Defensive armor carried or worn on the arm for the protection of the body.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

8
votes
3answers
1k views

Are there any rules against wielding a heavy shield two handed?

Given that Heavy Shields are one-handed weapons normal rules would dictate that you could wield it two-handed for extra damage. However I have heard many people state that you can't wield a shield ...
18
votes
2answers
1k views

Can I cast spells that require a material component and still hold my hammer and shield?

I have a human cleric (war domain) with the war casting feat. She holds a warhammer and a shield. Am I able to cast spells that require a material component and still hold my hammer and shield? If ...
10
votes
2answers
367 views

Does the Sorcerer feature Draconic Resilience work with shields?

Sorcerers of the Draconic Bloodline have the following class feature (located in the Player's Handbook p. 102): Draconic Resilience [...] Additionally, parts of your skin are covered by a thin ...
1
vote
1answer
73 views

What penalties do shields have?

Shield description says "Attacks made with a shield suffer a -20 penalty" Shields also have "defensive" quality, which increases +15 to parry but attacks made by such weapons suffer -10 penalty. Do ...
1
vote
2answers
153 views

Does a shield protect the PC, even if it's not hit?

When the PC holds a shield in his left hand, and is hit by an enemy attacking from the right, does the shield still add to the PCs armor?
3
votes
1answer
190 views

Pathfinder- What would using staff in main hand while using a light shield and rod in offhand entail?

Is it possible to use a Light Mithril shield +5 (I believe I can enhance shield?) in my offhand and a rod of (metamagic or absorption) in the same hand and still receive the ac bonus from the shield? ...
2
votes
1answer
479 views

Can a Spiked Shield be enchanted with bashing

The rules state: Bashing: A shield with this special ability is designed to perform a shield bash. A bashing shield deals damage as if it were a weapon of two size categories larger (a Medium light ...
2
votes
2answers
446 views

Dual Wielding Daggers with Bucklers

So I got inspired to think about a fighter or rogue character that uses Two-Weapon-Fighting with two very light weapons and using two bucklers strapped to each arm, or at least some lengthy advanced ...
10
votes
2answers
993 views

Can a rogue, druid, or cleric use Shield Bash without penalty?

Originally I was going to ask, "Can a rogue or druid use Shield Bash", but the answer seemed obvious: "Yes, why not?" The question then is whether a rogue or a druid can use Shield Bash without the ...
4
votes
2answers
748 views

How quickly can I switch to two-handed weapon use with a heavy shield equipped?

Consider a character with a heavy shield (equipped) and a versatile weapon (equipped one-handed). I'd like to know whether they can, in the course of a single turn, forgo the shield and attack with ...
7
votes
2answers
489 views

Do shield and armor check modifiers stack?

If I wear Hide armor (Check -1) and use a Heavy Shield (Check -2) is my check -2 or -3? In other words, do the checks stack or do I use the highest negative?
2
votes
2answers
988 views

Should a dedicated sword-and-boarder use their on or off hand for their shield?

At LARP I mostly see people who focus on Sword and Board (or Sword and shield as it's sometimes known) holding their shield in their left arm, sword in the right. I'm sure I've heard some historical ...
2
votes
2answers
809 views

Does the Rhythm Blade shield bonus work with an existing shield?

Does the Rhythm Blade [ddi] bonus to AC and Reflex work when you've not got an existing shield? Property: While you wield this weapon in your off hand, your shield bonus to AC and Reflex increases ...
2
votes
1answer
266 views

Can a player ask if an immediate interrupt blinding attack will force a miss?

I believe that when a Wizard uses Staff of Defense or Shield, which are both immediate interrupts, she may ask the DM if the power will prevent the attack from connecting. Does the same hold true ...
3
votes
2answers
784 views

Does the Master at Arms feat work for Shields?

Does the Master at Arms [ddi] feat work for Shields? Benefit: You gain a +1 feat bonus to the attack rolls of weapon attacks. The bonus increases to +2 at 11th level and +3 at 21st level. ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you use a two handed weapon with light shield?

Can you use a two handed weapon with light shield? I'm confused over the wording in [DDI] ... Description: While you’re using a light shield, you can use your shield hand to hold another item, to ...