answers
208 views

What happens if a wizard uses Command Undead to command an undead to keep fighting even though it has been Turned by a Cleric

The cleric's turn undead ability sends undead fleeing, but the wizard's spell Command Undead enables him to give orders to the same undead. What happens when a Wizard uses Command Undead to force a ...
8
votes
4answers
2k views

Can you light magically created grease on fire?

I have a forum-based Pathfinder campaign where one of the players would like to light grease created by a Grease spell on fire. Can this type of grease be lit?
10
votes
5answers
587 views

How does the Diviner's Portent ability interact with Advantage and Disadvantage?

The portent ability says, in part, You can replace any attack roll, saving throw, or ability check made by you or a creature that you can see with one of these foretelling rolls. You must choose ...
1
vote
2answers
143 views

Can a creature designate as the target of a charge a foe the creature can't charge?

The game seems to assume ideal battlefield conditions with perfect intelligence. However, sometimes battlefield conditions aren't ideal and intelligence isn't perfect. The special attack charge says ...
-3
votes
3answers
101 views

Can I make unarmed strikes without exceptional ability?

It seems to me like you're supposed to be able to try to attack people while unarmed in Pathfinder, but I'm not sure you actually can. Threatened Squares You threaten all squares into which ...
2
votes
1answer
78 views

Can you attack multiple targets when you have a rate of fire greater than 1?

I'm DMing a campaign with OSRIC as the base rules and 1e AD&D as secondary rules where needed. One of our characters is using a bow that the rules say has a rate of fire of 2. I'm looking for a ...
7
votes
2answers
991 views

Is there any way I can doff armor in a single turn?

Lets say I'm a sorcerer disguised as a fighter and I'm wearing that fighter's plate armor. According to RAW, I can't cast spells because I'm not proficient in heavy armor. Is there any way (in RAW) I ...
6
votes
2answers
632 views

Can Detect Magic reveal illusions?

In 5th edition, would Detect Magic reveal illusions such as Invisibility, Disguise Self, etc? While it would not reveal the nature of the illusion, it would reveal that one is present I believe. I ...
7
votes
1answer
255 views

Can I two-weapon fight unarmed?

I want to make a fighter whose primary weapons are his unarmed attacks using the Tavern Brawler feat. If I take the Two Weapon Fighting style would that work with 2 unarmed strikes? In the weapons ...